News Workhorse (Priddis) Improves Efficiency

In today's game you must be able to play in various positions, particularly if you're a midfielder. Priddis can't play anywhere but in the middle.

Placebo.. you have zero idea how many minutes Shuey spends in the midfield and even less how and why LeCras spends time there as well.

I don't have any stats, true, but being at the games this year, it's been noticeable at a number of times during the match that Shuey has spent more time at half forward then he should have. And yes, not getting Lecras into the square is a coaching thing, true.

The point I was making, and which a number of us have been making for the last year is that his inflexibility and one-dimensional nature can hurt our midfield and the guys we're rotating through there, especially when he is off his game.

So you'd rather Shuey smack in the centre trying to shovel the ball out under intense pressure(when he's rarely even looked like busting out of tackling when from a standing start) rather than getting some space on the HFF where he has a bit of room to work some magic?

I love Shuey but most of the time he is very static at the clearances. He is damn good when given a bit of time though hence why he probably plays half forward.

So you'd rather Shuey smack in the centre trying to shovel the ball out under intense pressure(when he's rarely even looked like busting out of tackling when from a standing start) rather than getting some space on the HFF where he has a bit of room to work some magic?

I love Shuey but most of the time he is very static at the clearances. He is damn good when given a bit of time though hence why he probably plays half forward.

Ah...no, that's more accurate of Priddis. He gets quite flat footed around stoppages.

And yes, I'd rather a guy like Shuey get some more time in the middle, where he has the ability to break away from congestion, is better by foot and probably a little more creative with hands. The point I was making is that if Priddis had another string to his bow, it'd make our midfield far stronger, and allow us to rotate more through his position. He doesn't, and when he's off his one-dimensional game (extracting), it really hurts.

Who here believes Priddis is a one touch player?
For the role he plays he needs to be elite in this category.
Watson really showed him up for clean first possession today.
Before negotiating a new deal we need to have a long hard think about how good he needs to be inside to equalise the liability that he is once the ball is in space.

It's one bad game, get the **** over it. He has been one of our best in every other game this year.

This is part of the issue. He hasn't. He has been a modest midfielder who is good at getting first hands on the ball and, at best, adequate in a couple of other areas.

The higher the standard of opposition the more his weakness' are exposed ...

Anyone who saw Kerr and Watson today as in and under inside mids and still reckons Priddis is anything beyond a stop gap (if we want to genuinely contend) is kidding themselves.

I mean we have people on this board who reckon Priddis is on a par with blokes like Watson and Mitchell. Its laughable ...

Kerr rises to the challenge and Priddis is forced into a receiver role for large minutes today.
This is when we look most dangerous.

Kerr as the no.1 option should be our no.1 option for as long as Kerr can go. He attracts SO much attention and has sneaky ways of releasing his handballs.

Priddis did not lose us the game.

In the first half he was the same ol'Priddis. And everything looked great

Hird decided to outnumber us in the midfield spreading and put on a fresh legs running sub.
This made us run all over the place like a headless chooks, not knowing what to do. We were one man short in the midfield in the 2nd half as far as speed goes.
He also rotated like crazy to keep the players nimble to offset the barabaric tackiling.

GENIUS buy Hird and Thompson

The extra fresh runner replacing Stanton was a masterstroke, because thier midfield was winning with fresher legs and the ball wasn't going in our forward line so Stanton wasn't needed.

Its like what Gaff did in our first 2 games, changed the nature of the game. Got everything attacking to prevent our problems from being a nightmare.

Boy did we need him as a sub today, just to put in some stab passes when all guys were tiring and could only bomb it long in hope.

Yes, Priddis Contributes to us losing the game. Cannot play any other position, so when he's getting flogged, there's no where else to put him. The most one dimensional player playing AFL. God I hope the new Sydney Club offers us something for him.

I don't have any stats, true, but being at the games this year, it's been noticeable at a number of times during the match that Shuey has spent more time at half forward then he should have. And yes, not getting Lecras into the square is a coaching thing, true.

The point I was making, and which a number of us have been making for the last year is that his inflexibility and one-dimensional nature can hurt our midfield and the guys we're rotating through there, especially when he is off his game.

Thats right. Shuey spent some time forward. Did Priddis spend any? apart from running into an open goal and still going through the motion like he has to kick the ball 50m. He cannot do a quick kick. He has to hold out and wait for the left leg to come through even when he is 2m and just needs to dribble it through.
He hurt us today, and his decision making is at it's worst when the heat is on and the game is tight.
Bad timing for the article.
That handball to Naitanui? The handball behind Shuey when they were running into goal (the one when Shuey hit the post), he had to break stride and resettle because of that handball under 0 pressure. I was watching Watson today because of the obvious comparison and there is no comparison. Regardless of the Watson forward argument, the quality and attacking nature of his handball at clearances is enough to be out of Priddis' league. He always put a team mate to space with his handball at clearances.
My wife watching the game said it looks like you can see Priddis' cogs working they just don't work quick enough for his decision making.

I thought he had deficiencies but with the right crew around him it could work. I now see what E87 is saying that when your team win the ball and most of the play is setup by a slow moving / slow decision making mid, you could have GAblett jnr & Judd waiting out the back of the pack and the handball would still come out behind them or a second too late, making having that class waiting out the back pointless. He has definitely improved from last year however in 2 games this year (Essendon & Hawthorn), when the game is to be one I have found myself marvelling at the quality of Sewell & Watson, how quick and easy they make a clearance look (despite them quite often being on the end of a hiding in the ruck) and lamenting that Priddis takes so long to change direction, has to get to his left no matter what, & handballs where team mates were. Things that make a quality mid successful. The guy tries his heart out and leaves nothing in the tank but with his limitations we need someone else to take us forward.

Re: Rnd 7 Votes vs Dons

Gee, you had to wait a few weeks to get that in didn't you, has probably featured in the votes every other game...

Loved Scooters attack on the ball and man today, he is coming along very nicely.

He's right though - Priddis was average yesterday.

The best thing he did was be good enough to attract the hard tag in the first half freeing up Kerr. When he was released from the tag in the second half and it went to Kerr - Priddis didn't step up to the form he showed last week.

Priddis had an average game today for his high standards. Still easily in our top 10 players though.

Loving Scooter more and more every week. Chucks up the dont argue at will these days. Would be interested in seeing them try and make him play more attacking rather than defensive.

Priddis had an average game today for his high standards. Still easily in our top 10 players though.

Loving Scooter more and more every week. Chucks up the dont argue at will these days. Would be interested in seeing them try and make him play more attacking rather than defensive.

So would I. But he starts centre square, so you'd have to move Priddis....

It was frustrating yesterday seeing Shuey start on wings and flanks and even Kerr did at stages. All because some slow bloke needs 85% of game time in the middle. :)

He could win a Brownlow if he kept playing like he did in the last few rounds in 2007.

While I love that thought, it's fantasy.. he wasn't good enough with his disposals then either.

His kicking efficiency has increased noticably this season. I love it when you see the ones that work the hardest get their reward.

Yes, Priddis Contributes to us losing the game. Cannot play any other position, so when he's getting flogged, there's no where else to put him. The most one dimensional player playing AFL. God I hope the new Sydney Club offers us something for him.
I honestly am far less worried about Kerr, Lecras, NicNat, even Cox's missing a game than i am about Priddis missing.

He may have improved his efficiency but it'd be nice if could get another 20 metres out of his left slipper and actually make the distance when kicking for goal inside 50...

Even though he does get the lazy 30 posessions week in week out, I just can't help but think that we're better off with Stevens in the team instead of Priddis. They both play the same role, but surely Priddis's involvement in the team hinders Stevens development?

And if Priddis plays on for another 5 years. Where will that leave Koby? I'm sure he would leave or asked to be traded because of the lack of games. Putting Priddis in the leadership group surely means it is harder for the coaching staff to drop him in favour of younger players.

I just don't see us winning a premiership while Priddis is the top midfielder in our team. If anything he is a midfielder coming off the bench during a premiership tilt.

People here are getting it wrong.

Priddis did not have a good game by his standards, but in the first half he did his normal thing to help us dominate.

What happenend in the 2nd half was the Essendon sub came on in the midfield and he provided extra legs and overlap for the Essendon system to work.

Resons for this Kerr got tired, Scooter got tired everyone got tired and we changed our game plan to cope.

Both Rosa and Embley did not provide as much run as in previous weeks.

Our defence leaked goals and I can imagine it being demoralising for the team after working our butt off to get ours.

Priddis was handpassing to stuffed almost stationary midfielders.

In hindsight Weedon should have come on earlier.

We outscored them in the last quater. Because he does genius things it automatically gives the opposition brain trauma when they are tired, even if he has just three touches.

When you see an opposition player due clever things to stuff your head around ( creating severe panic amongst suporters even, like what Darren Jarmen used to do) it deflates you, and you go OH NO when the ball goes into their hands.

The GAFF boy is needed.

Damn make him pull trains for 2 weeks everyday.

ive had a shift in perspective on priddis..have always defended him..but can now see the argument against him..that of a good bullocking mid who can extract,tear off with pace,AND dispose of the ball with kicks especially, consistently and accurately...

who will that person be, its just a matter of time..the game changes quite quickly,and is so fine-tuned,you cant have weak links/or one dimensionals for long..or expect to reach the top and not be exposed,with the level of coaching now also.

If your not doing enough at WAFL chances are AFL ain't gonna get any easier. Koby has been competent from all reports. He'll eve Fletch was raking up 40's when his career was in his final year.

The truth Is if he was ready and good enough he would be in...

can one sub coming into the match make that much difference?
it really seems Emac,Gaff,and Mcginnity were the difference then,with embley silenced,and lecca not up to speed..maybe the melb.game and the road trip proved too much..the dons easy game and no travel being the diff? (and the coaches)

News Workhorse (Priddis) Improves Efficiency