Hall of Famer
30k Posts 10k Posts
Mar 9, 2001
Away from redneck country
Bombers
Just wondering if anyone thinks there will be any uspets this round, like Freo winning?

I am not sure if they are so much upsets, but I think both Brissie & the Swans could record wins away from home.:)

Would you call a Brisbane win as an 'upset'? I'm thinking that they are two evenly matched sides with one keen to earn some respect in Melbourne. Many Collingwood supporters I know are already marking this game down as a win. I'm not so sure, but it's looking to be a good game nonetheless. They both have something gain (and lose) from this match.

Collingwood....just!

Yes, odds are that there will be an upset, but I am not going to nominate which match.

Brisbane look good value against Collingwood with the injury clouds over Fraser and Buckley, and it also wouldn't surprise me if Richmond's up-and-down form saw them beat Port at Football Park.

Melbourne's record against Carlton is pretty good, apart from that near 100 point thrashing last year. They can beat anyone on their day, but might have a few too many good players out to do it this time around.

A few weeks ago I nominated the Bulldogs game as one the Dockers might win, only because it is very rare that a side goes 0-22 for a season. If anyone can drop an unexpected game, it's the Doggies, but you'd probably have to be insane to back the Dockers with money or a point in a footy tipping comp.

Eagles aren't completely without a chance in Perth, but the Roos travel well and look to be too strong.

Geelong beat Essendon in the Ansett Cup, but I don't see them posing much of a threat this time unless Menschy goes berserk and kicks 14 on the Wellman-less Dons' defence. Of course if Barnes kicks 10, it will be 1993 all over again.

St.Kilda vs Adelaide and Hawthorn vs Sydney - If you have a few bob lying around to spend on these games, pop into the local Video Ezy and invest your money in a couple of overnighters instead.

Originally posted by mantis
Just wondering if anyone thinks there will be any uspets this round, like Freo winning?

Hope so, everyone else in the KO comp has gone the dogs!

:eek: :p :eek: :p :eek: :D

Brisbane are underdogs with the bookies...although interestingly, CentreBet are refusing to take bets on this game until Buckley is actually out on the ground!!!

I think Brisbane will win, they have beaten Collingwood in Melbourne before, and have been setting themselves for this match for a while. However, Collingwood just can't afford to lose this one, so it'll be close. But the Lions are the best chance of an 'upset' this week.

I reckon the Saints may be a chance tonight - only a chance though.

And after last week's rash prediction, I'm not touching the Shockers with a 10 foot barge pole. Having said that, I bet they win :D

Potentially upsets galore this weekend

StKilda v Adelaide - I've tipped the Saints

Hawthorn v Sydney - Somehow don't think the Swannies will be there, but you never know

Melbourne v Carlton - hmmmm, possibility I guess

Port V Richmend - definitely smell an upset here

WCE v Kangaroos - a possibility, albeit remote

cheers

If there is an upset, it might be the Swans over the Hawks.
I think Brisbane will win but it is not really an upset becuase the Lions are the favourites in the betting.

Watch for Geelong or Sydney. If they lose their finals chances a close to 'mathematical'.

But they've both been having crunch games fro a few weeks now - how long can they keep it up ?

Fremantle over the Bulldogs

please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please

:D

Originally posted by Mr Ripper

:rolleyes: :eek: :rolleyes: :eek: :rolleyes: When will I ever learn?

Btw, I will not be liable for any debts incurred while following my above advice. You should have known better than to take a tip from me. :p

Well done Rip, I credit you and STL as key contributors to our 97 point win. Thanks very much :) :D :)

I guess you could say Melbourne beating Carlton was an 'upset' is you were judging the game as Carlton's home game and Melbourne's poor form. How about that goal from Farmer!!! :D

with melbourne recent form u would think that game was an upset, but melbourne actually have quite a good team! i find it amazing they've been doing so bad, all they did today was play how they should be and we weren't ready, they were the better team on the day, althoiugh they ran out of steam by the last quarter that last goal won tehm the game and i would say they were lucky to win but they deserved to, they applied the oressure which didn't let us get clean passes away and kick as many goals in tat last term as we would've liked!

Originally posted by DEES RULE!
Melbourne might win............ ummmm....... VFL that is! :D

GO DEES! :)

WOO HOO! What a great game...... man that was the upset of the round (well Hawthorn Sydney was ok too) so far..... YEY!
I knew that opening up that lead was where we won the game, coz although i never thought the margin would stay that way (it was obvious they were gonna come out hard in the second half) i knew that we just won't let this one go.
Actually that goal from Green.... it was Carlton's fault. If you watch the reply McKay and someone else were so desperate not to rush it through for a behind that they both dived on the ball, fumbled it and Green saw that and soccered it off the ground (thank god he played soccer :D). If their defenders weren't under so much pressure (which was obviously understood) they would have got it out of our forward 50 in no time.... anyways we still won and we deserved to.... so....GO DEES! :)

Will there be an upset this round?