World County/State/Provincial Championships. Feasable or not??

• Thread starter Thread starter WCE2000

WCE2000

I thought of a good idea the ICC should look into and that would be a World Provincial Championships.

The top 2 teams from the 8 major domestics competitions would go into the competition so the teams would be as follows if it was done this season:

Australia - Pura Milk Finalists
Victoria
Queensland

England - top 2 County Division 1 Teams
Surrey
Lancashire

India - top 2 Duleep Trophy Teams
North Zone
Central Zone

New Zealand - top 2 Shell Trophy Teams
Wellington
Northern Districts

Pakistan - Quaid-e-Azam Grade I Finalists
Karachi
Lahore Blues

South Africa - top 2 SuperSport Series Teams
Western Province
either Border/Easterns - final round this weekend

Sri Lanka - top 2 Premier League Teams
Competition Still In Progress
Looks like being Colts Cricket Club and Nondescripts Cricket Club

West Indies - Busta Cup Finalists
Jamaica
Guyana

I looked at the squads of each of the sides, and they look fairly even. I would think it would be a great competition.

The only problem would be when to play the competition. Maybe the best time would be the small gap between the County Championships in England finished (September 13) and when the other Domestics Competitions start (mid october).

I reckon if marketed properly, it could pull some very decent crowds. Probably play it in 4 divisions of round robin. then a weekend of semi finals and a final. So it would be a 5 week tournament.

Which would mean either the English competition be brought forward a couple of weeks or the other competitions could start a couple of weeks later.

What do you's think of that idea?

------------------
Join the big footy tipping competition at Footy Tips
Join the BigFooty Cricket Cup
visit the Easts Cricket Club
The ulitimate statistics reference

The idea has merit and logic however I'm sure it would be a logistical nightmare to organise. There is Test or one-day cricket going on almost all the time, and a gap or probably 4-6 weeks would be needed without any internationals. Then you'd have the Ansett Cup-type situation where the top players would probably sit out a lot of matches (not to mention having new pay and contract situations). Also consider that the teams from the poorer countries may not be find it feasible to send a domestic team overseas.

Besides, NSW would win it every year
biggrin.gif

Actually that NSW comment highlights a flaw in the plan.

A complete break from international cricket would be required to stage such a tournament with any credibility, to give the best possible chance of sending a full-strength side to compete.

Australia's (and most other) domestic competitions are run overlapping with internationals. NSW with half its side being Test or ODI regulars are disavantaged the most (of Aussie teams) during the season every year, usually costing them a Sheffield Shield finals spot. (Through the cycles of troughs and peaks this can happen to other teams as well, possibly WA in the near future).

Therefore when an opportunity arises for a full-strength domestic team to compete in such a tournament, it is not always the best or strongest team in the country, but more likely to be the second or third strongest which has had "good" fortune in not having players receive international call-ups.

[This message has been edited by Darky (edited 17 March 2001).]

They're some good points Darky.

I'm sure i could think of a way around it.

I have a mate who is on the ACB and is one of the front runnners to replace Dennis Rogers as Chairman, so i might sugggest this to him.

Tell your mate there's a fat little wog living in Victoria who can keep wickets, bowl either arm and bat at 9 or pinch hit higher up, who will challenge Boony's tinnie record given half a chance
wink.gif
I'm modest too
biggrin.gif

Are you talking about a one day comp or 1st class?
If it is 1 day then I don't think it would have much merit but if it is 1st class then I think it becomes impractical as when you reach knock out stages the games could easily be draws & then you have the unsatisfactory concept of giving wins for 1st innings lead or higher placing in the round robin stage.
It's a nice idea in principle but I doubt it would work plus the top players for these teams probably wouldn't be available as the new World Test Championship is going to take up even more time-they're already saying that future Ashes series will only be 4 Tests which to me is sacrlige.