You Beauty!!!!!!!!!!!

WHAT A GAME!!!!!!!

I have to say - that is by far game of the year.
Inf act that is the best Port victory ive ever seen...magpies or power. Unbelivable game of football.

Had everything...cheating umpires, hard knocks, a few brawls, some great goals, and some awfully spectacular marks...and best of all it was close...AND WE BEAT THE BOMBERS!!!!

Im still in shock!! Ive never been that worried in a game of footy before.

First of all i wanna talk about the umpiring. It gets worse and worse each week.
most of ports were because of Essendon playing dirty...a lot of frees behind the play. Whereas essendons frees were just bemusing.

Why did Essendon get 2 50m penalties in the first 5 minutes?? Thankyou umpire for their first two goals.
Next crap decision...Hird gets a free for push in the back because he fell forward.....the ball went down the other end 2 minutes later...same thing happens to Brogan - no free kick.
Last few minutes...Hird has hte ball - gets bumped by primus, then tackled, hird still has the ball and doesnt get rid of it - no free kick.
By watching that match i am dead certain there is a different set of rules for some players (or team you could say) than there is for others. The champions never and i mean NEVER get pinned for holding the ball even if they should be.
The umpiring was dead bias...and it looked like at the end that the umpires would get Essendon up with a number of frees to the bombers and a lack of obvious frees to port.

BUT WHAT A GAME.
Easily game of the year...it was better than last weeks essendon game i reckon. THe game swung about 7 different times that match.
Port did not have one bad player at all...maybe Lockwood only because he couldnt get the ball...but he did create a contest and got the ball to ground for the rovers.
Brent Guerra played his best ever game...4 goals..plenty of touches, and 3 fantastic one handed marks.
Tredrea was awesome up forward...as was Cornes who played his best ever game of AFL football. This has led me to think he is the Darren Smith of the Power....doesnt do much in normal games but always stands tall for the big games - a big game player. Primus was unbelivable in the ruck. Nick Stevens had a timely return to his AFL best form. Francou did some good things. Paxman was great on Lloyd all game...Meady was great.

Hird vs Wanganeen - one of the best matchups ever in the history of the game. Who won it?? well i reckon it was even. Hird was great...Wanganeen was just as great. Dead even.

fantastic effort Port - youve done everybody proud with that victory!!!
Well done Bombers on a fantastic game as well.

The umpires let the game flow, which was good. They didn't pay many tiggy-touchwood frees. Essendon'stwo 50-metre penalties were there, but they were possibly a bit soft. I wouldn't have paid them, but that doens't mean they weren't there.

The umpiring didn't have an influence on the result. Port won by 7 points, which was "about" the margin of their supremacy.

Wellman was easily our best, and Soloman was good too. Cornes provided some height an marking power for Port, and Tredrea looked dangerous. But the game was won in Ports' midfield. We were beaten in the midfield by arguably the competitons premier midfield outfit.

It wasn't the best game of the year, although it was in the top 5. Last weeks Ess-North game obviously was one of the greatest of all-time, but I though the Richmond-Bulldogs clash on Friday was every bit as good as today's contest. It would probably rate third best game of the year IMHO.

Was a good round actually.

Last sunday might have had the records but yesterday had it all for ferocious pressure and drama.. real finals football.

And when do port get a better rating in the bookies' eyes ? - they a clearly a contender.

Originally posted by Macca19
First of all i wanna talk about the umpiring. It gets worse and worse each week.
most of ports were because of Essendon playing dirty...a lot of frees behind the play. Whereas essendons frees were just bemusing.

Why did Essendon get 2 50m penalties in the first 5 minutes?? Thankyou umpire for their first two goals.
Next crap decision...Hird gets a free for push in the back because he fell forward.....the ball went down the other end 2 minutes later...same thing happens to Brogan - no free kick.
Last few minutes...Hird has hte ball - gets bumped by primus, then tackled, hird still has the ball and doesnt get rid of it - no free kick.

firstly, well done to port, great game

but the umpiring wasnt that bad
the 50's were there, the one to mcveigh was definately there, it was late and un called for

as for the hird holding the ball, first contact was a bump, not a tackle, so he had every right to hang onto the ball, when a tackle was layed he handballed straight away, that isnt holding the ball

Re: Re: You Beauty!!!!!!!!!!!

Originally posted by walshy1993

firstly, well done to port, great game

but the umpiring wasnt that bad
the 50's were there, the one to mcveigh was definately there, it was late and un called for

as for the hird holding the ball, first contact was a bump, not a tackle, so he had every right to hang onto the ball, when a tackle was layed he handballed straight away, that isnt holding the ball

He didnt handball it away. He still had hold of the ball when the umpire called a ball up. Brent Guerra got pinned for exactly the same thing in the third quarter yet Hird gets away with it.

Not to mention the soft free kick he got after that in the cnetre square for god knows what.

Just as Healy said on TV - what the hell are the port fans booing for?? That Hird bump was nowhere near holding the ball - the port player erred in not tackling - he bumped Hird.

What I thought WAS holding the ball was cornes in think in the last just before Burgoyne (I think) kicked a goal - that was more holding the ball than Hird.

Also - that "point" which apparently went OVER the line - that looked very sus on the replay! They reckon the whole ball has to be over - Im not sure ANY of the ball was over the line. That woulda been a huge goal for us.

Dont worry Macca - Wanga was all over Hird a few times but nothing....and Lloyd - is he allowed to take a mark without getting pushed later or his back jumped into? I mean, we could all go on about the umps.

But anyway....

You know I knew you'd have a squeal about that. The first was dodgy but how can you complain about the second? Johnson clearly marks the footy and is shirtfronted whilst still in the air by a man who was not playing the footy. Complain all you like about the other decisions Macca, but not that one.

Christ, you won the game but you still whinge about the bloody umps. You'll only be happy when the free kick tally reads 25-0 in your favour!

See you in the finals. ;)

i think macca was a tad happy at the time of starting this thread!!

its all going along well for essendon at the minute. getting out scored by 10 goals in a QTR, and comin back to win against a mediorce side, still, non the less, a great effort against any side.

they wont lose a final, they have lost their games for the rest of year.. thats it.. its only going to make them hungrIER at the ball, and want to win even more..

I would think that was close to the best game of the year. It was just fantastic. You just knew the Bombers would fight back all the time. When they drew level I thought they would win but in the end Port deserved their victory. Good on them!

Originally posted by Smokin
Just as Healy said on TV - what the hell are the port fans booing for?? That Hird bump was nowhere near holding the ball - the port player erred in not tackling - he bumped Hird.

What I thought WAS holding the ball was cornes in think in the last just before Burgoyne (I think) kicked a goal - that was more holding the ball than Hird.

Also - that "point" which apparently went OVER the line - that looked very sus on the replay! They reckon the whole ball has to be over - Im not sure ANY of the ball was over the line. That woulda been a huge goal for us.

Dont worry Macca - Wanga was all over Hird a few times but nothing....and Lloyd - is he allowed to take a mark without getting pushed later or his back jumped into? I mean, we could all go on about the umps.

But anyway....

Some of what you said is correct - others is absolute crap.

Hird got bumped, fell to ground, got tackled by three players, had the chance to get rid of the ball but did not even make an attempt - that is holding the ball.
I was waiting for someone to mention the point...it did look a bit suss didnt it.

But what you say about Lloyd is crap. Its a lot easier to see what happens at the ground than on tv referring to forwards leading - pushes in the back etc.
Lloyd was not pushed in the back once by Paxman. Lloyd spent the first three quarters playing for free kicks. That is why i percieve this guy as weak...if he kept his mind on the ball he woulda had 2 or 3 goals in the first half - but he played for free kicks and proceeded to lie on the ground staring at the umpire with his mouth gaping open as per usual.
As for pushes in the back...why wasnt paxman given a free when lloyd pushed him in the back to kick his 4th goal.
I can think of 5 or 6 incidents in the last quarter alone where port should of got blatant free kicks but they didnt.

Dave - so just because my team won means im not allowed to mention the state of the umpiring??

Macca - I wasnt talking about Lloyd playing for apparent free kicks - just when he took marks he was constantly interfered with - meaning it took longer to move the ball on.

Ok, disagree with Hird, fine - but what was your take on the Cornes one then? What pisses me off about that is you then kicked a goal.

Yea, that point was terrible umpiring, that was a huge non-call in the context of the game.

Two goal events going against us there in a VERY close quarter of football.

My point on that post wasnt to necessarily argue every bloody decision, I mean Ive done that with mates at my place watching the tape and we still cant agree - I just wanted to point out that not everything necessarily went our way during the game, like u suggested.

I am still furious about that point tho.

Originally posted by Smokin
Ok, disagree with Hird, fine - but what was your take on the Cornes one then? What pisses me off about that is you then kicked a goal.

Yea, that point was terrible umpiring, that was a huge non-call in the context of the game.

Two goal events going against us there in a VERY close quarter of football.
I am still furious about that point tho.

Yeah the point was definatly a wrong decision from what i can tell on the replay.

What quarter is this Cornes decision in??? And ill have a look...it wasnt Burgoyne that kicked the goal...i knwo that cos he didnt kick a goal

Dave - so just because my team won means im not allowed to mention the state of the umpiring??

I'd have thought you'd have better things to do than sook about decisions, some of which were correct. At times the umps stuffed up and favoured Essendon and at times they stuffed up and favoured Port. We could sit here all day and say "I saw this decision that was wrong" and "I saw that decision that was wrong" but it's pointless. You reckon there were "5 or 6 incidents in the last quarter alone where port should of got blatant free kicks but they didnt", I'm sure if I could be bothered I could find just as many that went the other way. Open your eyes and look at the game objectively!

And you have yet to state what exactly was wrong with the second fifty. Be interesting to hear your view given Burgoyne has been cited for charging.

Originally posted by Dave

I'd have thought you'd have better things to do than sook about decisions, some of which were correct. At times the umps stuffed up and favoured Essendon and at times they stuffed up and favoured Port. We could sit here all day and say "I saw this decision that was wrong" and "I saw that decision that was wrong" but it's pointless. You reckon there were "5 or 6 incidents in the last quarter alone where port should of got blatant free kicks but they didnt", I'm sure if I could be bothered I could find just as many that went the other way. Open your eyes and look at the game objectively!

And you have yet to state what exactly was wrong with the second fifty. Be interesting to hear your view given Burgoyne has been cited for charging.

Yup watching the replay of the last quarter only an hour ago there were 3 blatant frees that were missed by Port in the last quarter.
1) Francou pulled off the ball unfairly
2) Wellman blatantly pushed COrnes in the back to take a mark
3) Wanganeen had his head ripped off by JJ yet no free

Hird gets touched and he gets a free kick.

At the game - the second 50 looked extremly soft. Maybe thats just the SANFL coming out in me which is 4x as physical and 4x as tough as the AFL is.
Looking at the replay before then yeah it was there.

Yup watching the replay of the last quarter only an hour ago there were 3 blatant frees that were missed by Port in the last quarter.
1) Francou pulled off the ball unfairly
2) Wellman blatantly pushed COrnes in the back to take a mark
3) Wanganeen had his head ripped off by JJ yet no free

Hird gets touched and he gets a free kick.

****in get over it Macca. You won!! :mad:

I'm not complaining about the umpires...the better team won. Move on mate! Don't drag yourself down to the levels of others.

Please...give it a rest!

In the last quarter Hird got a free kick because he is James Hird (i.e. there was no free there), and he did a crap handball straight to Wanganeen who is clearly caught too high and no free.

You Beauty!!!!!!!!!!!