Worst AFL draft Ever

• Thread starter Thread starter Toastman

Steven Hill goes alright. Not your grunt player but the cream on the cake with his speed and deadly boot. Others would be Sloane, Walters, Motlop, Sidebottom.

Even though Fyfe would be a bigger star from the 2009 draft, the 2008 is the best since 2001.

None of Hill, Sloane or Sidebottom have even made an All Australian 40 squad though and Motlop and Walters only did it once without making the team. I'm not saying they're bad players - they're all great players, and like I said, 2008 is craaaazy deep in terms of how many good players there are all the way through. But in terms of absolute top players in the comp, for a draft so deep, it doesn't have the top end of other drafts.

Edit: Walters did make a squad.

Too early to call, but last year's draft is looking very ordinary.

Petrecca excused through injury, last year's top 10 haven't set the world on fire, aside from Brayshaw who is silk (De Goey is definitely overhyped)

The 2013 draft is definitely shaping up as perhaps the greatest ND since 1993, so much class and quantity in that group.
c'mon man...

Crows drafted Talia (#13), Gunston (#29), Sam Shaw (#45) and then Luke Thompson (#17 rookie), Matthew Wright (#33 rookie) and Matt Jaensch (#46 rookie) and Aidan Riley (#58 rookie).

Don't know if you can do much better than that in a crap draft.

I doubt he actually looked at any club's draft but Hawthorn's before he declared theirs to be the best.

Liam Duggan (before he got injured) showed more than De Goey and most of the other first rounders taken before him.

De Goey looks like a future gun, not sure who you've been watching. Hasn't gotten high numbers but his impact isn't fully appreciated just by looking at stats.

Yeah maybe I'm probably too harsh on De Goey, but I am very bullish on Duggan, don't think he's been given a big enough rap by the media or footy community.

Seem glimpses of him that suggest he suggest he could be a potential future captain of West Coast.

Yeah maybe I'm probably too harsh on De Goey, but I am very bullish on Duggan, don't think he's been given a big enough rap by the media or footy community.

Seem glimpses of him that suggest he suggest he could be a potential future captain of West Coast.
+1.

I think that's because the top end guys haven't really had much of a chance to show their wares just yet. McCartin, Wright and Cockatoo all need more time before a fair assessment can be made. Petracca is injured. Marchbank, Pickett and Ahern were always going to struggle to break into that side in their first year. But those guys aside, De Goey, Brayshaw and Moore have all looked very, very good in stints. In the next group all of Garlett, Lever, Duggan, Heeney and Goddard are already slotting in effortlessly and looking like quality, with the others showing signs also. From there on it's looking quite even - Steele, Webb, McLean, Miller, Maynard, Howe, Menadue, Rose, Lonie, Dawson, Dale, Daniel, Gregson, Nelson, Andrews...all of these guys have shown signs.

It's too early to call, as you say, but I actually think the draft class is looking like being pretty good. A lot will hinge on how those elite prospects come on with time but it's still looking like the draft delivered a very good number of solid - or better - contributors.

You forgot one C. Ellis who is absolute silk

Seems like we won the 2009 draft - we traded draft picks (and Mark Williams) for Burgoyne and Gibson and with the late picks we had left picked Stratton and Duryea

Swans did alright too

But looks slim pickings for everyone else

Ours would've been awesome if everything worked out. Menzel, Duncan, Christensen, Vardy and Cowan.

3 who have missed the vast majority of matches between now and then because of injuries, 1 having continual injury issues before leaving for 'personal reasons' and 1 actually working out but who nonetheless spent half this season injured :cry::cry::cry:

Dunno why we can't rate them both highly. I liked what I saw of Duggan earlier in the year too, he had a few nice games before falling away.

De Goey started a bit slower but has really come into his own in the last couple of weeks. His last two (non sub) games he had 18 touches, 12 tackles and a goal against Sydney, and 25 touches (17 contested), 7 tackles & 10 clearances against Geelong. They are pretty impressive numbers for a first year player. Needs to clean up his kicking a bit (rushes a bit, more of a composure thing than technique) but has shown heaps.

I don't think he's been that overhyped at all either, after all it took until round 20 for him to get a rising star nomination.

We got who we wanted and need after we went for outside run and speed.

Boekhorst has shown as much as other second round picks who are hyped and have shown signs without dominating. Just needs to build his engine like Cripps who looked one paced and did nothing in his first year. Harder for a half forward/outside mid to get a lot of the ball than an inside mid like Cripps. Lovely kick, super quick and a good overhead mark for his size.

Like Smith who has a crack and doesn't shirk contact like Garlett.

Rainbow needs time.

With all due respect, you've pumped up Carlton's kids/drafting in just about every thread on this site for the last 10 years.... hasn't really worked out that well for you.

This one:

carlton_draught_stubbies.jpg

Absolute rubbish.
you sir, obviously have not tried this
DMLNA0183.jpg

I can honestly say Boekhorst has exceeded my expectations, which isn't to say we still should have taken at #19, but has shown he has the awareness, speed and skillset to belong at the elite level, clearly needs to put some upper body strength and gain some endurance.

By no means can anyone call him a bust.

I can honestly say Boekhorst has exceeded my expectations, which isn't to say we still should have taken at #19, but has shown he has the awareness, speed and skillset to belong at the elite level, clearly needs to put some upper body strength and gain some endurance.

By no means can anyone call him a bust.
Yes I can

Ours would've been awesome if everything worked out. Menzel, Duncan, Christensen, Vardy and Cowan.

3 who have missed the vast majority of matches between now and then because of injuries, 1 having continual injury issues before leaving for 'personal reasons' and 1 actually working out but who nonetheless spent half this season injured :cry::cry::cry:

Yes absolutely nothing wrong with the drafting there

Our 2005 draft would be marked better if Max Bailey hadn't had his knee issues, though recruiting Dowler at pick 6 was just silly as he'd fractured his pelvis a week before the draft

And which GWS players bring the quality down? Cognilio, Smith, Adams, Tyson, Green, Patton even with his two knee recos, Tomlinson....

Just cause we got a lot of them, doesn't mean the quality in the draft wasn't there. Isn't that what all the complaints are about - too much quality.

You certainly can't put 2012 into any kind of "worst draft ever" thread and be taken seriously.

Well if it was so good and you got so many of them why is GWS bottom half of ladder?