Wild Tiger

Gotta love a few here desperate to make the early call on Dusty being an out of control drunk based upon bugger all facts and a bunch of net/twitter innuendo.

Let's get more Daniel Jackson's to the club, shit footballers, but awesome charity workers!!!

The clear issue is his relationship with Dan Connors.
My opinion anyway.
Get up 'em Dusty, you'll have a great season.

The clear issue is his relationship with Dan Connors.
My opinion anyway.
Get up 'em Dusty, you'll have a great season.

I was led to believe that the relationships he has with other members of society that has the club concerned. Didak-style. But thats only speculation.

Far too many wowsers in this thread. Did Ned Flanders hijack your accounts?

I will say this about Martin. I don't like the ridiculous tatts and I think it makes him look like a bogan. However, I know enough to know that they have absolutely no bearing on whether he can play footy or not.

I think some of us are being way too precious because the AFL has brainwashed us into thinking that good players must be in the James Hird 'i'm so perfect' mould.

I will back the club to be doing it's best to make sure he stays out of trouble and is aware of the responsibilities that go along with getting paid well into the 6 figures at a young age. Just because it looks like he wont end up the next James Hird golden boy media personality doesn't bother me too much because James Hird is a boring, sliced white bread caricature of what the AFL wants its players to be. Spare me.

Just because he looks like a bogan and possibly hangs around with bogans doesn't make him any less of a footballer. And as for getting up to mischief, every one of us here on this site has gotten up to mischief, some of us much worse, so don't be hypocrites. And many of us have clauses in our contracts about gross misconduct and drug testing, so it's not like his situation is much different. If he gets out of line he will pay the penalty and you'd have to think the club has a pretty good handle on where he is at, and making him know what is expected of him.

I will say this about Martin. I don't like the ridiculous tatts and I think it makes him look like a bogan. However, I know enough to know that they have absolutely no bearing on whether he can play footy or not.

I think some of us are being way too precious because the AFL has brainwashed us into thinking that good players must be in the James Hird 'i'm so perfect' mould.

I will back the club to be doing it's best to make sure he stays out of trouble and is aware of the responsibilities that go along with getting paid well into the 6 figures at a young age. Just because it looks like he wont end up the next James Hird golden boy media personality doesn't bother me too much because James Hird is a boring, sliced white bread caricature of what the AFL wants its players to be. Spare me.

Just because he looks like a bogan and possibly hangs around with bogans doesn't make him any less of a footballer. And as for getting up to mischief, every one of us here on this site has gotten up to mischief, some of us much worse, so don't be hypocrites. And many of us have clauses in our contracts about gross misconduct and drug testing, so it's not like his situation is much different. If he gets out of line he will pay the penalty and you'd have to think the club has a pretty good handle on where he is at, and making him know what is expected of him.
Well said mate..

No. Martin is a tiger through thick and thin.
So he has a few off-field issues?
I'm sure the rest of the players in the AFL are as clean as a new born baby's arse :rolleyes:
A smoking girlfriend would fix his problems.

This just doesnt make sense , the article is about how Dustin is easily lead and if he gets a girlfriend that smokes like you're suggesting then there is a fair chance he'll take up the durry's too.

This would more than likely hurt his career. The coaching staff have been working on his tank for 3 pre seasons , could you imagine how much Dustins lung capacity would reduce even if he only smoked 2 milligram menthol cigarettes.

This could only work if he had a permanent switch to the forward line but you could kiss goodbye Dusty's days of playing on the ball.

This just doesnt make sense , the article is about how Dustin is easily lead and if he gets a girlfriend that smokes like you're suggesting then there is a fair chance he'll take up the durry's too.

This would more than likely hurt his career. The coaching staff have been working on his tank for 3 pre seasons , could you imagine how much Dustins lung capacity would reduce even if he only smoked 2 milligram menthol cigarettes.

This could only work if he had a permanent switch to the forward line but you could kiss goodbye Dusty's days of playing on the ball.

Lol. You do know i mean smoking as in 'Smoking Hot'?
You know, someone to keep him guessing at times, give him a focus!
Dustin can pull a cracker, because at the end of the day, the girls wont argue ;)

Lol. You do know i mean smoking as in 'Smoking Pot'?
You know, someone to keep him guessing at times, give him a focus!
Dustin can pull a cracker, because at the end of the day, the girls wont argue ;)

Once again I do not think this is the answer to the problem El Capitano , it might mellow him out off the field a bit but he will more than likely add extra unwanted kilo's from raids on local 24 hour service stations when he gets the munchies, his skin folds will go to sh*t and he'll more than likely get suspended from the league.

I think he's just got to concentrate on footy and try and live a clean healthy lifestyle

Once again I do not think this is the answer to the problem El Capitano , it might mellow him out off the field a bit but he will more than likely add extra unwanted kilo's from raids on local 24 hour service stations when he gets the munchies, his skin folds will go to sh*t and he'll more than likely get suspended from the league.

I think he's just got to concentrate on footy and try and live a clean healthy lifestyle

Love your work Rusty.

I don't really care how good he is anymore, if he wants to risk the entire stability of this football club to live out his youthful reckless abandon, he can go. Chances are with the talent we have, a time will come where one of our blue chips will leave for money, perhaps we should be proactive and make sure we get the best deal we can, IF he can't have a unanimous trust of the entire coaching and leadership group by the end of the 2013 season.

There is obviously a very real concern if DH continues to not deny the speculation. He's a talent, but he is also quite clearly a dick as well. I don't buy into the whole "he's a lad who comes from the Bronx" crap - he is an adult getting paid $300k a year for an organisation worth 10s of millions of dollars. If he needs authority in his life, make him have to go visit the ceo of our major sponsor and have the conversation with them of answering their concerns about our star player, and why they should invest millions o more money on them. The kd is a massive worry, if he couldn't hack high school, how the funk is he oing to be mature enough to handle fame?

I really like the way he plays football, but I really hate dickheads and brats. He has 12 months to prove his true colours.

The media have started their anti Richmond campaign way earlier knowing we have a great chance of making finals.
Aaron Edwards thing went on forever and had more coverage than the US hurricane lmao now Dustin Martin.

Can't wait to see what they pull out for Dimma next year the pricks.

I don't really care how good he is anymore, if he wants to risk the entire stability of this football club to live out his youthful reckless abandon, he can go. Chances are with the talent we have, a time will come where one of our blue chips will leave for money, perhaps we should be proactive and make sure we get the best deal we can, IF he can't have a unanimous trust of the entire coaching and leadership group by the end of the 2013 season.

There is obviously a very real concern if DH continues to not deny the speculation. He's a talent, but he is also quite clearly a dick as well. I don't buy into the whole "he's a lad who comes from the Bronx" crap - he is an adult getting paid $300k a year for an organisation worth 10s of millions of dollars. If he needs authority in his life, make him have to go visit the ceo of our major sponsor and have the conversation with them of answering their concerns about our star player, and why they should invest millions o more money on them. The kd is a massive worry, if he couldn't hack high school, how the funk is he oing to be mature enough to handle fame?

I really like the way he plays football, but I really hate dickheads and brats. He has 12 months to prove his true colours.

You obviously dont rate him then

The media have started their anti Richmond campaign way earlier knowing we have a great chance of making finals.
Aaron Edwards thing went on forever and had more coverage than the US hurricane lmao now Dustin Martin.

Can't wait to see what they pull out for Dimma next year the pricks.

Honestly why did no one from our club just have a laugh with a reporter around and say " I dont think that is our problem. That is Norths problem and it was his farewell and he hasn't met our playing group yet. He's been pumped full of piss!

Just got home from work and the last quarter of the Tigers v Saints game was playing on Foxtel. Epic stuff! Nothing to do with this thread but I'm sure you'll agree, that was a bloody good game of football.

Dusty did some nice things too for a 3rd year player....

Just got home from work and the last quarter of the Tigers v Saints game was playing on Foxtel. Epic stuff! Nothing to do with this thread but I'm sure you'll agree, that was a bloody good game of football.

Dusty did some nice things too for a 3rd year player....
Yer that Dusty goes alright

For god sake I can't believe some of the absolute crap I'm reading on here.
He has 12 months, he will never reach his full potential at this rate amongst other stuff that is honestly pure BS.
It appears Dustin isn't the only one who needs interests outside of football.
He is just a young bogan and he will grow out if this. He isn't the first and he isn't the last person to make it into the AFL who isn't as perfect as some of you are.

You obviously dont rate him then
Mate, I rate him a lot as a player - probably my favourite player with the way he goes about the game.

But this club has put in way too much work and came way too far to be put at risk for 1 individual. I blame Connors and Martin for no finals last season,their immaturity cost us big at a time when our competitors were banding to together for an important finals run, we had these two dickheads acting like your stock standard teenage bogans.

If they want to live out their youth being reckless like youths can be, I have no issue with that. Just b it known you don't earn the right to play in the biggest sporting arena in Australia week in,week out - and earn $100s of $1000's per year - do it working as a apprentice trade or bunnings clerk. If his suspension and sacking of his mate didn't make the penny drop, then I think he is as dumb as dogs balls.if we can replace him for something of similar value, then we should seriously consider it if the situation isn't completely solved by oct 2013

I believe the continued speculation exists because many pundits believe that the odds of Dusty never reaching his full potential are slowly tipping against him. The evidence is there - not many would deny that this year he didn't improve at level that was anticipated after last year.

This is a kid that could be anything. He has shown he has that undeniable X factor that can turn a game on it's head. Whether he becomes that consistently or whether he joins the growing ranks of "talented churn" depends on whether the penny drops for him sooner - or later.

Before I provoke a backlash...

I did say "full potential". There is a chance that Dusty skips along doing what he's currently doing and stays on a list as a very servicable player for many years. Much as Ablett may have done if the leadership group did not sit him down years ago and point out a few home truths.

I did say "slowly tipping against him". Time is on his side but his less than stellar 2012 would suggest the best thing he can do on his "off season" is bust his arse more than anyone at Tigerland and start 2013 with an engine that would make Jobe Watson blush.

I love him. Even at 70% of his potential, I'd keep him. But we all want to see him become the player he can be. If he does, he will be a critical component in our next premiership side.

POST of the year! 100% accurate!

Well said TD , whilst i wouldn't be so glib to suggest we ignore the behavior It would be nothing short of pathetic to simply get rid of him..as mentioned elsewhere the challenge is to harness the beast. Without going on and on, there are any number of players amongst the top clubs with not dissimilar wrap sheets, we just gotta deal with it