WRFL Division 2

BTW how is Deer Park's ground for this week shaping against Heights - will rain improve or worsen the grounds condition or will the dry weather further dry out the centre area meaning the gound is unplayable ? Has the WRFL inspected the ground and do they have a contingency plan of another ground if Deer Park's ground is not iup to scratch ?

Decision will be made today. If the ground is no good both teams will know tonight.... maybe if we pass our dunny door on to Deer Park (to replace the one they gave to we$t) then we could get the game moved to Glengala rd:thumbsu:

Sounds all good in theory, Goes Bang. The only problem there is where are we going to get our new dunny door from?

Obviously the match ratio system is a shambles. I cannot comprehend a system that would allow a team that wins less games to play finals over a team that has won more games (Which is a possibility with this current system).

A better system needs to be put into place for the years to come, this may mean teams need to be held accountable if a match is abandoned with the points being split (As though it was a draw) or points to be forfitted If a team is unwilling to play because of ground conditions (only a suggestion).

Untill something is done to fix the current system we are playing in a competition that is running on an uneven playing field.

How about whoevers ground it was loses the points, it's not the away sides fault.

I drove past Deer Parks ground and i seen some workers working on the middle of the ground, that onlt tells me that sunny heights will play on it on saturday, I dont mind playing on Deer Parks ground

Wonder how much it cost Deer Park to get We$t to call the game off?? I have heard a whisper that they offered 3 Kegs and their dunny door from the visitors room.

If there is no dunny door at Deer Park on Sat I will be able to confirm that rumour:thumbsu:

all dunny doors still on there hinges my friend........so bad luck to west....

as for coburg its a bit of bad luck cause they dont deserve to be there just like deer park and nth sunshine........clearly the top 2 will play in the granny just like the last 3 or 4 years............got question marks on both west and heights though to get the job done under finals pressure time will tell hey.........

How about whoevers ground it was loses the points, it's not the away sides fault.

its not up to the clubs to keep the ground in good condition its the council and after all the drama's at the start of the year with our ground not being fit to play on a little bit of seed and soil was done but after that nothing or any 1 has been to inspect the grounds condition.........

The decision not to play the Deer Park v West Footscray game has effectively decided the final 5 before the last home & away game - just another bump in the uneven playing conditions of Div 2.

A lot of behind the scene discussions has occurred with the WRFL in regards to this situation but to no avail .

Showed up the lack of professionalism of the WRFL in having no contingency in place.

Seems a lot of confusion as to who decided the game shouldn't be played after the Reseves and U18's had earlier played on the ground - talk to the umpires and they point the finger towards Bones - talk to others at the ground and they point towards the umpires - just who made the decision ?It's proberly giving Deer Park too much credit for the game not going ahead- or is it ? - their match ratio decides the final 5 make up.

One thing is for sure - dependent on the results Saturday -one team currently out of the 5 will surely be dissapointed ( read robbed) of not playing finals this year.

how will they be robbed.........gotta win the last game yet...coburgs form in the early part of the year has cost them a finals spot simple as that i dont know what all the fuss is about cb,nth and deer park with there performances over the year all dont deserve a spot ....also you say about the discussions the wrfl had behind the scenes........well what were they.....

all in all COBURG wasnt good enough at the start of the year..........

how will they be robbed.........gotta win the last game yet...coburgs form in the early part of the year has cost them a finals spot simple as that i dont know what all the fuss is about cb,nth and deer park with there performances over the year all dont deserve a spot ....also you say about the discussions the wrfl had behind the scenes........well what were they.....

Good point. Coburg Districts drew with Gladstone Park!

Get over it all.
Dont go there saints l played with a for a couple of years and you dont want me to comment, also Ash is the last bloke youd call turtle he goes when its his turn.
And before you start crying l was referring to others comments his made if l wanted to jump on yours and Ash thing l would have directly aimed at you and not have gone thru Bobby so relax with the former player that has left sh it we have wished you all the best before and will again champ enjoy your footy

Good point. Coburg Districts drew with Gladstone Park!

You should stick to the facts.......CD never ever drew with Gladstone Park - the game you refer to , Round 5 was called off 10 minutes into the 3rd quarter with CD up by some 8 goals ( 20 more scoring shots) due to a major melee and some minor off field crowd involvement - CD was awarded the game and the points and both clubs were fined by the WRFL for "bringing the game into disrepute"

a) it doesnt really matter who finishes 5th. is that huge a deal considering the gap between the top 4 and the next 3 teams. you only finals for 1 reason and that is to win the premiership and for overall consistency across the year you cant go past the top 4.

yes coburg and north sunshine were stiff but north sunshine just cant cut it with the top sides and coburg were to inconsistent over the entire year to earn a finals spot. if only the last 8 weeks were anything to go by coburg would be top 3 but theyifs an buts dont win you premerships.

b) the league will have to adress this match ratio system cos it is a farce but nothing we can do about it now

c) when talking about draws the league do their best to even out the competition i think they try and get the bottom 6 or so to play eachother twice and give a harder draw to those who played finals the year before. hence Deer Park and coburgs much harder run than north sunshine

all in all COBURG wasnt good enough at the start of the year..........[/quote]

does that equate to Deer Park not being good enough at the end of the year ?

agree that 5th will not go all the way...but from a Club's perspective it always looks better to state "we made the finals last year" when planning for next season and attracting players, sponsors, support staff etc etc

all in all COBURG wasnt good enough at the start of the year
does that equate to Deer Park not being good enough at the end of the year ?

agree that 5th will not go all the way...but from a Club's perspective it always looks better to state "we made the finals last year" when planning for next season and attracting players, sponsors, support staff etc etc

Cole Reserve... u seem to have a good grasp of all the numbers.... what would happen if the game between Heights and Deer Park was called off tomorrow due to the state of the ground?

Apart from both teams having a rest prior to finals ( maybe not ideal) both teams match ratios would remain unchanged, and their current positions on ladder would stay.

Well weapons why dont we just call off the season now and let the top 2 teams play tommorrow.!:thumbsdown:or maybe they can break away and make a superleague :thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

How can you say cd dont deserve it if they have beaten nth foots and albanvale only a few weeks ago and are playing good footy at the moment.

Theres a top 5 for a reason weapons and if cd finish with with the same pointsas nth sun and dp but with a higher % they shold be in no matter how many games dp played.

IT IS A JOKE

I drove past Deer Parks ground and i seen some workers working on the middle of the ground, that onlt tells me that sunny heights will play on it on saturday, I dont mind playing on Deer Parks ground

The west players didn't mind playing on it either!!! they were all dress and ready to go!!!

You should stick to the facts.......CD never ever drew with Gladstone Park - the game you refer to , Round 5 was called off 10 minutes into the 3rd quarter with CD up by some 8 goals ( 20 more scoring shots) due to a major melee and some minor off field crowd involvement - CD was awarded the game and the points and both clubs were fined by the WRFL for "bringing the game into disrepute"

Does the called off game equate to a game played if not match ratio would be the same as Deer Parks.

Does the called off game equate to a game played if not match ration would be the same as Deer Parks.

Game called off has been deemed by the WRFL Executive as a game played and won by District's, so we got the 4 points.

That is why if Districts win tomorrow and Parkers & Nth Sun loose all 3 will be on 10 wins and Match Ratio then Percentage determines finishing order.

Weapons... can you give us an update on the condition of your dung hill for tomorrows game.... my spies tell me that all is not well with the centre wicket area and although there has been an attempt to fix it there may be another NO GAME!!!

Just picked myself back up off the floor after listening to Bones McGhie on 88.9 wrfl show. Apparently if you only have 7 or 8 players in your team in their 30's you can claim to have a youth policy. Apparently Stephen Lane works hard on the track also and doesn't just turn up as reported and runs a few laps. Apparently the big grounds suit West too he mustn't realise that Henry is their only natural run and carry player and not notice the 7 players in their 30's and the 5 fat players. ha ha

Wouldnt be happy if i was a coburg districts person.
They would be playing finals had the deer park vs west
game not been called off.

Considering that coburg beat albanvale and north foots
they definately would not have just been making up the numbers
and would have made for a more interesting finals series.

I dont think we will be seeing this match ratio system again.
If the league was fair dinkum about running a respectable organisation
They will come up with a better system.

And anyone who says they dont deserve to be there on the part
of an inconsistent season the fact is that coburg have won the same
number of games as deer park and also boast the record of
knocking off 2 of the top 5 sides.

In saying that, looking forward to a very competitive finals series.
Should be a ripper game next week between north foots and
sunshine heights who will be fired and ready to go.