worst jumper designs

Originally posted by The Hitman
Does anyone remember the Hawthorn pre-season jumper with the Harlequin design, which looked like pewk on fabric?

It still sends a shiver down my spine when I think of that one! :(

The Hitman

Hawthorns 95 pre season jumper that was. The one with the diamonds.

They didnt create it - it was a take off of the Brisbane Broncos jumper at the time - looked exactly the same

That Eagles away jumper made them look like a cross between a clown and gangsta rapper

Cheers

Originally posted by The Hitman
Does anyone remember the Hawthorn pre-season jumper with the Harlequin design, which looked like pewk on fabric?

It still sends a shiver down my spine when I think of that one! :(

The Hitman
This is not a joke,do you know were I might find one of those jumper because I want to start collecting hawthorn preseason jumpers.So if you know where I might be able to find these that would be great

Originally posted by aggels
Carlton (never underestimate what a Carlton jumper can do to a footballers sex appeal... I'm serious here!)

lol That's why I always do the deed with my jumper on. :eek: ;)

Though I think my current No 43 has been more successful than my old Wayne Johnston No 7. Sorry dominator, I must be an adonis in the new one! :D :D

St Kilda have the best jumpers

Both of them, the 'TriColour' and the "Hot Cross Bun" are two of the nicest football jumpers you will see anywhere in the whole wide world.

Actually the AFL in general have some fabulous footy jumper designs, Carlton and Essendon/Richmond are other absolute beauties.

Adelaide : not bad, the blue is too dark to be traditionally SA, away jumper a mess.

Brisbane : million miles better than the Bears, a nice Fitzroy-eque effort really.

Carlton : superb, they do look better with white shorts though.

Collingwood : Older design was much better with white back and black numbers.

Essendon : excellent overall design, one of the best in the business.

Fremantle : Shocking, jumper should be mostly green and red with just a splash or purple, not the other way around. Away jumper is a total style atrocity.

Geelong : Nice, unique design. A bit rugby-ish, but thats notsuch a bad thing really.

Hawthorn : Yep, we all hate the colours don't we ? Another strip that really does look better with white shorts.

Kangaroos : Royal Blue is a lovely colour and the Roos look terrific in traditional stripes, white shorts and hooped socks. Away jumper is abomnible.

Melbourne : Another nice strong traditional design.For the sake of clashes, it would be nice if that blue wasn't quite so dark.

Port Adelaide : a horrible mess of a thing, They actually held a competition to decide on this one didn't they ?

Richmond : see comments re Essendon jumper above. One of the best.

Sydney : This once great design has been progessively mucked up and messed about with over the years so that now I'm not really sure whethere its nice or not now. A return to a white back with red numbers would be a step in the right direction.

StKilda : Two of the best jumpers in the world, bar none.

WCE : Old jumper was crap, but new jumpers are just an absolute joke,team will never become winners agian whilst they continue to run around in THAT.

Western Bulldogs : I don't like putting stylised animals and other such things on footy jumpers, but in the case of the doggies new strip - it actually works.

cheers

Adelaide - Home jumper is alright; I don't care for the red-topped away one much.

Brisbane - Is it me or has the colour changed a little bit? It seemed like the maroon has taken a more pink/fuchsia hue to it lately. It looks better when it is closer to the old Fitzroy red. Speaking of which, I do hope that they wear an old FFC jumper next year in a game.

Carlton - Perhaps the classiest looking in the game and one of the few endearing things about the club. :D I suppose long time Blues supporters didn't like it when they changed the chest emblem to match the one in the logo, but I think it looks much better.

Collingwood - I do prefer the white backed one, simply because the black one clashes too much with all the other blacks and dark blues. The black back seems more popular with the supporters, so perhaps they could bring back the old design as an away strip and keep the black one too.

Essendon - As a supporter I do like our jumper very much, though I really hate Orange. :p I hope that we produce an away jumper with a white or red back to differentiate us when we play Collingwood, Carlton, Richmond, or St. Kilda.

Fremantle - what else can be said, they're both hideous.

Geelong - Great jumpers, great colours. I like that they have a white-backed one to distinguish them from the other navy blue clubs.

Hawthorn - I don't think the colours look as bad as everyone else does, but I still wouldn't want them for my football club. Does look better with white shorts.

North Melbourne - Traditional stripes look great but I get them confused when they play Geelong and Collingwood, especially at night or in the dark. I think the away strip should have more blue it, perhaps an all-blue back would look nice. I also prefer them in the hooped socks.

Melbourne - On its own it looks fine, but it clashes terribly with Carlton, Essendon, and St. Kilda. They should go back to the slightly lighter blue they had in the 80s.

Port Adelaide - both are shocking. I guess it isn't really their fault since they had to change to be different than Collingwood. How about more silver and less teal?

Richmond - Good traditional jumper, and the fact it looks like Essendon's is fine because it's tradition for Richmond too. Wouldn't mind seeing them bring back the back yellow stripe on one jumper.

St. Kilda - Both of St. Kilda's jumpers look great. The only thing I might change is the back of one of them - they're both black. It might be beneficial for games against Essendon and Melbourne if they made one of them white or red.

Sydney - Agree wholeheartedly with BSA on this, it looked so much better as predominantly white with a little bit of red, and it clearly differentiates them from any other jumper in the competition.

West Coast - One Channel 7 commentator called the away one a "dogs breakfast". Couldn't have described it better myself. Home one is okay, but could use improvement. I say use some of Mr. Eagles designs!

Western Bulldogs - I have always been partial to Footscrays colours and design, and I like the dog logo addition to the traditional red mid-stripe. If only they would still call themselves Footscray.

Re: He speaks at last :)

Originally posted by Mr Eagle
See what happens when I don't keep my eyes on this board? :)

OK, the answers:

Nolsey77: you never know mate, perhaps if I find the time...

Hawkfan5: Paint Shop Pro.

Pess: I *like* dark blue :) And this is the very reason the AFL is pressing for alternate jumpers.

Some of those designed look fantastic. Keep up the good work

Originally posted by shaneh

This is not a joke,do you know were I might find one of those jumper because I want to start collecting hawthorn preseason jumpers.So if you know where I might be able to find these that would be great

I was at the Family Day the week after we wore those hideous things and the club assured us they would never see the light of day again, and they didn't design them, the AFL did and said we HAD to wear them.

They auctioned off Chris Langford's and it went for around $1500 I think!!! Guess because it was never going to be worn again.

Don't know where you could get one - I reckon they would be pretty hard to find.

My worst jumper currently would be West Coast's away strip - terrible and impractical, as you can't read the numbers properly.

Worst ever - that's easy, the Melbourne Hawks jumper - absolute disgrace. The day they brought that out I was so angry. I reckon it was a big turning point for Hawthorn supporters - it was a pathetic 'compromise'.

On Jumpers - take a look at the australian one for the international series. It is the best jumper I have ever seen in my life. Make it into a flag and we can adopt it tomorrow.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

Worst ever - that's easy, the Melbourne Hawks jumper - absolute disgrace. The day they brought that out I was so angry. I reckon it was a big turning point for Hawthorn supporters - it was a pathetic 'compromise'.

You think thats bad. We "Fitzroy Bulldogs" jumper didn't have one shread of evidence that the Bulldogs belonged to that team.

It was the Fitzroy jumper with two stripes on top and bottom of the FFC emblem. It was maroon and blue.

I only have a picture in the "Unleashed" book. I hate that jersey with a passion.

Did you know... That in the 1990 Melways (printed in 1989) had Princess Park listed as the "Fitzroy Bulldogs" home ground?

Mergers make me sick.

Adelaide - not to bad
Brisbane = OK
Carlton = im sure they like it but i dont
Collingwood = good
Essendon = i dont know why just dont like it
Fremantle = ?
Geelong = no thanks
Hawks = colour clash to the max
Kangaroos = ok i guess
Melbourne = very bland/dull
Port = good but needs some red or dark blue perhaps.
Richmond = good
Saints = couldn't get enough of that pura milk guernsey. Ok
Swans = eeeck
West coast = In a few years all guernseys will probably be like that enough to make you vomit.
Doggies = good.

Originally posted by dogboy23
This will sound very biased but i can still remember the doggies and sydney final in 97 at the "g".The ground was swarming with supporters of both teams and the crowd on the southern stand wing looked absolutely awesome with the mixture of red white and blue all over the place.Aswell as this the doggies colors are australian colors.:D

The only finals match I missed in my entire life :mad: :mad: :mad:

Bloody Dad had to work, Anyone got it on tape? :D :(

Re: Re: worst jumper designs

Originally posted by hawkfan5
The Worst Jumpers:

1. Fremantle
2. Adelaide
3. Essendon
4. Sydney

I take in then that you hate red then given Richmond and Essendon's jumps are the same design.

Hate blue too, same for Coll/Nth.

Melbourne Hawks jumper isn't too bad actually.....would fit in with the TAC u18s guernseys.

Port jumper looks good at night, but the teal looks dodgy in day games...would've been nice to keep the magpies guernsey, its a shame to see good colours brought to shame by a side like Collingwood.

worst jumper designs