News Jnr Rioli - He’s back.

You cant leave a young man in the prime of his career waiting for justice like this.

Or the supposedly young man of 24 years of age ( when does young no longer apply?) instead if being a tosser could have followed the rules and continued playing as he was and he wouldn’t have had to worry about it....

The bleating and the sympathy in this case is beyond staggering. He is going to cop at least the 2 years and more than likely the full 4... his careers done and he has no one to blame but himself.

Could you imagine if someone was hung out to dry like this and was eventually found innocent? What recourse exists for a player to sue the AFL?

Given the chain of events surrounding this incident - this is the outcome I really want. Found innocent and then........

Won’t happen but one can dream.

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com

Or the supposedly young man of 24 years of age ( when does young no longer apply?) instead if being a tosser could have followed the rules and continued playing as he was and he wouldn’t have had to worry about it....

The bleating and the sympathy in this case is beyond staggering. He is going to cop at least the 2 years and more than likely the full 4... his careers done and he has no one to blame but himself.

Rioli being stupid doesn't excuse the inordinate amount of time it is taking for the case to reach it's conclusion.

Im am not making a judgement im talking about justice. Justice is not about innocence or guilt, its being swift and fair.
Any lawyer can tell you that Justice delayed is Justice denied.

Weird system. Pretty much a presumption of guilt by the entire system. Someone gets found not guilty after 24 mths of waiting (and being unable to play the whole time) and they just say what? Too bad so sad.

Least in criminal law matters they try to get things listed asap to make sure that any delay is kept to a minimum and charges aren't hanging over peoples heads. Pretty disgusting really.
As much as I agree that the delay and uncertainty in this saga is unfair, the criminal law in this state is not the best example to rely upon.
District and Supreme Court matters are currently taking around 2 years to get to trial for a person on bail and around 18 months for a person in custody. The cancellation of trials due to COVID precautions has blown these numbers out even further for some.
Meanwhile, The West seems to be suggesting that everyone charged with a serious offence ought to be refused bail, notwithstanding the fact that this would mean that even more people will spend 12-24 months in custody only to be acquitted at trial or to have their charges discontinued.
Unfairness and delay is par for the course.

Claremont serial killer trial had about 15 preliminary hearings, hence the delay. They argued about the exclusion of evidence etc.

Bail application hearing is always listed within a week (usually next day) and first appearance within a month. The point is they don't wait 16 months for sentencing if someone pleads guilty. That doesn't happen ever and nor should it. Usually 1 month max, maybe 2 if they need pre-sentencing reports. You know in advance when the hearing is and it is usually set down at one of the initial appearances (literally within the first month or so) so everyone knows the date the matter will be finalised.

Absolutely zero excuse for this sort of delay.

It's not really about guilt vs innocence though - they already "know" he's guilty. People almost never "get off" these charges. Essentially what you're waiting for is the sentencing hearing, not a decision on whether he did it or not.

As for the criminal justice system, while you can usually get yourself out on bail, if it's a bad enough crime and there's enough evidence you can spend your time waiting for trial in jail no problems. The Claremont serial killer was in jail for three years before his case finally went to trial, if he'd been found innocent (unlikely, but possible), it would have been "oops, sorry for those three years bud, out you go".

The delays in lists are mainly related to chosen Barristers availability (some are booked out for a solid year in advance). Covid didn't help but the difference is the accused in all these cases are made aware of the date of the hearing within about a month (bar any technical issues arising). A judge also considers the strength of the evidence on deciding bail. In the current case, Willie still does not even know exactly when the hearing will be.

As much as I agree that the delay and uncertainty in this saga is unfair, the criminal law in this state is not the best example to rely upon.
District and Supreme Court matters are currently taking around 2 years to get to trial for a person on bail and around 18 months for a person in custody. The cancellation of trials due to COVID precautions has blown these numbers out even further for some.
Meanwhile, The West seems to be suggesting that everyone charged with a serious offence ought to be refused bail, notwithstanding the fact that this would mean that even more people will spend 12-24 months in custody only to be acquitted at trial or to have their charges discontinued.
Unfairness and delay is par for the course.

The delays in lists are mainly related to chosen Barristers availability (some are booked out for a solid year in advance). Covid didn't help but the difference is the accused in all these cases are made aware of the date of the hearing within about a month (bar any technical issues arising). A judge also considers the strength of the evidence on deciding bail. In the current case, Willie still does not even know exactly when the hearing will be.
I guess Willie should be grateful he was granted bail!

BIBLICAL STORMS R Upon Us.
Q - uinda is right behind Saudel.
BUCKLE UP.

WATCH THE WATER WILLIE Fans.
The new WADA punishments will be about Awareness training. After the Event and the Great Solar Event on December 21 2020.
Wake up Trendsetters.

Should the lights go out, please know we are in control.

Well that was a horrifying dive into conspiracy and unhinged weirdos.

Oh wait you're serious. Go be crazy on the main board

I do wonder if part of the delay (now, not initially) is due to covid restrictions.

Hearing to be held in Melbourne (possibly would have been in Perth under normal circumstances, but with restrictions on entering the state that can't happen), and whilst I don't know, I assume that all non-critical court cases/hearings are on hold. As of today we still don't know when restrictions ease.

Doesn't excuse the initial 8-10 months, but probably explains the reason it is 14/15 instead of 12.

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Very little of this is relevant to Willie Rioli, but misinformation is misinformation and it ought to be corrected.

Claremont serial killer trial had about 15 preliminary hearings, hence the delay. They argued about the exclusion of evidence etc.

Bail application hearing is always listed within a week (usually next day) and first appearance within a month. The point is they don't wait 16 months for sentencing if someone pleads guilty. That doesn't happen ever and nor should it. Usually 1 month max, maybe 2 if they need pre-sentencing reports. You know in advance when the hearing is and it is usually set down at one of the initial appearances (literally within the first month or so) so everyone knows the date the matter will be finalised.

Absolutely zero excuse for this sort of delay.
This is plainly untrue and reflects fundamental misunderstandings of criminal procedure. A person who is refused bail by the police is brought before the court that day or the following day. That is their first appearance. Whether they apply for bail during that appearance or not is up to them.

A person who pleads guilty to a summary offence (assaults, drunk driving, theft as examples) can usually have their matter dealt with on the spot at their first appearance, or often in their absence. Sentencing hearings for matters of this kind usually last a few minutes and the accused are unrepresented more often than not, so are in no way comparable to Willie Rioli’s.

A person who pleads guilty to an indictable offence will wait at least 4-5 months to be dealt with, even if they enter a plea of guilty at their first appearance (which would be incredibly unusual). There is an unavoidable procedural requirement for their matter to be adjourned for at least 8 weeks following their entry of a ‘fast track’ guilty plea. Only after that adjournment, the matter can (but is often not) in a position to be listed for trial, usually 2-4 months in the future.
So in the case of an indictable offence, you cannot know the date of your sentencing hearing within the first two months at least. It is more common for a matter to be on foot for 6 months before a sentencing hearing is ever listed so that the person can obtain legal advice and consider initial police disclosure.

Again this is patently false. I don’t know if you’re confusing the different courts but almost everything you have written is incorrect.
Speaking as a criminal lawyer who lists matters for trial on an almost weekly basis and who worked at the District Court, I can tell you that if you wanted to have a matter listed for trial in the District Court this coming Friday (the next trial listing hearing), you would be listing a trial in late-2021 irrespective of availability. There are more matters going through the court than they can handle in a timely fashion.
And it takes you 7 months to even get to a trial listing hearing at a procedural minimum (there are fixed minimum adjournments of 10 weeks, followed by 6 weeks, followed by 12 weeks, but ordinarily matters don’t get to trial listing until around 12 months due to delays on the part of the DPP), so an accused taking their matter to trial cannot possibly know when their “hearing” is within a month, or even 6 months.

Thanks for the good laugh.

You reckon an indictable matter is comparable to Willie's matter? 4 years max suspension from playing sport vs a matter that needs to go before a Judge and Jury...

Yeah nah. This is a Magi Court level matter every day of the week. Maybe ask your law lecturer next week what they think

Very little of this is relevant to Willie Rioli, but misinformation is misinformation and it ought to be corrected.

This is plainly untrue and reflects fundamental misunderstandings of criminal procedure. A person who is refused bail by the police is brought before the court that day or the following day. That is their first appearance. Whether they apply for bail during that appearance or not is up to them.

A person who pleads guilty to a summary offence (assaults, drunk driving, theft as examples) can usually have their matter dealt with on the spot at their first appearance, or often in their absence. Sentencing hearings for matters of this kind usually last a few minutes and the accused are unrepresented more often than not, so are in no way comparable to Willie Rioli’s.

A person who pleads guilty to an indictable offence will wait at least 4-5 months to be dealt with, even if they enter a plea of guilty at their first appearance (which would be incredibly unusual). There is an unavoidable procedural requirement for their matter to be adjourned for at least 8 weeks following their entry of a ‘fast track’ guilty plea. Only after that adjournment, the matter can (but is often not) in a position to be listed for trial, usually 2-4 months in the future.
So in the case of an indictable offence, you cannot know the date of your sentencing hearing within the first two months at least. It is more common for a matter to be on foot for 6 months before a sentencing hearing is ever listed so that the person can obtain legal advice and consider initial police disclosure.

Again this is patently false. I don’t know if you’re confusing the different courts but almost everything you have written is incorrect.
Speaking as a criminal lawyer who lists matters for trial on an almost weekly basis and who worked at the District Court, I can tell you that if you wanted to have a matter listed for trial in the District Court this coming Friday (the next trial listing hearing), you would be listing a trial in late-2021 irrespective of availability. There are more matters going through the court than they can handle in a timely fashion.
And it takes you 7 months to even get to a trial listing hearing at a procedural minimum (there are fixed minimum adjournments of 10 weeks, followed by 6 weeks, followed by 12 weeks, but ordinarily matters don’t get to trial listing until around 12 months due to delays on the part of the DPP), so an accused taking their matter to trial cannot possibly know when their “hearing” is within a month, or even 6 months.

so in summary,

1. Willie did the crime in front of an ASADA staff member. Guilt not in doubt but mitigation is arguable. Club has said publicly on many occasions ' it is self inflicted'
  2. Eagles may have asked for the hearing post season - many seem to think this is so.
  3. COVID probably impacts as WA places an impost on entry thus a Melbourne hearing is required where there are other constraints. For example medical exams postponed in Vic to next year (accreditation not uni) - massive career impact and stressful. Businesses closed.
  4. Probable penalties 2-4 years depending on mitigation accepted.
  5. We dont know much more.

I can guarantee you the penalty (whenever it is eventually handed down) will be conveniently 6-12months longer (minimum) than how long the wait time is.

Therefore ASADA has not wasted everyone's time.

It's all become a bit of a joke. What's Willie supposed to be doing right now? Staying in top shape incase he's back soon? Or just start looking into life after footy? Essentially in limbo for a few years.

so in summary,

1. Willie did the crime in front of an ASADA staff member. Guilt not in doubt but mitigation is arguable. Club has said publicly on many occasions ' it is self inflicted'
  2. Eagles may have asked for the hearing post season - many seem to think this is so.
  3. COVID probably impacts as WA places an impost on entry thus a Melbourne hearing is required where there are other constraints. For example medical exams postponed in Vic to next year (accreditation not uni) - massive career impact and stressful. Businesses closed.
  4. Probable penalties 2-4 years depending on mitigation accepted.
  5. We dont know much more.
I've heard both Nisbett and Vozzo talk about it several times and not once has anyone mentioned requesting post-season. There answer was always, they simply didn't know when it would be coming up.