Past Will Hayward

will2.jpg

Will Hayward
Spritely Sydney Swans forward Will Hayward enjoyed a rocketing start to his career as he became the 11th-youngest player in the AFL era to reach 50 career goals in 2018. The 2016 draftee’s nippy pace and cunning goal awareness have made him a dangerous option in coach John Longmire’s forward line. A broken jaw and a persistent hip injury limited Hayward to just 12 goals in 13 senior games in 2019, but the South Australian is attacking the 2020 campaign on the back of his first full pre-season. Don’t be surprised if the exciting Swan finds himself on a wing this year.

Will Hayward
DOB: 26 October 1998
DEBUT: 2017
DRAFT: #21, 2016 National Draft
RECRUITED FROM: Walkerville (SA)/North Adelaide (SANFL)

Last edited by a moderator:
Mills and Heeney came through the academy system, so already played like Swans when we drafted them. Hayward and Florent needed to learn our players and systems, so wouldn't have acclimatised so quickly.
I agree, the Academy believes the players it produces are around 1 year ahead of TAC or SANFL Maccas cup players. The Academy has stated that it's players are instructed in how to properly work out in the gym, nutrition, etc. They quote the disconnect between TAC and true AFL Team cultures as meaning those players don't get preparation that is to such a high standard.

In respect to Will Hayward as I understand it he has emerged only in recent years as an elite prospect. He went to St Peters which is a good footy school, and would have played under Darren Jarmen in Nth Adelaide under 18s, but I don't recall him being a star as a kid. Both comps are ok, but a long way away from even NEAFL. I don't think he will have done a proper full on preseason before, and it takes a few before a player settles in. I also don't think he has played many, if any senior games before.

Having said all of that his combine results, coupled with some of his footy abilities are remarkable given that background. I am not surprised the swans took him, as they would be thinking he has much more potential to grow once he has got some experience and training. I don't think they will be fussed in slightest with his senior form. They are just giving him a taste of what is involved so he has something to aim for.

We do this with all of our draftees don't we? As in give them the extra year straight off the bat.
Only the draftees we like..

Stoked for Will.

Hopefully he, Newman & Fox can do as Oliver did last week & show us some of their skills & give us a glimpse of a bright future ahead.

On ya "Willward"!

Is that his nickname or are you just hoping it will stick?

That's what me & my mates call him. Along with Wayward, Willbo, Willsy, Haze, Hazy and Lollipop (cause he is sweet and one of my mates wants to lick him... Strange unit.).

No idea what his actual real life nickname is though. Sure those closer to the club than I could find out though mate. :thumbsu:

That's what me & my mates call him. Along with Wayward, Willbo, Willsy, Haze, Hazy and Lollipop (cause he is sweet and one of my mates wants to lick him... Strange unit.).

No idea what his actual real life nickname is though. Sure those closer to the club than I could find out though mate. :thumbsu:

What the dickens?!

That's pretty much what I said to him when he told us why he calls him that...

He also calls Heens "Kleenex" and has always referred to Hanners as "Vas" (Vasoline)

Based on his "lollipop" reasoning you can fill in the reasoning on those two I think.

He also calls Heens "Kleenex" and has always referred to Hanners as "Vas" (Vasoline)

Based on his "lollipop" reasoning you can fill in the reasoning on those two I think.

I like your mate.

I love this guy. If i didn't have the number 20 on my jumper id swap it now for 9. Absolute class, and apart from Lewis Johnson we have a good track record with South Australians.

What about James Rose?

Don't ever introduce your mate to miggs, I don't think the world is ready.

Past Will Hayward