Worst side ever to win a flag

Phil Matera played the Eagles win. Unlucky Injury. Sampi was being held too at the end I reckon he would have missed though the pressure. Should have played lynch also went in with Gaspar who didn't get a touch or maybe a couple at best.

Hurts me to suggest it but when i think about the drawn qualifying final and the quality of the premiership teams prior to and following - the Pies 1990 premiership side may be one of the poorer ones.

Regards

S. Pete
If Dunstall didn't fracture his skull in 1990.... lost 3 out of 4 when he was out of the side

Phil Matera played the Eagles win. Unlucky Injury. Sampi was being held too at the end I reckon he would have missed though the pressure. Should have played lynch also went in with Gaspar who didn't get a touch or maybe a couple at best.

Sampi was a good set shot, had a shot after the siren against the Bulldogs in 2003 to get a draw so I would have backed him in if he had the chance.

Lynch was in terrible form and went goal less in the Qualifying final vs the Swans which is why he was dropped for the prelim. Gaspar and Gardiner weren't in much better form either so it was just shuffling stuff to try and make it work.

Sampi was a good set shot, had a shot after the siren against the Bulldogs in 2003 to get a draw so I would have backed him in if he had the chance.

Lynch was in terrible form and went goal less in the Qualifying final vs the Swans which is why he was dropped for the prelim. Gaspar and Gardiner weren't in much better form either so it was just shuffling stuff to try and make it work.
Wasn't it Gaspars first game of the year though?

Cats smashed us game before finals though. They started favourites in the granny. I know what you're saying but. I agree.
Cats managed that year brilliantly and deserved it thoroughly. I cant really think of a side that didn't "deserve" to win a flag really and could be judged the "worst". Its a war of attrition and if you make it to the GF you're in the best 2 teams for the year so its hard to diminish that in any way.

Clearly i just became one of those flogs with your thread title question though. 🤦‍♂️

Wasn't it Gaspars first game of the year though?

Prelim was his first game, grand final was his second one

It was a bold move, but Lynch was badly out of form at the time.

12 months later Lynch was kicking them from everywhere and Ash Hansen had emerged as a competent centre half forward. Chalk and cheese to 05 for us.

I think the answer to this is CLEARLY the 1993 Essendon 'Baby Bombers'

It was a bizarre year, tbh. For some reason the AFL decided to only play 20 games rather than 22.

Essendon and Carlton were equal top with 13 wins and a draw, and % of 119 and 117 (uggh). But really:

• North should have finished top but blew a home game to 10th placed Footscray in the last round.
  • Carlton (who were still 6-7 key pieces off their 1995 dominance) should have finished ahead of Essendon but somehow managed to only beat a 1-19 Sydney team by 1pt at Princes Park. That season also featured Kernahan failing to score from shot after the siren from 40m out - even a point puts Carlton to top and Essendon to 4th.
  • West Coast should have finished ahead of Essendon but somehow managed to lose to BOTH Geelong (in Perth) and Footscray in the last 2 weeks.
  • Geelong (runners-up the year prior) had a shocker of a start with injuries affecting them, and came barnstorming home, beating Essendon (1st), North (3rd), West Coast (6th) and Hawthorn (4th) in the last 4 matches to finish 7th, but only 1.5 games behind top.

It was ridiculously even - 12th placed St Kilda were only 3.5 games off top (in a 15 team league), and the short season made it an absolute crapshoot.

So then we head into finals and all three lower ranked teams win - North and Hawthorn manage to lose to non-victorian teams at home. Of course, this is the utterly nonsensical final 6 system which means Carlton (2nd) play Adelaide (5th) for a spot in the grand final the following week, while Essendon (1st) play West Coast (6th) in an elimination game.

Then the famous preliminary final - Essendon manage to get 42 points behind at home at half time before an Adelaide player farts during the half time huddle, the Crows players completely lose the plot, and blow the game by 1pt. Yes, footy used to be ridiculous.

Essendon were very good on grand final day, and Essendon fans will say that they got back a few players for that game. That's true. But it was still a really bizarre year and they were the ultimate Bradbury premiership imo

Worst side ever to win a flag