10k Posts
Mar 16, 2005
True centre half forward
Hibees
Just thought I'd post this up to say that I for one am standing by Wikileaks founder and North supporter Julian Assange as the Powers That Be try to shut him up.

Having worked as a journalist I have huge sympathy for Assange's courageous quest to drag kicking and screaming into the light the information that governments would rather you didn't know about.

The murders, the disappearances, the lies, the hypocrisy.

Its rather fitting I reckon that Julian is a North supporter. The little guy standing up to might to fight for what is right.

How do I know Julian is a North man?

With tremendous irony, I can't reveal my source but a good mate from Flemington where I grew up (no, its not JamieJohnstone) used to knock around with Julian in the early 90s in Melbourne. They were both keen on computers and got up to all kinds of hijinx, some of which the AFP took a very close interest in.

Suffice to say though, my mate used to take Julian to games, especially Friday night games. I wouldn't say that Julian is an out and footy fanatic, being a fairly sensitive soul, but I do know he enjoyed those games enough to the point where my mate bought him a North membership as a present one year.

It was, as we know, a great time to be a North supporter and my mate says that more than anything Julian loved the sense of occasion, the MCG on a Friday night, some beers afterwards, head off to techno club afterwards, that sort of stuff.

So, as Julian cops the wrath of the most powerful people in the world, I'd just like to say that I for one support what he's doing.

I know its highly unlikely he'll read this, but: Julian - hearts to hearts, leaks to leaks! Keep up the good work and don't the bastards grind you down.

(If you are reading this officers, I never met Julian myself and I certainly don't know where he is now.)

Well given the fact he's now the world's most wanted man, we should get him the 2011 North Melbourne home jumper, with Mazda emblazoned on the front, and provide him the backdrop sponsors' board to conduct his covert interviews infront of. Money couldn't buy such publicity! Do it Euge :thumbsu:

SweetLeftFoot

10k Posts
Mar 16, 2005
True centre half forward
Hibees
LOL.

Dunno if Mazda would like being associated with that.

Still though, good on Julian. He's a gutsy, gutsy bloke who has changed the world. Not many of us can say that.

Mazda may as it's a way to get a tiny bit of revenge back on the US for Hiroshima and Nagasaki. They are, after all, a Nippon company.

I too support Assange's "I'm just putting it out there" philosophy of uncovering some of the back room crap which goes on in the world. Nothing wrong with spreading the truth.

Do you know if he ever bothered to renew his membership? ;-)

I think most people support what he's doing. I wouldn't say that all secrets need to be out in the open, but most probably should be. And as the founder of the site, he should be responsible to decide which ones belong in which bucket.

One thing I am wondering about, how do people actually pass those documents/videos/photos to him? Surely, all electronic channels that lead to him would be monitored by various secret service organisations? And I can't see too many anonymous "leakers" being keen on flying to some weird locations, and personally handing it to him. Interesting how it all works...

SweetLeftFoot

10k Posts
Mar 16, 2005
True centre half forward
Hibees
One thing I am wondering about, how do people actually pass those documents/videos/photos to him? Surely, all electronic channels that lead to him would be monitored by various secret service organisations? And I can't see too many anonymous "leakers" being keen on flying to some weird locations, and personally handing it to him. Interesting how it all works...

He actually used to specialise when he was a hacker/programmer in developing encryption stuff. Its said that some of the stuff he designed was as secure as anything being used by .mil or cops.

I reckon he'd have his way. But then who knows, maybe someone just comes and picks up a CD or memory stick from the leaker.

I'll text my mate and see if he knows Julian renewed the membership but I doubt it. It was in my mate's name (well, he bought it) too.

Handsome.B.Wonderful

Jan 13, 2006
Bigfooty
From Wikipedia:
"In 1987, after turning 16, Assange began hacking under then name "Mendax" (derived from a phrase of Horace: "splendide mendax," or "nobly untruthful")."

*Looks at Horace*

*Phones Interpol to check if there's a reward up for grabs*

080910_Shady-Guy-on-Phone.jpg

Cold Gin

Oct 12, 2010
Just thought I'd post this up to say that I for one am standing by Wikileaks founder and North supporter Julian Assange as the Powers That Be try to shut him up.

Having worked as a journalist I have huge sympathy for Assange's courageous quest to drag kicking and screaming into the light the information that governments would rather you didn't know about.

The murders, the disappearances, the lies, the hypocrisy.

Its rather fitting I reckon that Julian is a North supporter. The little guy standing up to might to fight for what is right.

How do I know Julian is a North man?

With tremendous irony, I can't reveal my source but a good mate from Flemington where I grew up (no, its not JamieJohnstone) used to knock around with Julian in the early 90s in Melbourne. They were both keen on computers and got up to all kinds of hijinx, some of which the AFP took a very close interest in.

Suffice to say though, my mate used to take Julian to games, especially Friday night games. I wouldn't say that Julian is an out and footy fanatic, being a fairly sensitive soul, but I do know he enjoyed those games enough to the point where my mate bought him a North membership as a present one year.

It was, as we know, a great time to be a North supporter and my mate says that more than anything Julian loved the sense of occasion, the MCG on a Friday night, some beers afterwards, head off to techno club afterwards, that sort of stuff.

So, as Julian cops the wrath of the most powerful people in the world, I'd just like to say that I for one support what he's doing.

I know its highly unlikely he'll read this, but: Julian - hearts to hearts, leaks to leaks! Keep up the good work and don't the bastards grind you down.

(If you are reading this officers, I never met Julian myself and I certainly don't know where he is now.)

Sorry, but maybe the "Left" in "SweetLeftFoot" ought to be in capitals, because only the loopy left could seriously defend this man's actions.

He's self-important, a liar, and even a hypocrite, who has a lot of blood on his hands. And, to borrow a quote from the UK Guardian, "the sanctimonious piety of the man is sickening."

SweetLeftFoot

10k Posts
Mar 16, 2005
True centre half forward
Hibees
Sorry, but maybe the "Left" in "SweetLeftFoot" ought to be in capitals, because only the loopy left could seriously defend this man's actions.

He's self-important, a liar, and even a hypocrite, who has a lot of blood on his hands. And, to borrow a quote from the UK Guardian, "the sanctimonious piety of the man is sickening."

I'll plead guilty as charged then.

I won't, and I support him. Maybe his methods could be questioned but I don't dislike his motives personally. Some of the stuff to come to light has been embarrassing for the authors I'm sure, but there'd be no embarrassment if they had nothing to hide or be ashamed of.

If, in the end, this leads to global online security being improved dramatically then that too will be a good thing. As things stand now on that front, as Assange's efforts clearly demonstrate, systems aren't secure enough obviously.

I'm sure his work polarizes people the world over anyway.

Northerly

Oct 9, 2004
Arsenal, Storm, Rebels
I have a vague recollection that prison escapee Brendan Abbott was also a North fan and member (I may well be incorrect)? Perhaps not on the same scale as Assange, but we do seem to attract a high standard of fugitive to our club.

SweetLeftFoot

10k Posts
Mar 16, 2005
True centre half forward
Hibees
I have a vague recollection that prison escapee Brendan Abbott was also a North fan and member (I may well be incorrect)? Perhaps not on the same scale as Assange, but we do seem to attract a high standard of fugitive to our club.

Yep. He was indeed. And if it wasn't for Brendan Berichon having a smack habit, he'd probably be free and anticipating season 2011 right now. There's not many of us at North but when we do get supporters, they are of a higher calibre.

shiraz

Jan 14, 2009
Cambodia
I know there is a fair bit of debate as to whether Robin Hood even existed. But if he did, I think it's fair to say the press he got would have been a lot like the stuff Assange is getting. The similarities go deeper, you could say, as in this information age, Assange steals from the information rich, and gives to the information poor. Modern hero I reckon. Better than Ned Kelly.

He's currently leading the voting for Time Magazine Person of the Year. Would he be the first Australian winner? Anyway, I hope he wins...

GarnerSmash

They tried to make me go to rehab
10k Posts Ex-Moderator North Melbourne - 2015 Daw & MacMillan Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2014 Daw, Black, Gibson Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2013 Daw, Black and Gibson Player Sponsorship North Melbourne - North 2012 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2011 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2010 Player Sponsor
Jun 2, 2009

Quoting Andrew Bolt doesn't do your argument any favours. To borrow a quote from you "the sanctimonious piety of the man is sickening."

Yep. He was indeed. And if it wasn't for Brendan Berichon having a smack habit, he'd probably be free and anticipating season 2011 right now. There's not many of us at North but when we do get supporters, they are of a higher calibre.

Just on Berichon, he's got a pretty strong North pedigree.

Jim Krakouer's his Pa-in-law.

Handsome.B.Wonderful

Jan 13, 2006
Bigfooty

I remember this.

In 1998 while Brenden Abbott and Brendan Berichon were on the run after shooting 2 policemen they were attending North games using their Gold Pagan's Patrons memberships.

If memory serves correct they had even used their own names to buy the memberships.

Northerly

Oct 9, 2004
Arsenal, Storm, Rebels
I know there is a fair bit of debate as to whether Robin Hood even existed. But if he did, I think it's fair to say the press he got would have been a lot like the stuff Assange is getting. The similarities go deeper, you could say, as in this information age, Assange steals from the information rich, and gives to the information poor. Modern hero I reckon. Better than Ned Kelly.

He's currently leading the voting for Time Magazine Person of the Year. Would he be the first Australian winner? Anyway, I hope he wins...

Fair bet that Robin and Ned would have been North members too, given that we are the fugitive's club of choice.

GarnerSmash

They tried to make me go to rehab
10k Posts Ex-Moderator North Melbourne - 2015 Daw & MacMillan Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2014 Daw, Black, Gibson Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2013 Daw, Black and Gibson Player Sponsorship North Melbourne - North 2012 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2011 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2010 Player Sponsor
Jun 2, 2009
How many memberships would you like, Sir?

This many.
images