Woosha

• Thread starter Thread starter kempy

Most clubs dont trade out players like that. I do agree somewhat with the idea, but its not like we just sit there either, and often it doesn't work anyway.

in the 90's we were great on the trade table especially trading for picks. the management in the 90's would have traded Priddis and draft picks better than the concessions handed out to GC or GWS. The fact that we let Martin and O'meara join other clubs is a joke. We should have one!

A few of you anti-Woosh people are being sillier than those following Woosh in almost blind faith. Trying to derive anything from Woosha's pressers/how he acts during a match (in terms of what the tv stations decide to show) is pointless.

in the 90's we were great on the trade table especially trading for picks. the management in the 90's would have traded Priddis and draft picks better than the concessions handed out to GC or GWS. The fact that we let Martin and O'meara join other clubs is a joke. We should have one!

Why would anyone want Priddis and pay a high price if he's that shit?

its more of a statement.

and no most of us listen to the full press conference given on the afl website, the weekly press conference uploaded by the eagles and then interviews also.

A statement? So we wouldn't actually get a very good pick for Priddis would we?

I was only refering to what the stations show of in game footage. Even watching the whole pressers like most of us probably do, I'd be amazed if anyone actually knew anything extra other than injuries maybe after watching. He gives nothing. It's silly to try and get inside his head work out what his intentions actually are regarding off season activity or how he'll prepare for the next game.

Cannot believe that Worsfold will be here next year.

If this was not the favoured son, every man and his dog would be calling for blood. Every single one of you. Yet Woosh gets to write his own ticket.... much like the rest of the club for the boys.

Pathetic rabble is our club.

"reluctance to trade" yet we traded our top pick for Wellingham?

no you don't understand, you're supposed to just agree with everyone, then when the eagles turn around under woosh you pretend like you were pro woosh the entire time.

i too made the mistake of trying to use my brain, but in terms of football its better to just go with the emotion of the crowd after a huge loss.

Time for a reality check:

1. Poor recruiting. The buck stops at Woosha.
2. Throughout his tenure Woosha has showed inability to change and adapt. He's as slow as Priddis.
3. Forward line structure is ridiculous. Worked for 2011 and part of 2012 with our "bang it in long to our tall timber" policy. That strategy has been worked out yet he is yet to change tactics. he either needs to change the fwd structure or speed up the midfield. He has done neither.
4. Our midfield is slow and has poor skills. If you watched the Geelong game on the weekend we kept fumbling the ball. We should have got possession so we spread. Then out players fumble, turn it over, and our players have already spread meaning Geelong's players were free. If we had a Jobe Watson, Trent Cotchin, or Ryan Griffin leading our attack I guarantee this would change everything.
5. Our midfield structure doesn't work. We have more or less the two best ruckmen in the comp yet they are tapping it down to a congested situation. The opposition just waits to wrap Priddis up and when he does get it they know where he is going to kick it and they just sit there and intercept. Again, Woosha's lack of speed in adapting.
6. Adam Selwood was played for 3 years too may. He was incredibly bad this year yet Woosha kept playing him. Again, slow to react. This was nothing else but sheer incompetence.
7. Shuey and to a lesser degree S Selwood have stopped playing for free kicks. But Dean Cox does it every time the ball comes to him. Why hasn't Woosha demanded Cox stop doing this? It hurts the team.
8. Reluctance to turn over players. We could have got a pick 10-15 for Priddis 5 seasons ago. In recent seasons maybe a 20-25. Now maybe a 3rd rounder. A lot of people knew he was overs a few years back but Woosha couldn't see it. Why wasn't A Selwood delisted 4 seasons ago?
9. Reluctance to trade. Generally I'm an advocate of developing through the draft, when you hit the flag window you trade for those last few pieces of the jigsaw. Now is different. NicNat, Kennedy, Darling, Le Cras, Gaff, Shuey, Masten, McKenzie, Brown. I'm open to trading our first pick (and some) for a Griffen, Watson, Gibbs, or Yarran. The key is to approach these players and get them to agree and request a trade from their club. Woosha wants to go with the status quo. I'm only comfortable with that if Priddis goes.

Pretty much hit the nail on the head, summarises the stuff ups by Woohsa to a T.

Watched or listened to his press conferences?

For many supporters this is a genuine opportunity to get answers to why our season has gone so badly pear shaped, yet his glib and superscilious responses I find incredibly frustrating.

John you seem to lack pace and look slow? Na, yeah, na Garlett, yarran and Rioli are masters of optical illusion and selwood was actually running them down!

John you seem to have a prelidiction for preferring slow small bodied midfielders. Na, yeah, na I hadn't noticed we get pushed off the ball and actually it when we are not winning the ball that we look slow!

No shit Sherlock, you don't win the ball because we are slow and small bodied against the elite midfields.

Obvious people like Nisbett & Cransburb see something in Woosha that the rest of us dont.

He's been a great servant of the club and may we honour his past achievements,
But he is sending us down a one way track that the club will spend many years in the dark trying to get out of .
I understand footy works in cycles, but all can see we have developed some very bad habits in our play that cant be cured overnight,trust me,next year will be no different, we will finish 8th- or 9th, then in his final year, even if we bottom out, he wont be sacked because he wont be re-instated, so who will be the winner...........Wooshas bank account.......and we will be left with a busted up bottom 8 side.

this is how i see it if cransberg wants to be weak as piss (as bad as barnaba) and let worsfold stay for 2 years let it be.

but if our club shits itself for the next two years every single person who made that decision should be sacked/moved on

cransberg, nisbett, worsfold, his assistants.

we may have to accept worsfold being around for now but in 2 years i doubt the media nor the fans would be quiet if we had very shit performances especially if freo continues to rise up the ladder.

and you fanbois. get used to this fact. worsfold will be gone one day. one day hes either gonna retire or maybe get sacked. nevertheless one day he will be gone. just make sure you dont go on suicide watch and think there is no one better than him. your posts remind me of the tom swift is greater than stevens threads.

as fans we have the right to criticise the decisions the club makes. by thinking every decision the club has made till now is a revelation well youre delusional.

A statement? So we wouldn't actually get a very good pick for Priddis would we?

I was only refering to what the stations show of in game footage. Even watching the whole pressers like most of us probably do, I'd be amazed if anyone actually knew anything extra other than injuries maybe after watching. He gives nothing. It's silly to try and get inside his head work out what his intentions actually are regarding off season activity or how he'll prepare for the next game.

We could have traded him to GWS or GC's when they first came in and gotten something. GWS have been crying out for mature bodies. Even if we got slight under it would have allowed Ebert to play his role and possibly stay or even another player.

"reluctance to trade" yet we traded our top pick for Wellingham?

5 years ago Priddis was highly rated. It was obvious we would have got way overs for him. Beau Waters is another. AA last year. This guy is another Jacob Surjan. Needs to be traded. Why wasn't A Selwood delisted 4 years ago? He was okay last year, but poor on 2010, 2011, and horrendous in 2013.

I'm an advocate for hanging on to a few spuds (because it's advntageous to have a handful of players on your list who are rarely play and are paid peanuts so we have more in the cap to retain the guns) but we seem to be top heavy with potatoes. Either slow, flat footed, poor disposal, poor decision makers, or a combination of those 4.

1. Poor recruiting. The buck stops at Woosha

Every AFL coach interviewed makes the point that they do not control recruiting or list management.

This may be an organisational failing but the buck currently does not stop with the caoch.

Might be gutter journalism, but a little scary when a player says they haven't trusted the game plan...

http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/af...st-coast-showing/story-fniv5weh-1226701141095

WEST Coast midfielder Luke Shuey admits the team lost trust in their game plan this year, and says they must rediscover the faith if they are to challenge for the flag next season.
"I don't think there has been a lot of trust on-field amongst the group, just in terms of our game plan,'' Shuey said.

He goes on to say that he feels it's the right game plan etc, but still, not great imo.

Might be gutter journalism, but a little scary when a player says they haven't trusted the game plan...

http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/af...st-coast-showing/story-fniv5weh-1226701141095

He goes on to say that he feels it's the right game plan etc, but still, not great imo.

What he is trying to say is that the younger players that come into the team are having difficulties getting into the game plan. When a team is having heaps of changes each week with players that have barely played as a team it can get hectic. You could see it in 2010 when we looked like headless chooks out there trying to figure out what to do.

I am also hope this happens less when our WAFL players will all be playing for the same team next year and i hope they will be playing the same game plan.

Time for a reality check:
1. Actually, it doesn't - the Eagles head coach hasn't been present for a number of trade periods for personal development reasons. The club is happy to have the list manager lead the recruitment.

2. You'd probably want to clarify that by saying on game day. But season to season there are quite obvious changes based on what personnel the coach thinks he has available.

3. Watch the delivery in 2011 compared to 2013. The forward line structure has hardly changed but the way the ball gets there has, dramatically. This is a similar point to #2 though, in that Worsfold and his assistants are reluctant to change the team structure.

4. Agree on the skills, ball handling needs work.

5. This season it's been hard to tell when the cattle we want in those positions have been injured.

6. I really disagree on this. This is a personal opinion and I believe Adam was a big contributor in '10 and '11. Was competent in '12, but unable to compete in '13. The failure is with the MC in not recognising this in the current season and selecting him in front of others, Selwood called time on his career at the right time.

7. Shuey and Scooter are young, Cox is old and one season from retirement. You're not going to coach him out of things, and he's that important that he won't be dropped unless Lycett improves rapidly. If you notice he plays for frees more when Naitanui is in the side, and is generally more effective when he is the primary ruckman.

8. Five seasons ago Priddis was the same age as Shuey and Scooter and a leading cog in the midfield. Would you trade them now? 6 Trades were made in the 2008 period and the highest pick that moved was #24. You don't trade your young core mids, and given the environment you wouldn't have got much for him anyway. It's like suggesting Embley should have been traded in 2006 because that was the peak of his value.

9. The problem West Coast and Fremantle have at the trade table is that unlike 10 other clubs in the competition players need to uproot their lives to move to the clubs. There needs to be significant incentive to do this, which means we need to offer something a player values like chance of a premiership, playing time, money, or location. Unless a player specifically wants to come to Perth, other clubs in the AFL can easily trump us at every trade period for the other commodities. It's like in NBA where no-one wants to play for Milwaukee, or in the NHL where no-one wants to play for Phoenix.

Cransberg has said Woosh has the gig all along and Woosh confirmed he wanted it last night. God I hope so. The last thing our club needs after such a shitty year is to lose the best coach going around.

I think the club would be negligent to not consider replacing the some of the coaching and conditioning staff given the team's display this season following the last two.

8. Five seasons ago Priddis was the same age as Shuey and Scooter and a leading cog in the midfield. Would you trade them now?
Shuey, no.
Selwood, if he had to be sacrificed to get a Griffen, Watson, Rich, Yarran. I'd swap our first pick and Selwood for the first three. Yarran would be straight swap for pick 1.

This is providing one of these players told their club they want to be traded to WCE.

You don't trade your young core mids,
Yes you do if they are over valued and not going to get you to a flag. Priddis could have got us a much better player 5 years ago.

and given the environment you wouldn't have got much for him anyway.
He was highly rated 5 years ago. Very highly rated.

It's like suggesting Embley should have been traded in 2006 because that was the peak of his value.
Embley had x-factor. Priddis was a vanilla dud from day one.

On 6pr i found it interesting that Brad Hardie kept mentioning that Harvey wants to come back to Perth and that there is a chance he could be an addition the WCE's staff.

How would people feel about this? He doesn't have to replace one of our assistants but i think what Woosha needs is a game day coach and it is doing wonders for the Tigers at the moment with Mark Williams. My first choice would be the get to Paul Roo's over to do this role but that looks highly unlikely and i think Harvey would be perfect as he is very smart and very hands on and could see him being on the boundary line barking out orders.

On 6pr i found it interesting that Brad Hardie kept mentioning that Harvey wants to come back to Perth and that there is a chance he could be an addition the WCE's staff.

How would people feel about this? He doesn't have to replace one of our assistants but i think what Woosha needs is a game day coach and it is doing wonders for the Tigers at the moment with Mark Williams. My first choice would be the get to Paul Roo's over to do this role but that looks highly unlikely and i think Harvey would be perfect as he is very smart and very hands on and could see him being on the boundary line barking out orders.

Good addition, would add something. Would perhaps prefer (the very unlikely) Roos or maybe even Crazy Vossy