Wild Tiger

I was one who wanted action on Edwards and If Dustin doesnt improve his attitude I would have no problem seeing him go to GWS next year for the first pick in the national draft and dominc tyson. Tom Boyd and Dominic Tyson for Martin would be a fair swap.

Are you kidding? He is a kid with a lot to learn yes, but its not like he shoots up behind the clubrooms before training. How about backing him in to become the player he and the club are working hard to make him into.

As i said earlier, if he turns up for preseason in good nick and doesnt step out of line through the year there is no issue.

Maybe we should get Houli to take him under his wing - should at least keep him away from the sauce.

Are you kidding? He is a kid with a lot to learn yes, but its not like he shoots up behind the clubrooms before training. How about backing him in to become the player he and the club are working hard to make him into.

As i said earlier, if he turns up for preseason in good nick and doesnt step out of line through the year there is no issue.
Exactly, if he does everything that he is supposed to during the season. Still trains well in the off-season and doesn't do anything illegal or too out of hand, I don't see why it matters. Who cares if he drinks (as long as its not too much and too often) when he is on holiday, he's 21 with a lot of cash, that's what most would do.

Used this word on the Aaron Edwards thread and I'll use it again.
HYPOCRITES!!!o_O
There was people lining up to stone the new Tiger for getting drunk at the races, but it appears there are deeper problems here and most are willing to simply brush it aide and say, "it happens".
One standard for one and one for another????
I said it at the time of the Connors incident, this kid needs to pull his head in (I like many have heard some awful stories about Dusty).
I maintain the same .. pull your head in.
His 2012 season was nothing spectacular!!

Are you really that thick?

Do you understand the difference between a 29 y.o. at his 3rd club and a 21 y.o. at one club or do you need it spelt out for you?

What do you think one of the main reasons some of us didn't want someone like Edwards coming into the Richmond enviroment was?

Think McFly, think.

Are you really that thick?

Do you understand the difference between a 29 y.o. at his 3rd club and a 21 y.o. at one club or do you need it spelt out for you?

What do you think one of the main reasons some of us didn't want someone like Edwards coming into the Richmond enviroment was?

Think McFly, think.

Who gives a toss what the tiny minority think. Richmond wanted him and thats all their is to it.

Said this yesterday in a thread which mentioned Dusty still better than Scully/Trengove. I is worried man! :S Dusty really worries me. He has a lot of floggish tendencies and can play footy. Let's hope he turns out to be like Dane Swan. A massive flog that is controlled by the club and wins a Brownlow.

Who gives a toss what the tiny minority think. Richmond wanted him and thats all their is to it.
Yeah and drone supporters like you were probably trotting out the old "club always knows best" line under Geisch, Frawley & Wallace too.

Hence why I don't really care what the likes of you think - because you never really think.

Yeah im not really all that concerned. Although i am expecting a big year from him this year. If he does another 2012 then i'll start to be a little concerned.

The concern i had this year was post suspension he had no more urgency in his footy than pre suspension. It was like nothing had changed.

I believe the continued speculation exists because many pundits believe that the odds of Dusty never reaching his full potential are slowly tipping against him. The evidence is there - not many would deny that this year he didn't improve at level that was anticipated after last year.

This is a kid that could be anything. He has shown he has that undeniable X factor that can turn a game on it's head. Whether he becomes that consistently or whether he joins the growing ranks of "talented churn" depends on whether the penny drops for him sooner - or later.

Before I provoke a backlash...

I did say "full potential". There is a chance that Dusty skips along doing what he's currently doing and stays on a list as a very servicable player for many years. Much as Ablett may have done if the leadership group did not sit him down years ago and point out a few home truths.

I did say "slowly tipping against him". Time is on his side but his less than stellar 2012 would suggest the best thing he can do on his "off season" is bust his arse more than anyone at Tigerland and start 2013 with an engine that would make Jobe Watson blush.

I love him. Even at 70% of his potential, I'd keep him. But we all want to see him become the player he can be. If he does, he will be a critical component in our next premiership side.

Much as Ablett may have done if the leadership group did not sit him down years ago and point out a few home truths.
Can't see why our leadership group can't do this when the whole group is back together!

Seriously, his on field performances are not an issue. He could improve only gradually over the next 2-3 years, and still become a consistent gun at 26. His year this year was not as bad as some express, only really when they compare to the high expectations he generated through an immaculate pre-season last year.

If we can keep him in check off the field, then just sit back and enjoy I say ;)

This from you …

Bringing the club in to disrepute is the only one that matters to me

But here’s a selection for ya (no names)….

I would sack him. Not for being drunk but for being a tool. Get Rid of Him. He was just a short cut for some mild short term success

The guy is clearly a luv sick puppy bemoaning his severed ties with norf Dont know why we bothered

Gives the impression he couldn't care less if he was picked up or not.
Better now than the Friday before a game though.

Disbelief. Congratulations Aaron, you're about to feel the wrath of the Tiger faithful. You ******* idiot.

Piss him off. Better players available as delisted FA's anyway. Could be a blessing in disguise IMO.

Clearly we are only targeting individuals of the highest character...

Seriously, I don't care if it's somewhat innoccuos - piss him off for being thick!

Seriously, I know we all get drunk... but man what a friggin d*ckhead. 3 days after joining a new club!

Less than two days after having his livelihood saved. I think the pysc testing machine needs re calibrating.

Right next to the still swinging, rotting carcass of Connors. Like Dan he has long rap sheet of previous form, just because it wasn't at Richmond is irrllevant, in fact if anything it's worse that he's bought it with him to a new -third- club within 72 hours of arriving.

Well he's obviously very thankful for the 2nd chance we gave him isn't he? If he can't pull it together days after arriving at a new club then what hope has he got?

We don't want bad eggs.
I think BOTH should pull their heads in plain and simple ... nothing less, nothing more.
It disappoints me more that Martin has ability by the bucketload and seems not to be focused, but if we are going to condemn one, condemn the other!!
It's a TEAM game, all players should be judged and adhere to the same team rules!

As much as l absolutely love Cotch, l go to the game just wanting to see Martin go about things. Again, already before pre-season has even started, the club has again gone public about their dissatisfaction on where Martin is at. I know Ralphy wrote the story, but the club clearly sanctioned that article.

Martin is a free spirit and l doubt whether he's the kind of character to enjoy the blowtorch treatment. If the rumours are true that he hangs out with some questionable types, if we push him too far, he's likely to go... you know what, go **** yourselves.

This season, l was left just so disappointed watching games and seeing Martin looked disinterested, unsure, unfit and just not enjoying it. Its crushing considerign the way he came onto the scene. For all Cotch's brilliance, it'll be Martin that wins us a flag. He's just that type of play to destroy the opposition.

The club and Martin needs to find a happy place... and soon. Because the camels back is not far from breaking.

Can't see why our leadership group can't do this when the whole group is back together!

The leadership group... honestly, i hate leadership groups. And l suspect Dustin is the kind of bloke that sticks two fingers to the blokes that are on the leadership group. Sure he loves his teammates, but **** me, he aint going to lose sleep over what the leadership group thinks.

As much as l absolutely love Cotch, l go to the game just wanting to see Martin go about things. Again, already before pre-season has even started, the club has again gone public about their dissatisfaction on where Martin is at. I know Ralphy wrote the story, but the club clearly sanctioned that article.

Martin is a free spirit and l doubt whether he's the kind of character to enjoy the blowtorch treatment. If the rumours are true that he hangs out with some questionable types, if we push him too far, he's likely to go... you know what, go **** yourselves.

This season, l was left just so disappointed watching games and seeing Martin looked disinterested, unsure, unfit and just not enjoying it. Its crushing considerign the way he came onto the scene. For all Cotch's brilliance, it'll be Martin that wins us a flag. He's just that type of play to destroy the opposition.

The club and Martin needs to find a happy place... and soon. Because the camels back is not far from breaking.

Never agreed more about a post. Well done

The leadership group... honestly, i hate leadership groups. And l suspect Dustin is the kind of bloke that sticks two fingers to the blokes that are on the leadership group. Sure he loves his teammates, but **** me, he aint going to lose sleep over what the leadership group thinks.

If that was the case, (which i highly doubt and hope isn't the case) then i wouldn't want him at the club! Someone who does not appreciate/respect his leaders should not be apart of our club no matter how good you are or could be! Just poor culture to have around! I would hope he would care very deeply if Chris Newman told him pull his head in for the sake of the club! The leadership group would be telling him this out of the best interest of the club and ifhe chose not to listen then he would have no repect for the club and therefore should not be wanted at RFC!

Which is the exact reason why he won't reach his potential , he is a little ahead of himself and he won't win a premiership , he may however be BOG in a grand final . A premiership isn't won on the back of one game .

What Dustin does or doesn't do off field doesn't bother me. He's a lad.
Not the end of the world.
My real concern is him leaving for the inevitable ridiculous money offer he revieves from one of the new expansion teams.
I've always felt he'd be off after a few years,hope I'm wrong but i just get that feeling.
Having newspapers splash him all over the front page with speculative but nonetheless hurtfull content won't help.

If that was the case, (which i highly doubt and hope isn't the case) then i wouldn't want him at the club! Someone who does not appreciate/respect his leaders should not be apart of our club no matter how good you are or could be! Just poor culture to have around! I would hope he would care very deeply if Chris Newman told him pull his head in for the sake of the club! The leadership group would be telling him this out of the best interest of the club and ifhe chose not to listen then he would have no repect for the club and therefore should not be wanted at RFC!

When its your Captain its fine. Its one on one ..man to man.But when its a group you get that prefect wank about it.
This can piss people off because unless its something like Geelong in its hey day there will be someone in the group you dont really rate etc.
Let the coach do the dirty work not players that have been put into a leadership group for the sake of it.

Unadulterated bullshit. The team lives and dies on the code set by the leadership group, whether you like it nor not. Dusty knows this, Cotch knows this, Tom Derrickx knows this and Luke McGuane knows this. Sticks his fingers? Mate that's a five minute death sentence.
Get with the program Wally, the world has moved on from the 80's