Mudflap

Jul 26, 2005
Windy Hill
Bombers Little League
Michael Voss if he chooses will coach the EFC and if not Guy Mckenna will be appointed.

The EFC in it's hard thought and heartfelt announcement not to renew Sheedy's contract have decided to rid itself of any influence Sheedy has had(in no way a detriment to the man).

It has been decided that 3-5years is the closest period we "might" be able to attack a premiership and if not be around that mark. So do apply this we will bring in an unkown of strong character and persona that only knows a winning mentality(sound familiar).

The above blokes mentioned will be allowed time to put in place there own style whilst working with talent we already have and attracting new talent to a club that has a fresh new feel to it.

For those that wish to criticise, abuse, abandon etc.. leave then, as we now more than ever need members, but we don't need those who choose to rip the heart out of a club that has nothing but intentions to provide you with another opportunity to sprook to your mate about how great the EFC is with premiership No. 17.

Dont know why anyone would seriously consider Voss. There has been no good reason put forward by him as to why he isn't going to do an apprenticeship. He just spouts c**p about how he doesn't live by others rule. Essendon would never take the risk of employing someone with next to no caoching credentials IMO.

I agree.
Voss has never coached, he's never been an assistant coach. Why do people keep asking for him to be appointed?
What are you basing his coaching capabilities and ability to get this club a premiership in the next 5 or so years on? Him being captain of Brisbane? This is Essendon's future we're talking about and we need someone qualified for the job and knows what the hell he's doing to get our list right. Voss isn't qualified.

That is all. Thanks for reading. :)

But thats the great risk mate. We no longer have anything to loose why look back.

I guarantee you Voss has been contacted by the football club. Right or wrong we are now in a position to move forward the leadership group knew it, so we need a bloke such as Voss where these young blokes go "geez that's Vossy I want to do everything for him" As they grew up idolising him not Sheeds( as great a man he was).

Mudflap, you keep referring to Essendon as "we" yet your club is listed as Adelaide. You can't have it both ways this Sunday mate, you pick a team and if you lose, you lose! Hehe.

But thats the great risk mate. We no longer have anything to loose why look back.

Im thinking we have the next 3 years to lose, plus all respect form other clubs when we go into freefall. There is no logical argument for appointing Voss. He was a premiership captain but that doesn't mean anything with regard to coaching- see Watson. We shouldn't appoint him on the off chance that he'll be something special. If you want to try a new coach take Mark Harvey who has been groomed for the position for years. Take Guy McKenna if you want to but don't take a guy whose wraps on himself are so big that he refuses to do an apprenticeship and instead spends a year in the media. This has meant not only that he has no real experience but that I and many others have had to put up with his "special" comments.

PS I really liked Voss as a player and think he is a champ :D jsut not the guy for our club.

Im thinking we have the next 3 years to lose, plus all respect form other clubs when we go into freefall. There is no logical argument for appointing Voss. He was a premiership captain but that doesn't mean anything with regard to coaching- see Watson. We shouldn't appoint him on the off chance that he'll be something special. If you want to try a new coach take Mark Harvey who has been groomed for the position for years. Take Guy McKenna if you want to but don't take a guy whose wraps on himself are so big that he refuses to do an apprenticeship and instead spends a year in the media. This has meant not only that he has no real experience but that I and many others have had to put up with his "special" comments.

PS I really liked Voss as a player and think he is a champ :D jsut not the guy for our club.

Take Mark Harvey! I believe last night he was critising the footy club wether he agreed with the decision or not a very good way to approach a prespective employer.

Again I assure you no past player will coach the EFC.

4 of the best coaching options around are O'Donnel, Harvey, Thompson and Danniher. Why rule them out because they are ex-players and would therefore instill the club with the same passion that Hird (bomber supporter as a kid) and Sheedy (bomber supporter as a kid) did. Seems insane to me.

Mckenna was way below par in WA as a WAFL League coach ,so no way should he coach the Bombers .To put it simply ,he cant coach.

1. Voss will go to Carlton
2. We won't take Guy McKenna
3. Our new coach will be Neale Daniher
4. I have heard from a reliable source that both of these coaches have already signed to their respective clubs.
5. Go Bombers! :thumbsu:

Please not Guy McKenna...

He has disaster written all over him. From all reports, he's a good percentages coach but lacks the creativity in moving away from original plans when the game changes. He complements Malthouse well as he provides excellent preparation material and plans, but he has a limited role on matchday.

He;s not the man for the main job, or at least I think so.

Should we rule out Dean Laidley?

I just reckon what he's done with the Kangas list is impressive.. he can handle pressure and I think he's a damn good coach.

Maybe doesn't quite have the 'marketing' aspect. But with what he'd cost, you could employ a pro in that field.

(I don't mean to hijack this thread) Thoughts?

Without a question of doubt!