Wimbledon 2007

What, Federer won? Wow, another unpredictable tennis tournament over :rolleyes:

Mens tennis is now more boring than when it was Williams v Williams every final

Unless of course you enjoy watching a tennis match of the highest possible standard between two great players at the top of their game giving it their all.

You people might not want to admit, for a 20 year old guy he was a point away from clinching it from the best player of all times. Dont give rafa credit for what he has done cause you people dont understand tennis, but bookmark it, rafa will kick his ass next year.

yep but he didnt break nadal for 2 hours 45 minutes. Do you get my point now??:rolleyes:
You don't have a point, you have a stat.

Federer won therefore Federer was the better player on the day. Nadal may have played better tennis for periods of the match but who was dominating during a certain period of the game doesn't determine the end result isolated from the rest of the match.

Unless of course you enjoy watching a tennis match of the highest possible standard between two great players at the top of their game giving it their all.
What, with the same result every bloody time? yay, so unpredictable :rolleyes:

I would prefer some unpredictability, some different finallists, different winners

You don't have a point, you have a stat.

Federer won therefore Federer was the better player on the day. Nadal may have played better tennis for periods of the match but who was dominating during a certain period of the game doesn't determine the end result isolated from the rest of the match.
that is not a stat, that is a fact. Federer didnt even get close to breaking rafa for over 2 and half hours, while rafa broke him 4 times inbetween. In the tiebreaker federers serve helped him pull through the pressure cooker situation, other than that here at the stats for you

Aces 24-1
Winners (groundstroke) 44-49
Unforced errors- 34-24
Forced errors 51-59
Break conversions 3 of 8 --- 4 of 11
Double fault 1-1

The only thing that saved federer was his serve.

Rafa is miles better than federer on clay, but that cannot be said about federer on grass against Rafa. Well played rafa, you were the better player on the day, bad luck but you will live to fight another day :thumbsu:

You single handedly have turned everyone off the second best player in the world who played tremendously today to hang on to Fed for 4 sets even if he was blown clean away when it came to the wire.

I could just imagine all the Nadalists saying to themselves "oh 5th set. Federer or is it duderer, will fold" What happened? 6-2. Fed's winners in game 6 5th set were awesome tennis. mano a mano 5th set. toe to toe who broke down? Nadal broke down giving up his serve twice when it really really mattered.

Well played to federer who has now equalled Borg's slam haul and 5 in a row. not bad for a dud.

You single handedly have turned everyone off the second best player in the world who played tremendously today to hang on to Fed for 4 sets even if he was blown clean away when it came to the wire.

I could just imagine all the Nadalists saying to themselves "oh 5th set. Federer or is it duderer, will fold" What happened? 6-2. Fed's winners in game 6 5th set were awesome tennis. mano a mano 5th set. toe to toe who broke down? Nadal broke down giving up his serve twice when it really really mattered.

Well played to federer who has now equalled Borg's slam haul and 5 in a row. not bad for a dud.

Nadal was better player for the 4 sets, if you deny that you know nothing about tennis. Federers serve bailed him out many many times on break points but admit it nadal was better on rallies today. Not bad for a claycourter huh? I would love to see federer push nadal on clay, but im afraid its not gonna happen

that is not a stat, that is a fact. Federer didnt even get close to breaking rafa for over 2 and half hours, while rafa broke him 4 times inbetween. In the tiebreaker federers serve helped him pull through the pressure cooker situation, other than that here at the stats for you

Aces 24-1
Winners (groundstroke) 44-49
Unforced errors- 34-24
Forced errors 51-59
Break conversions 3 of 8 --- 4 of 11
Double fault 1-1

The only thing that saved federer was his serve.

I seem to remember you moaning when I pointed out that Fed hit more winners at RG and threw the match away with unforced errors. Does that mean that in fact he played better than nadal on clay?

Your one eyed love for rafa means refusal to credit a man who has equalled Borg and is now 4-2 head to head against Nadal away from clay and 4-2 ahead in head to heads since RG 2006.

I credit rafa with a superb game today. he clearly rattles Fed and gets him out of his comfort zone adn Fed's impatience giving rise to unforced errors is evidence of that but please realise that 5 in a row is epic achievement and give some credit.

GT , mate sorry to say but you are hypocrite.When fed lost to nadal at R.G you blamed roger for letting nadal win.Now that rafa almost beat federer but couldnt quite finish the job you say, rafas best was only good enough to hang on to federer. Here are some points you should consider

Fedrer only commited 34 unforced errors, which is far too less for the kind of shotmaking and risk he takes.He was on full flow today

24 aces is just as good as anyone, add those unreturnable big bombs down the middle as well

71% first serve in, thats as high as you can expect them to get it in

Federer had no break points for 2 hours 45 minutes and barely hung on in the 5th set.If rafa broke federer there, it would be all over.

Rafa had more winners less unforced errors than federer , yet you dont give him any credit

Go figure mate

I seem to remember you moaning when I pointed out that Fed hit more winners at RG and threw the match away with unforced errors. Does that mean that in fact he played better than nadal on clay?
No he didnt. Those were mostly service winners.Take those aces off and Fed had less winners than Rafa. That my friend is a fact :thumbsu: The only thing that seperates rafa from fed is feds serve.While rafa is improving on his serve as well :thumbsu:
Your one eyed love for rafa means refusal to credit a man who has equalled Borg and is now 4-2 head to head against Nadal away from clay and 4-2 ahead in head to heads since RG 2006.
you blamed feds groin injury on RG , i could say look rafa hurt his knee blah blah but did i? ofcourse not.Fed prevailed but rafa showed that he can more than compete with federer on grass, something fed cant do on clay with rafa

Pretty pathetic TP, you should follow the example made by your hero, haivng some grace in the loss.

Federer, what a f-in champion, but Nadal has maorly closed the gap on him.

Pretty pathetic TP, you should follow the example made by your hero, haivng some grace in the loss.

Federer, what a f-in champion, but Nadal has maorly closed the gap on him.

congrats to federer, i said it before but for a guy who is supposed to be a dud off clay, has improved majorly.

TP it seems like you are trying to convert anyone who will listen into a Nadal fan, but your complete bias is doing the opposite. To say Federer got lucky and won the match despite being outplayed is pathetic. If anything Nadal got extremely lucky on all those Hawkeye decisions that went his way, on crucial points too.

I can tell you that the Hawkeye system is flawed. It does not know the exact location of the ball, it uses very accurate reference points within the 3-dimensional space it covers, but it is not always right. On that point in the 4th set where Federer showed his anger I saw no chalk fly up from that baseline whatsoever. Slow mo replay showed that. Nadal got all the luck in the match and got a lot closer to beating Federer than what he should have.

If Nadal was a smart player, he would have not called for the trainer in that 4th set. It shifted Federers negative mindset from the bad Hawkeye decision to working out how to exploit Nadals "injury". It shifted Federers focus from a negative one to a positive one. What good can come from a trainer when you have the slightest temporary niggle in your knee? He should have tried to play through it for a game or so before calling for the trainer, given he was a break up. Huge momentum swing right there.

One last thing - saying Federer was outplayed and was saved by his serve is an idiotic thing to suggest. Thats like saying, Nadal was completely outplayed by Federer all day, but Nadal only stayed in the match because of his baseline strokes.... You do realise that serving is a massive advantage in tennis, and mastering it is like mastering any other facet of the game? The fact that Roger has a much better serve than Nadal shows that Nadal is that a little further away from becoming the complete player than Federer is.

Anyhow, its pointless trying to reason with you. Clearly youve had some sort of personal experience with Nadal (perhaps even sexual?) and are completely brainwashed into thinking he is the second coming of Jesus Christ.

Reality check - Federer is still the best tennis player in the world. Well done Roger :thumbsu:

TP it seems like you are trying to convert anyone who will listen into a Nadal fan, but your complete bias is doing the opposite. To say Federer got lucky and won the match despite being outplayed is pathetic. If anything Nadal got extremely lucky on all those Hawkeye decisions that went his way, on crucial points too.

I can tell you that the Hawkeye system is flawed. It does not know the exact location of the ball, it uses very accurate reference points within the 3-dimensional space it covers, but it is not always right. On that point in the 4th set where Federer showed his anger I saw no chalk fly up from that baseline whatsoever. Slow mo replay showed that. Nadal got all the luck in the match and got a lot closer to beating Federer than what he should have.

If Nadal was a smart player, he would have not called for the trainer in that 4th set. It shifted Federers negative mindset from the bad Hawkeye decision to working out how to exploit Nadals "injury". It shifted Federers focus from a negative one to a positive one. What good can come from a trainer when you have the slightest temporary niggle in your knee? He should have tried to play through it for a game or so before calling for the trainer, given he was a break up. Huge momentum swing right there.

One last thing - saying Federer was outplayed and was saved by his serve is an idiotic thing to suggest. Thats like saying, Nadal was completely outplayed by Federer all day, but Nadal only stayed in the match because of his baseline strokes.... You do realise that serving is a massive advantage in tennis, and mastering it is like mastering any other facet of the game? The fact that Roger has a much better serve than Nadal shows that Nadal is that a little further away from becoming the complete player than Federer is.

Anyhow, its pointless trying to reason with you. Clearly youve had some sort of personal experience with Nadal (perhaps even sexual?) and are completely brainwashed into thinking he is the second coming of Jesus Christ.

Reality check - Federer is still the best tennis player in the world. Well done Roger :thumbsu:

I am not trying to convert anyone here but the stats say that nadal was the better player.He majority of the rallies, can you deny that??? how many times did federers serve bailed him out on break points? about 6 times i reckon. How many break chances did fed have prior to the final set (and after the first game of the match?) only 1, which he failed to capitalise. So here is the main story.. if federer is not able to get a break point against a guy who is not a big server on tour, what does that tell you?

Look there is no doubt federer is the best player on grass courts but trust me when he plays nadal next time in US open finals, i bet you, its going to be a 50-50 match.If nadal can come this close against roger on grass, he can beat him on hardcourts. That my friend is a fact:thumbsu:

Federer and nadal is supposed to have baseline strokes anyway , cause neither of them are sampras or karlovic. The only difference between fed and nadal is the serve now.Fed volleys a bit better as well.

just confirmed by rafa, what i said was exactly right.Why do i even bother arguing on these forums i dont know :rolleyes:

Q. What would you say made the difference in this match?

RAFAEL NADAL: Some points. Just have big chances in the fifth, 15 40. Especially, well, I wasn't feel I play worse than him from the baseline, no? Maybe if we have to find any difference, maybe the difference is the serve. He serve better than me, and that's important in every surface, but in this surface more, no?

nadal was the better player

The better player was the guy who didn't squander a bucket load of break points in the fifth set. The better player was the guy who broke his opponents' serve at the important point in the fifth set. The better player was the guy who held serve when it counted. The better player was the guy who won the damn match. The sooner you acknowledge this, the sooner you stop looking like a complete moron.

http://www.menstennisforums.com/showthread.php?t=105613

Majority of the people agree with me.71% on grass is a killer.That really worked in his favour, had it been off, it would have been a straight set affair.That is a fact and i am not criticising federer, nadal was extremely good today and won most of the rallies

But still lost... Nadal lost it for himself if anything with the SO many break points not won

A BRITISH CHAMPION
_42478768_mu_getty_270.jpg

Well played, he's got to be giving her one

But still lost... Nadal lost it for himself if anything with the SO many break points not won

A BRITISH CHAMPION
_42478768_mu_getty_270.jpg

Well played, he's got to be giving her one

no doubt but i am very happy as a rafa fan , atleast he is now a contender on all surfaces and people can STFU about him being a claycourter:thumbsu: Even federer admitted in his press conference that was hanging by a thread in that 5th set. Rafa has no points to defend now, he can relax and close the gap :cool:

The better player was the guy who didn't squander a bucket load of break points in the fifth set. The better player was the guy who broke his opponents' serve at the important point in the fifth set. The better player was the guy who held serve when it counted. The better player was the guy who won the damn match. The sooner you acknowledge this, the sooner you stop looking like a complete moron.

new to tennis arent you? if u click on the link i posted above, you will majority of the fans disagree with you.I said rafa was the better player for 4 sets, i do agree rafa blew his chances in the final set but hey, he is improving, while fed is at his peak.Rafa can still improve his volleys and his serve and he will be back next year, bigger and better :thumbsu:

You cant single out one aspect of a game - ie serve, and use that as a reason for a loss. That is like a fan of a golfer (say a weird Tiger Woods love child relationship like you and Rafa have!) crying because he lost a tournament because the other guy putted really well. Tigers weird love sick fan might sook and say - but my boy hit it better tee to green, but his putting saved him.
TP - You are a joke. The respect you think Rafa needs to be given, is exactly what you refuse to give Federer. When you win 3-2 in sets you were not outplayed in 4 of them. You cant take away the serve as a factor.
Immature, silly, completely love sick with the number 2 player in the world. WHo will never become number 1 while the federator is around.

Wimbledon 2007