I know the post-game umpire whinge makes us all look small... but my god.
That was as bad as I've ever seen in a game of footy.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Thats just wrong...it was so annoying they really peed me off.. at times i hoped someone would put a sniper in my hands and kill those yellow tools on the spot.. thats the only reason we lost the game
Umpiring was extremely frustrating, but in all, I was rapt with last night.
Judd & Stevens now up and about and will only get better.
Kreuzer proved his class.
Fev kicks 8 and hits the post 3 times.
Umpiring was deplorable, and we lose by 16 points.
There are so many positives.
I have no issues with the short term pain, God knows we've had plenty in recent times.
The future is bright.
I hope the Essendon supporters enjoyed their victory last night, because with our current stocks and future improvement, they'll be lucky to beaten us twice in the next 10 years.
Just sent an email to the AFL regarding the umpiring last night.
Basically what i said is i want to know the intepretation of the hands in the back rule because Fevola who was payed hands in the back actually had a forearm in the back
I outlined the obvious free kick's which were and were not payed
and i also asked for an explanation towards the free kick count 26-14.
Will let everyone know of my reply. If the bastards end up sending me one back.
look i dont expect anything to happen so there is no need to be a smart ass. I just wanted to alert the AFL of the shocking umpiring in the game last night, as im sure many people have already done to date. No need for smart ass comments.Yep expect some instant and thorough action to be taken.![]()
look i dont expect anything to happen so there is no need to be a smart ass. I just wanted to alert the AFL of the shocking umpiring in the game last night, as im sure many people have already done to date. No need for smart ass comments.
Ive gotta admit, the umpires were shocking last night. I couldnt count the number of times i was disgusted with the decisions. Not just the soft ones that WERE paid, but also the others that wernt paid that were just as bad as the soft ones. And yes, most of the decisions did go Essendons way, I'm happy enough to admit that, and yes, the umpires probably did help us over the line in the end. But thats life. Not much we can do about it now.
Also, well dont last night guys, it was a fantastic game of footy. You guys were unlucky in the end I thought.
i just think that a player is going to get so frustrated by these umpiring inconsistencies, that one of these green/orange/white maggot c____ are going to get their head smacked in by a player. I for one will applaud this.The umpiring was more sad to see than frustrating. They destroyed a great, developing game with their bullsh*t calls and their soft free kicks.
Appauling.
look i dont expect anything to happen so there is no need to be a smart ass. I just wanted to alert the AFL of the shocking umpiring in the game last night, as im sure many people have already done to date. No need for smart ass comments.
What a ridiculous thread.
I taped the game and watched it again after reading this thread. There were many poor decisions both ways. Heaps of holding the ball decisions that didnt go against Carlton when they looked clear. Heaps of decisions that went in Essendons favor as well.
The umpires dont count the number of poor decisions against each team and then try to even them up. Yes over all we probably got the better end of the stick. But in our first 2 games this year we were probably behind.
You've got to remember that the umpires make a decision from what they can see. They can only see whats in front of them, not through bodies or packs, so often they don't call decisions just because they are unsighted. Otherwise they would be guessing and calling just as many poor decisions.
To say otherwise, or that the game is rigged is just delusional.
Umpiring was extremely frustrating, but in all, I was rapt with last night.
Judd & Stevens now up and about and will only get better.
Kreuzer proved his class.
Fev kicks 8 and hits the post 3 times.
Umpiring was deplorable, and we lose by 16 points.
There are so many positives.
I have no issues with the short term pain, God knows we've had plenty in recent times.
The future is bright.
I hope the Essendon supporters enjoyed their victory last night, because with our current stocks and future improvement, they'll be lucky to beaten us twice in the next 10 years.
I agree with alot of you about the inconsistent umpiring and the onesided result we got alot of the time. But there is one way to stop all that, and that's being first to the ball, more often than not the player first to the ball recieves the free kick. Yes the rules commitee has crucified backmen to a point where they can't do anything from behind, that needs to be addressed at the end of the year. On a brighter note how good was it to see FEV accept a umpires decision and chase down a player and cause a turnover, rather than arguing with the umpire. Lets hope that wasn't a one off.
Except when whe Fletcher Jumps on Eddie Betts and gets a free cause Eddie, by being stepped on by fletcher, was "tunnelling"....most ridiculous, stupid, crap decision ever made on any sporting pitch ever.
Mate, I tried to be constructive here, and logically explain the difference in free's, and you go and get personal? Take your blue's goggles off for a minute and look objectively for once.
Every NON-carlton person I have spoken to, and heard on the radio, including the commentary teams, said that the umpires had no bearing on the games result. Infact Swartz (SEN) was asked the question directly tonight and basically said the umpiring was good, and that Carlton gave away too many sloppy frees and 50's (hence the 3 goals from frees to us). Guys like you have got to get over this "poor us attitude". It doesn't suit a great club like Carlton to be the victim.
Carlton obviously get a pretty consistently good ride with the umpires then if you have rarely seen a difference of that many frees in a game! Its a regular occurrence for other teams. Its happened twice this year already, in a preseason game (saints), and against the Cats, for the bombers.
Arent you just proving what I said? If they can't see it they rarely will call a decision. To us that means they miss it, to them they are only acting on what they can. The fact that the other field umpire made the call from 40 (hardly 80, that would be almost in the bombers goal square) means they got that right.
Seriously, loosen up a little. You will win as many games from poor decisions as you lose in the end. Getting upset solves nothing, just gives you poor excuses for continual losses, instead of facing the reality that your team has a way to go, and Judd is not your Saviour. Kruzer and Judd may soon be though! He was real impressive!![]()
Funny thing was that Michael Voss on ch10 agreed with the decision. Betts took his eyes off the ball and looked at Fletcher. His intention was therefore to obstruct or interfere with Fletchers jump, which he successfully did.
You may well say "what is Betts supposed to do to contest"? Well that is why you dont kick to a contest between two me who are a foot different in height.