Will Thursfield = Gun

• Thread starter Thread starter UpTheGuts

A few years ago the coaching staff of the Australian Mens Hockey team changed the playing strip of the team from a shirt based top to something closer to a singlet.

This was to encourage the players to work harder in the gym as they wouldn't want to look like girly-men if they were always playing in a singlet with their guns (or lack thereof) on display to the crowd, teammates and opposition. All training was done in singlets too. It worked, they all beefed up and won the gold medal.

Turf the long sleeves Thursty, even at training. Pasta before bed and he'll be a force.

I like his composure. Doesn't seem to panic. And his spoiling is great. The long sleeves help, but he has a bit of the Scott Turner about him.

As you say the long-sleeves are in play - but there is a hint of Silvagni as well. Not nearly as good of course. But in the way he seems to arrive late, mug a bloke, lay all over the top of him, and not be seen to have infringed. Silvagni spent his entire career 'almost' doing enough to give away a free - Thursfield walks the same tightrope. Almost every spoil is almost in the back, almost on the shoulder, almost a chop of the arms ... almost is just right (as Goldilocks would say) :thumbsu:

exactly, the name of the game is to stop the FF getting it and having set shots, you do whatever you can to **** him up, and from day one, this kid has known where the line is, when it comes to being illegal. At ****ing last. ;)

Great to be seeing over the last few weeks that he's lost none of his closing speed after his reco. He'll be much better for this season and the next pre-season...but he really doesn't need much more bulk...that'll just slow him down. A bit more strength and endurance, he'll be fine. He's the same type of rangy defender Gaspar once was, but he has the benefit of starting his career at the beginning of the rule change (Gaspar grew up where the ideal was to drape yourself over an opponent as Silvagni always did), has better foot speed and a little better disposal.

He's a pure defender, but freeing up Bowden and developing some good run and carry youngsters around him will give us the makings of a top future defence.

Mind you, just on Fri night's performance, it always helps when a leading player like Robbo has to chase a number of his potential possessions outside 50, then turns around with effectively nobody to give it to. ;)

Great to be seeing over the last few weeks that he's lost none of his closing speed after his reco. He'll be much better for this season and the next pre-season...but he really doesn't need much more bulk...that'll just slow him down. A bit more strength and endurance, he'll be fine. He's the same type of rangy defender Gaspar once was, but he has the benefit of starting his career at the beginning of the rule change (Gaspar grew up where the ideal was to drape yourself over an opponent as Silvagni always did), has better foot speed and a little better disposal.

He's a pure defender, but freeing up Bowden and developing some good run and carry youngsters around him will give us the makings of a top future defence.

Mind you, just on Fri night's performance, it always helps when a leading player like Robbo has to chase a number of his potential possessions outside 50, then turns around with effectively nobody to give it to. ;)

as you can see, TW has learnt a lesson from his stint at the doggies.;)

Absolute gun, and he has always played in defence, which helps, rather then turning a crap foward into a defender.
I still remember how much the Hawk supporters laughed when we picked him with pick 1 and they got some other kid that had the wraps on him, but turned out a dud

Hehe...we'll know for sure come draft/trade time Cogga! ;)

naaa we are seeing it already dude ---> Polak.
Not to mention that he must be pinching himself snaring the "Forcefield" out of nowwhere.
You get the spine right, you are 70% of the way there. The rest are all decorations, that make the spine shine.
Its the age old formula that keeps on keeping on. The top teams have the best spine, end of story. The best teams have the best spine and the best medium sized runners. Why do you think the eagles have improved to teh extent they have over the last 4 years? They had the Kerrs and the Judds and the Cousins etc, they were waiting on the Glasses and the Lynch's and the Hansens of this world to emerge. ;)

loving thursty's work atm!

still not sure about fullback though because riewoldt, mickey o and robbo are certainly no mugs but they arent lynch, rocca, hall or in the future someone like hawkins etc

would love an extra 5kg on him but that could upset his good aerobic base so another tall defender wouldnt hurt

gaspar and hall:o

he will be a champion by the end of his career if everything travels smoothly.

whoa, do we have some good young kids or what!

Strikes me as very similar to a young Gaspar. As you say, good closing speed and also has good agility, much like Gaspar did in his youth (though lost it later on). Also reads the ball well in flight like Gaspar did. Probably not as good a mark as young Gaspar was, but maybe this is because Thursfield is a bit shorter and is usually playing from behind. As you say a little better disposal, though this is a pretty low benchmark and Thursty still needs some work on this.

Thursfield thankfully hasn't adopted the keystone cops routine that always played some part in Gaspar's game (even in his best years), nor the Doctor Who hairstyle. But the long sleeves is definite dagginess.

thursfield, mcgaune and moore all play the same position and are roughly the same size and height.

these 3 cant all fit into our team,

i think we will delist moore at the end of this year

Why do you think the eagles have improved to teh extent they have over the last 4 years? They had the Kerrs and the Judds and the Cousins etc, they were waiting on the Glasses and the Lynch's and the Hansens of this world to emerge. ;)

Take three of Cox, Kerr, Judd and Cousins out of that side for a full season, plus a couple of the younger blokes, the Eagles would be average at best IMO Cogga...their KP position players would be of little use to them.

Glass is a good defender but generally gets an armchair ride, Graham, Lynch, Hunter and Hansen are only on the slightly better side of average...without their premium midfielders they would really struggle - and have.

Take three of Cox, Kerr, Judd and Cousins out of that side for a full season, plus a couple of the younger blokes, the Eagles would be average at best IMO Cogga...their KP position players would be of little use to them.

Glass is a good defender but generally gets an armchair ride, Graham, Lynch, Hunter and Hansen are only on the slightly better side of average...without their premium midfielders they would really struggle - and have.

any team would stuggle missing half their midfield rotation

glass armchair ride? dont think so mate he's a gun

eagles dont flood so he is up against it and does it week in week out, towelled up riewoldt and then didnt let kosi get a sniff yesterday in the 2nd half

but you think hall is better right :o

without cousins kerr for a lot of games embly fletcher cox and now judd wce have managed to win 8 out of 12 games. kpp hansen and graham have also missed heaps of games this yr.

certainly wce have not been at their very best without their best onballers midfielders up and about. but to call them mediocre is a tad biased.stenglien nicoski rosa braun are no mugs.

their set up of glass at fb hunter bp and graham chb is great. they surround these blokes with your hurns waters chicks b jones and wirrpundas and it makes for a big strong tall skillful fast defense with toughness.with lots of players who can be rotated thru midfield or forward. they have also invested in kpd in mackenzie sphanger and thompson.

up forward they have lynch at ff staker fp and hansen at chf. when injury has hit they have played mitch brown and he looks a bewdy.since phil matera retired the only thing they lack is a genuine goal sneak. they have an out standing ruckman in cox with a pretty handy understudy in seaby. they could do with a development ruckman or two.

imo wce are a well rounded footy team they have outstanding on ballers an out standing ruckman 2 excellnt kpd and 2 well above average kpf. they also have adequate replacement players for most positions when injury does hit. hence the fact they have managed to win 8 of 12 with so many important players injured.

wce lost the 2005 grand final because they lacked a kpf in lynch. if he kcked straight this yr he would have the coleman parcelled up already. they have struggled without cox at times its not all down to their midfield.

I hope he gets Reiwoldt again this week, esspeacially if Nick plays deeper foward like in the last couple of weeks. Graham Polak should take Kozi because Kozi gets most of his goals from contested stand still marks which makes Polak the perfect match. Hopefully Gehrig doesn't play

Here's some relief!

No Kosi for Sainters!

Here's some relief!

No Kosi for Sainters!

Yer I just heard!

Jack Riewoldt won't be coming in then you wouldn't expect as they will be playing a much smaller foward line with no Gehrig or Kosi. And I wouldn't expect as to play Huges, Patto, Richo and Riewoldt in the same foward line. Who else do they have as far as tall fowards go? Watts and Jones.

Yer I just heard!

Jack Riewoldt won't be coming in then you wouldn't expect as they will be playing a much smaller foward line with no Gehrig or Kosi. And I wouldn't expect as to play Huges, Patto, Richo and Riewoldt in the same foward line. Who else do they have as far as tall fowards go? Watts and Jones.

Jack and Edwards are the only two under consideration for a recall this week according to Greg Miller.

Edwards must come in. To replace White for mine.
Only change.
Trying to work whether Kosi out is good or bad. Good for obvious reasons, bad coz I need him for my Dream Team.

So you think a Hunter is only slightly on the better side of average?
And Glass is a "good" defender?
I bet you even suggest that Petts at his best is a gun too? And a hyde is verging on elite status as well huh? Most likely you also jumped on the P1 P2 shit that was a laugh a minute last year as well. ;)

There seems to be some contradiction in the assertions that Thursfield needs to put on more muscle mass when he has returned from a career threatening injury. In Will's first season under Frawley (I'll pay Danny his dues here having selected the kid) Thursfield showed plenty from a half back flank in a handful of appearances but was too light of frame to hold down a key position even though he performed admirably in the marginal time he spent on bigger opponents.

He then bulked up over the preseason last year before doing his ACL against the Saints in his first game of the season. The added weight was a contributing factor to the injury since his body hadn't become accustomed to twisting and turning with all those extra kilos. (Note: T Dome surface never helps).

Not every full back needs to be bulked up like a Rutten or Glass perhaps the two best traditional full backs in the caper. With the hands in the back rule soon to diminish the one on one contest, expect to see more kicks to leads rather than position. Body on body strength may become obsolete soon while agility and closing speed should become far bigger factors in defensive play.

My point is Will may be the right size and weight for how the game is evolving. We'll see this week.

The longsleeve looks good too. Ever seen pictures of a young Freddy Swift?

i think Terry got him as a rookie !

yeah ... needs to put heaps of weight on though !

is going go so far !