Wojcinski

Thought he was excellent last night. Herald Sun gave him 5 votes.

chapmanmagic35, you are one that needs to put your hand up on this. As I've always said, his deficient disposal takes a back seat in importance when he is so creative and damaging with his run and long kicking.

He did it all last night and has really provided something we've lacked for a long time - run from defence.

Keep it up Bomba.

He was great - in fact, he has been very good all season, including the NAB Cup.

I have definitely been a critic - and I think rightly so. But this year he has been giving us some much needed dash from defence and thus far he has been using it pretty well.

I am much more than happy to be proved wrong with Wojcinski, because I desperately want someone who can give us that zip from the defensive 50m.

He is at the age now where he should be doing this. I hope it continues :thumbsu:

A very important cog in the game plan. Is now getting his confidence back after suffering a major injury and will get even better. Also he kicks goals !!!:thumbsu:

Just wanna see this improved disposal week-in, week-out. We'll see in the next few weeks with games at the MCG, Tassie and SS.

We surely don't need to go over this again, cm35, but his disposal standard isn't important. He creates play, he takes on opponents (and wins regularly) and he kicks LONG into our forward line putting massive pressure on the opposition's backline and giving the likes of NAblett, Mooney, Hawkins and Ottens MAXIMUM opportunity to take marks and kick goals.

It's great stuff. A couple of clangers a game I will gladly take.

We surely don't need to go over this again, cm35, but his disposal standard isn't important. He creates play, he takes on opponents (and wins regularly) and he kicks LONG into our forward line putting massive pressure on the opposition's backline and giving the likes of NAblett, Mooney, Hawkins and Ottens MAXIMUM opportunity to take marks and kick goals.

It's great stuff. A couple of clangers a game I will gladly take.

Surely, you cannot be serious. Disposal standard is important with every player. In fact, you cannot survive if importance is not placed on it.

But as I said, this year it has been very good, and I really want it to continue. But you cannot deny that is was poor last year, and an ACL injury cannot be solely attributed to that, as it was shonky at best before his ACL.

Surely, you cannot be serious.

Deadly serious.

If Matty Scarlett is a crap kick for goal - does it matter?

If Travis Varcoe can't win a hitout - does it matter?

If Matty Egan is never going to kick a crumbing goal - does it matter?

No, of course. Because different players have different roles. Different players bring different things to the table. Wojcinski brings so much to the table in other areas of his game, that it matters not that he coughs up the ball every now and then. The positives by far outweigh the negatives.

You make out like he's the worst kick we've ever seen. He's far from it. In fact, because he kicks long most of the time, he's kicking to position rather than trying to pin point a team mate.

Deadly serious.

If Matty Scarlett is a crap kick for goal - does it matter?

If Travis Varcoe can't win a hitout - does it matter?

If Matty Egan is never going to kick a crumbing goal - does it matter?

No, of course. Because different players have different roles. Different players bring different things to the table. Wojcinski brings so much to the table in other areas of his game, that it matters not that he coughs up the ball every now and then. The positives by far outweigh the negatives.

You make out like he's the worst kick we've ever seen. He's far from it. In fact, because he kicks long most of the time, he's kicking to position rather than trying to pin point a team mate.

It is completely different to the scenarios you ahve mentioned. Varcoe doesn't play ruck etc etc but every kicks in play. It's a basic skill. I hope these first two games are proof he has improved. I really do.

It's a basic skill that he has never executed consistently.

It is completely different to the scenarios you ahve mentioned. Varcoe doesn't play ruck etc etc but every kicks in play. It's a basic skill. I hope these first two games are proof he has improved. I really do.

I was obviously using them for illustrative purposes only. The point being, not every player needs to be brilliant at ever skill.

chapmanmagic35 said:
It's a basic skill that he has never executed consistently.

I disagree. He's never been as bad as you make out and the main point is, even if it is a flaw in his game, the positives of his game far outweigh it.

Chapmanmagic is just a poor judge of good players.

Hes always had a dig at Woja. Will find it harder and harder to fault him recently though. :thumbsu:

Chapmanmagic is just a poor judge of good players.

Hes always had a dig at Woja. Will find it harder and harder to fault him recently though. :thumbsu:

Yes, on given form, it will be hard to fault him. I have said that three times on this thread. In fact, I have said it since the NAB Cup started.

Poor judge of good players? I have been on the money with Wojcinski in the past.

Who are you to talk? The most negative person on this site who offers no insight whatsoever. I am waiting for another 'Ottens is a dud' thread like you posted this week.

Do us a favour and don't come back.

chapmanmagic and CE are both right. No matter how you dress it up, disposal is important for every player, however the run out of defence and game breaking ability that Bomber brings to the table FAR outweighs the occasional miskick. More often than not, Woj's long kicks will create goal scoring opportunities... it's just a matter of our forwards being able to capitalise.

So you think he has been effective in the past? Is that why last year at 26-27 years of age he was still battling for a spot in our 22? Now I'll wait for the 'ACL' excuse.

Battling for a spot? His name is engraved on the half back/wing position on the Geelong team sheet.

Love to see your opinion of this bloke if he was a yard slower.

What kind of rubbish statement is that? By that logic we shouldn't like G.Ablett because he'd be nothing if he didn't have his freakish ability to handball in traffic. Bomber's main strength is his pace, there's nothing wrong with that as he uses it to great effect.

So you think he has been effective in the past? Is that why last year at 26-27 years of age he was still battling for a spot in our 22? Now I'll wait for the 'ACL' excuse.

Love to see your opinion of this bloke if he was a yard slower.

Of course he was effective in the past. Before he did his knee he played 42 out of the previous 50 games. Hardly battling for a spot in our 22.

The ACL isn't an excuse to miss a season. It's a reason.

Love to see your opinion of Dean Cox if he was a foot shorter. Stupid comment.

Wojcinski