Eagle87

Subi, Celtics, Pats, Sox
Probably an odd time of year for trade threads, but....

I was watching Kerr last week and strangely had been thinking during the Carlton/Ess game, how much the Blues need a player exactly like Kerr. They lack hardness around the middle big time.

I note that Yarran has been struggling and has some off field stuff happening and is back in Perth seemingly every other week... and is best mates with NN.

Would the Eagles, given where we are at look at a trade of Kerr for Yarran & Carltons first rounder (around 10)?

That would give us Yarran and 2 Top Ten picks this year.

Some may see it as the Blues overpaying for an almost 26 year old but they really aren't going anywhere without more toughness and Ratten is their coach and Judd is Kerr's best mate. In addition, Yarran is looking like a 2 years and come home type at present anyway.

I would be reluctant to trade Kerr but the idea of Yarran and 2 more Top 10 mids has a certain appeal.

I was watching Kerr last week and strangely had been thinking during the Carlton/Ess game, how much the Blues need a player exactly like Kerr. They lack hardness around the middle big time.

I note that Yarran has been struggling and has some off field stuff happening and is back in Perth seemingly every other week... and is best mates with NN.

Would the Eagles, given where we are at look at a trade of Kerr for Yarran & Carltons first rounder (around 10)?

Some may see it as the Blues overpaying for an almost 26 year old but they really aren't going anywhere without more toughness and Ratten is their coach and Judd is Kerr's best mate. In addition, Yarran is looking like a 2 years and come home type at present anyway.

I would be reluctant to trade Kerr but the idea of Yarran and 2 more Top 10 mids has a certain appeal.

I think that this is a sensible/fair trade for both parties. The only thing that I find annoying is that it does not give us an opportunity to get back at Carlton for bending us over on the Judd trade. (I will concede though that with the development of Kennedy the trade is looking better and better for us and perhaps I should just let go and enjoy the new WCE look.)

I dare say that Kerr would play far better for Carlton then he is currently for us.

The only unknown for me is how good Yarran is? Though given that there are some good judges of young talent that have salivated over him, on this board, I am willing to accept that he has talent to be "elite".

Are we sure the whole Yarran being back isn't being overtalked?

I'm not sure if that would happen. Losing Kerr would be detrimental to our team I think.

I would not give Kerr up in a million years. We just have to stand by Kerry while the kids develop. Once the kids have matured and add Kerr into that mix, then crikey, we have ourselves a formidable engine room again.

Are we sure the whole Yarran being back isn't being overtalked?

I'm not sure if that would happen. Losing Kerr would be detrimental to our team I think.

Yarran never wanted to leave Perth.

When NN & Walters ended up in Perth, I suspect that increased. Even Carlton have conceded that he has had some issues to deal with. He has been back in Perth several times for otherwise unscheduled visits.

He still has massive talent.

I agree losing Kerr hurts us. Yarran, Morabito and another mid may offset that to some extent. Yarran immediately frees up Lecras to play more time in midfield too....

I look at Selwood (& Selwood) and Ebert and even Priddis and I wonder if we aren't going to be ok for hard inside players and I start thinking.....

Possibly. Maybe. The bottom line is Kerr hasn't done much for the last two seasons, and doesn't look like doing much in the future. I'd rather have Rich than Kerr atm, although obviously that's not possible. Your suggestion has some merit.

Maybe but I think that we would be getting the roar end again...
I would be more inclinde to go like this..

Kerr + 3rd rnd Pick for Yarran + 1st Rnd pick + Andrew Walker

That would give us Yarran and 2 Top Ten picks ??? this year.

First of all - Eagles would be silly for trading Kerr despite his lack of form at present.
Second of all - just how are the eagles going to get 2 top 10 picks this year anyway ? The PP is as good as gone.

IMHO this trade would be detrimental to the squad.

Kerr takes the best tag every week he plays, and he gets tagged bloody hard at that.

If we were to trade Kerr. Apart form his obvious talent, we would also subject one of our younger players to the most formidable tag our opponent has to offer and this could also affect the development of that player.

If Yarran is so desperate to come home I think our best option would be to wait for his contract to expire and make an offer for him then.

First of all - Eagles would be silly for trading Kerr despite his lack of form at present.
Second of all - just how are the eagles going to get 2 top 10 picks this year anyway ? The PP is as good as gone.

Huh?

Yarran + Carltons pick 1 (likely around 10) and our pick 1 (likely around 5) gives us Yarran and 2 Top 10 picks.

Wasn't that difficult was it?

IMHO this trade would be detrimental to the squad.

Kerr takes the best tag every week he plays, and he gets tagged bloody hard at that.

If we were to trade Kerr. Apart form his obvious talent, we would also subject one of our younger players to the most formidable tag our opponent has to offer and this could also affect the development of that player.

If Yarran is so desperate to come home I think our best option would be to wait for his contract to expire and make an offer for him then.

Re Yarran, perhaps.

Your comments on tagging and your assumptions about what happens if Kerr goes re tagging are naive. You need to understand why players get tagged.

Yarran comes back to visit his dad often who is in prison... its being overtalked.

As for the trade.. watch the 2006 gf and tell me you dont want Daniel Kerr? When he is up and running he is awesome, wins ALL the hard balls...

Watch some of the earlier games of the season and HOW god dam hard he has to work for a possession with a tagger hanging right onto him... more often than not he takes clean possesion and dishes it off to a teammate in space while he is being tackled, all in the same motion.

We NEED Kerr.. he is irreplacable, once the other midfielders mature, hopefully by next year, Kerr can really start to be damaging, as the others take a little attention away from him..

Currently he is getting absolutely smashed at every contest because lack of protection, something old Rowan Jones and the like were good at... I just wish Beau Waters was out there for a bit of toughness, but blokes like Kennedy have really started to lift in this area, something he definately has over Ashley Hansen.

In the end I think this shouldn't even be talked about, he doesn't want to go anywhere otherwise he wouldnt of signed a long deal, he CAN be one of the best in the competition, NO DOUBT... but it requires heavily on other players supporting him, otherwise there will be many weeks of him missing with "General Soreness".

Ddo you really think with all the recovery methods Eagles go through, considering we even played at home and didn't travel, that he would miss just after a couple of bumps? No.. he has been getting hammered and needs help in that area, Priddis, Selwood etc have to lift and show the youngsters too.

Depends on where we finish, the criteria for a before the first round priority pick are less then 4.5 wins over a two year period, currently the only teams which qualify are

Us

Melbourne you would think are montys for this and we're teetirng on the edge. Assuming we win another game for the year and the ladder stays the way it is the draft order would be for the top 10

Port Adelaide

So we should have one pick in the top 10 as long we stay below 8th place. If we were to get Carlton's pick it would be 2 top 10ers

Re Yarran, perhaps.

Your comments on tagging and your assumptions about what happens if Kerr goes re tagging are naive. You need to understand why players get tagged.

I understand why players get tagged quite well thanks.

My point is that whilst Kerr appears to have little impact on games. He is drawing the oppositions best tagger. Which in effect is an impact, albeit unnoticed. The man has undeniable talent and is still at an age where he can offer great service to the club.

My understanding of Yarran is that he is a possible risk and I dont personally think he and a number 10 draft pick could quite offer the same service as Kerr.

Yarran comes back to visit his dad often who is in prison... its being overtalked.

As for the trade.. watch the 2006 gf and tell me you dont want Daniel Kerr? When he is up and running he is awesome, wins ALL the hard balls...

Watch some of the earlier games of the season and HOW god dam hard he has to work for a possession with a tagger hanging right onto him... more often than not he takes clean possesion and dishes it off to a teammate in space while he is being tackled, all in the same motion.

We NEED Kerr.. he is irreplacable, once the other midfielders mature, hopefully by next year, Kerr can really start to be damaging, as the others take a little attention away from him..

Currently he is getting absolutely smashed at every contest because lack of protection, something old Rowan Jones and the like were good at... I just wish Beau Waters was out there for a bit of toughness, but blokes like Kennedy have really started to lift in this area, something he definately has over Ashley Hansen.

In the end I think this shouldn't even be talked about, he doesn't want to go anywhere otherwise he wouldnt of signed a long deal, he CAN be one of the best in the competition, NO DOUBT... but it requires heavily on other players supporting him, otherwise there will be many weeks of him missing with "General Soreness".

Ddo you really think with all the recovery methods Eagles go through, considering we even played at home and didn't travel, that he would miss just after a couple of bumps? No.. he has been getting hammered and needs help in that area, Priddis, Selwood etc have to lift and show the youngsters too.

He comes back often - how is stating that "overtalk"?

He misses Perth and he likes to see his Father. Surely these issues make a Perth base more attractive? His best mates are all in Perth.

I agree that Kerr is a gun and have been one of his strongest supporters. Kerr will be 26 at the beginning of next season and has a lot of miles on the clock. In 4 years when Yarran is 23 and the 2 Top Ten picks are 22, Kerr will be 30.....

Most on here, and in Australia generally, don't seem to grasp that good trading is all about making deals that appeal to both parties. We all want to offer Seaby and Hansen for a Top 5 pick. The proposed trade gives us potentially 3 more top line running players for an elite player who will likely be 28+ before we genuinely contend again. And for Kerr, 28 will be like 35 for a lot of people who are less "bash, crash" types.

The idea of trading Kerr has nothing to do with an assertion that he is no good, rather the opposite. The notion is more about being pragmatic and making the team stronger in 3 years - when we will next be in real contention.

I reckon it might work.

Yarran never wanted to leave Perth.

When NN & Walters ended up in Perth, I suspect that increased. Even Carlton have conceded that he has had some issues to deal with. He has been back in Perth several times for otherwise unscheduled visits.

He still has massive talent.

I agree losing Kerr hurts us. Yarran, Morabito and another mid may offset that to some extent. Yarran immediately frees up Lecras to play more time in midfield too....

I look at Selwood (& Selwood) and Ebert and even Priddis and I wonder if we aren't going to be ok for hard inside players and I start thinking.....

Funny you should bring this up. A mate and I were discussing the very possibility of trading Kerr before the game last week depending on what we got in return obviously. Its definitely an awkward one.

His value is at his highest at the moment and do we risk perhaps keeping him on in the hope he gets back to his best or could we potentially miss the train if he never gets back to his best (bit like Hansen a couple of years ago with the Doggies).

He's not doing that great at the moment but is that because he has no support? Will his impact/output improve as the mids around him develop? Have we seen the best of him or are we likely to see him tear it up again with the likes of Judd, Murphy, Gibbs, Carazzo, Stevens etc around him?

Personally, I have a feeling we've seen the best of Kerr for the West Coast. Only because I think he is just getting r*ped and bashed at the moment and his natural game tends to be pretty high impact and physical anyway. By the time our younger kids are able to take some pressure off him in a couple of years time I reckon you'll find Kerr will be struggling to stay injury free to be of any consistent use. Infact, its starting to show a bit now. So perhaps we're holding on to someone who is never going to be able to have the impact we know he could for us.

So in those terms I'm not against it necessarily, but I'm not particularly convinced it would be the best thing either.

On an aside, and very immature of me I know, the Blues seem a good fit given what they need AND what they could offer.... but geez! they are my hate team and I'd hate to see them win anything and giving them Kerr I reckon would just about guarantee them if not one, then several premierships... gross! I think I just did a small puke in my mouth...

Also, aren't Yarran's trips home something to do with visiting his dad who is in jail at the moment? Apologies if this is wrong, but thats what I remember reading on another thread somewhere.

E87, you seem to know a few of the administrators at West Coast. Do you reckon they'd go for a deal with the blues or are they a bit cut about the whole Judd trade? They're probably a bit more mature and professional than I am though, so they've probably moved on. :)

Maybe but I think that we would be getting the roar end again...
I would be more inclinde to go like this..

Kerr + 3rd rnd Pick for Yarran + 1st Rnd pick + Andrew Walker

I'm sorry but WHY would we want Walker? What is it exactly about this guy (apart from the fact he ripped us a new one in his debut game) that is so attractive? What has he shown consistently, apart from the ability to be consistently injured or out of form, that would make us consider him a good fit for us?

The other option of course is:

WCE trade Kerr + 5th round pick2nd Round pick to carlton.
Carlt trade Murphy + 3rd Rnd Pick+ 1st pick to Brisbane.
Brisbane trade Rich + 1st rnd pic to WCE

that gives us 2 first round picks Plus Daniel Rich.:thumbsu:
Brisbane get Mark Murphy+ 3rd rnd pick and a 1st round Pick
Carlton get Daniel Kerr and 2 second round picks

I understand why players get tagged quite well thanks.

My point is that whilst Kerr appears to have little impact on games. He is drawing the oppositions best tagger. Which in effect is an impact, albeit unnoticed. The man has undeniable talent and is still at an age where he can offer great service to the club.

My understanding of Yarran is that he is a possible risk and I dont personally think he and a number 10 draft pick could quite offer the same service as Kerr.

No, its clear you have NFI about taggers..

Let me ask you this, when Cousins, Kerr & Judd started in the middle who was our "tagger"? ....

Teams only tag when it provides them with a greater benefit than not tagging. Hard, shut-down tags even moreso. Often teams are using run with/run off types more these days. Against West Coast its being pretty straight forward - Kerr is/has been the one guy, the only guy with real hurt factor in our midfield AND he is taggable.

When he didnt play v Geelong they ran no hard tags on us at all - instead they let Ling start near Priddis but basically run off him all day (he had 26 possessions).

Taggers are a "horses for courses" deal, its not like all teams walk out with an absolute tagger who has to have an opponent every week (especially in modern footy with midfield zones) - Brett Kirk is probably the one top liner who absolutely locks someone down every week - which is as much a function of his lack of pace as anything.....

Your assumption and assertion is that in Kerrs absence "the tagger" will lock down on someone else - thats simply not true.

Yarran might be a risk. As might a pick 10.

You could also end up with 2 players near Kerr's level but 7 and 8 years younger - which considering where we are ma be of greater benefit.

I'm sorry but WHY would we want Walker? What is it exactly about this guy (apart from the fact he ripped us a new one in his debut game) that is so attractive? What has he shown consistently, apart from the ability to be consistently injured or out of form, that would make us consider him a good fit for us?
I think with the size of Subi he would be better suited and if he gets his injuries behind him he could be a hell of a player.
He has shown he has immence ability and if we could get him playing well I believe he could be a real asset to the team.
He has shown he has pace, Skill and like to run and carry the ball.
Thats why.

The other option of course is:

WCE trade Kerr + 5th round pick2nd Round pick to carlton.
Carlt trade Murphy + 3rd Rnd Pick+ 1st pick to Brisbane.
Brisbane trade Rich + 1st rnd pic to WCE

that gives us 2 first round picks Plus Daniel Rich.:thumbsu:
Brisbane get Mark Murphy+ 3rd rnd pick and a 1st round Pick
Carlton get Daniel Kerr and 2 second round picks

And Murphy would go to Brisbane why?...... Especially as he declined the offer to go there under the father-son rule when he was eligibile?

You ask for opinions and I gave mine.

Just because my opinion differs from yours is in no way indicative of my understanding of football.

Huh?

You proceeded to buttress your view with a dissertation on tagging and what would happen to "one of our kids" at the hands of the mean taggers if Kerr didn't play. I simply pointed out that if that was a key concern from your perspective, it shouldnt be because its a flawed view, a view without any merit. I assumed this was based on you having NFI about taggers and their role.

Nothing to do with opinions at all. :)