Woosha

• Thread starter Thread starter kempy

We are moving into an era where we are going to be unsuccessful and as much I hate to admit it as supporters we are going to have to deal with it like adults. After 92 and 94 I thought this whole AFL thing is easy then 2005/6 spoilt us some more, get ready for years of meritocracy and disappointment like other clubs have had to endure.

The good side is that the sourness of failure will make the next success taste sweet. Here's to the 2020's :)

Meritocracy (merit, from Latin mereō: “earn” + -cracy, from Ancient Greek κράτος, kratos: “strength, power”) is a political philosophy that holds power should be vested in individuals according tomerit.[1] Advancement in such a system is based on perceived intellectual talent measured through examination and/or demonstrated achievement in the field where it is implemented.
That actually sounds like a system we should employ. Problem?

Watch some replays of the last couple of years, Shuey is a ******* gun.

This guy is what we all bang on about we need. We've added Wellingham who is dripping in class, our backs and forwards are very solid. Fill a couple of spots here and there and draft some mid depth, adjust the prep and get the likes of Nic Nat, Shuey and Hurn on the park and things will be a lot different.

I agree we need a shake up, and would be fine if we replaced Worsfold with a GOOD (who?) coach but things aren't as dire as people make out.

We had a shit year, **** me, you're all like pre pubescent girls.

When is he going to become this gun you are talking about? Has been there 5 years. Is not a kid. Is it next year? or are you waiting for him to rack up 150 games? When may I ask he will become this gun you are talking about?
Seriously I actually think the guy can play but to be honest he is now a seasoned player, when is he going to produce? Potential means nothing unless you actually DO!!!!!

When is he going to become this gun you are talking about? Has been there 5 years. Is not a kid. Is it next year? or are you waiting for him to rack up 150 games? When may I ask he will become this gun you are talking about?
Seriously I actually think the guy can play but to be honest he is now a seasoned player, when is he going to produce? Potential means nothing unless you actually DO!!!!!

You're all fair weather, honestly, if we climb the ladder again, im not saying we will, but if we do and Shuey has a good year you'll all cream your pants and have Shuey avatars and argue with opposition supporters about how good he is.

Remember when he was suspended last year for the elbow on Thomas' tiny ballsack?

That hearing was the busiest thread of the year.

Silver platter supporters. Whinging bunch of campaigners.

The club isn't in a great state and yes it's ****ing obvious there needs to be changes but its a football club, football clubs go through different phases.

We must have the weakest supporters in the comp.

You're all fair weather, honestly, if we climb the ladder again, im not saying we will, but if we do and Shuey has a good year you'll all cream your pants and have Shuey avatars and argue with opposition supporters about how good he is.

Remember when he was suspended last year for the elbow on Thomas' tiny ballsack?

That hearing was the busiest thread of the year.

Silver platter supporters. Whinging bunch of sillys.

The club isn't in a great state and yes it's ******* obvious there needs to be changes but its a football club, football clubs go through different phases.

We must have the weakest supporters in the comp.

You are full of crap mate, I asked you a simple question. I asked a simple opinion of yours? Why is that hard for you? If you think next year is his break out year then say so. If you think it is when he is 28 then say so. Don't go and give me the crap supporters line. You guys that are fanbois give me the shits, you know nothing about football, you are keyboard warriors.
So what changes as you just stated does in your opinion the club need to make?
Mate I am more than happy to have an adult conversation about footy but when you just bag people for no reason and don't answer what they put out there then that is just as you put it plain silly.
You said Shuey is a gun! I said he is not and are still waiting for him to be this gun. Swan is a gun, Jack is a gun, bartel is a gun. Shuey is not in their world mate. When do you think he will be this gun? please answer as an adult.

I would seriously love to see what we look like with our best 22 fit and firing. We have been cobbling together teams all year and that has affected us
us the main thing that worries me is that we are built around one man - nicnat and if he is t up our plan b has been well and truly found out.

People forget Shuey has only played 66 games, he's basically had 2 full seasons that haven't been injury interrupted.

I'm pretty confident he'll develop into a top 10-15 mid at worst in the next couple of years.

66 games mate is a truck load of footy, how many games now do you think we should wait for him to pick up the pace of AFL footy? And again I will say to you of all our mids I believe he has the most chance of becoming an A grade player. But to say hye has only played 66 games mate.....cmon. That is more than enough to show what you got.
heck we are soft on these guys. 20 years ago you got 5 games to prove yourself if you were lucky, now we get 50 plus. Unbelievable.

I would seriously love to see what we look like with our best 22 fit and firing. We have been cobbling together teams all year and that has affected us
us the main thing that worries me is that we are built around one man - nicnat and if he is t up our plan b has been well and truly found out.

You don't seriously believe the WCE side is built around Nicnat do you? omg!!!

We are moving into an era where we are going to be unsuccessful and as much I hate to admit it as supporters we are going to have to deal with it like adults. After 92 and 94 I thought this whole AFL thing is easy then 2005/6 spoilt us some more, get ready for years of meritocracy and disappointment like other clubs have had to endure.

The good side is that the sourness of failure will make the next success taste sweet. Here's to the 2020's :)

The thing that gets me is we have NEVER had a dearth of quality midfielders. This is the worst set of mids we have and given that we play on the biggest ground in the AFL we need quality mids before anything else.

66 games mate is a truck load of footy, how many games now do you think we should wait for him to pick up the pace of AFL footy? And again I will say to you of all our mids I believe he has the most chance of becoming an A grade player. But to say hye has only played 66 games mate.....cmon. That is more than enough to show what you got.
heck we are soft on these guys. 20 years ago you got 5 games to prove yourself if you were lucky, now we get 50 plus. Unbelievable.

66 games isn't really a truck load of footy when expecting a player to be at the top of his game and dominating the competition. I'm not sure what you mean about picking up the pace of AFL footy..he's obviously done that already.

Players like Hannebery,Beams,Dangerfield and Cotchin were no better than Shuey is now after 60 games.

66 games isn't really a truck load of footy when expecting a player to be at the top of his game and dominating the competition. I'm not sure what you mean about picking up the pace of AFL footy..he's obviously done that already.

Players like Hannebery,Beams,Dangerfield and Cotchin were no better than Shuey is now after 60 games.

Generally speaking 60+ games is when a player really starts to hit his straps in the AFL. Most sides win premierships with players averaging between 60-150 games.

So if he is going to show what sort of player he is it will happen next year barring injury.

Of course Chris Judd is the exception but then even he didn't win a Brownlow until his 5th season?

I beg to differ mate, 66 games is 3 years of footy. I don't expect him to be the best in the comp or dominate the comp because he does not have the ability to do that. But he is much better than he produces and it has nothing to do with the fact he as you put it has only played 66 games. Just wondering what you think we are all waiting for thats all? If as you have said he has picked up the pace then what is his problem? You either can or you can't?
It's funny you know because people are judging Hutchings after just 8 games yet we keep playing Shuey, priddis, S.Selwood who have all played heaps of footy and still our problem is our midfield. I am not saying Hutchings is better I am making the point that our midfield gets smashed weekly by the good sides, yet we have the two best ruckman giving them first use and still we have people saying give them time????

Generally speaking 60+ games is when a player really starts to hit his straps in the AFL. Most sides win premierships with players averaging between 60-150 games.

So if he is going to show what sort of player he is it will happen next year barring injury.

Of course Chris Judd is the exception but then even he didn't win a Brownlow until his 5th season?

Collectively yes! But not individually. They know well into their first 50 games what they got.

I beg to differ mate, 66 games is 3 years of footy. I don't expect him to be the best in the comp or dominate the comp because he does not have the ability to do that. But he is much better than he produces and it has nothing to do with the fact he as you put it has only played 66 games. Just wondering what you think we are all waiting for thats all? If as you have said he has picked up the pace then what is his problem? You either can or you can't?
It's funny you know because people are judging Hutchings after just 8 games yet we keep playing Shuey, priddis, S.Selwood who have all played heaps of footy and still our problem is our midfield. I am not saying Hutchings is better I am making the point that our midfield gets smashed weekly by the good sides, yet we have the two best ruckman giving them first use and still we have people saying give them time????

We're waiting for natural development,again if you think that 66 games and 2 full seasons of football is enough for a player to be playing his best football then we're never going to agree on this.

3rd

Shuey has struggled for momentum this year. Thought he looked good against Sydney but obviously got injured.

heck the whole side was poor last night. Shake it off I reckon.

Shuey has struggled for momentum this year. Thought he looked good against Sydney but obviously got injured.

heck the whole side was poor last night. Shake it off I reckon.

This. Was beginning to work through tags and his game against Hawthorn (33 and 2 goals) was a firm sign he's on his way.

If we were to keep Woosha I would like to see a skills coach reinstated; more anaerobic ability displayed especially in our midfielders so they can break tackles and run away from packs (if they already have this ability they are not showing it);
new strategies / faster decision making from the coach's box on match day; different strategies around stoppages to win more effective clearances instead of the current get the ball to the back of the pack and kick it over your shoulder approach.

I could suggest replacing some current assistant coaches I am not close enough to it to say who should be replaced. The obvious one would be Burns as the midfield has performed the most below par, but I don't know whether it is because he is a bad coach or doesn't have the freedom to run the midfield how he wants. Either way something needs changing!
Which surprise delistings should we not be surprised by?

You don't seriously believe the WCE side is built around Nicnat do you? omg!!!

a gamelan for a team would be more accurate - our centre square is built around him winning taps NZ threatening to just take the ball straight out of the ruck - run and goal.

it forces other teams to react to us and makes our b mids look a lot better than they are ESP with a gun forward line

take nicnat out or have him playing unfit and it doesn't work at all - contrast this year with the last two

Which surprise delistings should we not be surprised by?

I wouldn't go so far as to say who I think may or should be delisted but I have listened to some of Woosha's interviews and he mentioned some that there may be some surprises in personnel at the end of the year so because he already preempted it, I wouldn't be surprised. Make sense?

This is what i think is our best 22 and if we had this all year and were getting the same results as now i would be thinking Woosha has to go but i think he should be given another 2 years to see his vision through...if not then its out of here for the legend.

I think if we had this team on the park we would be doing alright.

Carter Emac Glass
Waters Schoey Hurn

Rosa Wellers Gaff

Shuey Darling Lecra
Hill JK Cox

Ruck: Nic Nat, Scooter, Masten

Bench: Priddis,Kerr, Wilson Sub: Shep/Embley

EMG: Hutchings, Dalzeil, Brown

Other Depth players that could slot in: Lycett, Smith, Butler, Cripps, Morton and Brennan

People questioning Shuey is unfair as leading up the injuries he was breaking tags and racking up possessions and kicking goals like a mid should be.

Injuries really killed the momentum of heaps of players : Waters ( injury after injury) Rosa ( could not get the fitness required after a pretty brutal injury) Nic Nat ( Groins, back and Knee) Kerr ( Knee), Lecra ( Arm/ribs) Wellingham ( Ankle) Hurn (ankle). Having those players out for long periods of time has destroyed any structure the team. Hurn for example has awesome disposal and he along with Glass were generals of that backline and he would have sorted it out better than Smith and Butler.

We might finish on 10 wins this year and last year showed we had some cracks in the team but it isn't in need for a full rebuild and i think falling this low has been a wakeup call and maybe we can add a classy mid that would not have been possible finishing around 5-6th.

We just need to freshen up the coaching staff: IE get a skills coach, New conditioning staff, add to the recruiting staff, get a stoppage coach to help out Burns, maybe look at some other assistants from teams to see if they can offer something more.