Hot Topic Will Elijah Hollands get another gig at Carlton?

Will Elijah Hollands get another gig at the Carlton Blues?

No speculating on alleged 'rumours'

Thanks all!

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

we'd all love to know... but we can't start to believe that we are entitled to know.
Not me.

My membership buys the bit between the first bounce and final siren.

But great to hear he is looking strong in match sim. I was circumspect over his first 10-12 games with us, but soon came to appreciate good things happened when he was involved in the play. Hope it pans out for all concerned.

I know you’re well regarded around here mate but it just doesn’t pass. Lots of rumours, innuendo, things that just can’t be discussed, but the supporters are just supposed to accept the decision and trust that the club are handling things well. They don’t have that track record. This isn’t like Jamarra where it was all played out in the media and the club was transparent. Everything with Elijah has been muddied and unclear.

Any incident (or group of incidents) that was worth delisting him over in August would surely require more than just an apology a month later to get a train on spot? And if an apology and a promise to do better is all it took for forgiveness then why have we paid out and discarded a top player on our list? Throughout all this time he has been living and socialising with other players, is he a bad influence or has he gone through a rough period? If the club thinks he has turned and is on the mend why did we cull him so soon?

I would love to know how the club came to their decisions. Supposed ITK’s saying we’ve done the right thing isn’t enough for me.
Disagree with this very strongly; there's a reason that not all the facts have not been made public; we have no right and no need to know everything in this case.

The club will decide what it will do armed with all the relevant information, and we'll all move on either way.

Above everything else, this is a delicate, personal matter, the footy part of it, whilst related in some ways is secondary. At the end of the day, whether he plays again or not, we should wish him all the best for his future. That is the important thing here, not satisfying a group of footy fans' curiosity.

No discussion thread. Literally the second last post on it. :)

The post by xDQ82x you’re referring to says:

“Elijah as it stands is still not expected to be on the list come next season.
So clearly if some are being told otherwise the playing group and club must be split.”

Is xDQ saying EH definitely won’t be picked next year or is he saying at this point in time (ie. as it stands) he is still not expected (unlikely) to be re-listed by the club next year (either in February or even mid season)?

All due respect to xDG, it sounds like EH is coming from a long way back but he hasn’t been definitively ruled out. Maybe we should just wait till February when the club announces a decision on the last list spot instead of all this fruitless speculation.

The post by xDQ82x you’re referring to says:

“Elijah as it stands is still not expected to be on the list come next season.
So clearly if some are being told otherwise the playing group and club must be split.”

Is xDQ saying EH definitely won’t be picked next year or is he saying at this point in time (ie. as it stands) he is still not expected (unlikely) to be re-listed by the club next year (either in February or even mid season)?

All due respect to xDG, it sounds like EH is coming from a long way back but he hasn’t been definitively ruled out. Maybe we should just wait till February when the club announces a decision on the last list spot instead of all this fruitless speculation.

EH has as much chance to make the list as Will White does. No one will know until February.

It is still so baffling to me that these off field issues were bad enough to see him delisted with a year left to go on his contract (despite his talent), but not bad enough for him to be kicked out of the club completely. He is still training, still reportedly living with a few of the players, plenty more of them associate with him outside of footy.

The rumours of him still being a long way off a list spot despite his training efforts makes me think it’s a massive and unforgivable dispute between Lij and a coach/staff member, and the decision to allow him to train for a spot is merely one to appease the players who have no issue with him. He has obviously had other issues in the past, some may still be present, but I don’t think any of those issues warrant this handling of the situation. It just doesn’t make sense.
Cmon man, it’s obvious what’s happened. He’s on his last chance in the AFL let alone Carlton

I hope so. Everytime I look at our list, KPD is a massive need

With EH, I wonder how many of our supporters want him to make the list because he is so talented and it would feel like a gut punch if he ends up on another list and gets his stuff together. Like he would be the one that got away if he goes on to have a 10 year career elsewhere.

Even though, as you just said, there probably are bigger list needs.

With EH, I wonder how many of our supporters want him to make the list because he is so talented and it would feel like a gut punch if he ends up on another list and gets his stuff together. Like he would be the one that got away if he goes on to have a 10 year career elsewhere.

Even though, as you just said, there probably are bigger list needs.

I would be amazed if another club looked at him this off season. No one did when he was available only a few weeks ago

I reckon he would need a big year in the VFL without issue for other clubs to look again

I'd honestly be really shocked if White made the team unless another small got injured. EH aside, I’d be taking Phillips over him any day of the week in terms of depth.
Yeah, I always felt that it was out of Walter or Flynn to get that list spot. Once Flynn got another contract, you could sense the writing on the wall.

Like I say, Phillips was very involved in Friday's session. Definitely fills a list need with the Silvagni flog leaving, HOF on the sidelines, and Dean still finding his way. Also gives us flexibility if we need to throw Gov or Lewy up forward.

Reckon they'd be giving him serious consideration.

Like I say, Phillips was very involved in Friday's session. Definitely fills a list need with the Silvagni flog leaving, HOF on the sidelines, and Dean still finding his way. Also gives us flexibility if we need to throw Gov or Lewy up forward.

Agree, especially the need for flexibility up forward..

I know we’re going to be spreading the load up forward with multiple goal kickers, but with CC leaving I think a second target up forward like McGovern/ Lewis to free up H is going to be important.

Yeah, I always felt that it was out of Walter or Flynn to get that list spot. Once Flynn got another contract, you could sense the writing on the wall.

Didn't see much VFL but from a lot of reports I recall Phillips really improved as a player this season?

Had a great year in the VFL - absolute general down back and deservedly won the B&F.

We know that VFL form doesn't always translate at an AFL level, but has definitely done everything to give himself the opportunity. I'd still love to see Lij get the final spot, but wouldn't be upset if Phillips was next in line.

EH has as much chance to make the list as Will White does. No one will know until February.

Disagree with this a bit. I think we'll know when the boys get back after the Christmas break.

If Lij is any chance he won't lose momentum when they're all apart agsin. It's easier when they're all together especially with the living situation.

With a lot of the players who find trouble off the park it is this break that has them undone.

He'll either be on track or it'll be over.

Hot Topic Will Elijah Hollands get another gig at Carlton?