Why the AFL is a joke...

Teagson

Jul 2, 2005
The AFL as a complete and utter farce as a competition and sport when Brisbane and Sydney, clubs based in states that couldn't give a stuff about the game, are able, no, handed 4 premierships of the past 5 years.

We have seen them receive huge salary cap concessions, Victorian based clubs selling home games to them, absurd and unforgivable Tribunal results fall into their favour (yes, I am looking at you B. Hall!), and them pose as a literal drain on the financial system all for the aim to 'expand the game' and make it 'a truly national competition'.

Now we have to painfully bare witness to Sydney's utterly boring and misguided game style that basically chokes play, removes contests, slows game speed to an abhorrent level, and literally makes negating players look like champions, and eventually endure whinges and sympathise with Brisbane once they finally hit rock bottom and begin to complain how we took away their blatantly unfair salary cap advantages in an attempt to balance the competition.

I mean, who actually cared when Brisbane or Sydney won their flags? The general consensus would have been one of 'Meh', accompanied by a casual shrug of the shoulders, which would have been in direct contrast to the AFL administration sitting back gleefully knowing their mission of crusading into foreign territory to steal more money from the unsuspecting sporting commoner was proceeding well.

In fact, I think it's fair to use the analogy of an newly created Adelaide or Perth based NRL club winning their competition's flag, since do you think anyone, apart from a few delusional supporters, would give a damn one iota? Well, it's the same with these imposters known as the Brisbane Lions and Sydney Swans winning premierships; stealing the glory of footy away from its Southern and Western heartlands, and turning it into a symbol of money and corporate expansionism.

The AFL, if it ever truly wants to become 'spiritually whole' again, must remove itself from the shores of Queensland and NSW (For this journey, if it is to succeed, will take several decades at least), reduce club numbers to 12 (thereby eliminating the financially draining Kangaroos and Western Bulldogs as well), create an even and balanced 24-round competition, and restore footy to the 'real' states; namely Victoria, South Australia, and Western Australia.
It was a joke to ever invest in a rugby-dominated market, and will always be a comical joke while the AFL, under the tyrant Demetriou, continues to drag the spirit of the game into a desolate mire with the elusive aim of creating a 'national competition'.

They got concessions for setting up a team in non footballing areas. Agreed, that the concessions went too far, and basically 'handed' them a premiership, or three.

They should stop the concessions now however, the teams are now established.

I believe Brisbanes concessions have been stopped, or at least cut back significantly

All this draft bullcrap to even the competition, and yet all these bonuses. Pathetic

I agree with much of what you say, but as a victorian i realise this great game needs to spread and success interstate is what will ensure this. I'm not just talking interstate either,this is the GREATEST game in the world. I look forward to the day we take this game internationally, please look into the future,its not that difficult.

Teagson said:
The AFL as a complete and utter farce as a competition...

Any competition is a farce when teams start losing on purpose.

I can't believe people are agreeing with this ignorant simpleton.

Teagson said:
The AFL as a complete and utter farce as a competition and sport when Brisbane and Sydney, clubs based in states that couldn't give a stuff about the game, are able, no, handed 4 premierships of the past 5 years.

We have seen them receive huge salary cap concessions, Victorian based clubs selling home games to them, absurd and unforgivable Tribunal results fall into their favour (yes, I am looking at you B. Hall!), and them pose as a literal drain on the financial system all for the aim to 'expand the game' and make it 'a truly national competition'.

Now we have to painfully bare witness to Sydney's utterly boring and misguided game style that basically chokes play, removes contests, slows game speed to an abhorrent level, and literally makes negating players look like champions, and eventually endure whinges and sympathise with Brisbane once they finally hit rock bottom and begin to complain how we took away their blatantly unfair salary cap advantages in an attempt to balance the competition.

I mean, who actually cared when Brisbane or Sydney won their flags? The general consensus would have been one of 'Meh', accompanied by a casual shrug of the shoulders, which would have been in direct contrast to the AFL administration sitting back gleefully knowing their mission of crusading into foreign territory to steal more money from the unsuspecting sporting commoner was proceeding well.

In fact, I think it's fair to use the analogy of an newly created Adelaide or Perth based NRL club winning their competition's flag, since do you think anyone, apart from a few delusional supporters, would give a damn one iota? Well, it's the same with these imposters known as the Brisbane Lions and Sydney Swans winning premierships; stealing the glory of footy away from its Southern and Western heartlands, and turning it into a symbol of money and corporate expansionism.

The AFL, if it ever truly wants to become 'spiritually whole' again, must remove itself from the shores of Queensland and NSW (For this journey, if it is to succeed, will take several decades at least), reduce club numbers to 12 (thereby eliminating the financially draining Kangaroos and Western Bulldogs as well), create an even and balanced 24-round competition, and restore footy to the 'real' states; namely Victoria, South Australia, and Western Australia.
It was a joke to ever invest in a rugby-dominated market, and will always be a comical joke while the AFL, under the tyrant Demetriou, continues to drag the spirit of the game into a desolate mire with the elusive aim of creating a 'national competition'.

Yes!! Yes!! Yes!!

Fantastic Post!!! Everything Ive always wanted to say!! The AFL is slowly killing itself in its heartland for the sake of expansion into two states that could not give a rats arse about our game. Time to focus on the real football supporting states!!

Wow! Great stuff! Please, person from Adelaide, tell us more about how footy fans from Brisbane and Sydney feel about their sport!

Excuse me while I go and call my Dad and tell him that he and his old Qld footy mates are dillusional and that their not allowed to go to games anymore because the Victorians want their sport back.:thumbsu:

Anyone who thinks Brisbane people didn't care about winning their grand finals didn't live here between 2001 and 2004.

The AFL needs to have non-Victorian teams at the top of the ladder th create an illusion they actually have a national competition. If both clubs Sydney and Brisbane were back to floundering at the foot of the ladder, they wouldn't have the national exposure and ... less lolly for the AFL. Simple as that, it's all about money. Forget about equality for all, this is the AFL.

If people genuinely think people in Brisbane and Sydney could give a rat's clacker about supporting the game, you only have to view that Sunday morning sports show from Sydney on Channel 7. About 3 minutes given to AFL, the rest is rugby league, rugby union, etc.

Teagson said:
...gleefully knowing their mission of crusading into foreign territory to steal more money from the unsuspecting sporting commoner was proceeding well.
What a load of BS! How was money stolen from any unsuspecting commoners? Are you one of the dolts that thinks players should go back to making $35 per game and it should cost $2 to gain entry into a game? Ask Tom Lonergan if he thinks players are overpaid after the weekend he "enjoyed". No one is forcing you to attend a single AFL match. You can sit on your arse and watch matches on the tube for free all season long if you chose to. Demetriou's "mire" has seen a massive television contract and record revenues flow into the AFL. AFL is financially healthy and very popular ATM!!
So what is the true source of this angst of yours? It's obviously being caused by the end of yet another dismal year at Princess Park and the disappointed are blindly looking elsewhere for the source of their dispair. You pathetic myopic gits need to wake up and realize that the Blues lack of success has nothing to do with Sydney or Brisbane but everything to do with a club that appears inferior in every area from the bootstudder to the CEO. As painful as it is to admit to yourselves, Carlton has become Spoonmeisters of the new century!
16 teams generate the revenue that flows into the AFL. If North and Footscray don't have the same riches as some other clubs, why is it wrong to share some of the wealth - which they help generate - to help make it a better competition?
Your plan to get the Blues out of additional spoons is flawed! If there were only 12 teams...the Blues would still be last and last place gets the spoon...not 16th!
And the real irony...Carlton is the most indebted club in the comp! Mismanagement and salary-cap cheating has led them to begging for cash at AFL House to help get them out of the mess they created. If you propose to eliminate the financially draining teams from the comp, Carlton would have to be at the top of that list!

Snuka said:
Wow! Great stuff! Please, person from Adelaide, tell us more about how footy fans from Brisbane and Sydney feel about their sport!

Excuse me while I go and call my Dad and tell him that he and his old Qld footy mates are dillusional and that their not allowed to go to games anymore because the Victorians want their sport back.:thumbsu:

Tell that to the record number of Queensland juniors that are about to be drafted.... :thumbsdown:

Me thinks that Brissy and Syd have paid bak to the AFL ne money given to them thru the large $s gained in media rights.

Me thinks that wages in ne business is higher in Syd than in other States because of the higher cost of living in Syd. The same shud b for and AFL player.

My rent thinks that the VFL were in a bad way and had no choice but to go national. They were goin broke he rekons.

Me thinks that if Vics want their VFL bak then take it bak. A successful national comp could be developed with the media dollars that will get as opposed to the media dollars that a Victorian comp will get.

Me thinks that we are pretty passionate about our AFL up here in Syd.

Me thinks that sum Vics (not most) need to get over their emotional problems - a Vic team will win a GF one day and a non-Vic team will win the wooden spoon - can't see it happening this decade tho.

Maybe the Vics cud set up a mini finals round robin for Vic clubs only.

I like your 'wedge politics' approach - divide and conquer just like little fcuk-head Johny. Why seperate out Qld and NSW. WA and SA were never part of the 'glorious' VFL.

Mayb deep down while you count the media dollars going to your club from being a part of a national comp which includes NSW and Qld (that must be ova half of the Oz popuation), u realise that Vic can no longer do it alone. That a national comp is the only way AFL will survive.

Monkster said:
Anyone who thinks Brisbane people didn't care about winning their grand finals didn't live here between 2001 and 2004.

Spot on. The original post has got to be a candidate for worst post of the year. I live in Brisbane and the progress the sport has made up here in the last ten years has been enormous. Please don't think for one second that Aussie Rules is YOUR game, it belongs to everyone who loves the game, no matter where you are from. You don't deserve it any more than I do.

It is ironic that without the TV money (gained because Sydney and Brisbane are in a national league) Carlton would most certainly die within the next 2-3 years. And yet here is a Carlton supporter sooking about it!

Very poor post. You are right about one thing though - the AFL IS a joke. But it is because of boring games, tanking, hopeless umpires and a completely stupid match review panel, not because of the player-retention allowances offered to Sydney and Brisbane.

LoneStar said:
What a load of BS! How was money stolen from any unsuspecting commoners? Are you one of the dolts that thinks players should go back to making $35 per game and it should cost $2 to gain entry into a game? Ask Tom Lonergan if he thinks players are overpaid after the weekend he "enjoyed". No one is forcing you to attend a single AFL match. You can sit on your arse and watch matches on the tube for free all season long if you chose to. Demetriou's "mire" has seen a massive television contract and record revenues flow into the AFL. AFL is financially healthy and very popular ATM!!
So what is the true source of this angst of yours? It's obviously being caused by the end of yet another dismal year at Princess Park and the disappointed are blindly looking elsewhere for the source of their dispair. You pathetic myopic gits need to wake up and realize that the Blues lack of success has nothing to do with Sydney or Brisbane but everything to do with a club that appears inferior in every area from the bootstudder to the CEO. As painful as it is to admit to yourselves, Carlton has become Spoonmeisters of the new century!
16 teams generate the revenue that flows into the AFL. If North and Footscray don't have the same riches as some other clubs, why is it wrong to share some of the wealth - which they help generate - to help make it a better competition?
Your plan to get the Blues out of additional spoons is flawed! If there were only 12 teams...the Blues would still be last and last place gets the spoon...not 16th!
And the real irony...Carlton is the most indebted club in the comp! Mismanagement and salary-cap cheating has led them to begging for cash at AFL House to help get them out of the mess they created. If you propose to eliminate the financially draining teams from the comp, Carlton would have to be at the top of that list!

here here.

Teagson said:

You idiot, get back in your fishbowl. Don't think that you've got a divine right to the game that nobody else does.:thumbsdown: If the AFL doesn't grow, the other major comps will.

LoneStar said:

First i just like to say i don't agree with this guy who started this thread but your statements are just as pathetic
The AFL needs Syd and Bris because why do u think we got so much for the TV rights . a VFL comp wouldn't survive today
Yes Carlton is in debt and have them themselves to blame , well more like that John Elliot is to blame.But the AFL needs Carlton its a powerhouse.
Yes its in debt but its members and huge support will help to turn it around . Collingwood was in massive debt in the 80's , Richmond in the 90's ,St.kilda in the 70's and 80's. Bulldogs nearly merged
The hawks have run off to Tassie for money , the kangaroos to the Gold coast
Just because carlton had 5 bad years in their over 120 years of existence, alot of other clubs have been in worse troubles over the years , there no need to put the boot in further .
We need 16 clubs

LoneStar said:
Revenue sharing is common to all sports. Extra handouts because a club cannot compete financially isn't. It's socialist.

Any extra financial reward should be based on on-field performance during the season. A scaled-system from 1 to 16.

Agree with original poster on his point about concessions.

Interestingly, if Australian Rules Football is the greatest game on earth, (hence better than the rugby codes) why does the AFL have to give it a hand up here? Surely, the Notherners will all flock to the game in their droves...its a superior product.:rolleyes:

I used to go to many Swans games between 94 - 01. Didn't support them, but wnated to watch games. I then tired of the continual manipulation by the AFL and barely have interest in the game at a national level. Just participate in local footy.

This post is as stupid as posts talking about killing off the doggies or the roos.

the dollars up for grabs in brisbane and sydney alone make it a worthwhile investment. I agree the salary cap advantages and draft concessions need to be scrapped (which they have haven't they?).

the thing that could lure them in the best is a return to SOO imo.

mate I think you are a joke.:thumbsu: I know of many a swans fan and many sydneysiders who support a Melbourne AFL. AFL is here to stay in sydney just as NRL will stay in Melbourne. AFL is NOT exactly Victoria's game at all its a national sport and in fact the game was actually invented a by a newsouthwelshman if my memory serves me correctly.

Let's see... Three teams get extra automatic payments every year. Two teams have an extra player in the squad. One team is guaranteed only to play Sydney once a year. Another team gets money from the league to look after a ground but the league doesn't take equity in the ground. Just over half the teams are guaranteed to play another particular team twice. Some Victorian teams have to travel more than twice as much as others. Some teams have a special game and no others are allowed to be scheduled for that day. Some teams who finish low one year, end up with a draw where they play more games against last year's higher finishers, some teams have had more than 15 games a year at only one ground.

Yes, its a joke, no wonder its not taking off in other countries, or in qld/nsw.

and i havent even mentioned the umpires/tribunal yet.

Why the AFL is a joke...