Will Williams ever stop whinging?

As I recall Port wanted the game in Darwin before the midseason break so that both teams could have the next week off. They could not do it as there was cricket.

Port did complain about the draw when it came out but after it is released there is nothing that can be done apparently.

On Mark's whinging, I reckon Micky Malthouse takes the cake for whinging this year.

feher said:
i fail to see the big deal

So you're trying to tell me that if the Hawks are ever near the finals again & are drawn to play Brisbane in Brisbane followed within 6 days by West Coast in Perth in rounds 21 & 22, that you would see no reason to query the wisdom of the AFL's scheduling?

Give me a break.

Again, what is the sensible reason for scheduling the game in Darwin this late in the season?

Port requested the game be played the week before the mid season break to give the players a break after playing under unusual conditions (heat, humidity) and do a week of promotional work in NT including the remote communities. That would have benefited Port and the AFL. But of course the AFL couldn't take the sensible option could they?

Porthos said:
So you're trying to tell me that if the Hawks are ever near the finals again & are drawn to play Brisbane in Brisbane followed within 6 days by West Coast in Perth in rounds 21 & 22, that you would see no reason to query the wisdom of the AFL's scheduling?

Give me a break.

Again, what is the sensible reason for scheduling the game in Darwin this late in the season?
no, because earlier in the season we would have had 2 running home games, if we are good enough we will win them both and the finals game. It doesn't matter which way you look at it, its the dogs home game, just cos they moved it to darwin does not mean the power don't have to travel

feher said:
no, because earlier in the season we would have had 2 running home games, if we are good enough we will win them both and the finals game.
I guess thats easy to say when you're actually the wooden spooner. Your club complains when its too loud, for christ's sake.

In any case, answer my question. What is the great reason that the AFL have found to play a game in Darwin in Round 20, when the negatives of it are so clear?

Porthos said:
In any case, answer my question. What is the great reason that the AFL have found to play a game in Darwin in Round 20, when the negatives of it are so clear?
isn't it the dogs choice to play the game in darwin? i don't know why they felt the need play the game in darwin, they just did, what is the real big deal?

I guess thats easy to say when you're actually the wooden spooner. Your club complains when its too loud, for christ's sake.
could you expand on this? just cos my club may complain, doesn't mean i will take their side and defend them, if my club complained about something as stupid as this, i would be embarrased, if this was a last minute decision which i doubt it was, then yes complain.

It might sound strange but I respect a coach that "sooks" on behalf of his club.
How else can we get the imballances adressed in the draft for our own clubs if our coaches dont "sook"? If the AFL had it totaly their way,it would be Essendon or Collingwood every Friday night and never leave their state.

Unfortunately Richmond coach and Pres. never "sooked" and consequently Richmond get a hooriffic draw during about 8 weeks of the winter.

I look forward to 5 years of Wallace "sooking" about the draft,tribunal and anything else he deems fit.

If it's good enough for McChins and Mick"third star from Uranus"Malthouse to be on the T.V every second night bleating about some percieved injustice,it's good enough for the other 15 clubs.

Porthos!!! there is no reason to keep going on about this. They can not answer your question so you might as well stop asking them. They just keep repeating the same thing "It is the bulldogs home game & they can change it if they want to".

I think people underestermate what travelling does to a players recovery. Ask the Westcoast players they have retired before their time would have been up if they played for a Melbourne club.

feher said:
isn't it the dogs choice to play the game in darwin? i don't know why they felt the need play the game in darwin, they just did, what is the real big deal?

No it's the AFL's choice. The Bulldogs don't do the draw. Sure they could fly up to Darwin for a game the AFL schedule at telstra Dome, but we all know that's going to end in tears, don't we? And it's about the timing of the game.

could you expand on this? just cos my club may complain, doesn't mean i will take their side and defend them, if my club complained about something as stupid as this, i would be embarrased, if this was a last minute decision which i doubt it was, then yes complain.

What's wrong with raising an issue you don't agree with? At least now the AFL might get the message that it was a ridiculous piece of timing.

Does anybody else get the irony of Victorian supporter's whose teams barely travel complaining about someone complaining about travelling???

Cos

voodoo_86 said:
Derby is in round 21.

WCE get a home game round 22 against Melbourne, Freo travel to the dome to play the Saints.

My mistake, I assumed it was the same as last year, as the SA fixture is.

I'll be interested to hear Connolly's comments closer to the time.

feher said:
You are being deliberately ignorant of my point that the AFL is the one that schedules when this match is played, not the Bulldogs. Secondly, that there has been no valid reason given to schedule this game so late in the season.

Ford Fairlane said:
No it's the AFL's choice. The Bulldogs don't do the draw. Sure they could fly up to Darwin for a game the AFL schedule at telstra Dome, but we all know that's going to end in tears, don't we? And it's about the timing of the game.

What's wrong with raising an issue you don't agree with? At least now the AFL might get the message that it was a ridiculous piece of timing.
point 1: no but the dogs have a say in it, i am sure they get a bit of money out of playing it up their. You are only travel to darwin, not south africa, you would think this is the end of the world or something, hell why doesn't william use this as a test of strengthing his sides mentallity????

point 2: nothing, raise it all you want, i just fail to see the big deal, when its the dogs home game, what does port want? the game at footy park?

feher, you appear to be a complete imbecile. Good day.

Porthos said:
You are being deliberately ignorant of my point that the AFL is the one that schedules when this match is played, not the Bulldogs. Secondly, that there has been no valid reason given to schedule this game so late in the season.
yes, but the dogs would have to AGREE to it, the dogs could easily f up the afl if they wouldn't let them play it in melb. if they wanted to. they schedule in darwin, as long as adquete time was given(does anyone know how long this has being known?), go up there, play, win/lose/cry/whatever, move onto next week.

I can't believe this. You Port supporters really think everything should be stacked in your favour? Oh, we don't want to play here in round 20.......so what! What makes you different to anyone else? Melbourne have to play a final after travelling to Perth, you whingers have nothing to moan about. Get over yourselves, you're not gods gift to the footballing world.

Footballphantom, totally agree on Mick Malthouse being the biggest moaner. He tries to act above everyone with his scientific analogies, but he just sounds like a d*ck.

Cos said:
Does anybody else get the irony of Victorian supporter's whose teams barely travel complaining about someone complaining about travelling???

Cos
mate checked how many vic sides their are compared to non-vic sides? want to tell me how they can travel interstate the same amount of time?

Swifty4 said:
I can't believe this. You Port supporters really think everything should be stacked in your favour? Oh, we don't want to play here in round 20.......so what! What makes you different to anyone else?
Probably the fact that we're the only finalist playing in Darwin in the last three rounds?

Melbourne have to play a final after travelling to Perth, you whingers have nothing to moan about. Get over yourselves, you're not gods gift to the footballing world.
Didn't Melbourne whinge about the worst ever draw at the start of the year?

I don't see what the big deal is. The plane trip is no longer than (for example) Melbourne to Perth and the weather is no different to playing Brisbane in the heat.

If it was my team that had to play up there I wouldn't care and if my coach was whining i'd reckon he's a soft ********.

Dan

Porthos said:
My mistake, I assumed it was the same as last year, as the SA fixture is.

I'll be interested to hear Connolly's comments closer to the time.

Actually, after last year, the WA clubs complained that it was too draining to play a derby before the finals, and they would rather alternate travelling. Port was the same, but the camries wanted to keep the rd 22 derby from memory.

Will Williams ever stop whinging?