yellow maggots

Umpiring was extremely frustrating, but in all, I was rapt with last night.
Judd & Stevens now up and about and will only get better.
Kreuzer proved his class.
Fev kicks 8 and hits the post 3 times.
Umpiring was deplorable, and we lose by 16 points.
There are so many positives.
I have no issues with the short term pain, God knows we've had plenty in recent times.
The future is bright.
I hope the Essendon supporters enjoyed their victory last night, because with our current stocks and future improvement, they'll be lucky to beaten us twice in the next 10 years.

Yeah agree completely, after 6 years of being completely crap I'm happy with some short term pain to finally get things right.

I'm happy with the way we are heading, we need to become more accountable and let the backline settle (it's getting there slowly). There wasn't one point last night where I thought we could have done any better.

Once we get the skills right we will beat teams more often than not. This year I'm still confident of 5-8 wins, imo we will have a big 2nd half of the season.

It's now impossible for a deffender to spoil a forward these days. One clip of the arm and its called chopping the arm. Surely the umpires are smart enough to recoginse a deliberate chop and an accidental brush of the arms that effects the forward in no way what so ever.

I felt sorry for Jammo last night who made some great spoils only for the ump to pay a free.

Just sent an email to the AFL regarding the umpiring last night.

Basically what i said is i want to know the intepretation of the hands in the back rule because Fevola who was payed hands in the back actually had a forearm in the back

I outlined the obvious free kick's which were and were not payed

and i also asked for an explanation towards the free kick count 26-14.

Will let everyone know of my reply. If the bastards end up sending me one back.

Yep expect some instant and thorough action to be taken. :rolleyes:

look i dont expect anything to happen so there is no need to be a smart ass. I just wanted to alert the AFL of the shocking umpiring in the game last night, as im sure many people have already done to date. No need for smart ass comments.

oh they know... they know that the fans are frustrated with their pothetic attempt to interupt the rules put in place by idiots such as Kevin Barlett!

One incident, I think it was Laycock who was the tackler, had his hands blatantly around a Carlton players head. I was right behind it and it was one of the most obvious high tackles I have ever seen in my life. The worst thing was the umpire was about to ping the Carlton player but then changed his mind at the last second for a ball up.
Last night brought back memories of a few years ago when princess Hird had a sook over Mclarens umpiring the week before and then Mclaren decided to give about 99.99% of the free kicks to Essendon. We were r*ped from that prick all night. I had to look twice to see if Hird and Mclaren were part of the game last night.

Ive gotta admit, the umpires were shocking last night. I couldnt count the number of times i was disgusted with the decisions. Not just the soft ones that WERE paid, but also the others that wernt paid that were just as bad as the soft ones. And yes, most of the decisions did go Essendons way, I'm happy enough to admit that, and yes, the umpires probably did help us over the line in the end. But thats life. Not much we can do about it now.

Also, well dont last night guys, it was a fantastic game of footy. You guys were unlucky in the end I thought.

Ive gotta admit, the umpires were shocking last night. I couldnt count the number of times i was disgusted with the decisions. Not just the soft ones that WERE paid, but also the others that wernt paid that were just as bad as the soft ones. And yes, most of the decisions did go Essendons way, I'm happy enough to admit that, and yes, the umpires probably did help us over the line in the end. But thats life. Not much we can do about it now.

Also, well dont last night guys, it was a fantastic game of footy. You guys were unlucky in the end I thought.

It was a great game of footy but don't know if us being unlucky last night is the right way to put it. Robbed is more like it.

The umpiring was more sad to see than frustrating. They destroyed a great, developing game with their bullsh*t calls and their soft free kicks.

Appauling:thumbsdown:.
i just think that a player is going to get so frustrated by these umpiring inconsistencies, that one of these green/orange/white maggot c____ are going to get their head smacked in by a player. I for one will applaud this.

Stop blaming the umpires because we had bad decisions go against us as much as carlton did. get over it, the better team won last night. now move on and look foward to next weeks games against collingwood because a record is going to be broken:D.

look i dont expect anything to happen so there is no need to be a smart ass. I just wanted to alert the AFL of the shocking umpiring in the game last night, as im sure many people have already done to date. No need for smart ass comments.

Please don't mistake smartarse comments for a dose of reality. You seriously think your email will even be read? Appreciate your concern but fair dinkum, you may as well fire off some antsi emails about bringing conductors back on trams. Great sentiments but the horse has bolted mate and it ain't coming back.

Was at the game last night, seen some high tackles where essendon player grabbed carlton player round the head, wasn't called high tackle, ump called play on, there was some serious misjudgements. And I think it was either Murph or someone else got tackled round the head and was also called play on......There was also I think some free kicks given to essendon for no reason.........The Umpires need there eyes checked lots of things happened right in front of them which should have resulted in free kicks but didn't

What a ridiculous thread.

I taped the game and watched it again after reading this thread. There were many poor decisions both ways. Heaps of holding the ball decisions that didnt go against Carlton when they looked clear. Heaps of decisions that went in Essendons favor as well.

The umpires dont count the number of poor decisions against each team and then try to even them up. Yes over all we probably got the better end of the stick. But in our first 2 games this year we were probably behind.

You've got to remember that the umpires make a decision from what they can see. They can only see whats in front of them, not through bodies or packs, so often they don't call decisions just because they are unsighted. Otherwise they would be guessing and calling just as many poor decisions.

To say otherwise, or that the game is rigged is just delusional.

What a ridiculous thread.

I taped the game and watched it again after reading this thread. There were many poor decisions both ways. Heaps of holding the ball decisions that didnt go against Carlton when they looked clear. Heaps of decisions that went in Essendons favor as well.

Rubbish there were plenty of holding the ball decisions that didn’t go against Essendon as well, joke of an observation. One thing you obviously failed to pick up was the man handling of Fev, the in the back decision against him when Mal Michael jumped back into him and then all the contentious chopping the arm decisions that were so inconsistent!

The umpires dont count the number of poor decisions against each team and then try to even them up. Yes over all we probably got the better end of the stick. But in our first 2 games this year we were probably behind.

Of course they don’t however there is a theory that they do see the figures at half time and try to even out the ledger overall. When you look at 90% of games the free kick count is usually within 2-4 frees, not the huge 12 difference that was so poorly displayed on Saturday night!

You got the better end of the stick?! You had three goals resulting in free kicks to our none, and there were the 3 or 4 that you missed, including when your forward diving velvet sledgehammer leader did his best soccer impersonation and acted as if someone had shot him in the back, on numerous occasions I should add!

You've got to remember that the umpires make a decision from what they can see. They can only see whats in front of them, not through bodies or packs, so often they don't call decisions just because they are unsighted. Otherwise they would be guessing and calling just as many poor decisions.

To say otherwise, or that the game is rigged is just delusional.

you clearly didn’t watch the game all that closely did you... when Fev took that sliding mark the blind sided umpire called play on, it took an umpire 80m away to run in and defuse the situation and make the correct call. Umpires guess more often than not and half of that is due to trying to interrupt the rules imposed by clowns at AFL House (including Kevin Barlett).

The fact that you suggested that you watched the game again and thought everything is ok is plain delusional... you need help, serious help!

Mate, I tried to be constructive here, and logically explain the difference in free's, and you go and get personal? Take your blue's goggles off for a minute and look objectively for once.

Every NON-carlton person I have spoken to, and heard on the radio, including the commentary teams, said that the umpires had no bearing on the games result. Infact Swartz (SEN) was asked the question directly tonight and basically said the umpiring was good, and that Carlton gave away too many sloppy frees and 50's (hence the 3 goals from frees to us). Guys like you have got to get over this "poor us attitude". It doesn't suit a great club like Carlton to be the victim.

Do you really think the umpires see the figures at half time and that sways their decisions in the second half? Come on! seriously:eek: Umpiring is hard enough without having to count frees numbers, and taint decisions to suit the crowd on the hop!

"When you look at 90% of games the free kick count is usually within 2-4 frees, not the huge 12 difference that was so poorly displayed on Saturday night!"

Carlton obviously get a pretty consistently good ride with the umpires then if you have rarely seen a difference of that many frees in a game! Its a regular occurrence for other teams. Its happened twice this year already, in a preseason game (saints), and against the Cats, for the bombers.

"you clearly didn’t watch the game all that closely did you... when Fev took that sliding mark the blind sided umpire called play on, it took an umpire 80m away to run in and defuse the situation and make the correct call. Umpires guess more often than not and half of that is due to trying to interrupt the rules imposed by clowns at AFL House (including Kevin Barlett)."

Arent you just proving what I said? If they can't see it they rarely will call a decision. To us that means they miss it, to them they are only acting on what they can. The fact that the other field umpire made the call from 40 (hardly 80, that would be almost in the bombers goal square) means they got that right.
Seriously, loosen up a little. You will win as many games from poor decisions as you lose in the end. Getting upset solves nothing, just gives you poor excuses for continual losses, instead of facing the reality that your team has a way to go, and Judd is not your Saviour. Kruzer and Judd may soon be though! He was real impressive! :thumbsu:

Umpiring was extremely frustrating, but in all, I was rapt with last night.
Judd & Stevens now up and about and will only get better.
Kreuzer proved his class.
Fev kicks 8 and hits the post 3 times.
Umpiring was deplorable, and we lose by 16 points.
There are so many positives.
I have no issues with the short term pain, God knows we've had plenty in recent times.
The future is bright.
I hope the Essendon supporters enjoyed their victory last night, because with our current stocks and future improvement, they'll be lucky to beaten us twice in the next 10 years.

The umpiring was absolutely shocking but I have no idea how you can be rapt with a lose. I don't care how many positives came out of the came, we still lost to an average team.

We have been saying the future is bright for the past two year now and we still can't win games. Judd, Stevens and Fevola had great games but we still lost.

Our mentality much change for us to win, football is not just physical, it's mental also and as much as i hate to say this, but it seems our players keep thinking the same as you. It has to stop.

Sorry to add such a sour note but i'm just sick of losing and trying to put a positive spin on this, we need look at things in reality.

I agree with alot of you about the inconsistent umpiring and the onesided result we got alot of the time. But there is one way to stop all that, and that's being first to the ball, more often than not the player first to the ball recieves the free kick. Yes the rules commitee has crucified backmen to a point where they can't do anything from behind, that needs to be addressed at the end of the year. On a brighter note how good was it to see FEV accept a umpires decision and chase down a player and cause a turnover, rather than arguing with the umpire. Lets hope that wasn't a one off.

Except when whe Fletcher Jumps on Eddie Betts and gets a free cause Eddie, by being stepped on by fletcher, was "tunnelling"....most ridiculous, stupid, crap decision ever made on any sporting pitch ever.

Funny thing was that Michael Voss on ch10 agreed with the decision. Betts took his eyes off the ball and looked at Fletcher. His intention was therefore to obstruct or interfere with Fletchers jump, which he successfully did.

You may well say "what is Betts supposed to do to contest"? Well that is why you dont kick to a contest between two me who are a foot different in height.

Mate, I tried to be constructive here, and logically explain the difference in free's, and you go and get personal? Take your blue's goggles off for a minute and look objectively for once.

come off it you clown... that is the most bias response i have seen... let me disect your pathetic pot hole dribble which smacks of smuggness due to the Essendon win...

Every NON-carlton person I have spoken to, and heard on the radio, including the commentary teams, said that the umpires had no bearing on the games result. Infact Swartz (SEN) was asked the question directly tonight and basically said the umpiring was good, and that Carlton gave away too many sloppy frees and 50's (hence the 3 goals from frees to us). Guys like you have got to get over this "poor us attitude". It doesn't suit a great club like Carlton to be the victim.

Every NON carlton supporter hey... so you spoke to about what 3 people and thought well 3 out of 21 million, hey that is enough to establish a generalisation hey... well let me counter that with three of my own...
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=10560477&postcount=2 - note Essendon supporter...
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=10569744&postcount=9 - note essendon supporter...
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=10570506&postcount=11 - note essendon supporter...

is that enough clown?... no? well lets see...
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=10567340&postcount=34 - note essendon supporter...
while we are generalising 4 out of 100000 essendon supporters I would say that your in a minority of smug tossers that think that your pathetic attempt at "unbias" commentary is doing you some justice when in actual fact you are proving that you smack of stupidity!

Secondly you quote from David Schwatz... oh yes the genius who went broke gambling... and NOW he is a footy special commentator... bit of irony hey? oh yes and SEN their track record of accuracy is fantastic isn't it... hmm lets see their latest gaffe... Chris Rogers is leaving WA for VIC, that was until they interviewed Chris himself who said, I haven't made a decision yet... ohhh oppps... your assessment is lookin shit hot at the moment isnt it...

Thirdly... please I implore you to point out where I was complaining about the first two rounds... or our two rounds in the NAB cup... it was evident to everyone other than yourself and Mr experts comments himself David Schwatz that the umpires had a horrible game! But then again education isnt the forte of Essendon supporter, after all they are simply Collingwood supporters with teeth! :rolleyes:

Carlton obviously get a pretty consistently good ride with the umpires then if you have rarely seen a difference of that many frees in a game! Its a regular occurrence for other teams. Its happened twice this year already, in a preseason game (saints), and against the Cats, for the bombers.

OK... let me understand your logic here... there has been approximately 39 games of AFL thus far this year (15 NAB and 24 08 season) and your suggesting that Carlton, who mind you based on your analysis above is one of three, falls into a category of 7.7% of games which figure in big differences... oh and once during the year and that is consistant... 1 in 5 matches this year... you didnt too well at maths did you son? :rolleyes:

Arent you just proving what I said? If they can't see it they rarely will call a decision. To us that means they miss it, to them they are only acting on what they can. The fact that the other field umpire made the call from 40 (hardly 80, that would be almost in the bombers goal square) means they got that right.
Seriously, loosen up a little. You will win as many games from poor decisions as you lose in the end. Getting upset solves nothing, just gives you poor excuses for continual losses, instead of facing the reality that your team has a way to go, and Judd is not your Saviour. Kruzer and Judd may soon be though! He was real impressive! :thumbsu:

Fev took the mark just on our 50... the umpire came running in from just on the other side of centre wing where the ball came from... 80 was an exaggeration but 50+m away is feasible. The play stopped the players knew he had marked it and the officiating umpire ran in, while screaming play on from no further than 30m away... no player jumped on fev... and the luckily for Fev the wing umpire ran in a defused the situation before 3 Essendon players jumped all over him... That was a one of MANY clear cut mistakes.

have a watch of this, posted by an essendon supporter... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KErXhNChecQ
watch at 2.45...tell me why the tackle on the Essendon player wasn't paid there which resulted in an Essendon goal... keep in mind it was the 2nd quarter when there was a glut (23 plus) free kicks in the first half...

4.03... ball into the essendon forward line... monfiries jumps all over the back of the carlton player in front and misses the ball completly (dont try and tell me thornton pushed him, you'll just make a laughing stock of yourself) followed up by the continual holding of thornton... result essendon goal...

Surely with video evidence that not only is it the soft free kicks paid it is also the ones that arent. Reviewing the tape once again, only one of Essendon's 3 free kick goals could be justified, the bachar houli one with bower taking him high at the punt rd end... the other two compounded with those two above, along with some others (which I have no video of as they are not on youtube) were ultimately the difference.

Now please attend the Essendon board, gloat and act smug there as you like... your not welcome here and I don't want to have to disect your swiss cheese style rebuttle again... it's a waste of my time and it's a waste of your time in writting false and fictional dribble!

Funny thing was that Michael Voss on ch10 agreed with the decision. Betts took his eyes off the ball and looked at Fletcher. His intention was therefore to obstruct or interfere with Fletchers jump, which he successfully did.

You may well say "what is Betts supposed to do to contest"? Well that is why you dont kick to a contest between two me who are a foot different in height.

oh dear... is that you making a fool of yourself again...

lets see round one... Clint Jones from St Kilda takes his eyes off the ball to look at the Sydney player in Mattner to assess what is coming at him... he then marks the ball all the while crashing into Mattner...

Jones took his eyes off the ball to assess the danger... Betts did the same... a player who is a foot smaller than the player attacking him needs to protect himself all the while still being courageous and attacking the ball...

tell me this, would of Kosi been knocked out by Giansiricusa if he had looked at him and assess his situation? no... and how did everyone react? in shock and awe at how sickening the contest was...

you really need to think before you write! :rolleyes:

yellow maggots