News Jnr Rioli - He’s back.

Alesana

Oct 13, 2011
Really shows where we're at as a club when Willie is a walk-up start after 2 years out of the game and multiple fu**-ups. It just continues the theme of sending a horrible message to all the non-best 22 players that it doesn't matter how bad you play or how long you've been out of the game, as long as you have 'credits' in the eyes of the match committee you'll be selected. Just keep on breeding that complacency...

Happy he's back, but geez..
"It doesn't matter how bad you play"

MATE, HAVE YOU SEEN PETRUCCELE AND LANGDON PLAY!?

fmd the sooner they are out of hte team the better

Really sends a bad message if you can get dropped just because there’s a more talented player available, and because you haven’t been performing, and the team has lost six of its past eight games, and it’s a must-win game…

What sort of message does that send?

Goroyals22

Jun 29, 2014
Yeah it does show where we are at. A drug filled manic as you described was easily able to take the spot of spud. What a disgrace the squad has become. Maybe be made at the rest of the team

It shows a good message alright. Don't be sh*t or rioli will take your spot

No he shouldn't have gotten 4 years you internet lawyer. He gotten 2 years and that what he deserved. Imagine telling the people that write the laws what they should have gotten.

If your such a talented lawyer send your resume to be part of the wada

The maximum penalty for what he did is 4 years.. at least have some idea of what your arguing. Good for him they argued it down… he then committed a crime with no punishment attached from a footballing perspective. Nothing from the afl or the eagles.. He probably will play because when he stuffs it again in the off season he at least got a game in before he was sacked.

Goroyals22

Jun 29, 2014
Nope tell half the squad to earn their spot first. Every heard of earning your spot during training??

You are the biggest conspiracy person here in regards to rioli. Hey guess what rioli is returning and based of that interview will be on the path to leadership as soon as you know it.

Well he did do a puff piece, hardly an interview.. he did miss out when asked about his training which involved fishing and hunting that running gear was part of it.
No apology for his behaviour, no remorse. No explanation. Hell make him captain..

Theres no conspiracy its a fact, he has returned and we have won 2 games and lost at least 6..hopefully as I said its a coincidence

Just out of interest, if it’s not a coincidence what would the link be?

The players have decided to play badly because one of their teammates wasn’t at training for a while and now he is?

Goldfish

Feb 25, 2008
Mornington Peninsula
The maximum penalty for what he did is 4 years.. at least have some idea of what your arguing. Good for him they argued it down… he then committed a crime with no punishment attached from a footballing perspective. Nothing from the afl or the eagles.. He probably will play because when he stuffs it again in the off season he at least got a game in before he was sacked.
4 years, as WADA was established to govern Olympic athletes and a 4 year penalty sees them missing 1 Olympic Games... It was never supposed to govern sports like AFL, and imo missing 700+ days (c. 20% of his career, more if you take into consideration the average time spent on a list) is a huge penalty for something that is now legal in half of the USA.

I welcome him back with open arms (and I've never even smoked a cigarette).

Trav22

Oct 20, 2013
And yet you say say guys yet to debut should get a game because "they've put in the hard yards". I've put in the hard yards, can I get a game too?

sure mate just show us your 2km time trial results and training session attendance sheets

Anyone worried about the effect selecting Rioli will have on the rest of the playing group, check out the first few minutes of the Shuey press conference that the club has just posted.

Journos asked most of the questions that have been asked here, and they were all put to bed.

Anyone worried about the effect selecting Rioli will have on the rest of the playing group, check out the first few minutes of the Shuey press conference that the club has just posted.

Journos asked most of the questions that have been asked here, and they were all put to bed.
Also find it very hard to believe they’ve gone sour on a bloke who got caught smoking pot when other players on the list are fairly non discreet about smoking it. Doesn’t just go for us but let’s not be naive and pretend Willie is the only player in the AFL to have a puff (or worse). Be surprised if every poster on this site didn’t have a personal story of running into an AFL listed player at a party or on the town and seeing them doing something they shouldn’t.

The Eagles are the only clean team in footy and were all so disgusted that when Willie came back the form went to s**t? I highly doubt that. Willie was the one who got caught, doing something that plenty in the league and plenty of his teammates do.

But the fact is he did get caught, and he has now served his time, so #freewillie and get him out there kicking snags again.

Coasters7

Nov 27, 2014
Chelsea

I wonder if it’s had a subconscious effect on the playing group though. Likely just a coincidence but literally the week he returned to the club we went from mediocre (which has been fairly normal for us over the past couple of years) to absolutely diabolical. Surely there’s something in that. Even if it’s just a handful of players that are pissed at him, it would rock the entire boat.

Alesana

Oct 13, 2011
I wonder if it’s had a subconscious effect on the playing group though. Likely just a coincidence but literally the week he returned to the club we went from mediocre (which has been fairly normal for us over the past couple of years) to absolutely diabolical. Surely there’s something in that. Even if it’s just a handful of players that are pissed at him, it would rock the entire boat.
Or, it could be because Venus recently entered Libra, and Mercury and Mars have come into alignment - that should also be taken into account. And given that Willie is a Gemini, on May 29, there was a transformative total lunar eclipse in the opposing sign of Sagittarius, which is, and you won't believe this, the sign of Redden, Duggan and Ah Chee! This is not a co-incidence!

The Passenger

The passenger, I am...
Veteran 10k Posts 30k Posts Sensible Type WCE Wings Guernsey
Mar 25, 2003
best thing about Willie being back is that they can fu** Langdon off
Langdon puts in but he is just a long way short of what is required at AFL footy at the moment. Hard to see he'll ever get there, as much as you want him to.

6 goals in 17 matches is just not even close to good enough for a forward, no matter how much you try to spin the tackling and pressure they apply (is that side of Langdon's game even that good anyway?).

We used to mock Freo for loving Chris Mayne but at least he kicked just over a goal a game for them.

Even if a forward brings an absolute A++ tackling and pressure game, they still need to be going at a goal a game, or at least within striking distance of that figure. With six forwards and teams averaging ~11.5 goals a game, any forward wanting to make it long term should be able to find the big sticks once a game over an extended period.