Willie Rioli "on leave" from Port Adelaide after social media post

No idea what happened at Hawthorn with Willie Sr in the early 90s but it would be a massive by anyone reach to interpret what Jason Dunstall said was racially motivated or mean spirited. According to the Hawks website they had 0 indigenous players between 1965 and 2000 so I doubt they were well prepared to deal with the culture shock of a player coming in from the Tiwi Islands let alone one that wasn't used to professional training standards. Willie Jr was not exactly an elite athlete when he came to WC, and still isn't.
But he's playing at the elite level? doesn't that make him an elite athlete?

Franklin was booed? What are you on? You never saw a white player get booed? have you even watched footy or do you just cherry pick things to suit your emotional argument.

Franklin was massively cheered and celebrated

I believe I have watched and played more footy than you probably ever will.

Ah so 1 game he was booed by a small portion of the crowd and the other 350 he was as cheered and celebrated as ANYONE in AFL history but don't let that get in the way of this narrative you ALWAYS spin.

Supporters always boo former players, nothing new and will keep happening. But it's the first time i've ever seen OTHER teams booing a player for leaving their past club.

Some Port fans booed Dangerfield when he left the Crows for Geelong. Probably because they just didn't like him

I can't put together the timeline but Thomas I guess.

Ah so 1 game he was booed by a small portion of the crowd and the other 350 he was as cheered and celebrated as ANYONE in AFL history but don't let that get in the way of this narrative you ALWAYS spin.
Youre Kidding Are You Serious GIF by Snowfall

Western Bulldogs are investigating claims Port Adelaide’s Willie Rioli sent a hostile post-match message threatening Bailey Dale to one of his Bulldogs’ teammates.
The Herald Sun understands the Dogs are aware Rioli allegedly made contact with a Bulldogs’ player which indirectly threatened Dale after their on-field skirmish in Ballarat on Saturday.

The pair clashed physically and verbally on-field with Rioli fined $1000 for striking Dale in the third quarter.

But it’s the contents of a post-match online message to a Bulldogs’ teammate about Dale which has become the centre of a probe at Whitten Oval on Monday.

Western Bulldogs are investigating claims Port Adelaide’s Willie Rioli sent a hostile post-match message threatening Bailey Dale to one of his Bulldogs’ teammates.
The Herald Sun understands the Dogs are aware Rioli allegedly made contact with a Bulldogs’ player which indirectly threatened Dale after their on-field skirmish in Ballarat on Saturday.

The pair clashed physically and verbally on-field with Rioli fined $1000 for striking Dale in the third quarter.

But it’s the contents of a post-match online message to a Bulldogs’ teammate about Dale which has become the centre of a probe at Whitten Oval on Monday.

I wonder what was said on the field?

Absolute campaigner

Is not adverse to giving out a cheap one himself but when it comes his turn, sooks it up.
It doesn't surprise me that flogs from West Lakes completely miss the point.

Willie Rioli was hit by Bailey Dale. Who escaped any punishment for that hit.

Rioli then retaliated and slapped Dale across the chest. Dale went the massive flop, got a free kick and Rioli is fined.

Bailey Dale is the one who went a cheap shot then sooked when it was his turn.

Really tarnished his reputation the past month or so.. how embarrassing for him after it seemed he'd worked hard to play some good footy after the drug ban.

It doesn't surprise me that flogs from West Lakes completely miss the point.

Willie Rioli was hit by Bailey Dale. Who escaped any punishment for that hit.

Rioli then retaliated and slapped Dale across the chest. Dale went the massive flop, got a free kick and Rioli is fined.

Bailey Dale is the one who went a cheap shot then sooked when it was his turn.
Show us the footage please. If there is no footage, then you're being an apologist for his poor behaviour and siding with "his version", because you're a blind fan. Pretty sure if Dale did what he did, the AFL would have fined him too. Cameras watch the whole field all the time, even where the ball is not.

Even if what you said was the case. Zero excuse for sending threats via social media. Other players are more than capable of leaving everything on the field. Cannot recall any other incidents of a player making threats to another post game.

Show us the footage please. If there is no footage, then you're being an apologist for his poor behaviour and siding with "his version", because you're a blind fan. Pretty sure if Dale did what he did, the AFL would have fined him too. Cameras watch the whole field all the time, even where the ball is not.

Even if what you said was the case. Zero excuse for sending threats via social media. Other players are more than capable of leaving everything on the field. Cannot recall any other incidents of a player making threats to another post game.
We've just gone through an entire year, where Zak Butters has become the fined player in the AFL for after he stands up for his team mates when they cop hits.

Yet only Zak was ever getting fines, not the instigator that he was going after.

But yeah, the AFL totally doesn't pick and chose. This entire fine is based on former Hawthorn player Ben Dixon going about highlighting it at half time.

We've just gone through an entire year, where Zak Butters has become the fined player in the AFL for after he stands up for his team mates when they cop hits.

Yet only Zak was ever getting fines, not the instigator that he was going after.

But yeah, the AFL totally doesn't pick and chose. This entire fine is based on former Hawthorn player Ben Dixon going about highlighting it at half time.
Bumps, shoves, small hits have always been a part of the game. It's the accepted physical nature of the game. Striking, making contract with the head, general heavy handedness have always seen fines and suspensions from the AFL. If you over retaliate for to something minor, of course you will get in bigger trouble, whether the instigator or the retaliated. Please don't kid yourself and try frame Butters as always the victim and always flying the flag. He has always had white line fever and pushed the limits. Clearly Dale didn't do anything significant that the match review person saw fit of punishment, thus there was no reason for Rioli to do what he did. If someone pushed me or my team mate, I may push them back, but I sure ain't gonna whack em in the face or anything.

Once again it is ALL irrelevant to Riolis post game actions. Doesn't matter what he or you thinks. There is zero justifications for making threats. Bontempelli gets smacked around every week by taggers. How f**king soft to you have to be, to not be able to handle a little push and shove. Then resort to allegedly saying "Tell Dale not to leave his room next week in Darwin". There is no way to spin that, other than its implying a threat of harm or violenc should he leave his room.

I agree with the Port fan, this is all Bailey Dale's fault.

I’m with willie..I too despise the HFC with every fibre of my soul.

Don’t we all?
Most empathetic Essendon supporter. I'm upset they anger you more than the Pies do!

Hawks do have an unlikeable aspect. For me its the Kennett stuff, and the racist streak which frankly is as bad as Collingwood. Hope they do more to fix it because there seems to be an influential remnant still around.
Supporters always boo former players, nothing new and will keep happening. But it's the first time i've ever seen OTHER teams booing a player for leaving their past club.
True, hadn't thought about it but the Pies booed JHF at the G. He's a fiery character, and North have been hard done by in the past. I don't think even Franklin copped stick like that.
The AFL (well elements of it) hates North.

We snuck into the VFL under the radar after decades of trying to keep us out. (Some people say the VFL was formed to get away from North in the original comp, the VFA which we were a foundation member of.) The VFL was pissed off with how we used the 10 year rule to change our clubs fortune and the AFL tried to kill us off repeatedly culminating in the push to send us to the Gold Coast nearly 20 years ago.

Right now we're on the bottom of the free kick differential ladder and about to go further back if previous Good Friday games are any guide while four of the five most penalised players in the comp play for us. While that might seem like we are playing dodgy footy the truth is those frees come from ridiculous decisions like the blocking free against Paul Curtis oin the weekend against the GC.

Other clubs can pretend they are the main victims of AFL tyranny or whatever if they like tho.
i think youre dreaming about "the VFL were formed to escape North", but you get regularly reamed by the umps vs us, going back decades. I was at the Shannon Grant game, that was surreal.
.. Franklin was massively cheered and celebrated
And booed. Quite a bit. Not so much at Hawthorn but defo as a Swan.

Some for being the lairising type. Some for being a Sydney love child I guess, because I hadn't noticed it until he went there.

As mentioned, non black players get booed, we hated Milne even before it was proved in a court what he is. We knew. Poor Ollie Henry is still getting booed for the sin of wanting to play alongside his bro (Tony Rocca defence).

However the indigenous blokes seem to get extra. MacAdam and Winmar were not thugs: Macadam was a lair, showed the ball: thatll get you a few boos but he get howled at. Goodes cheated a bit as he aged, he got more boos than anyone. Winmar was a champion.

Its complicated too, i think youve made the point elswhere most indigenous players dont get booed. It does feel like when they can be, they get extra.

Be that as it may, its a fair point most punters dont know JHF is indigenous, so i suspect its more about him being that fiery type, perceived as arrogant, and maybe sympathy for beleagured North?
Really tarnished his reputation the past month or so.. how embarrassing for him after it seemed he'd worked hard to play some good footy after the drug ban.
He's always been a bit of a shit, super smart player but does cheat a bit. Got Maynard in 2018 but we boo Sheed...are we becoming less racist? Certainly not getting smarter anyway.

Sad if he's going off the rails, get around him and get him.off the socials.

Willie Rioli "on leave" from Port Adelaide after social media post