Wow

• Thread starter Thread starter *PAF

cro_Magnum said:
Your'e not kidding. I wish I had a buck on South Africa winning, I reckon they would have been about 434 to 1.

I sat up till 3-30 this morning with eyes glued to the tv & if i didn't see it i would not have believed it. :eek: :eek:

B Julian on Fox was offering 1000-1 SA during the lunch break but M Waugh wouldn't take him on.

noddy said:
I sat up till 3-30 this morning with eyes glued to the tv & if i didn't see it i would not have believed it. :eek: :eek:

B Julian on Fox was offering 1000-1 SA during the lunch break but M Waugh wouldn't take him on.

What an unbelievable match. How good was Ponting.

Gibbs deserves every accolade he gets.

Now - can anyone tell my WHY Dizzy isn't playing? For crying our loud, from what I saw last night he should be a walk up start.

One of the best matches I have ever seen.

ps I stand by my comments in the previous posts that I made.

On the subject of our mate Jack, well i gotta admit i do find a lot of his posts amusing & he definitely has the knack of casting a line out far & wide.

But when one crosses that "line" then we all can expect to be pulled out of circulation, no ifs no buts.

Total Power said:
I bet my house on it.

Don’t you mean the South Australian Housing trust because you’re a Port Adelaide supporter; repeat after me it’s the Governments house, and not mine.

:D

Edit: TP it was simply a joke and that all it was.

noddy said:
On the subject of our mate Jack, well i gotta admit i do find a lot of his posts amusing & he definitely has the knack of casting a line out far & wide.

But when one crosses that "line" then we all can expect to be pulled out of circulation, no ifs no buts.

He is one of the best 'fishermen' I have come across.

Got heaps of bites from all types of species.

Same with our mate the Rooch.

Will miss them, hope they go to ATCF to discuss footy and such.

Mate, the National Liberal Party cast out more lines and catch more fish than anyone I've ever seen.

Remember Tampa???

I enjoyed OBJ and the Rooches posts. It is really disappointing to know they won't be seen anymore.

crows98 said:
Don’t you mean the South Australian Housing trust because you’re a Port Adelaide supporter; repeat after me it’s the Governments house, and not mine.

:D

Edit: TP it was simply a joke and that all it was.

Luckily for you you added the 'edit'. You might have been banned!!:D

Cove Cobra said:
I enjoyed OBJ and the Rooches posts. It is really disappointing to know they won't be seen anymore.

Being on Global Ignore is not being banned. Totally different thing.

hmmm thanks Kane / Dave :o - my job at ATCF may have just been made a little more difficult!

CC - you will find that we take our jobs as moderators on ATCF just as seriously as the guys on here do as well. The internet is not free from Libel laws and us (as volunteers that moderate sites) are the first in the firing line. Humour is all well and good but like harrasement - even if your intent was not harrasement if the person takes it that way then it is harrassment. Humour may have been the intent from Jack (never saw the posts so I can not tell, only go by what has been revealed here) but if it is offensive or a personal attack then bye bye to the post. Banning someone from any site generally means that they have consistently stepped over the line and have been warned a few times.

I agree with freedom of speech but personal attacks are not welcomed. Freedom of speech does also not extend to racial, sexual or religious vilification.

NikkiNoo said:
hmmm thanks Kane / Dave :o - my job at ATCF may have just been made a little more difficult!

CC - you will find that we take our jobs as moderators on ATCF just as seriously as the guys on here do as well. The internet is not free from Libel laws and us (as volunteers that moderate sites) are the first in the firing line. Humour is all well and good but like harrasement - even if your intent was not harrasement if the person takes it that way then it is harrassment. Humour may have been the intent from Jack (never saw the posts so I can not tell, only go by what has been revealed here) but if it is offensive or a personal attack then bye bye to the post. Banning someone from any site generally means that they have consistently stepped over the line and have been warned a few times.

I agree with freedom of speech but personal attacks are not welcomed. Freedom of speech does also not extend to racial, sexual or religious vilification.

I am not a white extremist.

I am not a homophobe.

I am not a religious person (ask Kane;) )

I DO believe in the RIGHT of free speech. If you don't want to read the posts then fine, it's all good.

OBJ and the Rooch I found entertaining. Still do. Remembering some of the posts they made still gives me a good belly laugh.

For crying out loud, is everything that serious these days? I live in Australia, not freaking America don't I???:confused:

Cove Cobra said:
Luckily for you you added the 'edit'. You might have been banned!!:D
Hopefully CC some people can still take a joke and keep a sense of humour but not cross that line. :thumbsu:

Banning OBJ was a good move and IMO it was about bloody time, he was a serial pot stirrer who’s main objective on this board was to urinate on others supporters (or primarily Port Adelaide and Tredrea) rather than talk about how his own side was going. The Rooch, Rave Slave and a few others have also gone in the last few weeks and if they broke the rules of conduct then they also have to pay the penalty.

Every AFL club has a rivalry with a different club and trolls are always going to exist where a difference of opinion can be aired. For Groves to run a website that will attract consumers from a diverse range of areas he has to make sure it follow the same standard of business ethics a retail store would stop the antics of some who take it to far. Would you walk into Harvey Norman or Myers and start talking about issues that were irrelevant? www.bigfooty.com.au is a public forum where topics of conversations can and are read by an extremely diverse range of people.

Freedom of speech is a very important quality to have in society but when posters starts talking about topics that shows a lack of respect towards others and denying them dignity is over stepping the boundary’s, for different cultures and religions to succussed in Australians we have to show tolerance towards others and in no way accept belligerent behaviour to simply big note our self. Inappropriate behaviour cannot be rewarded, not in primary school, not in a public shopping centre and certainly not in a public forum where others have to read it, If other want to have a forum where adult material, profanities and indignant behaviour is accepted then they are welcome to it, but Big Footy has to appeal to the common person, not one single minority group.

Sorry that just my rant on the topic, it was not directed at anyone but more towards the situation at present, and I agree with the banning of late.

crows98 said:
Banning OBJ was a good move and IMO it was about bloody time, he was a serial pot stirrer who’s main objective on this board was to urinate on others supporters (or primarily Port Adelaide and Tredrea) rather than talk about how his own side was going. The Rooch, Rave Slave and a few others have also gone in the last few weeks and if they broke the rules of conduct then they also have to pay the penalty.

Every AFL club has a rivalry with a different club and trolls are always going to exist where a difference of opinion can be aired but for Groves to run a website that will attract consumers from a diverse range of areas he has to make sure it follow the same standard of business ethics a retail store would stop the antics of some who take it to far. Would you walk into Harvey Norman or Myers and start talking about issues that were irrelevant? www.bigfooty.com.au is a public forum where topics of conversations can and are read by an extremely diverse range of people.

Freedom of speech is a very important quality to have in society but when posters starts talking about topics that shows a lack of respect towards others and denying them dignity is over stepping the boundary’s, for different cultures and religions to succussed in Australians we have to show tolerance towards others and in no way accept belligerent behaviour to simply big note our self. Inappropriate behaviour cannot be rewarded, not in primary school, not in a public shopping centre and certainly not in a public forum where others have to read it, If other want to have a forum where adult material, profanities and indignant behaviour is accepted then they are welcome to it, but Big Footy has to appeal to the common person, not one single minority group.

Sorry that just my rant on the topic, it was not directed at anyone but more towards the situation at present, and I agree with the banning of late.

I enjoyed reading your post Crows98. I agree to a certain extent.

So - humour in the world is lost eh? Thats MY OWN OPINION.

OBJ and the Rooch were HUMOUROUS posters. Yes the cast their bait out, and got a bucket load of bites.

Who is the person in the wrong? The person who posts or the person that bites?

I have not read this entire thread.

The only comment I'll make (or, indeed, have time to make) is that the next step is to (virtually) sit down with the person in question and discuss why this action was taken and what can be done to change the behaviour that brought it about.

Any other questions can be directed directly to me via the "Contact Us" option above as I do not think it fair to discuss specifics in public without that person being able to add their thoughts.

Cove Cobra said:

Thank you

Absolutely not, humour can still be enjoyed in every single environment and is one of the world s universal breading grounds for unity and friendship but when someone goes to far and crosses over that point of no return then yes it does have to be dealt with.

OBJ and the Rooch were HUMOUROUS posters. Yes the cast their bait out, and got a bucket load of bites.

And they never took certain circumstances way to far or unnecessary baiting took place?

If the baited also engages in the moronic antics then they also have to be dealt with because it takes two to tango.

Both are equally as bad and unless either party have lied when signing up and broken a basic rule of entry every one should be somewhat of a level of maturity. The rule to gaining this forum is that you have to be over 13 years of age and even a stupid 13 year old would have some maturity

Cove Cobra said:

Time to lighten up and move on CC. :)

I've always enjoyed jackie boy's shyte stirring, and never fallen for it myself. He's given me a heap of chuckles when others take the bait.

But he does cross the line at times, and rules are rules.

He'll be back.

crows98 said:

Every AFL club has a rivalry with a different club and trolls are always going to exist where a difference of opinion can be aired. For Groves to run a website that will attract consumers from a diverse range of areas he has to make sure it follow the same standard of business ethics a retail store would stop the antics of some who take it to far. Would you walk into Harvey Norman or Myers and start talking about issues that were irrelevant? www.bigfooty.com.au is a public forum where topics of conversations can and are read by an extremely diverse range of people.

That is very well said.Thats the main reason i think jack should remain banned/ignored! Like paralowie said it might be comical for the crows fan but its not comical for port fans at all.Starting irrelevant s hit stirring threads on the main board, his main intention was to create a fight and then get personal with people about their job and life :rolleyes: .
Well done mods :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Total Power said:
That is very well said.Thats the main reason i think jack should remain banned/ignored! Like paralowie said it might be comical for the crows fan but its not comical for port fans at all.Starting irrelevant s hit stirring threads on the main board, his main intention was to create a fight and then get personal with people about their job and life :rolleyes: .
Well done mods :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

actually sounds as if you've been traumatised quite badly by this bloke.

Total Power said:
His trolling was getting a bit boring actually.I asked him to get some new material once, but he cannot get anything outside of tredrea and rutten thing :D

Have been quite a few threads started by yourself, Toots & others of the PA tribe along the lines of what Jack set up on the main board over the last couple of years & don't tell me that those threads were not intended for the purpose of baiting Jack.

Just that Jack was very good at what he does best & you guys were always playing catch-up.