Roast Why We Lost.

Ratten started very early in the week about getting a win and he hardly put a foot wrong, congested the corridor and stopped any run, put pressure on our defenders, Robinson to take Fletcher out of the game, Carrazzo to tag Stanton wherever he went (IMO it was even 2 critical goals at the start of 4th qtr), clearances heavily in their favour as well as hit outs and they had their 3rd and 4th string rucks. Our rucks should of dominated but were embarassed.

Add to that the nonsensical coaching moves and it is actually quite funny. Ryder did sweet fa in the ruck and Hill was giving us something yet Ryder starts the last quarter and Hille is forward. 5 mins later game is dusted.

That has everything to do with the team selection which, along with goal kicking cost us the match.

We did not have a target across half forward - it was evident so many times they got the ball at half back and had nothing to kick to.

Hurley was the only true CHF style player we had yet he persisted with him in defence where he was completely ineefectual.

It was nice to see 1 change - but a lack of a CHF on match day killed us. Plus you could throw in shocking games from Monfries, Zaka and Reimers and we were shot across half forward.

That has everything to do with the team selection which, along with goal kicking cost us the match.

We did not have a target across half forward - it was evident so many times they got the ball at half back and had nothing to kick to.

Hurley was the only true CHF style player we had yet he persisted with him in defence where he was completely ineefectual.

It was nice to see 1 change - but a lack of a CHF on match day killed us. Plus you could throw in shocking games from Monfries, Zaka and Reimers and we were shot across half forward.

I lost count the amount of times we where breaking from half back and had players running free on the wings or one on ones forward but we persisted in trying to run through the middle with handballs.

This is a gameplan issue and instruction from the coach.

I keep on saying this gameplan is not sustainable. It was so easy to see the swarm coming and the inevitable turnover when trying to run and create from half back.

We have no get out plan. It's do or die. Run through or cop a goal. I just can't sit and watch the debacle. it's schoolboy stuff.

If Hurley was thrown forward the margin would have been even bigger than it was. He's been solid in defence the past few weeks. If anything Neagle needed to step up to the CHF position which he failed to do. The Hille/Ryder combo up forward has been working all year (when both are on the park) so why dispute it?

Monfries and Zaka both had pretty good games but Reimers needs to be able to walk the walk as well as talk the talk. Way more upside to Gus and Zaka than Reimers.

I thought everyone by now had realised Ryder and Hille going forward are effective as the THIRD tall drifting in, NOT playing a key down and needing one of the rucks to be a full forward. But obviously not. Thought Hurley was a good option again to go forward as we were struggling forward, but like the Melbourne game obviously the coaching box dont like to change much.

It may sound like sour grapes, Yes, structure was an issue and we did so much wrong, but still the bottom line was that the scoreboard never reflected the game in progress. We controlled such large chunks of that game, to get absolutely nowhere on the scoreboard. I always felt the game was only a quick 2-3 goal spurt by us of totally opening up, but not only did we open the butcher shop again kicking for goal, we did it through the midfield and probably gave up 6-7 goals from some of the worst turnovers you would ever see.

Ultimate pressure is scoreboard pressure, and as has been played 1000 times before last night, when a team controls for periods for no result, it almost goes completely haywire sooner or later when the opposite team inevitably goes on their roll. This has been Adelaide's major problem this season.

We were ice cold, they got great reward for effort going forward, yet still struggled to shake us off till the last. This is the reason after the game, normally Im angry but I could only laugh last night.

Dr Turf summed it up nicely this morning - yea carlton were ok, but Essendon butchered it more than any other team going forward this season it was hard to guage. We were worse than Collingwood in that Saints game. The misses were from such easy range. Not only did that give them confidence, it killed ours.

Another point - the zone from a kick in might as well be a guard of honour.
I think it's not so bad for the first kick, but it's those 2nd and 3rd kicks out of the f50 and into the midfield that catch us out. It seemed they constantly had a spare man on the wing who would just run it down or handball inboard to another teammate, with a 2-on-1 situation for us. It's exacerbated by the fact that our defenders zone off and have to rush back because the ball is coming in so quickly, though admittedly Hooker and Hurley both cut off a few leads.

It's our application and discipline rather than the zone itself I reckon, though it doesn't help when we're one forward down, as well as having Neagle who was, pressure-wise, basically ineffectual at CHF. iirc, it's one of the reasons why Prismall was dropped earlier in the season- his failure to adhede to the 'structures.' Too often our mids leave too much to one person. Poor Howlett racking up 7 tackles in the 3rd with very little support suggests that his teammates really need to work harder to support in the middle. Too many unaccountable players (Reimers one of the worst.)

I thought everyone by now had realised Ryder and Hille going forward are effective as the THIRD tall drifting in, NOT playing a key down and needing one of the rucks to be a full forward. But obviously not.

Good point Smokin. :thumbsu:

If Hurley was thrown forward the margin would have been even bigger than it was. He's been solid in defence the past few weeks. If anything Neagle needed to step up to the CHF position which he failed to do. The Hille/Ryder combo up forward has been working all year (when both are on the park) so why dispute it?
Could have easily used Fletch on Waite or Hampson - they seemed to rotate a bit. Anyone can play on Robinson.

Hille/Ryder up fwd works when we have a FF and CHF and they STRETCH the defense.

Nealge is a FF and a pretty ordinary one at that. At CHF he is a complete liability. The ruckmen are resting up fwd so they are not going to play CHF.

Monfries and Zaka both had pretty good games but Reimers needs to be able to walk the walk as well as talk the talk. Way more upside to Gus and Zaka than Reimers.
What game did you watch? Monfries was pathetic. Zaka did a little, but is wasted up fwd.

Reimers for mine has a season next year to get fit and play consistent footy. This game shows how hot and cold he is. When he is cold, he is not sighted.

It's our application and discipline rather than the zone itself I reckon

Too often our mids leave too much to one person. Poor Howlett racking up 7 tackles in the 3rd with very little support suggests that his teammates really need to work harder to support in the middle. Too many unaccountable players (Reimers one of the worst.)

True mate. I would love to see our coaches enforce midfield discipline the way opposition teams do. If you fail to do your part in applying the structural defense then you get dragged... and if the players are too tired to apply the defense then increase the rotations to keep them fresh.

If you fail to follow the onfield rules then you get dragged. I would love to see this. I think it would do us wonders over a year or two.

Just finished watching the tape.

Seriously, I may have one eye but tried to watch it with 2 - but we were clearly the better side for 3 quarters in play.

That scoreboard was criminal all night. We did ourselves absolutely no favors whatsoever.

Go watch the big first qtr Prismall turnover if you want the game summed up in 30 seconds. We are in front, controlling the game streaming forward again. Prismall takes too long to make a decision, gets his kick smothered they run forward. Hurley and Hooker were actually OK positioned, betts had nowhere to go 80m out and getting closed in on... except for, Garlett - where was he? He had come off the friggen bench and snuck behind and was 30-40 meters by himself streaming forward as the replay showed when the turnover happened. He marks, goes back kicks horribly from directly behind looks like it would miss by 2 or so metres, then it swings late and absolutely JUST sneaks in. We are kicking like a busted you know what at the other end.

Thats all I will say.

Indecisive, out coached, poor clearances, Robbie Warnock winning in the middle and as Stanton said in his post match interview,

'the boys came out with a different attitude tonight' WTF

Did they forget what they were being paid to do?

We could've been equal at 3 quarter time if not for woeful kicking. Seriously, these guys hit targets constantly around the ground yet cant get it into a fairly large gap between two sticks? Stop trying to place the ball and hit through it!

I thought Stantons hit after his goal was ****ing stupid as well, they got the ball back in their area and kicked a goal, took away the momentum we were building. Dumb from a relatively experienced player.

I thought everyone by now had realised Ryder and Hille going forward are effective as the THIRD tall drifting in, NOT playing a key down and needing one of the rucks to be a full forward. But obviously not. Thought Hurley was a good option again to go forward as we were struggling forward, but like the Melbourne game obviously the coaching box dont like to change much.

It may sound like sour grapes, Yes, structure was an issue and we did so much wrong, but still the bottom line was that the scoreboard never reflected the game in progress. We controlled such large chunks of that game, to get absolutely nowhere on the scoreboard. I always felt the game was only a quick 2-3 goal spurt by us of totally opening up, but not only did we open the butcher shop again kicking for goal, we did it through the midfield and probably gave up 6-7 goals from some of the worst turnovers you would ever see.

Ultimate pressure is scoreboard pressure, and as has been played 1000 times before last night, when a team controls for periods for no result, it almost goes completely haywire sooner or later when the opposite team inevitably goes on their roll. This has been Adelaide's major problem this season.

We were ice cold, they got great reward for effort going forward, yet still struggled to shake us off till the last. This is the reason after the game, normally Im angry but I could only laugh last night.

Dr Turf summed it up nicely this morning - yea carlton were ok, but Essendon butchered it more than any other team going forward this season it was hard to guage. We were worse than Collingwood in that Saints game. The misses were from such easy range. Not only did that give them confidence, it killed ours.

Pretty much an accurate summary of the game.

Hille/Ryder have more impact when we play 7 talls ( not 6 ) as this stretches the defence.

Could have easily used Fletch on Waite or Hampson - they seemed to rotate a bit. Anyone can play on Robinson.

Ratten has his shortcomings, but he chose that matchup and made it stick. It was not what Essendon wanted.

Just finished watching the tape.

Seriously, I may have one eye but tried to watch it with 2 - but we were clearly the better side for 3 quarters in play.

That scoreboard was criminal all night. We did ourselves absolutely no favors whatsoever.

Go watch the big first qtr Prismall turnover if you want the game summed up in 30 seconds. We are in front, controlling the game streaming forward again. Prismall takes too long to make a decision, gets his kick smothered they run forward. Hurley and Hooker were actually OK positioned, betts had nowhere to go 80m out and getting closed in on... except for, Garlett - where was he? He had come off the friggen bench and snuck behind and was 30-40 meters by himself streaming forward as the replay showed when the turnover happened. He marks, goes back kicks horribly from directly behind looks like it would miss by 2 or so metres, then it swings late and absolutely JUST sneaks in. We are kicking like a busted you know what at the other end.

Thats all I will say.

I dont think you're biased at all. I agree 110%

The team need to realize that's it's called "Football" not handball. To many handballs to players that are already covered and not backing up either. Also leaving to many opposition players on their own waiting for a back door handball from their team mates.