Will Essendon win the Flag ?

Not straight forward at all. You're just having sook about the umpiring because you lost (this ist even a thread about umpiring).

The umpires were pretty ordinary in the first half, a quick look at the replay would confirm that to any but the most one eyed Bomber fan, but that didn't cost us the game, our poor kicking did.

We totally dominated the game in the last half, but poor kicking let us down time after time when under no pressure, I don't think we have a lot to fear from the Bombers, there doesn't seem to be too much between the two teams on what happened last night.

With 7 wins already they will play a big part in the finals, would need a much better performance than last night to make the GF though, have been lucky in a couple of games, but they look good when things are going their way.

A two point victory over North, a good win over Port and the Tiges pushed you and may have won. Hardly convincing against three sides that were mediocre to poor. And you get to play those clubs twice.

Good victories against the Blues and Eagles, although Eagles in Victoria and on your home ground, not surprising you won that one. But was a convincing victory, so a tick there. Nearly got the Pies game so that was a good effort.

But what’s to come looks like a pretty soft draw in comparison to other sides. The Tiges, in comparison, have had a very tough draw and still more pain to come against the Hawks next week. But they’ve been more than competitive and have hardly played like a pathetic club.

The LMAO was at you the typical arrogance of Essendon and their supporters with their holier than thou attitude to themselves and other clubs.

I think the Bombers have done very well, but a lot of question marks over who they’ve played and whether they can sustain it. Jury’s still out!

http://i1030.photobucket.com/albums/y367/_negative_18/offended.jpg

Either way it was over the shoulder. /derail

Back on topic, Essendon won't win the flag. I think we've already seen them play their best footy and you need to be firing towards the end of the season ala Collingwood and Geelong last year instead of peaking now. Essendon's game style is high risk high reward type stuff that I don't think will work in the finals when your skills really come under scrutiny and the game becomes almost solely about the contested ball. Should make the top 4 from here and the premiership race is as open as it's ever been, but a genuine team would not have let the Tigers back in the game last night like Essendon did.

Either way Deledio blocked Fletcher from running at the contest prior so it shouldn't have been paid at all.

You won the game, why do you feel the need to rub it in?

And why do (some) Richmond supporters need to focus on every single outside influence to discredit any team that beats them? It hasn't just been Essendon this year either.

How about focusing on their own team and its deficiencies rather than blaming the umpires, the weather, the crowd, the wind direction and any other petulant excuse they conjure up? There's a good start.

You won the game, why do you feel the need to rub it in?

Pull up mate... go to the gameday thread. Tigers were super in their comeback, rock solid. Many of us were very complimentary. Theyre going places.

But theres been a section of Tigers whinging nonstop since the final siren about umpiring... like it was the umpires who put them 42 points down, or made them kick 5.8 in the third quarter (that they totally dominated as if there was only one team on the field).

We were ordinary for long periods and so were they. We were the better side overall and won by 20 points. We took our chances, they didn't. Thats footy.

Ok then. Which of your forwards won their position? Also, please provide all of these examples where your mids were actually playing forward when they kicked their goals. Thanks in advance.

Now let me see. Edwards's 3 goals were with him playing as a forward. Two of Cotchin's goals were from him playing as a forward. One of Martin's goals were from him playing as a forward. That's just off the top of my head.

Pull up mate... go to the gameday thread. Tigers were super in their comeback, rock solid. Many of us were very complimentary. Theyre going places.

But theres been a section of Tigers whinging nonstop since the final siren about umpiring... like it was the umpires who put them 42 points down, or made them kick 5.8 in the third quarter (that they totally dominated as if there was only one team on the field).

We were ordinary for long periods and so were they. We were the better side overall and won by 20 points. We took our chances, they didn't. Thats footy.

Well said.

I said this after the dream time game last year and I have seen nothing to change my opinion so far this year- Richmond are closer to a flag with their list than ess are. Sure ess are going to finish top 4 this year courtesy of a very soft draw, but that only gives a false sense of where they are at. They will be unceremoniously dumped from the finals in straight sets tho which will at least give them a better indicator of just how far away they really are

Ess have a long, long way to go defensively . They allowed the tigers 66 inside 50's last night. It was clear to any neutral watching that the only thing that cost the tiges a comfortable win last night was their lack of composure inside 50. Ess are up and about early and good luck to them, but try will be cannon fodder for the big guns in big finals this year

Good post, bombers 1st half was very good no doubt but we shot ourselves in the foot in the 2nd half, something young teams can do when they are trying to take the next step. A better side then Richmond would not have let Essendon off the hook last night.

I said this after the dream time game last year and I have seen nothing to change my opinion so far this year- Richmond are closer to a flag with their list than ess are. Sure ess are going to finish top 4 this year courtesy of a very soft draw, but that only gives a false sense of where they are at. They will be unceremoniously dumped from the finals in straight sets tho which will at least give them a better indicator of just how far away they really are

This is not going to end well.

Agree wholeheartedly with u again. U know ur football.

Our draw is hardly soft... We play Collingwood, Carlton, Richmond, North and Port twice. That isnt extremely soft, do some research next time.

You're right it's not extremely soft, but it isn't exactly hard either as three of these teams aren't top 8 quality. Compared to Collingwood though who play Essendon, Hawthorn, Geelong, West Coast and Carlton twice it looks like a very easy draw.

Yeah but it isn't soft and it won't be the reason why we make or miss top 4 like Adelaide for example.

Compared to Collingwood though who play Essendon, Hawthorn, Geelong, West Coast and Carlton twice it looks like a very easy draw.

Are you suggesting that the 8th placed side gets a softer draw than the runner up? Outrageous.

Football Park twice in a month, Geelong and Hawthorn in succession, Carl/Rich/Coll to see out the year... not quite soft. But whatever helps people sleep at night, I guess.

It's not our fault we're able to beat the sides we're up against. Including those that are proposed top 8/4 sides.

We have a terrible second half fixture, but our composure to win this many games (games that we would have dropped last year) has put us in a good position to take it on.

Nevertheless, we are unlikely for the flag.

Now let me see. Edwards's 3 goals were with him playing as a forward. Two of Cotchin's goals were from him playing as a forward. One of Martin's goals were from him playing as a forward. That's just off the top of my head.

Edwards yes. His 3 goals were counted in the 5 I mentioned. Will give you 1 for Martin. Cotchin's goals were from the midfield. So your forwards kicked 6-7 goals for the game.

I'd hate to see how well they go when our defense isn't so pedestrian. :eek:

Are you suggesting that the 8th placed side gets a softer draw than the runner up? Outrageous.

Football Park twice in a month, Geelong and Hawthorn in succession, Carl/Rich/Coll to see out the year... not quite soft. But whatever helps people sleep at night, I guess.

HAD is just stirring the pot as usual, trying to get as many bites, out of as many people as he can.

Will Essendon win the Flag ?