WRFL Division 2 - 2012

Is it hard to survive, u bet is it!! I love local football! I love the suburban rivalries! If this league wants to get on the front foot, create a division where noone, except the coach, gets payed. Presidents would need to take a stance and support it, because if they / we dont, clubs are going to fall by the wayside. Interested in ya thoughts?

Although it would be hard to police, the idea itself has some merit and should not be dismissed without a serious look at it. Local footy is not what it used to be and there would be plenty of clubs that would love to be involved in a competition where there were other factors involved in success besides "who has the most money".

I know the ammos are there but the travel involved is a major sticking point.

At the end of the day, we are the Laverton Football Club.. Yes we deserved every bit of our bad reputation. Those days are well and truly behind us . As most are aware, our coach is the only person who commands a contract.
Is it hard to survive, u bet is it!! I love local football! I love the suburban rivalries! If this league wants to get on the front foot, create a division where noone, except the coach, gets payed. Presidents would need to take a stance and support it, because if they / we dont, clubs are going to fall by the wayside. Interested in ya thoughts?

You are silly. Dont pay players, the league is one of the worst skill wise, now u wanna take away the better players. Probably would help the struggling clubs, heard that braybrook are struggling to pay their players. Dont worry, i asked the same question, what players? Hard enough to get players to take a satday off work to play footy, now you are going to not pay them. bye bye divvy 2

Lollypop this is not a personal crack at you because your comments and opinion are probably shared by many BUT....

Something has seriously gone wrong when we are saying that unless you pay players that wont play anymore? I am sure there was a time when players played local footy for fu?

Its a funny situation where at most suburban clubs men with jobs are paid money to come and play footy and kids with no income have to pay to play the game (and alot of the time the money from the kids is used to pay the senior players). Think we may have things backwards!!

Lollypop this is not a personal crack at you because your comments and opinion are probably shared by many BUT....

Something has seriously gone wrong when we are saying that unless you pay players that wont play anymore? I am sure there was a time when players played local footy for fu?

Its a funny situation where at most suburban clubs men with jobs are paid money to come and play footy and kids with no income have to pay to play the game (and alot of the time the money from the kids is used to pay the senior players). Think we may have things backwards!!

Yes players used to play for the fun of it, and im sure a lot of reserves players do do that. But look at the seniors. Nowadays if they dont get the cash they wont, they go country. Bloke getting 6 times what he was paid in the wrfl per week. Going to no payments, a lot will go edfl, or country. You can compare with ammos if you want but they hav a good standard of footy, we dont.

Does it really matter if our standard is better or worse than the league next to us? Who cares. Competing with other comps is why we are at where we are now... and we are still no good compared to the EDFL.

Everyone is completely brainwashed by the AFL and they forget that we are a local football comp:
The standard of footy must improve
My club must get better
We must be more professional
We must generate more income
Our players must "stick to the structures"

Give me a spell!!!

Clubs being unable to met the payments that they have agreed to will become a more regular event over the next few years.

GBF50 haven't you changed your tune from 2.5 years ago???
When Point Cook FC made the decision to choose the Ammo's over WRFL you were very outspoken on this forum in regards to kicking them out of the WRFL (juniors that is)???
Many of the points you have just made in your recent post were a majority of the reasons why the Point Cook FC chose the Ammos??
Have you seen the light now or were the committee of the Point Cook FC ahead of their time and forward thinkers????

Why don't you drop in at Elsternwick Park and drop off a submission for Sunny Heights to join the VAFA. Could solve ALL of the issues you have at the moment.

TT

GBF50 haven't you changed your tune from 2.5 years ago???
When Point Cook FC made the decision to choose the Ammo's over WRFL you were very outspoken on this forum in regards to kicking them out of the WRFL (juniors that is)???
Many of the points you have just made in your recent post were a majority of the reasons why the Point Cook FC chose the Ammos??
Have you seen the light now or were the committee of the Point Cook FC ahead of their time and forward thinkers????

Why don't you drop in at Elsternwick Park and drop off a submission for Sunny Heights to join the VAFA. Could solve ALL of the issues you have at the moment.

TT

Not sure how I have changed my tune. Back then I saw it as poor form to have your juniors in one comp and then seniors in another and I still think the same.

I like the idea of having a "local western region comp". Thats why I would never be involved in the ammos.

How do ypu reckon the Dragons would go in the Ammos.... .LOL. wouldnt work

You can keep doing the same thing over and over again and expect different results If you like.

Don't worry, if there was an alternative competition in the west, be it Vafa or otherwise, I reckon the PCFC would be very interested!

So if we are kicking the clubs out of the junior WRFL program, that have senior sides in different comps, I'm tipping there would be a new stronger comp.

Werribee, Willi, PC, St.bernards, werribee centrals, westbourne, old essendon, would leave a big hole in your already struggling competition!

Don't no where your getting your facts from no money problems down braybrook

Interesting banter on here in recent days. Enjoyed a short holiday, now back to business. Ive got some juice from numourous souces too. Good to see i didnt miss alot in my absence? Seddon still flying, and miles ahead. Interesting the hear j.moran retiring from coaching, and possibly pulling the boots on next year, and i heard that one m.kennedy, and one s.young could be returning to lead laverton in 2013 along with the rest that parted? Any truth there? They face braybrook this week, could be a cracker? Now, its fair to say the 5 are set approaching half way. If one was to miss out who would replace them? Definately looking forward to the seddon-yarraville parkside clash although i cant see the gap closing too much.
Ive had a read of some posts in the division one thread also today, and gee hasnt mr w.weapons changed his tune? :eek:
Falcons eagles match of the round this week? Surely not? As for caroline swamps potentialy heading to edfl, we can only hope. No more byes, no more broken ankles. Lol.

'i have the juice'

does anyone know when nth sunshine last one a game
Mate who really cares,this league has bigger issues to deal with 1 being blow outs in both divisions 2 standard of u/18s terrible in both divisions 3 clubs moving to other leagues 4 misssing footballers (karim,thomas) to entertain us.Has anyone heard how Braybrooks ruckman is ?:thumbsdown:

Another week of tips:

Braybrook vs Laverton (Braybrook by 20 pts)

Caroline Springs vs West Footscray (Caro by 20 pts)

Coburg Districts vs Glenorden (Glenorden by 30 pts)

Yarraville vs Wyndhamvale (Yarraville by 40 pts)

Nth. Sunshine vs Albanvale (Albanvale by 200 pts)

Mate who really cares,this league has bigger issues to deal with 1 being blow outs in both divisions 2 standard of u/18s terrible in both divisions 3 clubs moving to other leagues 4 misssing footballers (karim,thomas) to entertain us.Has anyone heard how Braybrooks ruckman is ?:thumbsdown:

heard he is done for the season, but they are only 3rd hand knowledge so who knows.

at last some better games in divvy 2, well maybe some that will be under 100 point margins

Im still here, but under bigfooty suspension. Hating life in the sin bin, but rules are rules.
Seen karim on a milk carton while i was working down carro swamps during the week, smackers has layed down the law. Maybe hes fled the country? Is he still even playing? Jason? Are you there?

How good are wicked wings? Bliss.

Im still here, but under bigfooty suspension. Hating life in the sin bin, but rules are rules.
Seen karim on a milk carton while i was working down carro swamps during the week, smackers has layed down the law. Maybe hes fled the country? Is he still even playing? Jason? Are you there?

Welcome back (even under suspension)
Whats your thoughts on tomorrows games mate

I'm here dude wow havnt tuned in for a while and u still talking about me, man crush i reckon lol
Missing Footy mate just flat out with work and the lil one, havnt trained for 3 weeks I reckon. Having a run in the 2nds tomorrow where I belong so should be fun :)
Smackers hasn't banned anyone from bf mate he ain't as anal as dc :) speaking of dc u see his lil comb over on the wrfl web show? Shocking lol
peace...

Ps, u might just play more ones games then me this year, I'm def finished

Thanks fox, but im treading in dangerous territory. Haha.
I wont comment too much on the games, because my opinion sharing always gets me in trouble. You'll have to add me on facebook for that. Haha. I will say, the 'lubke falcons' were impressive yesterday, although he was schooled and big resche needed anger management, the traffic must be terrible in wyndhamvale?
Karim13, my man crush. Been a while, thanks for touching base. Clearly you cant expect me to comment on that? Ill let him know you send your love though. Yes, family and work come first, we all know that. But Youve got 3 weeks to step up champ, do it for thommo, please? Id actually pay you? And more games? I inked that in way back in febuary mate when It was paying $1.01. Good luck getting back though, might be the matchup of the year? Keep me posted on your progress and chances of playing seniors when the swampers take on my men, so i can email steve thom and kev to get the radio crew down there. Now im logging out before i get a phone call and find myself walking water against braybrook. Happy days.

Thanks fox, but im treading in dangerous territory. Haha.
I wont comment too much on the games, because my opinion sharing always gets me in trouble. You'll have to add me on facebook for that. Haha. I will say, the 'lubke falcons' were impressive yesterday, although he was schooled and big resche needed anger management, the traffic must be terrible in wyndhamvale?
Karim13, my man crush. Been a while, thanks for touching base. Clearly you cant expect me to comment on that? Ill let him know you send your love though. Yes, family and work come first, we all know that. But Youve got 3 weeks to step up champ, do it for thommo, please? Id actually pay you? And more games? I inked that in way back in febuary mate when It was paying $1.01. Good luck getting back though, might be the matchup of the year? Keep me posted on your progress and chances of playing seniors when the swampers take on my men, so i can email steve thom and kev to get the radio crew down there. Now im logging out before i get a phone call and find myself walking water against braybrook. Happy days.

1 would say...........w.a.p.......

your opinion sharing is sh1thouse any ways!!!.....

why does every1 say are yarra doing a deer park.....can yarra be the deer park of last year......what a load of tripe.......why dont they just ask the yarra coach about deer park.........he seemed to know how to handle them under pressure...........ppppffffttttt