Discussion Why Tasmania won't get an AFL team?

Aug 11, 2011
Waverley Park
Box Hill (VFL)
Tasmania is passionate about Australian Rules, since there has been a national competition they have wanted a team in the competition. They have had teams in junior competitions, which have been restablished in the Tasmanian Devils in the Victorian Under 18's competition.
aQC6yWG.jpg

But why hasn't that translated into a team in the AFL. The simple answer is bums on seats, or the population behind the team in the town they call home. What are the population numbers around Australia.
yUby3U4.jpg

Looking at those numbers you can see that Tasmania has a population of about 530,000 people. Also, unlike other states in Australia where most of the population live in the cities, only half live in Hobart, 270,000 people.

Look at South Australia, 1,710,000 people which 1,300,000 in Adelaide. That is 650,000 people in the city of Adelaide for rach of their two teams. That is only in Adelaide, there is 850,000 in the state for each team. Looking at those figures, Hobart hasn't got the population to support a team in the AFL (Adelaide 650,000 to Hobart 270,000).

When you look at the state as a whole you get the problem they have in Tasmania with competitions across the whole state. With populations of 150,000 in Launceston and 110,000 in the North West there is always arguments over the competition. Were will a Tasmanian team play its home games, five at Hobart, four at Launceston and one in the North West. The problem is that the team won't have a base to call home. If they did, the team would be from that town and the other parts of Tasmania will complain.

Tasmania is serviced we by Hawthorn and North Melbourne playing home games at Launceston and Hobart. The people of Tasmania deserve some AFL football, but there isn't enough people in Tasmania to have an AFL team.

I added the number of people in Geelong to the list because someone would say what about them. Yes, Geelong has a team in a town of 200,000 people. But the Cats have played in this competition since the start. Geelong is also supported by many people in Melbourne. So Geelong has the back up of the 5,190,000 in Melbourne. something that a Tasmanian team won't have.

It is a shame that these are the numbers we have, but 650,000 football following people to make a team survive in the AFL, like we have in Adelaide, Tasmania doesn't have the population in the whole state, and in a city they are nowhere near. I put this thread here to state what is holding back a team from Tasmania entering the league. Also, would the side become the 19th team in the AFL, which would introduce the weekly bye again. The competition is all set up to run with 18 teams in deals with pay-TV and other companies. Does the AFL want to ruin that?

The way things are going the state will be Aussie Rules in a few decades
Don't know what state you are talking about.

Everyone goes on about how Tasmania are a football loving state and that every state deserves a team in the national competition. The problem is that they haven't got a city to base a club at that is populated enough to support an AFL team. Tasmania may have produced many great football players in the past, like Ryoce Hart, Peter Hudson, Darrell Baldock, Ian Stewart, Matthew Richardson, Alastair Lynch, Stewart Spencer, Brett Crosswell, John Devine, Darrin Pritchard, Paul Williams and Rodney Eade. but a supporter base for a football club needs over 600,000 to support a team. Tasmania don't have that in one city, not even the whole state.

Although bums on seats is definitely a factor, I reckon the fact that players and coaches earning $300,000 would not want to live in a city where the tallest building isn't even 75 metres. Tasmania is not a place for the wealthy and young.

Tasmania is passionate about Australian Rules, since there has been a national competition they have wanted a team in the competition. They have had teams in junior competitions, which have been restablished in the Tasmanian Devils in the Victorian Under 18's competition.
aQC6yWG.jpg

But why hasn't that translated into a team in the AFL. The simple answer is bums on seats, or the population behind the team in the town they call home. What are the population numbers around Australia.
yUby3U4.jpg

Looking at those numbers you can see that Tasmania has a population of about 530,000 people. Also, unlike other states in Australia where most of the population live in the cities, only half live in Hobart, 270,000 people.

Look at South Australia, 1,710,000 people which 1,300,000 in Adelaide. That is 650,000 people in the city of Adelaide for rach of their two teams. That is only in Adelaide, there is 850,000 in the state for each team. Looking at those figures, Hobart hasn't got the population to support a team in the AFL (Adelaide 650,000 to Hobart 270,000).

When you look at the state as a whole you get the problem they have in Tasmania with competitions across the whole state. With populations of 150,000 in Launceston and 110,000 in the North West there is always arguments over the competition. Were will a Tasmanian team play its home games, five at Hobart, four at Launceston and one in the North West. The problem is that the team won't have a base to call home. If they did, the team would be from that town and the other parts of Tasmania will complain.

Tasmania is serviced we by Hawthorn and North Melbourne playing home games at Launceston and Hobart. The people of Tasmania deserve some AFL football, but there isn't enough people in Tasmania to have an AFL team.

I added the number of people in Geelong to the list because someone would say what about them. Yes, Geelong has a team in a town of 200,000 people. But the Cats have played in this competition since the start. Geelong is also supported by many people in Melbourne. So Geelong has the back up of the 5,190,000 in Melbourne. something that a Tasmanian team won't have.

It is a shame that these are the numbers we have, but 650,000 football following people to make a team survive in the AFL, like we have in Adelaide, Tasmania doesn't have the population in the whole state, and in a city they are nowhere near. I put this thread here to state what is holding back a team from Tasmania entering the league. Also, would the side become the 19th team in the AFL, which would introduce the weekly bye again. The competition is all set up to run with 18 teams in deals with pay-TV and other companies. Does the AFL want to ruin that?

First things first, currently neither Hawthorn nor North would allow it.

Second, AFL already has the Tasmanian market; a team there wouldn't change that.

Third, "bums on seats, or the population behind the team" is not an issue, otherwise the Suns wouldn't exist.

Fourth, there are teams in MELBOURNE far from having 650,000 football following people to support them.

Thus, the simplest answer for your question is: "because the league doesn't want it."

The Suns and Giants average about 12000 (at best) per game, with the Gold Coast area having a pop of around 500,000. If Tasmania really is AFL loving (and i believe it is) then achieving that attendance number is not really an issue.

As for location, according to this article at the Examiner, Launceston appears to be a more attractive playing location based on consistent attendance at Roos games, with Hobart dropping well under 10,000 frequently (this could be the fact that the Hawks aren't really "theirs", but doesn't explain Norf).

It is simply an answer to the question why isn't there a team in the AFL for Tasmania. On this board you get all these people designing jumpers and logos for teams. They may be the best that is produced, but at team in Tasmania will not occur because of the lack of population in Tasmania and the lack of a town to call home.

To answer a few of the other questions.

First things first, currently neither Hawthorn nor North would allow it.
If there was a population in Tasmania to support an AFL team Hawthorn and North Melbourne won't be allowed to stop it. They are just two votes of the eighteen club that can vote in a new team. They wouldn't be able to stop a team from starting up/

Second, AFL already has the Tasmanian market; a team there wouldn't change that.
Totally agree with that statement. They are a Aussie Rules state, with or without a team

Third, "bums on seats, or the population behind the team" is not an issue, otherwise the Suns wouldn't exist.
Why I say population behind the team instead of bums on seats is because the population is what the AFL is targeting. The population that the Gold Coast area and the Brisbane area has is larger than Perth and Adelaide. The AFL wants a game played in Brisbane/Gold Coast area every week. That the Suns are not putting bums on seats at the moment is a problem, but targeting a population with the possiblity of getting future bums on seats is what they are targeting.

Won't somebody please think of the children?
The AFL is thinking about the children. The children that are growing up in these former Rugby areas. The people that the AFL wants to grow up barracking for their local team. With two teams in Sydney and Brisbane now they have a choice of who to barrack for, they will also have a game of AFL football in their market each week.

Fourth, there are teams in MELBOURNE far from having 650,000 football following people to support them.
I am not saying that each team in Melbourne has 650,000 football following people that support them. It is about this many people in an area that is needed to find the number of people to support an AFL team.

Thus, the simplest answer for your question is: "because the league doesn't want it."
The simplest answer is that there isn't the population in Tasmania to support a team, and not a town with a population to support a team. People see this state that has produced players like Royce Hart, Peter Hudson, Darrell Baldock, Ian Stewart, Matthew Richardson, Alastair Lynch, Stewart Spencer, Brett Crosswell, John Devine, Darrin Pritchard, Paul Williams and Rodney Eade and think why haven't they got a team in the AFL and Gold Coast and Western Sydney do have one. The problem is they don't have a town like for example Adelaide in South Australia. Adelaide has 76% of South Australia's population living within it. Hobart has 51% of Tasmania's population living within it. South Australia's population is 1.7 million and Tasmania population is 0.53 million. There isn't a population in the state to support a team, and there isn't a town in Tasmania to support a team.

The simplest answer is that there isn't the population in Tasmania to support a team, and not a town with a population to support a team.
Because Tasmania is a footy state, it may be able to support a team on its own. The keys are two: the # of people that care; and the amount of money they can generate.

Again, unfortunately, the question whether Tasmania can sustain a local team is secondary. The main issue is AFL being pretty happy with the current arrangement. The league believes not being worthy to piss off Hawks and/or Roos by setting a team in Tas.

Although bums on seats is definitely a factor, I reckon the fact that players and coaches earning $300,000 would not want to live in a city where the tallest building isn't even 75 metres. Tasmania is not a place for the wealthy and young.

There are two ways of looking at this.

1. What you said.

2. A footballer on a $300 000+ wage will automatically be wealthier than a larger portion of the city they reside in than players in any other city in Australia. The house or area you decide to live in is essentially any of your choosing. No Xavier Richards being forced to move form Sydney because his rookie contract and contract targets weren't enough to live off. You would have to think there are a lot of potential kids coming into the AFL system who would truly revel in their celebrity and wealthy status, in a place that many who live say is a fantastic part of the world.

Also, you know what's better than being young and wealthy and living in a big city? Being young and wealthy with the ability to afford travel to any of those places but also being able to return to a chilled environment where your money can go further.

Everywhere in Queensland

On CPH1941 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Not even funny, where I lived in Cairns both my neighbours and the people behind us were all Taswegians.
My boss and two Gus I worked with were also taswegians.

But to be fair there was also the same amount of NZers I knew as well.

Tasmania to the AFL is the same as the Central Coast to the NRL.

Both deserve teams, both able to support teams, but won't get one unless an existing team relocates.

Forget a 19th team, St Kilda or North Melbourne are the most likely candidates to relocate there.
North would instantly become one of the wealthiest clubs in the league, basically doubling their market and supporter base, government funding up the wazoo.

vs if the AFL create a 19th team in Tassie, that will kick North out of the only place they could reasonably grow their brand into and essentially leaving the club treading water until the next financial crisis forces them to fold.

Forget a 19th team, St Kilda or North Melbourne are the most likely candidates to relocate there.
St Kilda is in the middle of a redevelopment of Moorabbin Oval that is worth in the hundreds of millions, that the state government, local council and AFL are also involved in.

It would be a pretty tough ask to expect those stakeholders to abandon the project and expect the AFL in particular to spend even more money relocating a team from Melbourne to Tasmania, the latter of whom has made it clear they want their own team and not a relocated side.

Not even touching on the fact the members would have to agree to it, and I can tell you for a fact that will never happen.

Interstate fans, particularly those from WA, think it's so easy to cut out St Kilda, North or the Bulldogs and just paste them somewhere else or merge them together. It's not.

St Kilda is in the middle of a redevelopment of Moorabbin Oval that is worth in the hundreds of millions, that the state government, local council and AFL are also involved in.

It would be a pretty tough ask to expect those stakeholders to abandon the project and expect the AFL in particular to spend even more money relocating a team from Melbourne to Tasmania, the latter of whom has made it clear they want their own team and not a relocated side.

Not even touching on the fact the members would have to agree to it, and I can tell you for a fact that will never happen.

Interstate fans, particularly those from WA, think it's so easy to cut out St Kilda, North or the Bulldogs and just paste them somewhere else or merge them together. It's not.
I beg to differ. Ctrl+x, then Ctrl+v

vs if the AFL create a 19th team in Tassie, that will kick North out of the only place they could reasonably grow their brand into and essentially leaving the club treading water until the next financial crisis forces them to fold.

And that's a bad thing because...?