Xavier '08

It will be interesting to see who settles into the different positions

Look Balmey, lets all be honest here and try and keep on topic, throwing up names of people who don't even play footy is just wasting time...

Balme Drama Vice Captain lmao why's he posting on Big Footy :D
Ah spare thee buddy. Sorry Kenners or whoever you truly are, I'll keep to the topic despite the fact that this isn't Balme..... yeaaaaah

So, seriously anyway, I've heard rumours that James Woods will be looking to move further up the ground from a credible source, anyone think he will be more suited somewhere or else or his personal swimming area always going to be the back pocket?

Great to see Daniel Coluccio get a gig in the 1s, he's a gun and has put in the hard yards, good news story from DC, could he transform into a fantastic full back?

Good to see Coluccio back from his injury

Has Coluccio been injured?

I reckon he would have made the side last year if he hadn't injured himself early in the year.

Woods should move up the field, with his marking strength he could play forward. Who is going to play the key forward roles - Sibosado, Kennedy? Any Yr 11s look like candidates?
Ah it is about time we talked about a man named Andrew Brazzale. Thirds last year and this year will play ones. Underrated as all **** by most of Xavier but slowly his reputation has rapidly risen and he has drawn strong comparisons to Chris Smith (who also played Thirds in his pentultimate year before ascending into the ones) and Brazzale should also have a big year.

By all measures, Barra has been remarkably impressed by Brazzale particularly in his incredible marking skill and accuracy for goal. Don't know how well he played against St Pats... Brazzale is very humble and rarely blows his own trumpet but by all accounts, he should be a handful for other sides backlines.

Will be interesting to see who crumbs from the forward pocket as there is rarely a specialised FP these days in the APS.

Coluccio is fighting as well CP and should play Ones for the full (or at the very least, half) season. Been named at FB for the next Praccy match and by all accounts is simply thrilled to be there despite his obvious reluctance to wake at 5.30 to get to training on a Monday morning.

Shiel showed that he is a top crumber last year.

I personally think xavier is a very well-rounded football side this year. However, I see one gapping whole; that being the position of full-back. I have no doubt that a xavier forward line comprising kennedy, sibasado, brazzale, mcgrath, tiernan, cross and shiel to name a few would kick bucket loads of goals. I guess here the adage of the Brazilian soccer team should come into view of how many goals you kick we'll kick more. As much as woods should move down the field (so his own game becomes more enjoyable) I see him as detrimental to the defence. Perhaps considering xavier's limited options at full-back coluccio and woods could become a duo on the last line. See the one thing I'm unsure of is colucc's speed (would appreciate if someone posted times) - could he perhaps be caught out on the lead? (there can be no question that in a one-on-one he will beat his man - not only is he a good footballer but he's the strongest kid in the school - I think he benches nintey and thats not in terms of his max). It is here woody becomes so important. I suggest xavier adopts a tactic -because both footballers are smart enough to do it- whereby if the full-forward goes on the lead woody takes him (woody im positive is quick) and colucc takes woody's man. This sounds easy but unless you have football smarts this can cause real trouble - the timing has to be perfect. But with players as intelligent and as calm as those two (I'd be very comfortable with them on the last line - both have great disposal as well) I see this tactic as a possible success. Maybe such a xavier defence (namely in the form of craig, lees, noonan, woody and colucc) could match its foward line for honours. Thoughts?

Surely Shiel is the man for the job in that crumbing role!!!
Great hands. He's my smokey for the Sursum Corda this year.

Comparing Smith to Brazzale... huge call!
Bet he can't down a s&c like the great man...

Ulbrick should play forward more, now there's a few ruckman in the mix. His long bomb against Scotch last year was a cracker.

can you please stop posting things you already know, everyone at xavier knows who you are, you are jeopardising the hopes of a xavier premiership this year with all this information you are giving away, not the first time youve done this aswell you did it a fair bit last year davo #5

xaviers list this year is as good as premiership years of the past. The test for the xavs will be whether they can concentrate for the whole year and set their minds to the job. has to be team effort and they cant afford to have individuals running around the park. im sure the school wouldve invested all their hopes into this years side

Has Coluccio been injured?

I reckon he would have made the side last year if he hadn't injured himself early in the year.

Woods should move up the field, with his marking strength he could play forward. Who is going to play the key forward roles - Sibosado, Kennedy? Any Yr 11s look like candidates?

Also, I heard from Goose that Lees got cut from Sandy! Is this true? Is Molloy on the hard stuff? If that's correct he must be part of a deal to hide the W.A away from all other clubs so that Richmond can snap him up....

You know it's true. Stop posting this crap, your not fooling anyone. I find it pretty hard to believe that an old xav would be wasting his time on big footy asking about a team he would care little about. Stop pretending, it's not working.

If its annoying Xavs people then I won't post, not a problem.
But as if I wouldn't be interested.

You assume wrong though.
Good luck this year

Few thoughts here, I feel the comparison of Brazzale to Smith is massive as even though there's the whole fairytale story of thirds one year to firsts the next, Smith and Brazzale are still different players and I feel if anyone is step up in the Xavier forward line this year, I think it will be James McGrath, I remember first seeing him in year 9 and immediately thinking he plays exactly the same way as Jonathan Brown, although attitude problems have held him back, I feel he will be able to put them behind and really step up this year. As for Shiel, I've always felt this kid is an absolute star. His got a great sense of the game, just knows what to do, could really step up in the forward line this year, similar to maybe Jake Williams from a few years back, and bag 2-3 every game. However there are still some questions to be asked on the full back line. Across half-back Xavier are probably one of the strongest, with Noonan, Lees and Craig being rotated through. However across the full back line there are some questions. Collucio might have to fill the role and step up as a full back, however I feel woods could really be utilized further up the field.

Unfortunately, it is you who has the several alias and we know who you are. Great move pretending to be Ben Kennedy. That was a ripper! Perhaps you should try 'supporting' the 1st XVIII rather than pushing your own agenda.

defenders are a different breed. and as much as people hate being good at it, you need your best defenders there. you cant just put anyone down there. im sure woods, collucio and whoever else fills the other full back line will be more than happy to do the team thing and play their arse off in defense. not everyones focus can be getting the pill 30 times

Unfortunately, it is you who has the several alias and we know who you are. Great move pretending to be Ben Kennedy. That was a ripper! Perhaps you should try 'supporting' the 1st XVIII rather than pushing your own agenda.

BP, I'm am 100% telling the truth when I say I have only one alias, and I know you wouldn't have a clue who I am. Don't worry about not supporting the 1st XVIII, because there is no doubt I will be down there for every home game I can. As for pushing my own agenda I'm curious to know what your talking about?

defenders are a different breed. and as much as people hate being good at it, you need your best defenders there. you cant just put anyone down there. im sure woods, collucio and whoever else fills the other full back line will be more than happy to do the team thing and play their arse off in defense. not everyones focus can be getting the pill 30 times

I would never call James Woods selfish and claim his focus would be to get 30 touches a game, I'm just saying a player of his calibre could really be utilized further up the ground with his smooth skills and strong marking. I also feel the full back line will no doubt step up, just in comparison to the rest of the team it would probably be there weakest position.

How about we leave the kids to posting on their forum. Hopefully, when I return from my travels that is the case for you my friend. I suggest we concentrate on making Xavier No.1. Surely that is your hope too! Or is it?

BP, I'm am 100% telling the truth when I say I have only one alias, and I know you wouldn't have a clue who I am. Don't worry about not supporting the 1st XVIII, because there is no doubt I will be down there for every home game I can. As for pushing my own agenda I'm curious to know what your talking about?

Not only are you trying to undermine Xavier football (and having very poor success) but haven't realised that IP's are easily read with modern software. Give up the game, you've been found out.

are the xav firsts meant to be playing the old boys under 19s side in the pre season???
if so, thated be a good yard stick to see where there at.
anyone no wat players from past couple of years are kicking with old boys?

heard d. ryan, smith blokes like that from last year should be running around. not too syure about the gents who finished in 06 but heard a few whispers round that j rush is making a come back have a good one woods, collucio or whoever intends to line up as full back.

Yeah it will be a good game considering the under 19's havent come together as a team as yet and it will be there first praccy for the season...does rush still qualify as U/19?

G,day Xaverians...
Just a question in regards to the pre-season form of Pat Stokes. Played some good 2nd's football last year and has the pace and the strong body to compete well at 1st's level. Just wondering how his chances are looking for playing consistant first 18 football this year? I hear his battle with substance (alcohol) abuse over the holidays has cost him the respect from his team mates?

i think xavier have a game against aquinas college form perth on tour on the 13th of april i believe this will be aquinas first hitout as a team or in an intra club for the year but i rekon we will give yiu guys a run for your money