News Workhorse (Priddis) Improves Efficiency

I see he got another lazy 31 posessions again. Another reason why some Stats are completely meaningless. Sold his team-mates into trouble time and time again. 3/4 of those posessions were dickey little 1m handball passes that resulted in team-mates getting buried into the turf.

I know right. I wish Woosha saw that so he would drop him. I mean I'm sure the club doesn't employ proper game analysts like you Monkey.

*end sarcasm*

He did have patches of being quite good but overall he had a shocker.

The period when GC were coming back at us was very frustrating to watch and Priddis was one of the main offenders in terms of his disposal efficiency & decision making. Of course, he wasn't on his own.

As someone said, playing average and winning is much more preferable than an honourable loss.

Actually we won the clearances today against the side ranked number 1 in the competition in clearances. Mind you - Priddis was only 3rd in clearances for us (Cox and LeCras were equal 1st). Other than Ablett's demolition of Scooter I thought we actually won all the midfield battles today.

A poor first half for Priddis, seemed like many others to be cruising - certainly nowhere near his normal workrate so that was pretty disappointing. Recovered well to be a very important player for us in the 2nd half and probably very close to in our best half dozen by games end.

Don't have the clearance numbers but pretty sure Rischitelli killed us for clearances in the second half.

Rischitelli had 7 for the game. Only player who had more was Ablett with 8 whilst the others to have 7 were Lecras and Cox. Rischitelli would have had most of those in the second half I would have thought, so I'd have to agree with you.

Thanks for that, was at the game and everytime there was a stoppage in the 2nd half it seemed to be him clearing it.

HAVE spent abit of time asking Eagles fans about PRIDDIS, including at the game yesterday.

in general they reckon he is good to brilliant.

The only place of real PRIDDIS bashing is on Big Footy.

Is Monkey's view of Priddis' game incorrect?

Um yes. Twice Priddis handballed to team-mates who got crunched ... not quite 3/4 of 31 possessions!

PS - if you are a critic of Priddis you can't possibly be talking up Rischitelli - if you want to talk about pointless possessions and selling team-mates into trouble then Rischi is exhibit A.

Um yes. Twice Priddis handballed to team-mates who got crunched ... not quite 3/4 of 31 possessions!

PS - if you are a critic of Priddis you can't possibly be talking up Rischitelli - if you want to talk about pointless possessions and selling team-mates into trouble then Rischi is exhibit A.

Rids, there is a 10 minute stretch in the 3rd quarter where Pridda has about 8 possessions between half-back and defensive wing on the Subi side of the ground. Almost every possession was the same. Grab it, perfect handball to team mate in no better position and only 3-5 metres away. Team mate kicks under pressure or handballs under pressure, ball comes back - rinse repeat. It was comically poor footy.

He would have got half those possessions marked as contested and half uncontested but they were basically the same possession and he didn't make a single positive decision - it was handball and then my responsibility is over. He also had (at least) 2 occasions yesterday where he handballed and then should have blocked/shepherded and missed/was half hearted on both occasions ... this has been a weakness since birth for Matt...

He got 8 possessions, 7 with 100% DE and did not benefit the side in the slightest. He added 3 or 4 contested possessions and 4 or 5 uncontested with 100% DE and did not benefit the side at all.

The Matt Priddis era...

I was not implying he was the sole reason we aren't a powerhouse.

I was saying that playing every game in our post-2007 team isn't an amazing achievement.

Two bits of play stood out for me.

In the first quarter when we were clearly on top Nicoski (I think) took a mark about 50 out near the players race, passed the ball inside 50 to Priddis who proceeded to play on only to be chased down by a Suns player and conceded a free kick when we really should have got a goal to continue our momentum.

Then in the second quarter priddis receives a nice pass in the left forward pocket, could have had a ping at goal ( difficult shot) but does the team thing and passes it off to a teammate, only he does it with some dinky little underground pass that bounces awarkedly and gives the Suns defenders time to close down the space. Left me thinking why didn't he just have a ping at goal.

For all his possessions yesterday I thought he was ineffectual but Ken judge gave him 1 vote as BOG behind Cox and Ablett so what do I know.

Two bits of play stood out for me.

In the first quarter when we were clearly on top Nicoski (I think) took a mark about 50 out near the players race, passed the ball inside 50 to Priddis who proceeded to play on only to be chased down by a Suns player and conceded a free kick when we really should have got a goal to continue our momentum.

Then in the second quarter priddis receives a nice pass in the left forward pocket, could have had a ping at goal ( difficult shot) but does the team thing and passes it off to a teammate, only he does it with some dinky little underground pass that bounces awarkedly and gives the Suns defenders time to close down the space. Left me thinking why didn't he just have a ping at goal.
Third piece of play that stood out for me was his hospital handpass to a teammate on CHB in the 1st quarter (surrounded by 3 GC players closing in). Priddis rushed and had no recognition whatsoever of the danger at hand.

On the second play Keyser, I wrote at the time "Matt Priddis. You have two options, chip short to an open teammate or have a shot at goal from 30m. You choose the third option - turn it over". IMO, he was having a shot at goal, miskicked it and, from my memory, grubbered straight to an opposition player. I don't even give him credit for trying to pass it off like you do. He simply shanked a relatively easy shot on goal.

Third piece of play that stood out for me was his hospital handpass to a teammate on CHB in the 1st quarter (surrounded by 3 GC players closing in). Priddis rushed and had no recognition whatsoever of the danger at hand.

On the second play Keyser, I wrote at the time "Matt Priddis. You have two options, chip short to an open teammate or have a shot at goal from 30m. You choose the third option - turn it over". IMO, he was having a shot at goal, miskicked it and, from my memory, grubbered straight to an opposition player. I don't even give him credit for trying to pass it off like you do. He simply shanked a relatively easy shot on goal.

THIS IS PURE BULL-HIT

In the third quater - clock counting down to 12:10. to go

Priddis by himself DIVES INTO A PACK OF 5 gold coast players.
Gets the ball unbelievably and then with three players tackling him at once he is able with brute strength to hold his body upright while on the ground, and then handpass a ripper out to a teammate.

Watch it. How many in the league can do that.

HE DOES THIS SO MANY TIMES IN A GAME AND THEN YOU CRITICISE THAT HE IN THOSE TIGHT SITUATIONS HE BOMBS THE BALL.

WELL ITS UP TO THE GUYS FURTHER DOWN THE GROUND TO APPRECIATE HIS EFFORT AND PROVIDE A GREAT CONTEST TO GET THE BALL TO THE GROUND.

The bashers are all mesmerised by Eagles87's avatar

You guys crucify Priddis when he has a bad game, literally analyzing every bad decision he makes and coming on here to winge about it.... Over the top IMO.
No... I analyse everything that happens. Good and Bad. For example: Priddis played terribly in the first half but I acknowledge he was one of the few who stood up in the second half which was crucial in winning - something anti-Priddis folks will never give him credit for. The good and the bad.

The points Keyser made were obviously atrocious errors. Whether that was Priddis or someone else is irrelevant. They need to be pointed out and rectified.

The fact that one of our main movers made multiple horrific errors does not mean we are whinging about his play. If this was the Brad Sheppard thread and we point out whatever errors he made, are we whinging about Sheppard? Or are we analysing the game in full detail?

The polarizing effect of Priddis' game makes some of you jump to his defense blindly, interpreting every post about Priddis an attack. It simply isn't.

THIS IS PURE BULL-HIT
Upping the font and boldening your reply doesn't make any less true.

The play was obvious and it was a very bad turnover. The fact that you can't acknowledge the mistake only hurts your credibility.

GO EAGLES, not having a go because I find your posts quite entertaining.

But you punctuate and emphasize every instance where Priddis stands up through a tackle yet you can't even acknowledge he made a obviously horrendous mistake. You see a problem?

No... I analyse everything that happens. Good and Bad. For example: Priddis played terribly in the first half but I acknowledge he was one of the few who stood up in the second half which was crucial in winning - something anti-Priddis folks will never give him credit for. The good and the bad.

The points Keyser made were obviously atrocious errors. Whether that was Priddis or someone else is irrelevant. They need to be pointed out and rectified.

The fact that one of our main movers made multiple horrific errors does not mean we are whinging about his play. If this was the Brad Sheppard thread and we point out whatever errors he made, are we whinging about Sheppard? Or are we analysing the game in full detail?

The polarizing effect of Priddis' game makes some of you jump to his defense blindly, interpreting every post about Priddis an attack. It simply isn't.

Upping the font and boldening your reply doesn't make any less true.

The play was obvious and it was a very bad turnover. The fact that you can't acknowledge the mistake only hurts your credibility.

Actually of course he stuffed up that passage, but I was getting annoyed with the savage biased attacks of others, not your example or your post.
I just felt like going into bat for him at that moment, whoesever post it was going to be.
Apologies !!!!

Went to training today and he is working hard again and no joke

he did a Peter Matera type move, so on top of his handpass dummies he is now moving on to different moves.

He is the best at getting the impossible ball in a pack in the team at the moment.

Actually of course he stuffed up that passage, but I was getting annoyed with the savage biased attacks of others, not your example or your post.
I just felt like going into bat for him at that moment, whoesever post it was going to be.
Apologies !!!!

Went to training today and he is working hard again and no joke

he did a Peter Matera type move, so on top of his handpass dummies he is now moving on to different moves.

He is the best at getting the impossible ball in a pack in the team at the moment.
Fair enough.

But you can see where I got confused right... directly quoting my post and replying BULL_HIT! in 72 font....

:)

---
Question, how did Koby Stevens look today?

The post I was replying was not commenting on Priddis' game, though they were giving crap to someone who was.

I was talking about Rischitelli because a previous poster made the comment that besides GAblett they did not have anybody else in the midfield who had an effect on the game (along those lines). Rischitelli in 70 minutes game time won the 2nd most clearances on the ground as well as 8 I50's. I was also commenting on the fact that most (if not all) of those 7 would have come in the 2nd half when they got going. In other words he had an effect on the game.

You guys crucify Priddis when he has a bad game, literally analyzing every bad decision he makes and coming on here to winge about it.... Over the top IMO.

I know you're his sponsor but can you not see he is a point of contention.
You think he is good, some think he is great, some think he is adequate & some think he is crap.
It is a discussion point, not sure why it always turns into "you just bash Priddis, leave him alone" thread?
Also not sure why people feel the need to defend him and deflect from bad performances with lines like "he is first picked everytime so thats that". He is a leader of our team, plays all his time in the midfield & IIRC is our no.1 first possession guy, in other words a corner stone of our team. Open for discussion, which means analysis of his game.

News Workhorse (Priddis) Improves Efficiency