Yellow jumper - E-mail from St Kilda FC

I just received this e-mail from the club a few minutes ago. It looks like our yellow jumper will be featured on The Footy Show tonight.

While it's no doubt a strategy of goodwill employed to keep our Pura Milk sponsorship, I'm happy to see that we will be using the jumpers as a means to raise money for charity.

The jumper will also be worn in situations where the opposing teams jumper is similar to ours for the next two years. About time a club had the guts to develop an alternative strip for cases such as these.

Well done to the football club!

Also, another well done for keeping us members well informed of everything going on at the club. It's a sad state of affairs when our President and CEO are forced to send letters/e-mails to our members to refute the garbage written in the media. However the regular updates of all club news, including Springvale's performances and draft news, is much appreciated.

St Kilda Football Club will launch our new 'clash' jumper on The Footy Show tonight.

The yellow Pura Light Start jumper will be worn when opposition jumpers are too close to our colours for the next two seasons. The Saints will wear the 'clash' jumper for the first time this Sunday at Colonial Stadium (against Carlton).

The club is not receiving any funds from wearing the jumper, rather donating the occasion to charity.

St Kilda has joined forces with Pura Milk's preferred charity Big Brothers-Big Sisters. The jumpers worn by players on Sunday will be auctioned to raise funds for Big Brothers-Big Sisters. To bid for a signed Pura Light Start jumper, please call 9559-6616 from Monday 20 August. The cut off date for bids will be 5pm Friday 24 August.

The Big Brothers-Big Sisters program is based around adult mentors supplying support for young people aged between seven to 17 years. Combined with the SAINTS program launched four weeks ago (ie. working against bullying in schools), this it is another community initiative St Kilda is proud to be involved in.

end.

G'day Sainter

Sad state of affairs maybe, but it's brought two good results:

1. The level of communication is great. I reckon it enhances our 'ownership' of the club & fortifies our faith.

2. The snipers ain't killed us yet, just helping to make us stronger. It might take longer than we would like , but beware you swineherd, we'll get there!

As for the jumper, good on em. It's great to see them raising money for charity (& the bullying program is good). I also reckon Pura or any other potential sponsor ought to be able to see a lot of benefit, so that augurs well for upcoming sponsorship negotiations. Lastly, Butterss spoke to a lunch gathering before the weagles game(?), he mentioned that the club made a deliberate point of trying to work with the league, unlike some clubs that seem to act like bulls at the gate aiming to bludgeon there own way thru, in light of the need for alternate jumpers I see this as a +ve step in that direction. One day we might want our back scratched too ;)

i like the look of the yellow jumpers. as an alternative strip it will alleviate the visibility problem we have when we play sides like essendon. the club are also being proactive in their dealings with pura or any future sponsor as there is plenty of visibility space on the jumpers. call me cynical but the charity angle is just a good bit of spin doctoring on what has been a torrid couple of weeks in the media. it never hurts the clubs image to help out in the local community.

it's a great initiative by the club to start emailing all members with the official waffle from the club. it certainly gives you something to cling to when we are under seige from every where in the media.

i can't remember the media ever being as hostile as they have been to us over the last few weeks, talk about a feeding frenzy by a pack of sleazy sharks. as for that patrick smith what a fat mindless piece of slimy garbage he is, i used to think that sheahan had a poison pen but smith has now taken the title of official gutter sniper filth journalist scumbag of the year. :mad:

i must admit i got caught up in the hysteria drummed up by the media and i still have concerns regarding thomas and butterss, but i have decided from now on not to bag the club publically. simply because enough people constantly do it whether it is warranted or not.

i went to the tribute night for stewie and burkey and it was a great night. plenty of emotion was shown by the boys especially concerning their family and close footy friends. plymo with spud was very entertaining viewing.

i spoke to nick reiwoldt and kosi for about an hour or so and can report that they are rapt to being playing afl footy and are very happy at st kilda. both of them seem to have good heads on their shoulders and just want to play footy every week. nick was being pursued all night by one cute little groupie and was last seen hand in hand wandering off to catch a cab, being a young afl footballer certainly does have it's benefits. ;)

how good would a win be against the blues. :D

TT,

It's just our home (newer) jumper with the yellow replacing the red.

When I first heard we were going to be wearing yellow, my immediate concern was that they would add brown to the jumper. ;)

Great post STL,

I wanted to know how the Loewe/Burke Tribute night went. I'm glad it turned out to be such a success and it's good to hear that the younger blokes seem so happy with the saints. (Another media report disproved)

I think the jumper isn't too bad at all. I'm just rapt that we have kept the current design. As a few people have said on the main board, it's still very St Kilda and that's what we want.

I agree with you 100% on Patrick "I don't criticise Collingwood because I spent a week at the club earlier in the year as well as my beloved Essendon" Smith. Fantastic description of him by the way! While we have been copping it from all directions, it's just the sarcastic way in which he has attacked our club. Petty name calling all in the name of a few cheap laughs. Grant Thomas has more integrity in his little finger than that fat ******** has in his whole body.

Who knows, aside from the eagles game we have been playing with a hell of a lot more passion and endeavour since Thomas has taken over. A win isn't out of the question. The Social Club wing will be rocking if we do. :D

Originally posted by sainter

The jumper will also be worn in situations where the opposing teams jumper is similar to ours for the next two years. About time a club had the guts to develop an alternative strip for cases such as these.

But was that the case today? Carlton and St Kilda's kits don't really clash IMHO.

There's no real clash between Carlton's guernsey and our home guersney because it is predominantly red. However the back of our away guernsey is black and therefore very difficult to distinguish.

My brother in particular had a lot of trouble distinguishing the colours at Optus Oval earlier in the season.

This move was very much driven by the desire to appease Pura Milk. It was our home game and as such would have been wearing the red guernsey.

I just think it's a case of shrewd marketing.

Welcome back Savatage!

Keep popping in here over the next few weeks, we have important news to discuss (delistings, trades, etc).

Not too much to say on today's game. Nick Riewoldt looked promising in attack and looks like having an enormous future. I also thought Thommo was inspirational and worked his arse off all day. The only other person to impress me was Aussie Jones who not only got a lot of the ball but had excellent disposal.

One game to go and we can look towards 2002!

Yellow jumper - E-mail from St Kilda FC