GoEagles

Thats the latest news for the upcoming game against the Kangas.
Wilson has been in good form with East Perth lately while Cummings was fairly quiet on the weekend in Adelaide. Did the selectors make the right decision?

Yes because Micky Martin would eat Scotty,so it makes sense to put a guy at FF thats strong and can give a contest and not have a sook if he gets pushed around a bit ,it only takes a little bit of hard work and scotty is put of his game so a good descion by the selectors now lets see if KJ will play him for more than 30seconds a quarter.

Originally posted by Eagleheart
Yes because Micky Martin would eat Scotty,so it makes sense to put a guy at FF thats strong and can give a contest and not have a sook if he gets pushed around a bit ,it only takes a little bit of hard work and scotty is put of his game so a good descion by the selectors now lets see if KJ will play him for more than 30seconds a quarter.

Im actually a big fan of Scott Cummings but hopefully he can bounce back after a week with the Swans..

One thing youre spot on about is the fact that KJ plays our FF's for about 5 - 10mins and if they dont perform they get dragged..

why would you possibly do that?

Could this spell the end of Cummings career at the eagles? Especially considering the eagles have Buszan coming through the ranks and are unlikely to play with a one-dimensional player in a key position.

I hope not, i always liked cummings, though i must admit that he needs specific conditions and a poor defender on him to kick goals. I also have a feeling his contract expires at the end of this year, so his name is likely to come up when the delistings are decided.

Wilson better put on a great performance on the weekend, the game's being telecast into melbourne live and i want to watch the eagles win. Otherwise i will cop a lot of sh!t from my soccer loving family(they only like footy when the eagles lose;)).

Josh Wooden will play his 50th AFL match for the Eagles on Sunday. For the second week in a row West Coast face an
opposition who are in a must-win position to stay in finals contention.

North Melbourne sit in the middle of a pack of five teams with seven wins,
which stretches from 8th to 12th on the ladder. Having played in the finals every
year since 1993, the Roos will see this week as an opportunity for four points
that they can't afford to miss - plus the chance of some handy percentage
boosting.

For their part, the Eagles now have little to motivate them other than the
chance to move from 15th to 14th on the ladder.

They will no doubt continue to build the experience of their youngsters, but
since the youngsters have for the most part been better and more consistent
than a lot of the senior players this year that's no big strategy.

Players like Daniel Kerr, Chad Fletcher, Rowan Jones, Andrew Embley and
Callum Chambers have cemented themselves into the regular lineup this year,
while Dean Cox, Travis Gaspar, Adam Hunter and Kane Munro have shown that
they can be the among the mainstays of future sides.

For Josh Wooden this weekend will be extra special. After not being selected
for a game until Round Ten he brings up his fiftieth on Sunday. His name was
starting to be thrown around in the mid-season speculation of which players we
should drop for next year, and he replied in the best possible fashion, being
among the team's best performers for the past four weeks. If he maintains his
current form he should be still with the Eagles for a while yet.

22 year old Wooden made his debut for the Eagles in 1997, after being
recruited from the NSW-ACT under 18's.

The Record: West Coast have played North Malbourne 24 times. The have
won 14 of those encounter, to be one of only four teams with a better than 50%
record against the Eagles. Last time they played North Melbourne won by 61
points, in Round 16 2000.

Backs: David Wirrpunda Trent Carroll Josh Wooden
Half Backs: Andrew Williams Glen Jakovich Michael Collica
Centres: Travis Gaspar Ben Cousins Callum Chambers
Half Forwards: Peter Matera Michael Gardiner Mark Merenda
Forwards: Phil Matera Troy Wilson Chad Fletcher
Ruck: Dean Cox Rowan Jones Richard Taylor

Interchange (from):
Andrew Embley
Darren Glass
Daniel Kerr
Kane Munro
David Haynes
Jeremy Humm
Adam Hunter

In: Gaspar, Gardiner, Wilson, Haynes, Hunter
Out: Cummings, Turnbull

http://westcoast.rivals.net/default.asp?sid=1523&p=2&stid=8145568

There will be a bit of spirit in this game because Carroll cleaned up a North player in the Ansett Cup game and Wilson nearly cleaned up a few in the packs in that game if my memory serves me correct.

Let Scotty go back to Swannies and get his hunger and form back - for Wilson, nows the chance to prove your spot on our list in 2002

Eaglesflyinghigh.com said:
Players like Daniel Kerr, Chad Fletcher, Rowan Jones, Andrew Embley and Callum Chambers have cemented themselves into the regular lineup this year, while Dean Cox, Travis Gaspar, Adam Hunter and Kane Munro have shown that they can be the among the mainstays of future sides.

I am not convinced that Chambers would be in our regular lineup - good finisher and plays well ahead of the play in the WAFL, but not a regular. And I don't think that Hunter or Munro have proved anything - yet.

As for Scotty, who knows what the future holds? I certainly think Wilson has done everything asked of him in the WAFL and deserves another go. I doubt whether Scotty going to Swans will achieve anything though. He either needs to rest or get fit - and I don't see him doing either at Swans.

As I've said before, FF at the Eagles is a thankless task. You get dragged if you don't make a goal out of every opportunity, just about.

Cummings gets too easily thrown off his game by defenders who know how to aggravate him, and I guarantee you that Mick Martyn falls into that category. Wilson is a bit more of a surprise packet, and I think this may work in our favour. Willo is also better suited to a physical overhead marking contest than Scotty, who prefers marking on the lead. So really it makes a fair bit of sense to send Cummings back to the WAFL. Not only does it avoid those weaknesses, but I reckon it will do his game the world of good to have a few weeks where he gets treated and used like a proper full forward rather than a West Coast numbers-on-the-field-maker-upperer :)

Scotty will be back but i think it is a good move, Martyn doesnt know Willo's game so it should be good. Willo has a lot of strength and can also run out on the lead. So i think Martyn will have his hands full.

Good to see the Jako Carey battle get back up and running, im picking a Jako victory as he as being in pretty good form the last few weeks. Gaspar on a wing is a little strange, i thought Kerr would be out there in the starting 22 and Gardy not starting in the ruck is also a ?

Burton is useless around the ground but taps very well in the ruck. Gardy is pretty strong and i think given the opportunity could really dominate in the ruck against Burton. I wont be surprised if Gardy does start in the ruck.

I think the game is certainly winnable but we will have to win the midfield and guys like Fletcher Chambers and Jones will have to step up and get possesions.

Hopefully we can win, would be nice to finish ahead of the Saints too. A lot of ppl say that we are lucky because the year when we are terrible there is the Dockers who are even worse so we can avoid the spoon, but if we put two teams inbetween us then they can shut up.

GO EAGLES!!

Rocca and McKernan are dangers. Both tall marking players. Gl*** and Carrol will need to play well. If a midfield can just bang the ball into the 50 high with a good chance of a forward marking it makes the game so much earier for them.

I am not a great fan of Willo. He marks between 25 and 50m well but is innaccurate. How many behinds and OOF's this week? That leaves a depleted goal-25m contest area and without that there are no crumbs for the likes of Joey.

Prove me wrong please Willo

Scotty is bascally a lazy sod who wont put in at training.
Chances are that he is gone as a player for next year. His manager would already have been trying to negotiate an extension to conract and if he was a required player the signing would have been done by now. So expect him to be traded. Maybe to the Dockers. Modra is finished and they need a FF.

Originally posted by Frodo
Scotty is bascally a lazy sod who wont put in at training.
Chances are that he is gone as a player for next year. His manager would already have been trying to negotiate an extension to conract and if he was a required player the signing would have been done by now. So expect him to be traded. Maybe to the Dockers. Modra is finished and they need a FF.

Dont know if he is a lazy sod but its starting to look that way as he is picking up weight again. You honestly reckon Freo would pick him up? With a coach like Wallace who is a disciplinarean (sp?) he might be able to get him back to form again. His time at the Eagles is finished though. Is he out of contract at the end of the season because if he is, dont be surprised if Freo picks him up like we picked up Carroll.

Yes he is out of contract at end of this season. Of course there is the odd possibility that Judge is messing him about to get him to agree to a lower wage for next season, but I doubt it.

pass the ball. what a nice lass. Passage to India. Nice Massage. Cassius Clay. Bass. Passion. Lassoo . Vasse Felix wine. River Vasse. A Glass of Vass felix chardonnay. Guess the horrible missing letters

I dont think Scotty is finished. Judge was strangly happy with him the last few weeks even though he is only kicking maybe 1 or 2 a game. And then out of the blue he gets dropped, i remember after the Adelaide game Judge said yeah Scotty is doing ok but that must have changed during the week.

He hasnt kicked that many goals this year but to be fair to him he hasnt had that many opportunities. Our midfield barring the brilliance of Cuz has been really bad this year and although it has got better the last few weeks, it hasnt been that standard all year. I was watching the Adelaide game and got really furious with some of the midfielders when time after time they would bomb it forward??? Cummings is a leading FF!!

But im a Cummings fan so maybe im just trying to defend him. In any case Buzz needs time to develop and i would rather have Scotty than Willo in front of goals for next year while Buzz continues to get experience.

As someone mentioned Willo can have 10 shots on goal and kick 2 goals 8 behinds and 2 out on the fulls. At least when Scotty gets a chance he more than likely converts it. He is still our best shot on goal and if we had to win a game with a goal from 45 out slight angle..id give the ball to Cummings.

I still think there are 2 sides to the Scotty problem (and it is a problem).

a) Delivery
The way our midfielders pass (just checking) the ball to him is generally hopeless for this level of compe***ion. It's very similar situation to Peter Sumich in the early '90s - people would slag him all the time (often quite unfairly). But if our midfield (champions like Kemp, Matera, Pike etc) kicked the ball accurately to him, he was virtually unstoppable. Because they were champions, this happened a lot and Suma kicked a truckload of goals.

b) Confidence & Mental Strength
All FFs need confidence. Once Suma's went, he was pretty hopeless too.
Scotty needs to have a good hard look at himself and the way he goes about footy. First years at Essendon, Port Adelaide and the Eagles were all terrific. Later years marked by disappointment, droppings and stupid acts. eg I was at a Finals game at the MCG (can't remember which), and Scotty was playing in the Magoos for Essendon and managed to get himself reported towards the end of the game. When he misses the first kick or two for goal, especially away from home, his head goes down , his leads are half-hearted and he gets put off by the physicality of his opponent.

I reckon he needs a psychologist to help with the latter and it better be soon, otherwise it will be too late - and I could see Freo wanting to pick him up as a replacement for Modra. Based on past performance, they'd be guaranteed one good season.

Originally posted by Voice of Reason
.......and I could see Freo wanting to pick him up as a replacement for Modra. Based on past performance, they'd be guaranteed one good season.

If he does get traded, I would expect to see him go to collingwood, MM knows how to play him and i reckons Scotty would prosper.

Well, I'm still a Wilson fan, so I'm glad to see him back in the side. I, like other people, just want to see him stay on long enough to get a few.
Judgey needs to take into account that the FF's are going to make mistakes (some more than others ;) , continual dragging certainly does nothing for the players confidence, which someone else has already mentioned, is essential in a forward. Let's give Wilson a chance. He is strong and leads well, we just have to hope that the rest of the team get it down to him enough for Wilson to make a difference.

Wilson know's his head's probably on the chopping board at the end of the season, so, I'm hoping he'll go out pumped and ready to impress and prove himself.

For the record, I'm also a fan of Cummings. Although, sometimes I find it hard to work out whether I'm a fan because of his ability or his 'character'! :)

Cummings is a damn good bloke but his footy at the moment leaves something to be desired. There, I summarised it in one line...

Vis

I dont think it matters how well Wilson plays this year i think he will be delisted anyway, there is really no future for him being at that age. But im a Wilson fan and i hope in whatever footy he plays, be it AFL or WAFL that he prospers.

Huge fan of Scotty and i really hope he can get back to where he was in our first year as i think the club is still short of a really talented and reliable goal kicker. He was that man in his first year since then he has lost his way.

Well, Cummings career shouldn't be over. He still has a lot to offer, but I don't know how much at the Eagles. I am a cummings fan, but being an Eagles supporter, my view is Buszan is the future, so I think we should get him in the side now, or at the beginning of next season.
Cummings has been great, but unless he turns his form around NOW he is probably gone unfortunately