Xmas shopping

How much do you do?

I just don't really get it and never have.

People talk about it like its this massive project that will take them weeks or months to complete.

How many presents do people generally buy?

I buy them for nephews and nieces (3), plus one KK for my extended family.

I put cash in for my mum and dad but it's always a joint gift that my sister organises.

That's it. There's nobody else in my life with whom I exchange gifts. Maybe the old bottle of wine or two with colleagues who I do a lot of work with.

How many presents do you buy and who are they for?

I get my dad a clothes voucher, for my brother I get him a JB Hi Fi voucher and my gf buys her own things and says that that is my present to her. KK (we pick names out of a hat a couple of months before xmas) is only dificult whenever I get my Grandma, everyone else I can buy a bottle of scotch or bourbon for so thats easy.

I buy heaps of presents. One each for mum, dad, stepmum, stepdad, brother, sister in law, boyfriend, nana, pop, favourite cousin (bitchy of me to only choose one but he deserves it) 2 x nephews, 1 x niece, and a KK with two different groups of friends. Costs a fortune and takes weeks.

Wow

There you go

Isn't it all a bit over the top?

I get the kids, but never really understood grown adults buying each other stuff.

Wow

There you go

Isn't it all a bit over the top?

I get the kids, but never really understood grown adults buying each other stuff.

I love buying presents though. I buy people presents all through the year. When my boyfriend got a new job I got a hamper delivered to his house full of beer and chocolate. I see something I think my best friend will like when I'm out shopping so I buy it for him. It makes me happy to buy things that I know will make other people happy.

I'll be getting mum, dad, brother, sister and girlfriend something. All knocked off in a 2 hour shop last weekend except for my brother's, usually he's the easiest to buy for, no idea what to get him this year though.

We don't really get each other anything too extravagant though.

I'll be getting mum, dad, brother, sister and girlfriend something. All knocked off in a 2 hour shop last weekend except for my brother's, usually he's the easiest to buy for, no idea what to get him this year though.

We don't really get each other anything too extravagant though.
You went to Dimmeys?

I buy for my wife, son, parents, some friends and just one person from my wife's family. They draw names out of a hat. I do probably 70% of it online. For the rest I like to shop at some local stores. I try to only go to the mall once and then to a dollar store or London Drugs (like Priceline) for some stocking stuffers.

I used to buy a present each for my sister, brother in law, nephews (5), nieces (2) but I only got one 'family' present from them which was usually a pack of socks or something of similar value. So now I only buy one 'family' present for them. My partner and mum are the only other people I buy presents for.

Something for my mum, for my nanna, for the girlfriend, and her little sister (only cause she's still young). No one else gets anything because I don't give a shit about buying/receiving gifts at Christmas, I have a birthday in 7 weeks for that. It's expensive, annoying and a load of crap how much money goes into buying crap.

These are a great idea https://unwrapped.oxfam.org.au/choose-a-gift
I don't buy for many because I haven't had a family xmas for probably 6 years, buy for my gf and some KK. Knock it out in one visit to the shops or via the comfort of online shopping.
I wonder the true feelings of most people when then get given a memento of a charity donation by their giver. I suspect some would be left with the feeling of "well that's nice, but...".

It fluctuates a bit depending on how inspired I am in what to buy someone. My family aren't big gift-givers at Christmas, especially over the past few years as we're all >20 now. I like to buy something if I think it'll make a really good present or they'll really enjoy it but I'm not one for buying presents for the sake of giving someone a present. Last year I bought pretty much everyone in my family something, this year I'm struggling to think of anything decent so probably won't bother for most people (though we're doing KK this year so I need to find something for my brother). I don't really see the point in buying people mundane gifts just so I can say I got them something for Christmas.

Brothers and sisters only (perhaps the parents if there's anything left over). Try to stick to a limit of about $25 per person. Not so bad for the younger brothers, some clothing from Lowes or Big W generally does the job, and a bottle of rum or scotch generally is sufficient for the older sister. The soon to be 15 year old sister though is always a battle, have to find one or two of the books she wants although fortunately some budget is left over from the bros to assist. Generally do it on the way to work and wrap them in the lunch room.

****ing None! Whole families up in QLD for christmas as most of the family live up their now and for the first time in 3 years i don't have a GF at chrissy time and my best mate his missus and my god children are spending xmas at his in-laws.

this will be my first christmas completely by myself in hell i can't even think. so the only presents i bought was a case of piss some doritos a shit ton of other christmas snacks that mum gave me seeing as their going to queensland i plan to get drunk stay in my birthday suit and play GTA:V while running over as many prostitutes as possible knowing people are offended by it.

I generally get my shopping out of the way in October/November. Still have to brave the shopping crowds in December, but only to buy my food and whatnot each week. There have been a few years where I was sloppy and left it to the last couple of days, always a nightmare and never want to experience that crap again.

I don't buy gifts for too many people, just a few friends and family.

These are a great idea https://unwrapped.oxfam.org.au/choose-a-gift
I don't buy for many because I haven't had a family xmas for probably 6 years, buy for my gf and some KK. Knock it out in one visit to the shops or via the comfort of online shopping.
human-fund2.jpg
The gift that keeps on giving.

Braving the crowd shouldn't be a problem so long as you have a clear plan about what you're buying and where you are buying it from. For many that I know however it's finding a car park spot that's the major issue. Not so much a problem for me (foot falcon) but so easy to lose an hour trying to get in and out.