Work Life Balance

When you just see half the club tonight off their heads at a night club mid season.... Is this ok? or do we ask too much of these blokes? Duncan, Blicavs, Caddy & Lang main culprits, barely able to walk at a popular geelong nightspot.... Dont back us next week.

Meh, sleep it off Sunday and be right to go around on Monday. I think in all honesty we do ask too much of them. If they are lucky they get one night a week to have some fun when most blokes their age are doing it every other night. Don't really think you needed to name them all, however.

When you just see half the club tonight off their heads at a night club mid season.... Is this ok? or do we ask too much of these blokes? Duncan, Blicavs, Caddy & Lang main culprits, barely able to walk at a popular geelong nightspot.... Dont back us next week.

Were Heppell and SHocking there as well?;)

I don't think it's anything to be worried about. They are young men who live/work in a very rigid environment. They should enjoy the win, recover, and then prepare the best they can for next week.

The mental side of letting yourself enjoy something and actually getting away from such a serious sport, could actually do them good.

As long as they are professional from Sunday morning until the next game, I think they should go for it (if we get smashed next week, I take it all back)

10x400's will clean em out!!

So good luck to them....they were sensational on the weekend.We should also remember they are young men, not robots. A night out as Mattlock pointed out will likely do them more good than harm....at least they weren't in the corner doing lines....speaking of which...its West Coast next week isn't it?

After completing their post game commitments, I doubt they would have left KP until after midnight, which hardly gives them enough time to get "off their heads" by the time you posted. I suspect the fact that they only just finished 120 minutes of AFL football was probably the main reason they were "barely able to walk" (even if it was against an insipid GC side).

Most importantly, did each of them walk out of the venue with hot birds on each arm?

tumblr_lhkmmqLvCM1qatk8jo1_500.jpg

Fuddy duddy

Good luck to them. At that age you can drink a lake and it doesn't hurt at all.

As long as they don't get tatted up, share Instagram pictures of their knobs or wear the white shorts with each other's SOs, I say let er rip.

Scotty looked like he couldn't wait to get out of that press conference so he could sink a few. The ruthless performance he was looking for.

would you prefer they are at home doing cones

Perfectly fine, interesting to see how the 4 of them go next week...

I guess part of me wants to hear something like "Blicavs was at the bar, I offered him a drink but he declined and said no mate we've got business to deal with this year, then walked out, had a good night sleep and was into recovery early in the morning" but thats probably not reality.

I don't know what the standards are for preparation now but if drinkly heavily compromises that and is against team rules then I'd hope the players concerned aren't doing it every week.

If it has no negative impact in their ability to recover and be ready for next week then no worries at all.

As some said there may even be positives to it in terms of keeping them from burning out.

Maybe they were given the ok to do it. These blokes really struggle after night games to get to sleep any time before 4 anyway. Coming down off the adrenaline surge and possibly caffeine is a curse. If they did not lose their heads, there is still plenty of recovery time. WCE haven't even played yet, and have to travel to Geelong for next Sat avo.
We know how meticulous Blic is with his preparation. Would be surprised if this is a frequent occurrence.

Would we all rather they be recovering and spending every second thinking about how they are going to win the premiership? Of course
But a lot of these players haven't played a lot of games together and as old school as it sounds the fight against Port and having a night out together can do a lot to bond you together.

Are you making an accusation, or implying something, here??
Implying. Not meaning to accuse anyone of anything, but it would make sense if more was in play than just a couple of beers. But as mentioned earlier in this rubbish thread I started, most boys from most clubs are doing the same thing.

Unless you saw something or know something, implying or accusing (not much of a difference) that something was taken when you have no proof is a dangerous game.

They will live and die.. on the football results. Beyond being found to do something the wrong side of the law , its the effect their actions have on their personal form and the clubs performance that is key.

Anyone who thinks we have angels and choir boys while other teams are full of devils and ratbags is naive ... AFL is built on young fit risk takers , and one can only hope their risks are managed as well other parts of the football prep.

Id be a tad more concerned if it was a short week , if any of them had carry over issues that needed maintenance.

It happened all through our premiership years.

We did ok :cool:

They wouldn't have got to a club til nearly
Midnight. Leaving at 4. Hardly a bender

Dunc is also part of the leadership group. It must have been okay'd somewhere, though yeah, Sunday morning onwards it's business time.

A dangerous game to play amigo.

Unless you sore something or know something, implying or accusing (not much of a difference) that something was taken when you have no proof is a dangerous game.

Geelong boys present and past, are no different to any other club, read into that as you'd like.

This entire thread is pretty naive though, perhaps ponder on your own but we don't need to put it in writing!