Will Bowden Play?

Just crious, what role do richmoned supporters expect him to play when he return......More of a stopping role, or the get lots of possessions and set up play?

The one thing that TW has to remember is this. You have to earn your spot and when you do, you earn the right to keep it. Only when you drop the intensity and there is someone at Coburg who have put their name into the limelight with "consistent" performances, then you are in danger. The operative word heree is "CONSISTENT" .

So TW, lets see how big you corleones are dude. Lets see if you practice what you preach. But the cloud over NcGuane might save Bowden's bacon. Because you would have to be shtting me if you could actually make a change to last weeks team. ;)

The one thing that TW has to remember is this. You have to earn your spot and when you do, you earn the right to keep it. Only when you drop the intensity and there is someone at Coburg who have put their name into the limelight with "consistent" performances, then you are in danger. The operative word heree is "CONSISTENT" .

So TW, lets see how big you corleones are dude. Lets see if you practice what you preach. But the cloud over NcGuane might save Bowden's bacon. Because you would have to be shtting me if you could actually make a change to last weeks team. ;)

Agreed,
The TEAM played well on Sunday with the culture of play for your spot in the 22 very important to build...
Bowden would be better in a forward role in my opinion with the young blokes gelling together to build a formiddable backline:cool:

He had 30 disposals but they were hardly standout, most were in the typical standoffish cheap possies off Half Back, when the game was to be won by the Burgers he was nowhere to be seen, he looked lazy, uninterested and basically looked as if he thought he shouldn't be playing at that level, TBCH he shouldn't but the way he played, he deserves one more week for the Burgers.

What an absolute joke some of your supporters are, for the past 2-3 years he has generally kept the Roccas, Browns & Pavlichs quiet to 2-4 goals and there would not be many of those games where he gets less than 30 possesions.. He is one of your best users of the ball... Give the bloke a break.. He got his kick in the pants, get one of your clubs champions back out there

Agreed,
The TEAM played well on Sunday with the culture of play for your spot in the 22 very important to build...
Bowden would be better in a forward role in my opinion with the young blokes gelling together to build a formiddable backline:cool:

Bowden can thank the dud Spud for ruining his career. The dud thought he was a better backman, when Bowden made his big mark as a Forward who was extremely hard to match up to. ie the dud took away a weapon that hurt sides and used it to hopefully dull the pain for us. Typical of the ____wit, he only ever worried about not losing, forgetting that you can actually win if you attacked the ____ing game. He left Richo all alone in the FL thinking that Richo could kick 160 goals for the year. You ____ing idiot Spud. ;)

Fair call, and to be fair he has been pretty solid in the backline over the years.
I for one would prefer 15-18 quality touches in the forward pocket/flank than 35 chip around cheap posessions in backline in ever decreasing circles.
It would reinvigorate his career IMO if they played him forward.Also as an added bonus,he may really enjoy his footy there.
The chorus says play him on Johnson this weekend because of his acceptable record over the years. I say ____ that and let the young blokes have a crack and start Bowden in the Forward line:cool:

Fair call, and to be fair he has been pretty solid in the backline over the years.
I for one would prefer 15-18 quality touches in the forward pocket/flank than 35 chip around cheap posessions in backline in ever decreasing circles.
It would reinvigorate his career IMO if they played him forward.Also as an added bonus,he may really enjoy his footy there.
The chorus says play him on Johnson this weekend because of his acceptable record over the years. I say ____ that and let the young blokes have a crack and start Bowden in the Forward line:cool:

naaa, i would prefer 15 touches in the FL. With 3 of his ____ing shool boy errors there. That leaves 12 which are not. Which when he pulls those fakes and twists, means we have 7 shots at goal from whoever is on the end of the give, at the abslolute minimum. The 3 ____ ups, are in our FL, so the oppostion then need to get it to theirs, which maybe will result in maybe goals.

Turn it around and put him in the back line. He gets 28 touches, he produces his 3 school boy ____, it means at the absolute minumum 3 goals to the opposition, with the rest of the side being totally deflated, and 25 super maybes to get it to the HFL, with the maybe chance that it goes on from there and maybe Richo grabs 10 marks and kicks like he kicks, which results in a few maybe goals and few behinds and a few outta bounce on the full and a few Richo only comedy capers. And that with the side suffering the deflation from the ____ ups, which means that the pressure is on to the max, which makes the hand shake as you are lining up for a goal, which makes you MISS.

I know which one I would be taking the punt on, if i wanted to win. ;)

What did Bowden ever do up forward?
Compared to his 2 B+F's, 2 AA's etc, it looks pretty miniscule.

Good move, Spud :).

Btw, yes, i think he will play, rightly or wrongly.
I dont actually have an opinion on it though.
Good on Wallace for whatever he does, and lets hope we can win.

What did Bowden ever do up forward?
Compared to his 2 B+F's, 2 AA's etc, it looks pretty miniscule.

Good move, Spud :).

Btw, yes, i think he will play, rightly or wrongly.
I dont actually have an opinion on it though.
Good on Wallace for whatever he does, and lets hope we can win.

he did more damage up forward to the opposition, than he did when he was in the BL. He did more damage to us when he was down back, than when he was forward. He alos didnt have to be accountable, or as accountable towards his direct opponent down forward, which lifted the pressure off him, giving him more confidence to let the skill he has just happen when it happened, instead having to looking around having to keep his man in his sights.

Man, yes B&Fs and AAs and all that shit is ok, yep, well done, but you also forget that there is better.

Think about Ryan Okeefe from the swans. Not super tall, but leads contested marks. Kicks goals, turns games with long goals. And if absolutely nessecary, goes to the BL to do some job, in the heat of a game as the "last ____ing resort". You might get with the program, you have NFI dude.
How long have you been watching bowden dude? Seen his whole career unfold at tigerland, how about you? How about the dud?

We need matchwinners, we dont need match savers. We have them, we have always had them, Gas, Chubba and cavalcade of others, who did some kind of job. What we needed and still need is matchwinners. They tend to kick goals, not run out of defence, when they cant run fast. ;)

Harsh, given it lead to him becoming dual AA as a CHB. I'm no Frawkey lover but that was one move that worked. Anyway, Bowden was really more a wingman than a forward prior to moving back. Thought he looked all-at-sea against the Blues in the first half on a forward flank.

Think about Ryan Okeefe from the swans. Not super tall, but leads contested marks. Kicks goals, turns games with long goals. And if absolutely nessecary, goes to the BL to do some job, in the heat of a game as the "last ____ing resort". You might get with the program, you have NFI dude.
How long have you been watching bowden dude? Seen his whole career unfold at tigerland, how about you? How about the dud?

Terrible comparison Cogga. O'Keefe has excellent pace and a MASSIVE motor. One of the biggest going around. ROK's also an outstanding mark both on the lead and in a contested situation, where Joel is no better than average. Joel doesn't have the weapons to play that kind of role, certainly not at his age anyway.
I'm not sure where your memories of him as a forward come in either? Wing or as a linking HFF are my clear memories of his earlier career. He was incredily frustrating and never reached anything like his true potential until he moved to the back half. Never won enough footy, tried to over-use it, or be too cute and despite having great skills, more often missed with his rare opportunities at goal. Can think of heaps of times where he'd receive the ball on the wing in space, have two bounces, run right up to a defender and then try to give a dinky underground or over-the-top handball to Knights, Daffy or Campbell only to turn it over.

Psst......Bowden doesn't see eye to eye with one of the coaching staff.

When one needs to make an example of a pack, find a scapegoat.

because he thinks he runs the club and knows best.

Banish the sob for good.

Bad example setting mofo.

This is taken from the AFL site regarding Bowden playing this weekend:

The highlighted part is the bt I found most interesting, if Bowden's form has been a concern for the past 6-8 weeks then I don't think a 1 week stint in the VFL is enough to say 'Oh he got heaps of the ball so lets bring him back'. To me JB should have to force someone out of the side and given that we played so well on Sunday I don't see anyone deserving of being axed this week. Same applies to Pettifer, go play for Coburg and earn your way back into a winning line up.

I read terry's article about dropping the 4 players who had ZERO tackles & applaud him for that & Tigers end up with a win.

Don't bring Bowden back until he wants to get his hands dirty.

I think Carlton are realising the same thing as Tigers, no Houlihan this week as well.

I read terry's article about dropping the 4 players who had ZERO tackles & applaud him for that & Tigers end up with a win.

Don't bring Bowden back until he wants to get his hands dirty.

I think Carlton are realising the same thing as Tigers, no Houlihan this week as well.

Pity he is wrong only 2 of them had 0 tackles according to the stats but thats another matter. Dont think he will break into the side this week but i think there might be a change that see's Connors come in just because we are playing dogs.

Jackson in before Bowden and given Griffen to run with.
Johnson onto Cooney.
Bowden in the twos for one more week.
Although the Thursty on B. Johnston is a worry for us.
Dont think Thursty is the right match up but Bowden would fit the bill if in the side.

Any thoughts on who would be good on Johnston?
He is due for a big one. Carried a cork last week but they say he is fully fit this week against us.

have a cry you tosser, just because Bowedin hasn't been playing great he is suddenly not one of your best players?

Jesus your club must have a new best player every week :rolleyes:

Dont worry about this clown guys, hes a douchebag from the DT board, has no idea about football, obviously has both Bowden and Deledio in his DT and is having a sook. Its ok though, because he will use all his 20 trades in the first 11 rounds, and cop 5 or 6 injuries after that.

so you don't reckon Bowedin is one of your best players? he got destroyed by Medhurst, but he shouldn't of played on Medhurst, you guys beat Freo last week, and Freo are a pathetic side, to beat a team like the Bulldogs you need your bets side.

Man everyone is right, most of you tiger supporters do turn on your own players fast, a few bad weeks and his gone from one of your best to outside your 22 :rolleyes:

PS. not everything is about DT, my brother goes for your mob so i watch a few of your matches

How much footy have you seen over the past five years? Bowden is a natural backman because he is a great reader of the play. He was widely considered an unfulfilled talent until Spud moved him back out of necessity because we didn't have any other defenders. He was tried further up the field this year and it didn't work.
Bowden has a great record against Brad Johnson and is a perfect match-up. He'll be back this week. McGuane will be the one to make way - he did his job against Freo but didn't star and we don't need too many talls against the Bulldogs' midget forward line.
Moore is a great match-up for Murphy IMO (Thursfield can take Welsh) and Jackson should come in to run with Cooney. That means White or Hyde will probably make way, I'd say Hyde because White is quick and we need pace against the Doggies. Horses for courses.

How much footy have you seen over the past five years? Bowden is a natural backman because he is a great reader of the play. He was widely considered an unfulfilled talent until Spud moved him back out of necessity because we didn't have any other defenders. He was tried further up the field this year and it didn't work.
Bowden has a great record against Brad Johnson and is a perfect match-up. He'll be back this week. McGuane will be the one to make way - he did his job against Freo but didn't star and we don't need too many talls against the Bulldogs' midget forward line.
Moore is a great match-up for Murphy IMO (Thursfield can take Welsh) and Jackson should come in to run with Cooney. That means White or Hyde will probably make way, I'd say Hyde because White is quick and we need pace against the Doggies. Horses for courses.

and when the spud did, he fulfilled all the talent that wasnt. And like clockowork we rocketed up the ladder, with Spud's inspired move. BTW dude, what is with the shit about he was tried further up the field this year but it didnt work? Which one didnt it work in?
Natural defender? Bwahaaahaaa, Bowden is one of the most unaccountable defenders to play footy. What have you been watching? ;)

Let me clarify a couple of points before I give you my $0.02. Firstly yes I play supercoach and yes I selected Bowden on my team, he is currently warming bench with N.J.Brown stepping into the 22. Secondly yes I know the Eagles are struggling and we have a few rookies and no name players currently playing in the side.

Ok. Well **** me sideways if Bowden isn't in your best 18 let alone your best 22. I'm sure most of you watched the game on the weekend. Fremantle played like a large steaming pile of monkey poo. Your Coburg Tigers would have probably beaten them.

I've watched a few Richmond games this year, including the game against Collingwood. Bowden is not suited to play on Medhurst. Medhurst requires a close checking defender who will lock him down. Bowden likes to play loose and wide and loves running off his man. In another game TW had him playing as a tagger in midfield. WTF? Bowden has been one of the champions of your club for a long period of time. Sure good players need to perform to keep their spot and need a kick up the bum but they should be given more of a chance to prove thmselves. Look at Gilbee from the Doggies. Been in poor form but the club stands by him and he is running back into some form. Same deal with BJ. The guy has been useless but there is no way in hell Eade would drop BJ to the 2s.

Btw why wasn't Nathan Brown dropped prior to last week? He has been doing sweet **** all prior to last week and IMO has been more useless than Bowden.

Dropping Bowden for a week may or may not have been a good idea. However he has gone back, played a good game and should be included in the side. If any of you believe that Bowden isn't better than most of the 22 players you had on the park then you're dellusional.

[ If any of you believe that Bowden isn't better than most of the 22 players you had on the park then you're dellusional.[/quote]

yes in our best 22 on ability but not in our best 22 on attitude never has been

Will Bowden Play?