Wilson's Rant

I actually take this as a positive.

The stronger we grow as a club both on and off field, the more criticism we seem to get, usually from the same sources. (Walls, Lane, Wilson etc).

I remember in 02 and 03 the biased typed were almost uncontrollable in thier rage towards all parts of the club, and now its happening again.

Seriously though, the ugly one is like a child, everyone time she comments on something which she has a personal interest in, she loses all fairness and clearness in her articles/radio spots.

SHE IS QUITE ENTERTAINING, ITS LIKE WATCHING A MONKEY PICK ITS OWN ARSE, YOU CANT FIGURE OUT WHY, BUT ITS FASCINATING.

Still, it's a wee bit hard to credit Wilson's assessment of the Pies president, given her evident anti-Collingwood bias. The article is a calculated response to the Club's declaring itself bound for premiership glory. If Wilson can keep a lively debate going over this, she'll have earned her pay.

I'd be hard pressed crediting her as a journalist full stop. Who are these nameless/faceless/uncountable people who are calling for his head? Without any hard evidence of a movement towards ousting Big Ed this is puerile nonsense. No more worthy of column cms than a conversation we'd have here on bigfooty.

Rubbish like this at the start of the year is unnecessary, pre-emptive and - ultimately - an unwanted distraction.

Let the players have their own say on the matter come September.

can someone scan the pic of ed, they keep talking about it on the radio. i can't get out to by the paper.
cheers.

It was a really strange article. It is so typical of her articles, it comes from nowhere and is loosly based on old events which she cobbles together out of context to make up a non existant story. It really reeks of not having anything else to say, and being desperate for a story which will sell. Shame on her.

The analogy that being the sports editor of the Age is akin to being the movies editor of a pr0n mag is hilarious - but gives her entirely too much credit.

Caro's latest witches brew.

Well with the season rapidly approaching here comes Caroline Wilson's profile piece, this time it's one of the biggest figures in the game in Ed Maguire, only it's not really about him, it's all designed to increase Caro's profile with an irrational rant designed to draw attention to herself.

Yes it's a bit sad that with all the new media delivery systems 'journalists' seem more concerned with their image and profiles then actually producing anything of substance. So it is with Caro who writes less and less about matters pertaining to football and more about politics and trying to jog peoples moral compasses according to her own warped set of values.

Yes we need some fresh football commentators and not the harggard old tired types who each year become less relevant and who seem to be hanging on by their fingernails.

The only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about, something Broomhilda Wilson knows only to well

strange how you can write an article questioning eddie's future and yet offer nothing in support of this position other than half-baked rumour & innuendo.

Nothing like slinging some mud at a high profile target in order to try and increase sales and remind the readers of your credentials as a hard nosed, uncompromising journo.... Except where richmond is concerned of course.

exactly. I wish I'd seen this before I posted, makes what I said redundant.

Too harsh Padraig. I'd say she's more desperate. It's tough times in the print media these days; but Wilson's an enterprising woman. And,

Collingwood + Eddie + Malthouse + attack = ripper circulation.

I agree Snag this sort of article does sell papers no doubt. She might be having a shot at Eddie but she certainly looks far worse to anyone with at least something between the ears. Even John Elliott vigorously defended Eddie apparently.

Eddie gets re-elected as President unopposed each time doesn't he? We have one of the most settled boards in recent times and there does not appear to be any murmurings of a challenge. If there was then her article may have had some traction.

No challenges, members re-elect him each time. He can leave when he chooses if that remains the case.

Rubbish like this at the start of the year is unnecessary, pre-emptive and - ultimately - an unwanted distraction.

Let the players have their own say on the matter come September.

Pre-emptive is spot on - strike at the threatening Pies before they even kick-off the season.

But attack her as a journo, not as a woman, please. Although I might just smack her across the head with my handbag.:p

Ed came out swinging this morning so I would say she hit a nerve.

He became President 8 years after 1990, now 11 years later apart from being competitive on and off the field we still havent won our 15th flag. It's obvious the more influentual supporters and supporter groups who are not dazzled by the fact that he is Eddie McGurie are getting tired of waiting as we "rebuild".
So you want him sacked too Tess?

Get off it, eddie has done everything in his power to get us to the promised land.

He brought us the lexus centre, altitude trianing, altitude room, everything else in that joint. Brought huge sponsorship deals, the best ground deal in the competetion, employed the best of the best where ever possible.

No premiership is NOT eddie's fault, i reiterate is NOT eddie's fault.

What i will say on the article is its surprising the amount of detractors she has got for it, before the AGM here, Nicks, EB&W were all saying the thing

eddie is done
No premiership
He wont fire MM
No Judd
WHERES MY MONIES
I want him fired cause i cant ever get his name right (RT)
He is aggressive and showboating
Its all about eddie never collingwood
he has an Ego

All were reasons given, strangely enough the same reasons we are disliking caro now.

Me i dread the day eddie leaves, the bloke bleeds black and white, lives breathes and will die for it. I wish more supporters had that passion tbh, but many here (all the boards) have just taken this as a chance to pot caro even though many of those same people said very similar stuff pon 3 and a bit months ago

Caro would wanna be careful, may get "boned".

No doubt this article is to boost circulation. However, the Ego from Broady lost me completely with his ham-fisted ****-up of the Didak/Shaw debacle late last year. This was where Eddie came out spruiking in the media prior to obtaining all the facts. If it wasn't for the fact that he was made to look like an arse, the penalty would possibly have been less severe and the 2 could have played finals football.

P.S. His bullying of other less well-off clubs also pisses me off.

Re: Caro's latest witches brew.

what a silly tart....our club this year is in a fantastic position and even if we dont win the flag, by god we have a great list and are reasonably financialy secure...geez...look at clubs like richmond and north....we are sitting quite nicely thank you and the more silly tarts like her try and detract from that the sweeter it will be singing the song after each win whilst our opposition supporters sit and curse, whine and remonstrate based on their skewed vision of our club helped in part by Mrs sourpuss, the botox aint working anymore Wilson.

Caro would wanna be careful, may get "boned".

No doubt this article is to boost circulation. However, the Ego from Broady lost me completely with his ham-fisted ****-up of the Didak/Shaw debacle late last year. This was where Eddie came out spruiking in the media prior to obtaining all the facts. If it wasn't for the fact that he was made to look like an arse, the penalty would possibly have been less severe and the 2 could have played finals football.

P.S. His bullying of other less well-off clubs also pisses me off.
So in your first line you disagree with Caro, and tell her to be careful

then in the next two paragraphs you say the same tired old shit she did.

So are you a hypocrite, have a terrible short term memory or just hoped like hell someone wouldn't pick that up?

EDIT

Also when does eddie bully minnow teams?
he got the Bulldogs sponsors our sponsors in fact
he gives the kangaroos gate receipts for both games (half of our Home game as that is what the AFL allows)
Gives melbourne the QB game as its Home game every year unlike the rotated system on ANZAC day.

The didak and shaw fiasco was badly handled, but it didnt help that Eddie was lied to, he defended his "boys" as he believed they were telling him the truth. Yes it ended up badly but he should be commended for getting in behind them and defending like any real supporter should

what a silly tart....our club this year is in a fantastic position and even if we dont win the flag, by god we have a great list and are reasonably financialy secure...geez...look at clubs like richmond and north....we are sitting quite nicely thank you and the more silly tarts like her try and detract from that the sweeter it will be singing the song after each win whilst our opposition supporters sit and curse, whine and remonstrate based on their skewed vision of our club helped in part by Mrs sourpuss, the botox aint working anymore Wilson.

Although very light in substance she's pretty ballsy in saying what she's said about Eddie I'll grant her that.

Collingwood is the sacred cow of the herald scum and the bulk of the media in this state. Nice to see a paper willing to publish articles about the pies without their figurative tongue firmly stuck on the said club's arse-crack. About time :thumbsu:

Although very light in substance she's pretty ballsy in saying what she's said about Eddie I'll grant her that.

Collingwood is the sacred cow of the herald scum and the bulk of the media in this state. Nice to see a paper willing to publish articles about the pies without their figurative tongue firmly stuck on the said club's arse-crack. About time :thumbsu:
Have you actually read most of the shit that Sheenan and Robinson write about us?

ill answer it myself quite clearly no

Have you actually read most of the shit that Sheenan and Robinson write about us?

ill answer it myself quite clearly no

And I take it you seldom read (if ever) the hun journo's articles about the the Dees, Doggies, Kangas etc..

Any negative criticism of the pies' players/coaches usually has a positive spin on it. But it's nothing compared to the blatant inflammatory and derogatory comments made about other Vic club's.

Pieces about the pies are rarely all doom and gloom, there always has to be light at the end of the tunnel or else you supporter base wouldn't buy the sad excuse of a newspaper. It's common knowledge among non-pie supporters that the hun is essentially Collingwood's non-official sponsor. lol :thumbsd:

And I take it you seldom read (if ever) the hun journo's articles about the the Dees, Doggies, Kangas etc..

Any negative criticism of the pies' players/coaches usually has a positive spin on it. But it's nothing compared to the blatant inflammatory and derogatory comments made about other Vic club's.

Pieces about the pies are rarely all doom and gloom, there always has to be light at the end of the tunnel or else you supporter base wouldn't buy the sad excuse of a newspaper. It's common knowledge among non-pie supporters that the hun is essentially Collingwood's non-official sponsor. lol :thumbsd:
Yeah of course it is how wrong can i be:rolleyes:

possibly the dees and kangas dont have light at the end of the tunnel because both are in a debt quagmire? Even worse now seeing as no one anywhere has money

If you just want to pseudo troll the board bugger off elsewhere, none of us are in the mood

Strange how you can write an article questioning [strike]NMFC's[/strike] [strike]Ben Cousins'[/strike] Eddie's future and yet offer nothing in support of this position other than half-baked rumour & innuendo.

Obviously she's writing these sort of articles using her standard template.

Take a look at the North board for the last two+ years. She's made a whole career out of "half-baked rumour & innuendo".

She'll most likely keep on this every now and then for a few months. But there'll be no quotes - no proof - just expect a lot of "The Age understands......."

Yeah of course it is how wrong can i be:rolleyes:

possibly the dees and kangas dont have light at the end of the tunnel because both are in a debt quagmire? Even worse now seeing as no one anywhere has money

If you just want to pseudo troll the board bugger off elsewhere, none of us are in the mood

Call it trolling or whatever you want, I'm just telling it like it is mate. I'm not getting paid to kiss the pies arse. Don't pretend for 1 second Collingwood gets treated the same as everybody else in this town.

Caro's article offends you so much probably because you're not used to been on the receiving end of what every other Vic club has to put up with from those hacks for years. lol

So in your first line you disagree with Caro, and tell her to be careful

then in the next two paragraphs you say the same tired old shit she did.

So are you a hypocrite, have a terrible short term memory or just hoped like hell someone wouldn't pick that up?

EDIT

Also when does eddie bully minnow teams?
he got the Bulldogs sponsors our sponsors in fact
he gives the kangaroos gate receipts for both games (half of our Home game as that is what the AFL allows)
Gives melbourne the QB game as its Home game every year unlike the rotated system on ANZAC day.

The didak and shaw fiasco was badly handled, but it didnt help that Eddie was lied to, he defended his "boys" as he believed they were telling him the truth. Yes it ended up badly but he should be commended for getting in behind them and defending like any real supporter should

Can't see where I was defending Caro, just offering my own opinion. Eddie tripped over his ego in the Dids/Heater affair. Would you have rather had them playing finals footy, Opti? I know I sure as hell would have.

As for the kangaroos home jumper issue, if I helped you out financially and asked you to get about inna pink tutu, would you be happy?

Strange how you can write an article questioning Eddie's future and yet offer nothing in support of this position other than half-baked rumour & innuendo.

Nothing like slinging some mud at a high profile target in order to try and increase sales and remind the readers of your credentials as a hard nosed, uncompromising journo.... except where Richmond is concerned of course.

Exactly, if you read the article, as it appears we both did, it offers up nothing.
Its just a puff piece under a headline.

As Eddie said this morning, he was up for re-election last year, he has a further 2 years before he faces an election again, he aint going anywhere.
So what is Caro really about with this story?

Can't see where I was defending Caro, just offering my own opinion. Eddie tripped over his ego in the Dids/Heater affair. Would you have rather had them playing finals footy, Opti? I know I sure as hell would have.

As for the kangaroos home jumper issue, if I helped you out financially and asked you to get about inna pink tutu, would you be happy?
After lying to the club, drink driving, being out drinking in the first place, and then bringing the club into disrepute. I was much happy with the punishment they got. We set a standard no more ****ing up, you want to **** around you wont play, if Buckley agreed with it (which he did) then most certainly it was teh righ choice of action.

If i was wallowing in debt, with debt collectors (the AFL) threatening to rip my testicles off and rebrand me their bitch (relocate them to the GC) then yes i wouldnt bite the hand feeding me. One major point here is there is no clash with our jumpers, ive been able to tell the differnce for 21 years and everyone else for a 100 odd years, so there should be no issue.

Now seeing as you are playing the man on eddie, im going to point out you are just rehashing the same shit he gets all the time and i might add he doesnt actually do any of it. Maybe get over it and look at what he has actually done for our club and where we would be if it never happened and it doesnt look good if you go back to 98