Wow

• Thread starter Thread starter *PAF

Kane McGoodwin said:
The banter & right to express opinions still exist - as long as they are within the BF etiquette.

Hmmm . . . . .

What do you define as etiquette?

Dude, you are too regimental for the gig you are doing. Relax bloke, take in some air and you will be all good.

Take in some yoga or pilates and you will find that seemingly annoying posts will just float on by.:thumbsu: :)

Total Power said:
Have an opinion but respect other posters.While posting on the club boards respect the club!

That seems fair enough. Attack someone's opinion, but not them personally. Play the ball not the man. Well, sometime's rub them out if their heads over the ball and you can get a really clean hip-and-shoulder - everyone needs to have their head cleared every now and again. ;)

Total Power said:
Have an opinion but respect other posters.While posting on the club boards respect the club!

AHHHHH . . . .. .

Now I know where you are coming from.

I am respected on your Board because I do that.

Did they upset you in that way? You should have let them know via PM that your Board doesn't take shyte.

I won't be on here for too much longer as I have been given the word I am about to be banned as well.

For expressing an opinion?? Fair enough.

After all. I live in OZ . . . not in a computer!!!!!!:thumbsu: :)

Total Power said:
Thats even worse.Its like parrot on the main board, just trying to draw abuse, create fights on the main board, inviting trouble.You have the right to have your opinion mate but i am with the mods here.Abusing someone personally cannot be called wit.

I agree.

I will always denegrate your Club on my Board but show respect when I go on yours.

If it gets personal . . . . well I guess you need to show what kind of person you really are.

You either bite or let go.

Cove Cobra said:
Hmmm . . . . .

What do you define as etiquette?

Dude, you are too regimental for the gig you are doing. Relax bloke, take in some air and you will be all good.

Take in some yoga or pilates and you will find that seemingly annoying posts will just float on by.:thumbsu: :)
Hmmm & you are asking me to relax... If you have a major issue with me enforcing the following BF etiquette, contact the Adrian Groves & voice a complaint:

1) Creating New Threads

Contrary to popular opinion, it IS NOT a Good Thing to start a new thread when:

a) Your point of view is hammered in a discussion and want to restate your initial point so it has a better chance of being accepted and you have a better chance of being seen to "win" a discussion.

b) You have a new pimple and MUST tell everyone about it.

c) You cannot see a topic heading on the first page of thread listings that contains the EXACT same wording of the topic heading you wish to use on a thread.

Before you start a new thread it IS a Good Thing to use the SEARCH function to see if a thread on the topic has already been started. It IS a Good Thing to read that thread through and THEN, only after you have done this, add your comment or argument to that thread.

It is not Good to add "lol" or or "agree" or similar to a months-old post. If a thread is relevant to current topic it isn't necessarily wrong to post "Bump" or similar to bring the thread back to the top of topics. You are always better off posting relevant thoughts or a reason why the subject of the thread is topical again.

I know some browsers have trouble with the drop-down menu, so use this link to get to the search page:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/search.php?

The practice of adding comments to existing threads (only after having read through them) will increase the quality of the site. Moderators will merge threads on the same topic to keep a better variety of threads visible on the front page of thread listings.

2) Adding New Posts

Each board is devoted to a different topic, with one General Talk board which covers everything else. This helps people find topics they want to discuss. Please stick to the topic of the board.

Keep your discussion to the topic of the thread. If you have a new point not related to the thread's topic think about starting a new thread. If it isn't related to the current topic and isn't worth starting a new thread over (see point 1) then maybe it isn't worth mentioning.

Quote only the portions of a post you are addressing. Quoting long passages of text or links to huge images is not encouraged.

Team boards are for supporters of each team. You may post on any opposition team board but remember you are a guest and the moderator of that board may block your access if you abuse their hospitality by disrespecting their team or club. (See point #4)

3) Language and Grammar

Try to use Standard English (which you would have learned in school).

Try to structure sentences and paragraphs so people understand what you are trying to say.

Don't use SMS/text chat speak, it sux n u look dum wn u do dat.

Explain, or link to explanations of, words that are not commonly used outside a particular technical area.

4) Courtesy and Respect (Argue the point, not the person.)

Courtesy and manners are not something you owe to others. You owe them to yourself.

Discuss topics, but leave personal remarks out of the discussion unless they relate to the topic at hand.

Saying "You are stupid if you believe that..." isn't very constructive and is not a point of discussion relating to the topic.

"You obviously haven't done any research on this if you think that..." or "If you had read/heard/seen X then you wouldn't be stating Y" are more acceptable. Of course we aren't expecting you to adopt the demeanour of an 18th century Queens Counsel but you get the picture.

Lastly:

If you have an issue with a user or moderator take it up with the moderator of the board on which the issue arises. If you don't get satisfaction contact me via the link at the top of each and every page on the site.

If it is a personal issue don't even bring it onto the site. Its not fun to watch and you end up looking foolish.

Thanks for taking the time to read these guidelines.

Cove Cobra said:
I won't be on here for too much longer as I have been given the word I am about to be banned as well.
Now you are clearly lying.

I have warned you that certain behaviour is unacceptable & that if you continue down this path you will be banned. ie. A warning - at this stage.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Hmmm & you are asking me to relax... If you have a major issue with me enforcing the following BF etiquette, contact the Adrian Groves & voice a complaint:

1) Creating New Threads

Contrary to popular opinion, it IS NOT a Good Thing to start a new thread when:

a) Your point of view is hammered in a discussion and want to restate your initial point so it has a better chance of being accepted and you have a better chance of being seen to "win" a discussion.

b) You have a new pimple and MUST tell everyone about it.

c) You cannot see a topic heading on the first page of thread listings that contains the EXACT same wording of the topic heading you wish to use on a thread.

Before you start a new thread it IS a Good Thing to use the SEARCH function to see if a thread on the topic has already been started. It IS a Good Thing to read that thread through and THEN, only after you have done this, add your comment or argument to that thread.

It is not Good to add "lol" or or "agree" or similar to a months-old post. If a thread is relevant to current topic it isn't necessarily wrong to post "Bump" or similar to bring the thread back to the top of topics. You are always better off posting relevant thoughts or a reason why the subject of the thread is topical again.

I know some browsers have trouble with the drop-down menu, so use this link to get to the search page:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/search.php?

The practice of adding comments to existing threads (only after having read through them) will increase the quality of the site. Moderators will merge threads on the same topic to keep a better variety of threads visible on the front page of thread listings.

2) Adding New Posts

Each board is devoted to a different topic, with one General Talk board which covers everything else. This helps people find topics they want to discuss. Please stick to the topic of the board.

Keep your discussion to the topic of the thread. If you have a new point not related to the thread's topic think about starting a new thread. If it isn't related to the current topic and isn't worth starting a new thread over (see point 1) then maybe it isn't worth mentioning.

Quote only the portions of a post you are addressing. Quoting long passages of text or links to huge images is not encouraged.

Team boards are for supporters of each team. You may post on any opposition team board but remember you are a guest and the moderator of that board may block your access if you abuse their hospitality by disrespecting their team or club. (See point #4)

3) Language and Grammar

Try to use Standard English (which you would have learned in school).

Try to structure sentences and paragraphs so people understand what you are trying to say.

Don't use SMS/text chat speak, it sux n u look dum wn u do dat.

Explain, or link to explanations of, words that are not commonly used outside a particular technical area.

4) Courtesy and Respect (Argue the point, not the person.)

Courtesy and manners are not something you owe to others. You owe them to yourself.

Discuss topics, but leave personal remarks out of the discussion unless they relate to the topic at hand.

Saying "You are stupid if you believe that..." isn't very constructive and is not a point of discussion relating to the topic.

"You obviously haven't done any research on this if you think that..." or "If you had read/heard/seen X then you wouldn't be stating Y" are more acceptable. Of course we aren't expecting you to adopt the demeanour of an 18th century Queens Counsel but you get the picture.

Lastly:

If you have an issue with a user or moderator take it up with the moderator of the board on which the issue arises. If you don't get satisfaction contact me via the link at the top of each and every page on the site.

If it is a personal issue don't even bring it onto the site. Its not fun to watch and you end up looking foolish.

Thanks for taking the time to read these guidelines.

Bloody hell!

I hope you cut and pasted your rhetoric mate.

I UNDERSTAND you rules and regs. I wasn't having a go at any ONE person at all.

I believe in the freedom of speech and saying what you want to say bloke.

You don't have to agree with me. For crying out loud, I do believe in the philosophy "agree to disagree".

Ever heard of that phrase?

Kane McGoodwin said:
Now you are clearly lying.

I have warned you that certain behaviour is unacceptable & that if you continue down this path you will be banned. ie. A warning - at this stage.

Should I post the PM?

Jesus, CC - just go and take a deep breath and chill for a while. Jack will be back - he's like the T1000 from Terminator 2. Impossible to kill and will return in multiple guises and personalities.

Cove Cobra said:
Should I post the PM?

If you wanted to guarantee being suspended that would do it.

Kristof said:
Jesus, CC - just go and take a deep breath and chill for a while. Jack will be back - he's like the T1000 from Terminator 2. Impossible to kill and will return in multiple guises and personalities.

Hey kristof, how are you mate?

I bloody well hope he will be back, along with the Rooch.

I enjoyed their banter and such.

That is all it was. When will people realise the value of humour???:confused:

Fred said:
If you wanted to guarantee being suspended that would do it.

I thought you would post something about Adelaide, Fred. After all you ARE IN THE ADELAIDE BOARD.

I am having a discussion with The ADELAIDE BOARD Moderator. I don't notice your name listed as Moderator.

If you are an Administrator well, you have issues that need IMMEDIATE addressing.

Ah, look, I like Jack as much as the next guy. I think he is a bit of a goose, and I wouldn't advise calling him up for advice on coaching your son's under 8 footy team - but I find his niggling funny, and he's been helpful with getting AFL games on the internet, which is great when you live overseas.

That being said, I agree that when folks cross the line they should be smacked. Maybe not forever, but people have the right to read the boards and post on them without them becoming full of complete prejudiced tripe. I never even got the chance to read Jack's post, so I have no idea what he wrote, but in theory I agree with everything Kane has to do and it is a tough job.

Cove Cobra said:
Hey kristof, how are you mate?

I bloody well hope he will be back, along with the Rooch.

I enjoyed their banter and such.

That is all it was. When will people realise the value of humour???:confused:

Rooch will never be back. Not for any length of time anyway.

kinda didnt expect this from a site such as this one:confused: :eek:

Total Power said:
CC you have lost it tonight mate, go take a chill pill, you are overreacting like none other, what you find humourous might not be humour to someone else.Its called "difference of opinion"

It might be the liquor you reckon??

Mate, I believe in free speech. You should be able to state an opinion, regardless of whether it conforms to society or not.

In regards to this website, it's all about footy and the accociated shyte that happens.

I live by the philosophy, agree to disagree. Always will. The website is FAR too regimented these days AND I was stating MY OPINION.

Kristof said:
Something MUST have been said, but I have no idea what it was - which is probably the point of removing a thread and cutting loose a poster.

Damn, Cro-mo is going to be having a sad day if they've cut OBJ. He gonna go all Brokeback- "I wish I could quit you ..."

would you stop trying to introduce me into your homoerotic fantasies.

I'll say it for the last time - no means no! ;)

Paralowiepower said:
Gee, when I clicked on this thread I thought it was going to be about the cricket.

I'm still in shock :(
Your'e not kidding. I wish I had a buck on South Africa winning, I reckon they would have been about 434 to 1.