Jul 5, 2011
Victory,Napoli,Liverpool,Penguins
A chance to make it to our fifth straight World Cup finals! Who would have thought? Tough ask against a solid South American opponent but a one off match at a neutral venue anything is possible, time to get behind out boys for one last push. Lets do this Socceroos!!

World Cup Qualifier Intercontinental Play-Off

Peru V Australia

When:
Tuesday 14th June
4:00am EST 3:30am CST 2:00am WST

Where:
Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium, Doha, Qatar

TV Broadcast:
Live on Channel 10 (check local guides) and simulcast on 10 Play

Socceroos Squad
NameClub, Country‘A’ Caps (Goals)Junior Club
(Member Federation/Country)
Nathaniel ATKINSONHeart of Midlothian, Scotland1 (0)Riverside Olympic FC (Football Tasmania)
Aziz BEHICHUncontracted49 (2)Meadow Park SC (Football Victoria)
Martin BOYLEAl-Faisaly FC, Saudi Arabia16 (5)Lewis United FC/Montrose FC (Scotland)
Nicholas D’AGOSTINOMelbourne Victory FC, Australia1 (0)Runaway Bay SC (Football Queensland)
Jason DAVIDSONMelbourne Victory FC, Australia22 (1)Altona City SC (Football Victoria)
Milos DEGENEKColumbus Crew, USA36 (1)Blacktown City FC (Football NSW)
Kenny DOUGALLBlackpool FC, England4 (0)Samford Rangers FC (Football Queensland)
Mitchell DUKEFagiano Okayama, Japan19 (7)Liverpool Rangers SC (Football NSW)
Denis GENREAUToulouse FC, France2 (0)Brighton SC (Football Victoria)
Craig GOODWINAdelaide United FC, Australia7 (1)Munno Para City SC (Football South Australia)
Ajdin HRUSTICEintracht Frankfurt, Germany16 (2)Heatherton United SC (Football Victoria)
Jackson IRVINEFC St. Pauli, Germany45 (6)Ringwood City SC (Football Victoria)
Fran KARACICBrescia Calcio, Italy7 (1)NK Lokomotiva (Croatia)
Joel KINGOdense Boldklub, Denmark2 (0)Shellharbour Junior FC (Football NSW)
Mathew LECKIEMelbourne City FC, Australia69 (13)Brimbank Stallions FC (Football Victoria)
Awer MABILUncontracted25 (6)Saint Augustines FC (Football South Australia)
Jamie MACLARENMelbourne City FC, Australia22 (8)Green Gully SC (Football Victoria))
Riley MCGREEMiddlesbrough FC, England8 (1)Gawler Eagles FC (Football South Australia)
Aaron MOOYShanghai Port FC, China PR49 (7)Carlingford Redbacks FC (Football NSW)
Andrew REDMAYNE (Gk)Sydney FC, Australia2 (0)Gosford City Dragons FC (Football NSW)
Kye ROWLESCentral Coast Mariners FC, Australia0 (0)Palm Beach SC (Football Queensland)
Mathew RYAN (Gk)Real Sociedad, Spain71 (0)Blacktown City FC (Football NSW)
Trent SAINSBURYUncontracted60 (4)Armadale SC (Football West)
Gianni STENSNESSViking FK, Norway2 (0)Pittwater RSL FC/Collaroy Cromer SC (Football NSW)
Adam TAGGARTCerezo Osaka, Japan16 (6)ECU Joondalup SC (Football West)
Marco TILIOMelbourne City FC, Australia3 (0)APIA Leichhardt FC/Sydney Olympic FC (Football NSW)
Danny VUKOVIC (Gk)NEC Nijmegen, Netherlands4 (0)St Clair United SC (Football NSW)
Bailey WRIGHTSunderland AFC, England24 (1)Langwarrin SC (Football Victoria)

May 3, 2007
Parts Unknown
Man City, Valencia, Lazio, Panthers
A one leg play off at a neutral venue can sometimes go against the favourite. I'm not giving us no hope, we have a chance. A very small chance.
Well I'm cheering for the Centrelink Socceroos LoL 🤣

It's gonna take the effort of a dole bludger to win this LoL

Pessimistic

30k Posts 10k Posts HBF's Milk Crate - 70k Posts TheBrownDog
Sep 13, 2000
Melbourne cricket ground. Australia
Horks
Feb 23, 2009
New York Jets

AJ_2000

Mar 10, 2007
Right Here.... Right Now.
Houston Roughnecks
May 23, 2001
Playing for pens..... plus some selection news

Can someone show me some vision of the team pressing and harassing up the field once the entire campaign? He makes it sound like we play like Borussia Dortmund under Klopp!

Sounds like Sainsbury is unlikely.

Geez I’m getting nervous now, it’s the hope that kills you, feels identical to night before the second leg in Montevideo in 2001, hope I’m wrong and we pull off a miracle.

AJ_2000

Mar 10, 2007
Right Here.... Right Now.
Houston Roughnecks
I've got the "we don't deserve to be there ... But since when is football about justice" vibes.

Plenty of times we've been deserving - but that counts for jack all.

Team is seriously limited in most aspects, but a good performance is all it takes now - cup final football where anything can happen.

Keep a clean sheet and you're practically there.

Vs Iran 98…. That was broke my heart

I haven’t trusted us since

Well and truly due for karma reasons but no, we need to not be in and get some actual change happening

Feb 23, 2009
New York Jets
I cant shake the feeling we'll somehow pinch this. Like we score early through a questionable penalty and then hold on for dear life.
The Peru national team isn't a team I've seen much of, but I just don't like us against the South American style of play, I feel like they'll be quicker, technically better and far more creative and clinical with their chances.

Australia often struggle to break down and score even against Asian federation opposition, I just don't see Peru, who have been competitive and defensively okay on paper against stronger opposition, leaking goals to us.

Obviously I hope I am wrong though.

The Peru national team isn't a team I've seen much of, but I just don't like us against the South American style of play, I feel like they'll be quicker, technically better and far more creative and clinical with their chances.

Australia often struggle to break down and score even against Asian federation opposition, I just don't see Peru, who have been competitive and defensively okay on paper against stronger opposition, leaking goals to us.

Obviously I hope I am wrong though.
We all live in hope, but we all know deep down inside we're less than 50% chance. Its not like richmond getting screwed by umpires certainty.

mrmonkey

Dec 3, 2010
Vs Iran 98…. That was broke my heart

I haven’t trusted us since

Well and truly due for karma reasons but no, we need to not be in and get some actual change happening
97 vs Iran, I must have been 10 or 11. I still remember being confused why Iran got through when it was a draw. My dad had to explain to me that away goals are worth more so they got through. I remember thinking this is bogus.

In 2001 I remember getting my hopes up until my mate said Uruguay were holding back some player called dario silva will destroy us. Sure enough he was right.

This is a massive game, but there has been no build up to it whatsoever. It's sad just how far the Socceroos have fallen in recent years.

I have so many special memories of my time in Russia in 2018 and I'd obviously love to see us make it through to another WC, but just can't see how we get it done.

Conditions will help us, whether that's enough, we'll see.

Feb 23, 2009
New York Jets
This is a massive game, but there has been no build up to it whatsoever. It's sad just how far the Socceroos have fallen in recent years.
100%

You'd barely know it was on, which is a disgrace for a proud sporting nation for the biggest event to the most popular sport in the world.

corbies

Jul 31, 2010
S'roos, New Jets, Cronulla
100%

You'd barely know it was on, which is a disgrace for a proud sporting nation for the biggest event to the most popular sport in the world.
It's hard to concentrate on a sudden death World Cup qualifier when we've got big stories like Jack Ginnivans attitude, Bailey Smiths extracurricular activities and Melbourne players having handbags with eachother while eating their coq au vin.

Just way too much DRAMA to be worrying about this silly little game.