Xander McGuire

Definitely has helped him. But I would say hes better than most journos his age aswell. It’s an uneducated guess either side you sit on
More of the younger AFL journos than not are well-connected. If they make up 1% of the graduates but 75% of the workforce…

Could've fooled me. The closest he gets to 'blue collar' now is peering out from first class at Broady as the plane flies over it.

Yep. As has been wisely observed, once your income hits a certain point you kind of have to hand back your victim card.

A mate of mine did journalism at RMIT back in the early 90's, may have been a 3 year course possibly 4.
Cut his teeth at local newspapers (now all pretty much defunct) for many years post graduation before moving into the private sector (and a stint as a chief of staff at a major political party) All positions earned through study and hard work.

Did Xander spend anytime studying journalism? Do these courses still even exist or was it a case of; Nah your good mate we know your dad?

A mate of mine did journalism at RMIT back in the early 90's, may have been a 3 year course possibly 4.
Cut his teeth at local newspapers (now all pretty much defunct) for many years post graduation before moving into the private sector (and a stint as a chief of staff at a major political party) All positions earned through study and hard work.

Did Xander spend anytime studying journalism? Do these courses still even exist or was it a case of; Nah your good mate we know your dad?
LinkedIn says that he was a "Production Assistant" on Footy Classified, Millionaire Hot Seat and Who Wants to be a Millionaire before he even started his Bachelor of Arts.

Then, funny enough, he landed an internship at Channel Nine before he had even started his second year of his degree (most internships start in the summer before your final year), and funny enough had a contract with Nine when he was just a year-and-a-half into his three year degree.

Do I blame him for taking the opportunities handed to him? **** no. I'd do the same.

But if he weren't Eddie's kid, he would never, ever, ever have gotten those opportunities.

Had to laugh when I saw a clip on social media of Eddie praising his son for breaking a story on another network! That would never have been allowed to happen five years ago. Standards are well and truly slipping.

So your mate is Mark Stevens?

LinkedIn says that he was a "Production Assistant" on Footy Classified, Millionaire Hot Seat and Who Wants to be a Millionaire before he even started his Bachelor of Arts.

Then, funny enough, he landed an internship at Channel Nine before he had even started his second year of his degree (most internships start in the summer before your final year), and funny enough had a contract with Nine when he was just a year-and-a-half into his three year degree.

Do I blame him for taking the opportunities handed to him? **** no. I'd do the same.

But if he weren't Eddie's kid, he would never, ever, ever have gotten those opportunities.
I've made my view of Xander clear, but I will say "Productions Assistant" is a real job, and a legit entry point for media.

I also reckon needing a degree for media is a joke. Should be learned on the job trade-style.

The classic example of not what you know but who you know.

Plenty of exceptionally talented journos over the years who don't know the right people and don't have doors opened for them and plenty of garbage ones that went to the right schools, know the right people and suddenly 'in you come, son.'

Such as?

Xander is great, love listening to him on DDF every Friday.
Yep, don't care if hes got where he is coz of his dad, hes ****ing great on DDF. Great sense of humour. The back with the flight comments about interviewing losing opposition was gold and he's just kept kicking on.

The classic example of not what you know but who you know.

Plenty of exceptionally talented journos over the years who don't know the right people and don't have doors opened for them and plenty of garbage ones that went to the right schools, know the right people and suddenly 'in you come, son.'

That's the case with most things in life but still in school we were sold a lie that hard work pays off, which sometimes it does but good luck getting a head start on everyone else if you don't have the connections.

No doubt Xander is good at what he does but he has had it handed to him , like his brother who has done well as a punter overseas in college but yet again it was Eddie who got him started with the people to fast track his way there.

In fairness to Eddie I've heard him acknowledge his sons have been giving a better advantage than most to make the best of what they want to do with their life.

It's the way the world is and people shouldn't hold it against him.

Yep, don't care if hes got where he is coz of his dad, hes ****ing great on DDF. Great sense of humour. The back with the flight comments about interviewing losing opposition was gold and he's just kept kicking on.
Fully agree, he and Doc have been great additions to the show.

Tom Browne, Christi Malthouse, Sam Lane, Mark Cometti, Caroline Wilson, Sam McClure, Tom Morris are all nepo babies/family connections into the industry. Whether you think they are any good or not is up to you
It's a non issue because parents often help their children to get ahead by using their connections to find employment.