Opinion Will Geelong's boutique home ground ruin the Cats final chances?

Socrates2

Aug 11, 2015
A supporter who, by his own admission, has also made it his life long ambition to see Geelong stripped of it's home ground because...just because
All jokes aside , the goals should be in the middle of the ground.

DavyRed

Nov 5, 2009
No, I say give Geelong 3 games at Kardinia and two of Saints, Bulldogs or North play 2 home games there, so all the money invested in it doesn't go to waste.
Geelong can make the G their main home ground and everyone is happy. Geelong benefit from increased exposure to the G.
Alternatively, buy some real estate on the non-Moorabool St side and widen the ground by 15 meters and make it symmetrical. At the moment there's too much local knowledge needed to win a game there imo.
See, this is where you totally let yourself down. Up to now your OP was just a very average troll post but this latest attempt is so obviously ridiculous that your trolling agenda is laid bare for all to see. You know full well that Geelong should be able to play their homes games at home, including finals. It’s simply up to the rest of the teams to work out how to win there.

Dr Awkward

Mar 23, 2009
San Antonio Spurs
I don't think this year it will make a difference, Geelong's team is a notch above the past few years. Their best will get it done on the MCG.

Socrates2

Aug 11, 2015
See, this is where you totally let yourself down. Up to now your OP was just a very average troll post but this latest attempt is so obviously ridiculous that your trolling agenda is laid bare for all to see. You know full well that Geelong should be able to play their homes games at home, including finals. It’s simply up to the rest of the teams to work out how to win there.
What's so ridiculous? The Bulldogs play in Ballarat , Hawthorn play in Tassy and Port play in China.
Geelong and the Bellarine Peninsula residents barrack for many different clubs.It would give them a chance to see their team.

All jokes aside , the goals should be in the middle of the ground.
That image you posted was taken just before the 2017 Geelong v Richmond game. The goal posts were moved back to their normal positions after that game

Snooza 100

Dec 29, 2014
Manangatang Thirds. NewYork Knicks.
The funny thing about Kardinia Park is that the goals are not in the middle of the ground due to the Moorabool St side being shorter in width. Check out this picture. It should be in the rules that grounds have to be symmetrical imo.

View attachment 690609
Unbelievable don't they sell tape measure's in Geelong..

Dec 2, 2003
The funny thing about Kardinia Park is that the goals are not in the middle of the ground due to the Moorabool St side being shorter in width. Check out this picture. It should be in the rules that grounds have to be symmetrical imo.

View attachment 690609

this adjustment happens at all grounds as the centre circle and goal squares wear down quite a bit due to repeated use.

Catsnlakers

Even Hank Moody is in awe of Geelong!
Oct 2, 2016
L.A Angels, Anaheim Ducks & M.Stars
Yes, I've been banging on about this for years now.
I reckon this is tapping not banging mate.
1560240805776.gif

Socrates2

Aug 11, 2015
this adjustment happens at all grounds as the centre circle and goal squares wear down quite a bit due to repeated use.
You can see from the picture a few posts back that the grounds not symmetrical, it's not due to wear and tear.

Dec 2, 2003
You can see from the picture a few posts back that the grounds not symmetrical, it's not due to wear and tear.
there's nothing wrong with it not being symmetrical. baseball stadiums aren't uniform. soccer/rugby grounds even have different widths. cricket grounds aren't uniform either (look at Trent bridge since the New Stand was built - it's even more lop-sided!) and footy is played on cricket grounds. It gives each venue it's uniqueness.

Socrates2

Aug 11, 2015
there's nothing wrong with it not being symmetrical. baseball stadiums aren't uniform. soccer/rugby grounds even have different widths. cricket grounds aren't uniform either (look at Trent bridge!) and footy is played on cricket grounds. It gives each venue it's uniqueness.
It's a multi-million dollar industry , I don't know why they just can't fix it. It's super thin to start with plus one wing is 2 meters shorter than the other, it's utter madness.

Why the concern? It's not like your team will play there again - not after the sustained bleating around the last time you played there.

Socrates2

Aug 11, 2015
Why the concern? It's not like your team will play there again - not after the sustained bleating around the last time you played there.
I just want a level playing field literally.

ChappyUK

30k Posts 10k Posts BeanCoiNFT Investor Song Contest Winner - 5+ Rounds Podcaster Pokemon is Life Pantskyle
Sep 12, 2011
London
Arsenal, QPR.
Can the OP please refer to our home ground by it's correct name, GMHBA stadium.

No. Steve Hocking has already declared Richmond will play at GMHBA in 2020

May 5, 2016

View attachment 690609

Oh well that explains why no c*** can put a ball between them then.
Because of the lines beside and behind them when they’re kicking

May 5, 2016

Cricket is followed by 2 billion people - roughly the same amount of Richmond fans who were denied a ticket to the last KP game if you are to be believed - and its most famous and historic ground slopes nearly two metres from side to side.

Geelong incredibly get 7 to 8 home games at Kardinia Park every year.It's a ground they play well, but it bares little resemblance to the MCG where finals are played.Is this skinny ground ruining their premiership chances?
4/4 at MCG this year. 3 cups in 12 years. The best win anywhere, so I answer ‘no’ to that question . Past finals flops have not been due to the ground. They weren’t good enough.