Wilson's Rant

A petulant move by Eddie.

Feeding the Age two stories the following week making it look even more pathetic.

If everyone who Eddie had ripped into behind closed doors or in the media cut off Eddie, he'd be living in a paddock. He likes to play the game hard and then gets sooky when someone does the same back. I would have thought our president was made of sterner stuff and would laugh it off.

Under normal circumstances I would agree with you FuManchu but in this instance I agree with Eddie. There comes a point when you have to put your foot down and show them who is boss. Considering that he just got us the most lucrative shirt deal, I am confident that he has Collingwood at heart and wants the club to succeed. The Age is not the be all and end all in the footy world. If they go bust tomorrow there will be another newspaper that will take their place. If Collingwood goes bust tomorrow, well I can not see how any team can replace us in the short to medium term. Maybe in a 100 year. They need us more then we need them since they are replacable, the clubs are not.

No-one, no-one doubts his dedication to the club.

But in this instance, just what is he trying to prove to anyone? That he can cut off a media org because they dare analyse his last few years? C'mon, eddie opened his mouth and said this year was the year for a serious tilt, in that context it is appropriate to analyse why he would make that statement, when in reality every year should be gearing towards a flag. More than that, it is appropriate to look at what may be driving Eddie to make a statement that is not really needed. And that could be that for the totality of his tenure he has failed to deliever the one thing he said he would, it is also apt to discuss if their is any rumblings at board level, I'm betting his blustering manner puts quite a few noses out at all levels, let alone the few blunders he has made of late.

To act in a petulant manner about an article on his tenure that is reality is probably being discussed by many powers that be at AFL level anway, is just plain sooking. You cant be a pres for ten years, deliver no flags and think you are going to escape scrutiny at some stage.

eddie should take it like water off a ducks back. Caro cops it for personalising, well ................. eddie is just as bad. No-one in their right mind would say Eddie hasnt used the media to grandstand or to character assasinate himself. God knows what he does in private. And if he is bagging out Pratt in private, he would do well to remember blood is thinker than water and Waslitz knows which side of his bread is buttered.

If you reap the rewards of exposure, expect to cop the lumps as well. Sorry, it looks infantile in any respect. We surely are stronger and more resolute than that!

A petulant move by Eddie.

Feeding the Age two stories the following week making it look even more pathetic.

If everyone who Eddie had ripped into behind closed doors or in the media cut off Eddie, he'd be living in a paddock. He likes to play the game hard and then gets sooky when someone does the same back. I would have thought our president was made of sterner stuff and would laugh it off.

Different scenario.
Anyone at the peak of their industry who has not been ripped to shreds a few times is not trying.
There is a vast difference between Eddie the business man and Eddie the "heart on his sleeve" Collingwood President.

Vive le difference.

Wilson is an observer not a participant in these machinations, trying extraordinarily hard to become a participant by using her position to effect a change for personally biased reasons.
The are far too many so called "investigative reporters" these days who investigate due to vestive interest.
It is tantamount to a court reporter alluding to a judges bias in a case.

Reporters are there to report what is happening, facts, not to influence opinion or instigate change to suit their personal beliefs.

The "editorial" power at both TV stations and newspapers alike are handed out like lollies these days and has a lot to do with the lack of respect in which journalists and the media in general is held by the public these days.

Australia once had a largely respectable core of journalists who held their integrity as priority. Now if you can make a headline rhyme or put "gate" after it you are regarded as a professional.

The expansion of media, electronic, web and print has diminished the quality as an increase in supply does not bring and increase in quality, in fact the reverse. Outlets in their rush to fill column space, bandwidth or air time always accept mediocrity over financial loss.

Music, drama, sport and news have all suffered enormously since the expansion of outlets.

58 channels and nothing worth watching...

Caro is channel 59.

Different scenario.
Anyone at the peak of their industry who has not been ripped to shreds a few times is not trying.
There is a vast difference between Eddie the business man and Eddie the "heart on his sleeve" Collingwood President.

Vive le difference.

Eddie blurred the lines by commentating whilst being president. You and I can support him to the hilt, but at the end of the day, he has sought heavy media attention for all his and Collingwoods activities and sometimes the attention back is not always positive. I really dont recall too much focus on his business activities in the article anyway. Other than the mention that he should have stood down when he went to sydney, which he himself stated.

Wilson is an observer not a participant in these machinations, trying extraordinarily hard to become a participant by using her position to effect a change for personally biased reasons.
All football 'commentators' have a self interest, its what got them to the level they are at now. If you precluded anyone from having a loyalty or interest in football we'd end up with drones. You say she has a bias, so does Eddie, sort of balances out doesnt it? Its not as if Eddie hasnt had his goes at her over the years as well!

The are far too many so called "investigative reporters" these days who investigate due to vestive interest.
It is tantamount to a court reporter alluding to a judges bias in a case.

yes, and we also learn a lot more because of them, than we would have with the old 'Alf Brown' brand of football fluff journalism . I dont want a return to fluff, I want dirt and grit, because in there lies the truth somewhere.

Reporters are there to report what is happening, facts, not to influence opinion or instigate change to suit their personal beliefs.

Aha, Caro is the chief football writer and has an editorial overview. Editorial is opinion. A vast difference to journalism as such. She offers an opinion. You dont have to like it or read it. I like to read all her stuff because you just know a lot of this stuff she writes is being leaked to her from the clubs. It makes for great reading trying to figure out which egos have got the sads with other egos!

The "editorial" power at both TV stations and newspapers alike are handed out like lollies these days and has a lot to do with the lack of respect in which journalists and the media in general is held by the public these days.
Then stop reading them, vote with your wallet. Because as much as you and a million other Collingwood supporters might have objected to it, I guarantee the other millions of non Collingwood supporters would have enjoyed reading it. So do you cater to one small group ( comparitively)for the sake of their sensbilities or do you cater the the vast audience? Commercially I know which one prevails.

Australia once had a largely respectable core of journalists who held their integrity as priority. Now if you can make a headline rhyme or put "gate" after it you are regarded as a professional.
Well, either go back to the time it all started and change it or learn to block it out, because its here to stay. I think we far better informed than 30 years ago, its just that we dont always like the warts that we have to read about

The expansion of media, electronic, web and print has diminished the quality as an increase in supply does not bring and increase in quality, in fact the reverse. Outlets in their rush to fill column space, bandwidth or air time always accept mediocrity over financial loss.
Things are analysed deeper, there is more media scrutiny. I love it. Some dont.

Music, drama, sport and news have all suffered enormously since the expansion of outlets.

58 channels and nothing worth watching...

Caro is channel 59.
Each TV has an off button, and then there are NONE!

Eddie blurred the lines by commentating whilst being president. You and I can support him to the hilt, but at the end of the day, he has sought heavy media attention for all his and Collingwood's activities and sometimes the attention back is not always positive. I really dont recall too much focus on his business activities in the article anyway. Other than the mention that he should have stood down when he went to sydney, which he himself stated.

All football 'commentators' have a self interest, its what got them to the level they are at now. If you precluded anyone from having a loyalty or interest in football we'd end up with drones. You say she has a bias, so does Eddie, sort of balances out doesnt it? Its not as if Eddie hasnt had his goes at her over the years as well!

yes, and we also learn a lot more because of them, than we would have with the old 'Alf Brown' brand of football fluff journalism . I dont want a return to fluff, I want dirt and grit, because in there lies the truth somewhere.

Aha, Caro is the chief football writer and has an editorial overview. Editorial is opinion. A vast difference to journalism as such. She offers an opinion. You dont have to like it or read it. I like to read all her stuff because you just know a lot of this stuff she writes is being leaked to her from the clubs. It makes for great reading trying to figure out which egos have got the sads with other egos!

Then stop reading them, vote with your wallet. Because as much as you and a million other Collingwood supporters might have objected to it, I guarantee the other millions of non Collingwood supporters would have enjoyed reading it. So do you cater to one small group ( comparitively)for the sake of their sensbilities or do you cater the the vast audience? Commercially I know which one prevails.

Well, either go back to the time it all started and change it or learn to block it out, because its here to stay. I think we far better informed than 30 years ago, its just that we dont always like the warts that we have to read about

Things are analysed deeper, there is more media scrutiny. I love it. Some dont.

Each TV has an off button, and then there are NONE!

All your responses are valid, but do not change the the tenor of my post.
We are the product of the media we choose to believe.
I, personally, take every word I read or see in the popular media as as lie until I see the evidence.
You are more than likely in or around my generation and remember when a journalists primary task was to report the facts not embellish them and then add their personal take.

Journalism and news in general is poorer for the "dumbing down" of the media which employs them. Such is life in the global village but it still does not excuse the garbage we are supposed to accept.

All your responses are valid, but do not change the the tenor of my post.
We are the product of the media we choose to believe.
I, personally, take every word I read or see in the popular media as as lie until I see the evidence.
You are more than likely in or around my generation and remember when a journalists primary task was to report the facts not embellish them and then add their personal take.

Journalism and news in general is poorer for the "dumbing down" of the media which employs them. Such is life in the global village but it still does not excuse the garbage we are supposed to accept.

I guess much like everything in the media, it is for some and it aint for others. Probably part (OK, definitely) of my nature is to be quite combative in all things, so to see the media being aggresive and combative suits me. I like it when others use it cleverly to fight back. Unfortunately in this instance, Eddie looked like a sook. I prefer him to fend off the bullets and fight back when the opportunity arises.

It was the old 'bat and ball, go home' at its worst. As a club, we are much much stronger than that. In fact years ago, it would have been fuel for the 'us v them' that we all so loved. Eddie needs to have a look at how precious he looks at times.

I still think what she wrote had validity. Eddie needs to at some stage look at a succession plan. It may come sooner than he thinks from within if he doesnt either produce or he makes more mistakes. You might not like the messenger, but the message is quite valid

I see that Eddie is getting his own back through the media with a couple of jibes about the future tenure of the current tiger coach.

Mess with eddie at your own peril. lol

Yeah, like thats going to send Caro into fits of depression:rolleyes:

I dunno she does barrack for the tigers doesn't she? She rarely writes anything strongly unflattering about them.

Terry may not be the best coach going around but getting rid of him so early in the season could prove to be unwise IMHO. It may create more problems than it solves which I'm sure will send tiger fans into fits of despair, not that they aren't used to it.

But it's something I'd presume Caro would not be looking forward too writing about. lol

I dunno she does barrack for the tigers doesn't she? She rarely writes anything strongly unflattering about them.

Terry may not be the best coach going around but getting rid of him so early in the season could prove to be unwise IMHO. It may create more problems than it solves which I'm sure will send tiger fans into fits of despair, not that they aren't used to it.

But it's something I'd presume Caro would not be looking forward too writing about. lol
Caro has been distanced somewhat from recent tiger administrations. At times she has taken aim at a few identities in there.

But of course she loves her tiges, you would have to expect that given her family history. But if you look at all the other journos that tend to avoid criticising their own teams, she really is no different. And like I have said, if you remove all the journos that have a team affiliation and only allowed those to write that are impartial, I reckon there would be no-one to write anything. And where would their passion for the game be?

Her bias and all the other bias' out there is what makes the footy world go round. As long as you understand the limits of her and their writings, you can actually enjoy the articles. I know she has a 'professional' dislike of Eddie, I take that into account, it doesnt offend me. And big deal if she has, it still doesn't mean that sometimes she is going to have a valid point to make. In this case, after 10 years, Eddie like any other president would naturally be looking at life away from that position, whenever that may occur. Unless he intends doing 20 years, then maybe he should tell us now perhaps.