X-BOX vs PS2 vs GAMECUBE

X-BOX vs PS2 vs GAMECUBE which is better?

• XBOX

Votes: 1 9.1%
  • PLAYSTATSION 2

Votes: 7 63.6%
  • GAMECUBE

Votes: 3 27.3%

me thinks carters has not played a xbox or gamecube yet and owns a ps2.
im not going to vote in this poll as it wouldnt be fair to the gamecube as i havent yet seen it in action and cant make a proper judgement
out of the 2 i have played though,i consider the xbox to be superior to the ps2. although of course not on the quantity of games available though.

"Which do you think is better?"

Xbox is the best. No question.

GameCube next.

PS2 last. (with the no-longer-in-production Dreamcast only a small step behind, despite what the media hype may lead you to believe.)

As for quality of games at the moment:

Dreamcast has the most awesome games

PS2 (at the moment) is next.

Then XBox, then Gamecube, but these 2 consoles will end up getting some fanstastic games without a doubt. (Jet Set Radio Future on Xbox - must have!)

In a year or so, i'd expect that the PS2 will have the most good games, BUT, the best games on the X-Box and GameCube will blow away the best PS2 games. There just won't be as many, although that will change over time. If any console has a chance of overtaking PS2 in terms of quantity of games and units sold, it will be Xbox - i base that purely on the company behind it. They've got the money (and they'll have the games) to out last Sony if they want to.

And yes, i've played all of them.

I think you may as well upgrade your computer to a gaming beast instead of getting an XBOX, because the XBOX is basically a computer (more like a computer than a console, face it!).

Originally posted by CarterS
I think you may as well upgrade your computer to a gaming beast instead of getting an XBOX, because the XBOX is basically a computer (more like a computer than a console, face it!).

Come on now - you're sounding like a Sony fanboy.

What the hell do you think a console is?

Stop listening to the hype.

Will you also label the ps2 a "computer" when the modem and hard drive are released......?

No, its just an opinion I have formulated after reading and playing heaps of stuff.

So i take it you've played an Xbox and a GameCube as well?

For your information, here's the specs of the 3 systems:

http://www.gamersmark.com/editorials/view/49/

I think the PS2 has the best mix of quality games,

At the moment, no. Dreamcast wins there. In a years time, maybe. Who knows what will be going on in Xbox and GameCube land. As i said though, the best games on the Xbox and GameCube will blow away the best games on the PS2.

quality performance

Nup. Sorry, but Xbox and GameCube already win there. And when the developers work out how to get more out of them, they'll be even better.

and quality price

Not a chance! GameCube will be cheaper than PS2 when it comes out, and XBox's launch price will be $650. (remember than the PS2 was $750 when it was released here.) That's only $150 more for a brand new Xbox - which is the most powerful system on the market, comes with a built in hard drive, broadband capability out of the box, and TRUE in-game 5.1 surround.

The PS2 is the most overpriced out of the three.

Also, i'll end up buying all 4 consoles so i'm not biased towards or against any of them.

Dammit this is the kind of discussion I was looking for when I posted my thread.
gPhonque its about time you got off the fence and stated our allegence to the x-box.

This time I next week I will have the beast in my hands with 4 controllers and Halo.
With all the food I can eat and a big fat J... Jujufruit ;)

Voted for the Cube, but I'm getting sick of the way Nintendo are making the same mistakes with third pary developers as they did with the N64.

X-Box is looking very impressive. But I already own a PS2, so I really can't afford all three.

When did game consoles become a car like investment. ;)

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Dammit this is the kind of discussion I was looking for when I posted my thread.
gPhonque its about time you got off the fence and stated our allegence to the x-box.

If i'm going to state my allegiance to anybody, it's Sega.

Why do you seem to think that i'm an Xbox fan? I'm only defending it from silly statements being made by people who know very little about consoles/games.

I like games. Period.

I'll end up with them all so it doesn't bother me.

But i'm not about to tell people what to buy because NOBODY KNOWS!!!

Play them yourself, do some REAL research. Read reviews. Lots of them. And remember that the people writing them are just biased idiots most of the time. You'll soon pick up who is genuine in their review and who is blowing a certain consoles trumpet. Ask yourself which kind of games you want to play, and make your own choice. (and don't base your answer on media hype/anti-hype.)

A PS2 may be for you. It will get the most amount of games. But then there'll be those extra pretty Xbox games that you think "ooh! i wouldn't mind that either!"

But then, if you buy an Xbox, you'll be missing out on the best soccer game ever made, and perhaps many other games that you like that don't make it to Xbox. (or GameCube.) And around and around it goes........

If i honestly knew which console was the "one" to buy, then i would have said so! :)

cheers

ps. google is your friend

Originally posted by gPhonque

Come on now - you're sounding like a Sony fanboy.

I'm no Sony fanboy, infact I don't own any of the consoles at the moment except for the Dreamcast because it costs next to nothing.

Stop listening to the hype.

Hype? If I listened to the hype then I'd be behind the XBox because all the hype I've seen (on the Internet anyway) points to the XBox blowing everything away.

Will you also label the ps2 a "computer" when the modem and hard drive are released......?

Well first of all the XBox's processor is an Intel chip slightly modified and its running off a modified version of Direct X.

About the hard drive, in the official XBox mag they say the XBox's hard drive will be used to store game data, and by that I don't mean saved games but I mean the levels so the whole level of a game is burned onto the hd and you wont have to go through loading times. Of course you will be able to save games on it but this wont be its main function (memory cards will do that). As you said, its a console, and I don't think they really NEED a hard drive on the console to be perfectly honest as it will be a gaming system only. I don't think it would be worth adding however much they did onto the cost of the XBox because of a hard drive that wont actually do that much. My opinion only.

Also, the hard drive will make the consoles more susceptable to viruses.

At the moment, no. Dreamcast wins there. In a years time, maybe. Who knows what will be going on in Xbox and GameCube land. As i said though, the best games on the Xbox and GameCube will blow away the best games on the PS2.

That's your opinion it isn't a fact.

Well the definitive statement was 'I think' in my argument about PS2 having the best balance of games. How can you say Dreamcast wins? Yes, Dreamcast has some good games and I'm not a DC hater (I own one) but first of all there's no good soccer games on the DC and more importantly there are no new games coming out for it.

Nup. Sorry, but Xbox and GameCube already win there. And when the developers work out how to get more out of them, they'll be even better.

Well the PS2 has the emotion engine which works pretty well, yes the XBox and GC have better graphics but its not the hardware its the software that makes a console.

Not a chance! GameCube will be cheaper than PS2 when it comes out, and XBox's launch price will be $650. (remember than the PS2 was $750 when it was released here.) That's only $150 more for a brand new Xbox - which is the most powerful system on the market, comes with a built in hard drive, broadband capability out of the box, and TRUE in-game 5.1 surround.

Well the controller for the XBox costs $70 and I think that's just an indication what everything else will cost (memory etc).

They've got the money (and they'll have the games) to out last Sony if they want to.

I'm not an expert on the financial situation of Microsoft and Sony but I'd say Sony aren't exactly on the verge of going under.

So, in summary, I still feel the XBox is closer to a PC than the PS2 which is bad, because a good computer isn't much more than an XBox and you can do so much more with a computer than a console. You can also keep upgrading a computer too (it goes both ways though it can be bad).

Face the facts, you're not really going to use the cd player inside it and the hard drive just makes the console seem faster than it really is (by loading game data onto it to curb loading times, which wont work as well as they say). I think there should be a fourth option on this poll that said PC, and if so I would have voted for that because it is the best gaming machine available. That is, gPhonque, if you want to talk technically which it seems like you do.

p.s. I love a good argument.

Well first of all the XBox's processor is an Intel chip slightly modified and its running off a modified version of Direct X.

About the hard drive, in the official XBox mag they say the XBox's hard drive will be used to store game data, and by that I don't mean saved games but I mean the levels so the whole level of a game is burned onto the hd and you wont have to go through loading times. Of course you will be able to save games on it but this wont be its main function (memory cards will do that). As you said, its a console, and I don't think they really NEED a hard drive on the console to be perfectly honest as it will be a gaming system only. I don't think it would be worth adding however much they did onto the cost of the XBox because of a hard drive that wont actually do that much. My opinion only.

Also, the hard drive will make the consoles more susceptable to viruses.

So i take it you'll not be buying the hard drive for the PS2? (should you buy a PS2 that is, which it sounds like you plan to.)

And of course you'll be giving the modem a miss too - can't have any nasty viruses on our console can we! :rolleyes: ;)

That's your opinion it isn't a fact.

Well, yes and no. The Dreamcast is actually widely acnkowledged by those who work with and play games for a living (including myself) as being the best console in terms of classic AAA games.

Although it's my opinion, it's a fairly widely held opinion.

Well the definitive statement was 'I think' in my argument about PS2 having the best balance of games. How can you say Dreamcast wins? Yes, Dreamcast has some good games and I'm not a DC hater (I own one) but first of all there's no good soccer games on the DC and more importantly there are no new games coming out for it.

How can i say Dreamcast wins?

Easy - let's count up all the classic must have titles for each console right now.

Dreamcast wins.

There's no decent soccer game on the DC - but so what?

PS2 doesn't have a fantastic Ferrari 355 simulator. It doesn't have Jet Set Radio. It doesn't have a good version of Test Drive Lemans. Daytona. Shenmue 1 & 2. Mars Matrix. Sonic Adventure 2. Shall i go on?

At the moment, PS2 doesn't have nearly as many AAA games as the DC.

Well the PS2 has the emotion engine

Hype!

The same emotion engine that was supposed to be responsible for pushing around 60 million poly's per sec and sent the videogame world into a spin, only to be revealed later down the track after the damage had been done that it was only realistically capable of pushing 6-7 million per/sec.

Hype!

But that's not to say there's not some fantastic games on the PS2. In fact, it's almost the only console i'm playing at the moment. (thanks to Rez and Pro Evolution.)

yes the XBox and GC have better graphics but its not the hardware its the software that makes a console.

Exactly! So how could anybody, including yourself, suggest to anybody which console to buy!?

XBox and GCN aren't even out here yet, and secondly - nobody is able to tell anybody else which games they will like playing.

That is why i haven't said that any console is better than the other. (apart from the FACT that the DC has the most awesome games on any of the four AT THE MOMENT.)

Really though, the console of the moment is the PS2. It's been out a while, it's got a few fantastic games, with more to come.

But you don't know what's going to happen in the next year.

Well the controller for the XBox costs $70 and I think that's just an indication what everything else will cost (memory etc).

As opposed to $65 for a PS2 memory card/controller.

I'm not an expert on the financial situation of Microsoft and Sony but I'd say Sony aren't exactly on the verge of going under.

From memory, they were a few years ago until PS1 saved their arse. (i could be wrong there though)

So, in summary, I still feel the XBox is closer to a PC than the PS2 which is bad, because a good computer isn't much more than an XBox and you can do so much more with a computer than a console.

And right there, you lose all credibility with your argument.

I thought it was the software that mattered?

Why does it matter that the Xbox architecture is based on a PC?

You DO realise don't you that all the games are developed on PC's linked with Devkits anyway?

Surely then, having a console based on a PC must be a good thing?

You can also keep upgrading a computer too (it goes both ways though it can be bad).

You got it right there! That's the beauty of consoles.

Face the facts, you're not really going to use the cd player inside it and the hard drive just makes the console seem faster than it really is (by loading game data onto it to curb loading times, which wont work as well as they say). I think there should be a fourth option on this poll that said PC, and if so I would have voted for that because it is the best gaming machine available.

So if you like PC gaming, and you say that the Xbox is basically a trimmed down PC (what do you think the other consoles are?) tuned specifically for games, with no incompatibility issues, broadband ready out of the box, 4 controller ports, a link cable that enables you to link up to (i think) 8 Xbox's, and the billions of Microsoft $$$ behind it, then surely the Xbox would be a good choice of console?

Especially for those who are sick of the blandness of the majority of PS2 titles.

That is, gPhonque, if you want to talk technically which it seems like you do.

I'm really losing where your argument is heading here - one minute you say it's the software that matters (in which case you are completely unable to say which console is "better" since, unlike me i might add, you haven't played them all), and then on the other hand, you want to talk about the technical side of them.

Speaking of which, how can the Xbox be worse value than a PS2 purely because it's kind of based on a PC?

How does that make sense?

Especially coming from somebody who says "but its not the hardware its the software that makes a console." ??

I really don't particularly care! I'm not about to enter into a pointless "which console is better" war because, as i said, i'll end up with all of them. (When you make games for a living, you need to keep up.)

p.s. I love a good argument.

No, i do! :D

cheers.

Describe what you mean by proffesional gamer please?

It could be any number of occupations.

Programmer. Artist. Musician. Producer. Game reviewer. Game tester. etc etc

I didn't say "proffesional" game player.

I was referring to those who play games more than the average person.

Eg. I wouldn't claim to know as much about cars as a mechanic (who is surrounded by them and works on/with them every day) would. :)

cheers

humm i own a PS2 but Xbox is looking good. Im not sure weather to get a chip for PS2 or XBOX. XBox has a great game out (coming out) Hola. Tuff Tuff Tuff....

Hey mate, I had a reply written to your post but I lost the whole damn thing.

You obviously know more than me about the consoles and the like, though.

Personally I wouldn't really bother getting any of the 3 because I use my PC for games but I am looking at a PS2 because I'd use the DVD player a hell of a lot, probably more than the games infact. Other than that Cricket 2002 is on the PS2 and I'm a huge Cricket fan personally and I want that game (GTA3 too)!

And I'm not rolling in the $$$$$ either.

Anyway, not only is it the software that makes the console its the hardware too.

Speaking of which, how can the Xbox be worse value than a PS2 purely because it's kind of based on a PC?

How does that make sense?

Especially coming from somebody who says "but its not the hardware its the software that makes a console." ??

Because XBox will have more PC ports than PS2 because its closer to a PC than the PS2, which means the PS2 will have more console only games (GT3 etc).

I may be wrong there, though.

Hey mate, I had a reply written to your post but I lost the whole damn thing.

Don't you hate that!

Personally I wouldn't really bother getting any of the 3 because I use my PC for games but I am looking at a PS2 because I'd use the DVD player a hell of a lot, probably more than the games infact. Other than that Cricket 2002 is on the PS2 and I'm a huge Cricket fan personally and I want that game (GTA3 too)!

Cricket 2002 is rubbish (and i love cricket) and GTA3 is (as far as i know) coming to Xbox. (it was only a PS2 exclusive for 6 months)

And you know you can play dvd's on the Xbox, right? (with the $50 dvd remote)

Also, do you have cable net? If you do, the Xbox is apparently cable ready straight out of the box. I'm not sure how that will work in Australia though (there may be a deal like there was with the Dreamcast where you had to use Telstra or something.) I have Optus, and if i can use my cable with the Xbox, then that will basically sell it to me. Along with that, i really really NEED to get Jet Set Radio Future!! :D

And I'm not rolling in the $$$$$ either.

Me either. But games are all i buy. (or more acurately, all im able to afford after mortgage! lol)

Anyway, not only is it the software that makes the console its the hardware too.

Exactly. And since Xbox is the most powerful on the market....... :)

Plus, the games will come. There's already a handful of "must have" titles on the Xbox, and i reckon there'll be some HUGE announcements at this years E3 in May. That's really when i want to decide whether or not to buy an Xbox......unless i give in to Jet Set Radio Future before then!

Because XBox will have more PC ports than PS2 because its closer to a PC than the PS2, which means the PS2 will have more console only games (GT3 etc).

I may be wrong there, though.

You really need to get this "Xbox is a PC" thing out of your head.

I'm not trying to sell an Xbox to you - just make sure that you know the facts before you cough up $500+ for something you may regret a a few months.

Besides, at the moment, the PS2 rocks as there's lots of cool games on it!

And i confusing you?

:D

Don't you hate that!

[/b]

Cricket 2002 is rubbish (and i love cricket) and GTA3 is (as far as i know) coming to Xbox. (it was only a PS2 exclusive for 6 months)

And you know you can play dvd's on the Xbox, right? (with the $50 dvd remote)

Yeah I know. In terms of C2002 I've heard various conflicting reports but I'm sure whatever the next version is it will actually come out on PC! (as well as XBox).

And GTA3 - I recently upgraded my PC to a pretty high end system so I'll wait for the PC version.

Also, do you have cable net? If you do, the Xbox is apparently cable ready straight out of the box. I'm not sure how that will work in Australia though (there may be a deal like there was with the Dreamcast where you had to use Telstra or something.) I have Optus, and if i can use my cable with the Xbox, then that will basically sell it to me. Along with that, i really really NEED to get Jet Set Radio Future!! :D

I don't have cable but I may be slithering my way into free cable internet for a year.

Well Microsoft will do whatever it takes to make a quid so I wouldn't be surprised.

You really need to get this "Xbox is a PC" thing out of your head.

I'm not trying to sell an Xbox to you - just make sure that you know the facts before you cough up $500+ for something you may regret a a few months.

Besides, at the moment, the PS2 rocks as there's lots of cool games on it!

And i confusing you?

:D

Not really. All the consoles have their ups and downs and its about weighing them up and finding out whats good for you!

How many times have we heard that!

This time I next week I will have the beast in my hands with 4 controllers and Halo.
With all the food I can eat and a big fat J... Jujufruit ;)

Sabre: what price and where did you pre-order it? I had a friend fishing around for a similar deal because he didn't want any of the preset packages that were being flogged.

Cricket 2002 is rubbish (and i love cricket)

gPhonque,

I thought Cricket 2002 was by far the best cricket game available so far and for their first attempt at a cricket game for playstation 2, I thought EA Sports did quite well with that one.

What was rubbish was cricket 2000 for playstation.

SeinDude

I voted for PS2 for the simple reason that it has most of the sorts of games I love to play.... sports games.

I was looking at some of the x-box games in the shop last Friday, but none really took my eye so I might wait.

I heard on the radio that it wont be able to play dvd's... is this true??

SeinDude

Originally posted by Mr Eagle

Sabre: what price and where did you pre-order it? I had a friend fishing around for a similar deal because he didn't want any of the preset packages that were being flogged.

All places have it.
650 for the consol
70 for the control
99 for HALO
Ur set

X-BOX vs PS2 vs GAMECUBE