Woosha

• Thread starter Thread starter kempy

Suban, De Boer, Clancy Pearce, Fyfe, Maine, Mzungu etc have all gone from average players 3 years ago to A grade players.
Shuey, Masten, S.Selwood, etc have not become A Grade players. Maybe they are not good enough???
You're clearly arguing a double standard here.

I doubt anyone else would argue that all of those players you listed (despite potentially Fyfe) have become "A Graders" ahead of Masten, Shuey and Selwood.

None of those guys are A graders.....agreed.
WCE & Freo dont have A grade midfielders....Kerr was...maybe still is ....but he hasnt
delivered this yr.
Swan ..Pendles...Beams.....Judd....Cotchin n Martin are elite......wce strength in talent us forward n back.
Cox n Nic havent delivered this yr either.

Seems like Woosha believes the changes he wants may not be cleared by the board, which suggests they are quite sweeping changes.

If Woosha does want to shake everything up, great! As long as his changes are extensive and cover coaching strategies and on field and off field personnel isn't that what everybody wants? (Perhaps Woosha has been as frustrated as all of us with the recruiting.) After all, a head coach doesn't usually have a lot of say on who is recruited except to outline needs to recruiters. 12 months ago he stated that we needed faster midfielders to go deep into finals...

You don't have to change the head coach to change the coaching structure and recruiting. If Woosha wants to bring in extensive changes and is prepared to evolve his own coaching strategies, then I would be comfortable with that.

Its not enough. Its time for Woosha to hand over the reigns.

While I take your point, I reckon Fyfe is A grade and is improved kicking away from being genuinely elite. We'd kill for Fyfe or Mundy.

And I reckon Mayne is A grade this year and in danger of becoming an O'Keefe type player a forward/mid (at the same time) who is a match up nightmare and hurts you in numerous ways. He is, before our eyes, becoming an exceptional player.

The others mentioned are complimentary players with some versatility. The comparison of the 3 Eagles you mention should be to Freo's starting mids - cos that's more the roles they play and there is the hole in our list ....

I don't get it, 6-8 weeks ago the rumblings were he had had enough and didn't know if he wanted to go on but now he is "reinvigorated"?. Reeks to me of John "playing" West Coast when he and they both realize there is no genuine replacement out there for him and he just bargained up his price more than anything else.

Leigh Matthews stated today that coaches really should change clubs after 6 or 7 years in order to stay fresh.

I'd wouldn't cry if Woosha left, but I'd like to see what he could do with a healthy list and some better midfielders...

And vice versa but not necessarily 6 or 7 years.

I don't get it, 6-8 weeks ago the rumblings were he had had enough and didn't know if he wanted to go on but now he is "reinvigorated"?. Reeks to me of John "playing" West Coast when he and they both realize there is no genuine replacement out there for him and he just bargained up his price more than anything else.
You could have something there but I'm inclined to think that there are people on the board that would like him to pull the pin to save them having to make the hard call. Either way I don't believe he will coach us next year. No one is indispensable and certainly not Woosha.

Why dont you change teams.....we dont need the negativity.....

Why would I want to change teams? Are you finding it hard to accept that yours and my team is struggling big time?
You keep just banging on about injuries because you are just trying to protect Woosha.
No need to protect Woosha he is loved by one and all, he is a favourite son of the club.
But he needs to be treated as the head coach. I would bet you anything if our coach was anyone else you would have a different view.
This is not kindergarten or auskick mate, not everyone is a winner. It is adult business.
Most people if you read seem to think the club is not acting as an adult and is looking after a favourite son instead of looking after the club. If Woosha is a casualty because the club comes first then why would that be an issue for anyone?
So the question then becomes who do you support? The West Coast Eagles or the Woosha football club?

Leigh Matthews often talks from person experience without necessarily factoring in different personality types and abilities. Then again, he does have a few runs on the board...

Super harsh on Scott Selwood. If nothing else remember last year? Lots of great work and significant influence on games. I don't rate Shep at all to be honest (I know I'm probably in the minority) but I see little point in giving him games on potential (he's had quite a lot and hasn't done much of anything with them).

I like Hutchings but lets be real here he's a very similar player to those you criticized (Selwood and Priddis) except if his output is worse.

My point was not that Hutchings and Shep are the answer but more to do with why are they not given the same chances that selwood and co have been given.

Hutchings is nothing like Selwood and Priddis, Hutchings is an elite kick which neither of them are. He also makes better decisions than both of them. Selwood and Priddis rack up numerous possessions because they are the go to at centre bounces. That gives them a huge number simply because of our ruck dominance.
Not sure if you have noticed but we get smashed pretty much weekly in the midfield and Selwood and Priddis are our go to men?

Like I said it is not about Hutch or Shep it is about continually pumping game after game into players who simply are B Grade and are not helping us improve.
Priddis and Selwood are dream team stars, rack up the stats. Just not very good footballers.
But you can't argue with stats.
One stat matters. SCOREBOARD!!!! What do they do to influence that important stat??? Unfortuantely very little! So it makes sense to move them to other positions or out of the side and see if others can influence doesn't it?

Why would I want to change teams? Are you finding it hard to accept that yours and my team is struggling big time?
You keep just banging on about injuries because you are just trying to protect Woosha.
No need to protect Woosha he is loved by one and all, he is a favourite son of the club.
But he needs to be treated as the head coach. I would bet you anything if our coach was anyone else you would have a different view.
This is not kindergarten or auskick mate, not everyone is a winner. It is adult business.
Most people if you read seem to think the club is not acting as an adult and is looking after a favourite son instead of looking after the club. If Woosha is a casualty because the club comes first then why would that be an issue for anyone?
So the question then becomes who do you support? The West Coast Eagles or the Woosha football club?

You obviously dont understand business bud. WCE are the most business savy AFL sporting team in Aus, along with Collingwood and Hawthorn.....and Essendon and the Crows are up there too. Unlike alot of organistions the Eagles dont have a board that reacts to bullshit emotion, but rather look at things rationaly.
Premierships are hard to win mate, ask Mick, he only won one at the Pies. It could be said that Mick shoulda won more premierships with the Eagles in the nineties and the Pies in the 2000's. Sheeds was at Essendon for 27yrs, only won 4!!....Clarko has had a dynamite team for 5years...has won one premiership...point made enough dude!
If Gold Coast were to end up winning three, it would be because of all the concessions from a new team startup.
Have a look at Ross Lyon, yep a great coach....true......has he won anything??????
As said in an earlier post, there is a reason why Woosha is successful, and Malthouse, and Sheeds, cos they are positive, focused, realists...[don't abuse other posters, thanks]
I f your going to criticise me for standing up for Woosh, and the WCE, make sure your talented enough to pull it off!!!!

Hutchings is an elite kick?

Selwood is not a very good footballer?

How much of Hutch have you seen FiveStrings? His kicking is very very good. Once he gets more games under his belt and his awareness improves on the big stage you may notice it more.

I regard blokes like, Kieren Jack, Dustin Martin, Brad Sewell, Joel Corey, etc as all very good footballers. Do you think Scott Selwood is in that sort of company? Those are all guys who play in the midfield at their respective clubs, not their number one or two midfielders though.
I hope Scott makes it to that level but he lacks penetration and simply does not hurt the opposition. Maybe if he had some more class around him he might end up there. I guess it is not his fault who his team mates are.

I f your going to criticise me for standing up for Woosh, and the WCE, make sure your talented enough to pull it off!!!!

Last line of your post is unnecessary for a few reasons.

Don't egg posters on to challenge you.

In terms of A graders were about level with Freo. I think we have more potential A graders though. History will show you weve had a hell of a lot more All Australians than Freo. I cant think of many besides Pavlich, Bell, Sandilands, McPharlin

Who do you think our A Graders are? I reckon Glass, Cox, Kerr although last two may have their best days behind them. Hurn I think is pretty close, Lecras has had a tough year but I think he is A Grade. Kennedy and Darling are both A Grade. Nic nat is arguable but many will say he is. Wellingham is an A grade player but not seen it with us yet. Next year hopefully.
Potentially Shuey could be, Mckenzie could be. Gaff Could be, Hard to judge some of the 0-20 game players as yet.
What do you think mate?

How much of Hutch have you seen FiveStrings? His kicking is very very good. Once he gets more games under his belt and his awareness improves on the big stage you may notice it more.

I regard blokes like, Kieren Jack, Dustin Martin, Brad Sewell, Joel Corey, etc as all very good footballers. Do you think Scott Selwood is in that sort of company? Those are all guys who play in the midfield at their respective clubs, not their number one or two midfielders though.
I hope Scott makes it to that level but he lacks penetration and simply does not hurt the opposition. Maybe if he had some more class around him he might end up there. I guess it is not his fault who his team mates are.

Totally agree, Hutch's kicking is underrated (a lot like most of his efforts). In the Richmond game we had been kicking like crap for most of the second half and I remember watching Hutch get some space and kick the ball perfectly to JK's advantage, resulting in one of the very few goals we got towards the end of that game. That may not seem like much but after watching our other players bomb the ball on peoples heads time and again when they were in space it stood out like dogs preverbials.
He definitely needs to be given time to get comfortable on the big stage to see if he can get even better, but right now he's playing his role well and the team is not losing anything from having him in the middle IMO.

Who do you think our A Graders are? I reckon Glass, Cox, Kerr although last two may have their best days behind them. Hurn I think is pretty close, Lecras has had a tough year but I think he is A Grade. Kennedy and Darling are both A Grade. Nic nat is arguable but many will say he is. Wellingham is an A grade player but not seen it with us yet. Next year hopefully.
Potentially Shuey could be, Mckenzie could be. Gaff Could be, Hard to judge some of the 0-20 game players as yet.
What do you think mate?

I'll stick my nose in here.

In 2005 / 2006, alot of your "average" ( C+ to B ) players stepped up and played like B+ - A grade players. In 2013, are any of your "average" players busting their guts to move up the gradings ?.

Using Freo as an example. Up to 2012, alot of "average" players continued at the same level year after year, result that Freo didn't go anywhere. Now from 2012 onwards, in alot of ways the "average" Freo players are doing what the similar Eagles players did in 2005 / 2006.

Have the Eagles both on and off the field, gone too conservative ?. Footy is now a business, you have to be cutthroat operator.