Wimbledon 2007

http://www.wimbledon.org/en_GB/scores/stats/day14/1127ms.html

TP, as far as I can see with the stats, Federer is the better player. You should be grateful Nadal was even in the final. Should have been beaten by Djokovic, absolutely thumping him before he got injured in the second set and eventually having to retire in the third.
You might claim that Nadal dominated for 4 sets of the match, but the fact is Federer was having an off-day and he was still able to play better tennis then Nadal. He wasn't returning well at all on the backhand side off the Rafa serve, but sill managed to provail in 5. Absolute champion. Also watch out for Djokovic next year to challange Federer for the crown.

Fair dinkum TP.

You're the moron around here, oh god, don't let anyone argue with your all high and mighty opinion because if they do they're a moron :rolleyes:

****ing get a life, Federer won, have a cry

Man, I thought I'd come on here to see the apparent split group of 'Nadal Fans' and 'Federer Fans' celebrating what was a magnificent final. The best we've seen since 2001.

Instead I'm reading crap about who got lucky when, and who was injured and who didn't break etc. Utter shit, start to appreciate good tennis for Christ's sake.

Man, I thought I'd come on here to see the apparent split group of 'Nadal Fans' and 'Federer Fans' celebrating what was a magnificent final. The best we've seen since 2001.

Instead I'm reading crap about who got lucky when, and who was injured and who didn't break etc. Utter shit, start to appreciate good tennis for Christ's sake.

Some sense finally.

As for statistics, I have a telling one:

Total points won - Federer 165, Nadal 158.

Great final, Federer just lifted on the crucial points.

You people might not want to admit, for a 20 year old guy he was a point away from clinching it from the best player of all times. Dont give rafa credit for what he has done cause you people dont understand tennis, but bookmark it, rafa will kick his ass next year.

Like you not giving Roger credit for 5 Wimbledon wins in a row.

Some sense finally.

As for statistics, I have a telling one:

Total points won - Federer 165, Nadal 158.

Great final, Federer just lifted on the crucial points.

Yep, like tiebreak points, and down break points. Something Nadal couldn't do.

But still, not a bad effort to win a Wimbledon final despite being "completely outplayed." :rolleyes:

its true that federer wasnt up to his usual standard and nadal ouplayed him a fair bit, but you have to remember that federer is quite possibly the best player ever (i cant wait until he passes sampras) and his shit game is a lot of other player's good game.

if people can't acknowledge 5 wimbledon titles in a row then they are naive in the extreme, and to 'total power', how can u possibly say that nadal will beat him next year. there are so many variables between now and then that it makes it almost impossible to judge. they both might get knocked out early in the tournament or get injured and not even face each other at all so instead of shooting your mouth off just think about what your saying so you make yourself look like less of a d***head in the future.

can someone explain why players always drop to their knees/lie on their back after they win a tourney? yes i know theyve been training hard and playing matches for 2 weeks straight, and yes i know its draining....but players (men) havent always kneeled down after a win.

case in point - arguably the best player ever r federer. at the oz open after he won the final he dropped to the ground, lay on his back, head in hands and then looked at the camera and repeated his rapture. looked like he was looking to see if anyone was looking at him.

imo it looks kinda staged.

god what a crock of s*** this thread is i came on to see like some of the other guys what everyone thought of an awesome Mens final. I was up all night watching and now at work sleep deprived.

TP is an utter moron, how many times in the one thread has he just said something and then followed it with "or you know nothing about tennis"

Roger is an absolute champion and to question it is ridicoulous, i agree last night Rafa was beating him from the back of the court but when he needed to Roger somehow managed to find and ace or the winner he needed which i think makes him the worthy winner.

Tennis is a game of pressure the whole thing especially tie-breaks and how you play them is part of how good you are at the sport, they are not crapshoots that are 50/50's if you dont know this you know nothing about Tennis ;) Roger was playing bad needed to find a way and he did he is a fantastic player and it was just an awesome final. I also agree Rafa has come along way and had he taken his chances things could of panned out differently.

Well played both :thumbsu:

Some of the posts in the latter part of this thread reflect the knowledge of the posters. Most of these people don't see a minute of tennis before the final, then they watch the final and proceed to post some of the most diabolical garbage about who should've won, who will win next time, how the players react etc.

If you watched that final last night and can say anyting other than "what a fantastic, even contest" then you need your head read. Or maybe you should just watch more tennis.

Yer, best final since 2001. Was so happy that Goran Ivanisevic won that day. Most exciting player to watch those days. Loved the 200km/h second serves he would occasionally pull out when in trouble. Hopefully next year will be just as good.

Total Power you're lack of respect for the serve makes you know less about tennis
the amount of posters sullying you is a stat you should look at

dont expect people on an aussie rule site to know about tennis, look at menstennisforums, even federer fans admit that nadal basically broke even with federer at the end of the day

Fair dinkum TP.

You're the moron around here, oh god, don't let anyone argue with your all high and mighty opinion because if they do they're a moron :rolleyes:

****ing get a life, Federer won, have a cry

you are the moron around here mate, obviously you dont understand tennis and only go by the final score

http://www.wimbledon.org/en_GB/scores/stats/day14/1127ms.html

TP, as far as I can see with the stats, Federer is the better player. You should be grateful Nadal was even in the final. Should have been beaten by Djokovic, absolutely thumping him before he got injured in the second set and eventually having to retire in the third.
You might claim that Nadal dominated for 4 sets of the match, but the fact is Federer was having an off-day and he was still able to play better tennis then Nadal. He wasn't returning well at all on the backhand side off the Rafa serve, but sill managed to provail in 5. Absolute champion. Also watch out for Djokovic next year to challange Federer for the crown.

I fail to see how he had the better stats? the only stat i can see better than rafa is his serve.Point it out, where he had the better stat???

god what a crock of s*** this thread is i came on to see like some of the other guys what everyone thought of an awesome Mens final. I was up all night watching and now at work sleep deprived.

TP is an utter moron, how many times in the one thread has he just said something and then followed it with "or you know nothing about tennis"

Roger is an absolute champion and to question it is ridicoulous, i agree last night Rafa was beating him from the back of the court but when he needed to Roger somehow managed to find and ace or the winner he needed which i think makes him the worthy winner.

Tennis is a game of pressure the whole thing especially tie-breaks and how you play them is part of how good you are at the sport, they are not crapshoots that are 50/50's if you dont know this you know nothing about Tennis ;) Roger was playing bad needed to find a way and he did he is a fantastic player and it was just an awesome final. I also agree Rafa has come along way and had he taken his chances things could of panned out differently.

Well played both :thumbsu:

Funny how people reckon roger was playing bad.34 unforced errors in 5 sets for a guy like roger is as good as you will get against a counterpuncher like Nadal.Even federer admitted in the interview that he was hitting the ball pretty well. 71% first serves with 24 aces is as good of a service display as you can ever see from Federer.Some people need to get a clue about tennis, but dont expect that on an aussie rules site:rolleyes:

dont expect people on an aussie rule site to know about tennis, look at menstennisforums, even federer fans admit that nadal basically broke even with federer at the end of the day

I know about Tennis, I could tell Nadal was playing better in the rallies. But he didn't get the biscuits ffs. And in 2 years he will probably win but he still might not, might turn into a Hewitt or another gun will come along - who knows

That was my point.Was it so difficult to admit?? federer won cause of his serve and its fair dinkum.However look at the improvement on the part of nadal.Now federer on his press conference admitted it was the most difficult match he ever had on grass. Why would he say that if he thought rafa was not giving him a hard time?

you are the moron around here mate, obviously you dont understand tennis and only go by the final score

LOL yawn.

Clearly I think its you that knows nothing about tennis, I watched the whole game, Nadal put up a good fight, the match could have gone either way, but Federer did something Nadal was unable to do, he stood up on the important points like true champions do.

That was my point.Was it so difficult to admit?? federer won cause of his serve and its fair dinkum.However look at the improvement on the part of nadal.Now federer on his press conference admitted it was the most difficult match he ever had on grass. Why would he say that if he thought rafa was not giving him a hard time?

You do realise the serve is part of the game??

Federers serve is better than Nadals, and is part of making Federer an all round better player.

You do realise the serve is part of the game??

Federers serve is better than Nadals, and is part of making Federer an all round better player.

on grass its more important but it will take the sting out of rogers game and make it even on hardcourts.Rafa able to go toe to toe with roger on rallies means it will be an even contest on hardcourts :thumbsu:

Could have gone either way but Roger like the true champ he is found a bit extra on the big points. :thumbsu:

no doubt, the difference between roger and rafa at the moment is mental toughness..Rafa is 20, he will be there in time.However why cant you just appreciate the improvement on rafas part?? he is the only guy in the world who can give federer a run for his money? on any other surface other than grass, he would have owned federer yesterday.

Wimbledon 2007