Roast **** you Jason Dunstall

He may have gone back to the hotel, barely heard him in the second half.

This is so true. He hardly gave a yelp in the second half because we were winning so clearly. I think he should do himself a favour and ask his employer not to send him to collingwood games because he only enjoys them when we're losing.

I was thinking about starting a thread on this, I found myself abusing the commentators more than our awful first half.

Huddo, Dunstall and Brown have been a joke today, the worst commentary I have ever heard and I am not even joking.

That man child Hudson has always been a Collingwood hater and not for the first time Dunstall has showed himself to be the same.

Pretty much every commentator either has a blatant bias against us or seems to always get far more excited by the deeds of opposition players than ours.

Majority of the Fox Footy team are anti-Collingwood. I can't stand David King, pretty much just states the obvious and always loves anything going against Collingwood.

David King is a ****ing nuffy. I still remember during 2010 and 11 when every week he would come up with someway to stop the Pies winning games, and claim this is the week they would lose.

After he was wrong about 40 times in a row he finally got one right and wouldn't shut up about it for a week. Complete tool.

I note you wrote that without any trace of irony... so let me respond to you by saying...."and if you don't like these posts.. how about you take your own advice and don't read.. don't respond...log off and go to bed!
Welcome back doodles. Haven't seen you around for a while

In a broader sense I'm sick of Seven and Fox commentators continually barracking for the underdog. They seem to be either told to do it or it's a bit of a pact they have to make the game more "interesting", especially in the 2nd half. Make Collingwood the favourite and it gives all these ex players with no actual broadcasting skill the chance to polish off their bias and wear it like a badge of honour.

If only our game got the professionalism in commentary that it deserves.

Haha love this thread, exactly my thoughts on the fat baboon after yesterday. I don't have Foxtel at home so it was the first time I've heard that commentary team all year.

What a joke it was, it sounded like they all had some $$ on a GC result or at least making the line, the bias was sickening, worse than what I've heard when we used to get an all SA crew broadcasting Pies vs Crows games over there.

What a bunch of muppets, I remember one of many times they were having a sook, it was in regards to the pendles handball to the seed that was close to the boundary line, they see a replay which I reckon shows the ball staying in play, they view the replay and then cry more about it.

Are these asshats unaware a player can have most of their body OOB as long as they keep the ball in.

Imagine paying to hear that drivel...

You're all missing the point. The decision killed Gold Coast momentum and probably cost them the game. At least that is what Jason told me.
He didn't tell you as much as bemoan it for what seemed like an eternity. And Jono "that's play on for mine" Brown? Please!

Did anyone listen to the triple M commentary? I tuned in for a little while, had to turn it off. Not even sure who the commentators were (it wasn't Gary Lyon etc), but they were terrible. Every 30 seconds they complained that "Gold Coast deserved a free kick there", and didn't give any information about the game at all. After one Collingwood goal they sounded so depressed and literally didn't even mention who kicked it.

Friday night, I got sick of the amount of times the woman basher Carey, kept defending Selwood, and had to tell everyone that he doesn't duck. And the amount of times they had nothing to say when he made cheap shots on Curnow.

Channel 7 is so bad too, they have a weird obsession with Rioli, Selwood, Judd and anyone anti- Collingwood. I don't know why it's not being brought up, something like this is really disgusting in terms of how un-professional it is and how much I contrasts to other sport commentary around the world that is fair.

I'm glad I was not the only one who thought the commentary was anti-Collingwood. Actually, I'm not even shocked about this thread because I was thinking the very same thing while listening to them.

I thought Brown was more impartial but the one who complained about the White free kick just went overboard and sounded silly getting himself angry over nothing.

Jonathan Brown is meant to be their big commentary coup of 2015. Think the brain cells he has left matches the number he wore for years at the Bears.

Bloke is so slow when he speaks, and doesn't even offer any intellectual insight besides, yep they need to get the ball forward quickly or agreeing with the rest of the knobs.

Ever since the dawn of time, commentators have always barracked for the underdogs and/or the team who is behind.

They do it to create drama, to give hope to supporters of the team who are the underdogs / are behind. They do it because they want to keep viewers watching and not changing channels to My Kitchen Rules or something.

How many Collingwood supporters would have been so disgusted by Dunstall's commentary that they would would have changed channels or turned the telly off? Precisely zero.

Bruce "they are 20 goals down, but you get the impression that if they get the next one they could be right back in this" McAvaney is a master of it.

Jonathan Brown is meant to be their big commentary coup of 2015. Think the brain cells he has left matches the number he wore for years at the Bears.

Bloke is so slow when he speaks, and doesn't even offer any intellectual insight besides, yep they need to get the ball forward quickly or agreeing with the rest of the knobs.

Really?

Last night he was calling in the matchups and commenting on who was better matched up with whom based on performances in recent games.

But he only does it for the forwardline / backline. The midfield is clearly an alien place for him.

Ever since the dawn of time, commentators have always barracked for the underdogs and/or the team who is behind.

They do it to create drama, to give hope to supporters of the team who are the underdogs / are behind. They do it because they want to keep viewers watching and not changing channels to My Kitchen Rules or something.

How many Collingwood supporters would have been so disgusted by Dunstall's commentary that they would would have changed channels or turned the telly off? Precisely zero.

Bruce " they are 20 goals down, but you get the impression that if they get the next one they could be right back in this" McAvaney is a master of it.
This.

All designed to keep the neautral fans watching and viewer numbers up for advertising.

Although I must admit, it doesn't feel like it goes both ways. When we were being pummelled by Adelaide and Geeling, all they talked about was how much better they were.

Commentary in our sport isn't needed, it just isn't.

Last night I was watching the last quarter of Hawks/Swans while listening to a soccer game from Scotland.

I still knew exactly what was going on at all times during that last quarter in a great game. Meanwhile I could see on social media people whinging about Darcy and the channel 7's crew commentating and kissing Cyrils' arse, well until he stuffed up 3 times in the last minute and cost them the game.

I've asked for a long time for a red button option where there's no commentary at all, just the atmosphere of the game, it would be so much better then the drivel we have to put up with AFL commentators.

7 and Fox call games worse then any sport I know of in the world, their commentary is 90% biased and 10% accurate.

I cannot stand the bastard as a commentator,the arseh*le was a Blues supporter growing up and it shows,he has a strident anti Pies bias and it is getting worse.I just turn the prick off when he comes on I absolutely detest him and he definitely has his favourites and we are not 1 of them.

Commentary in our sport isn't needed, it just isn't.

Last night I was watching the last quarter of Hawks/Swans while listening to a soccer game from Scotland.

I still knew exactly what was going on at all times during that last quarter in a great game. Meanwhile I could see on social media people whinging about Darcy and the channel 7's crew commentating and kissing Cyrils' arse, well until he stuffed up 3 times in the last minute and cost them the game.

I've asked for a long time for a red button option where there's no commentary at all, just the atmosphere of the game, it would be so much better then the drivel we have to put up with AFL commentators.

7 and Fox call games worse then any sport I know of in the world, their commentary is 90% biased and 10% accurate.

Rioli lost them the game by going one handed at the ball.

I lol'd.

#bringbackpressredfored

+1

There is definitely a place for partisan commentary.

And it's not just about biased commentary, IMHO that's only a tiny part of it.

As a Collingwood supporter I see the game very differently to a Suns supporter. I know a bit about an obscure bloke named Mason Cox, but I know diddly squat about a bloke named Charlie Dixon.

Give me a five minute rundown before the game about this kind of stuff ...

"Suns have a strong KPF in Charlie Dixon, this is what he looks like, he's wearing number 23, this is what he's kicked in recent weeks. Here's a few clips to show you how he moves and what he can do. Might be a bit too strong for Frosty, so Brown will probably go to him."

I'd get so much more out of watching the game if I had that.

Dunstall said Jessie ducked. He was friggin bending down going for a mark at a ball kicked too low to his feet.
Then he gets a nasty hip to the head & Dunstall says play on & then brown agrees?
I mean how far can bias go with these guys? It was a free every day of the week & a potential dangerous hip to the head.
You're a flog Dunstall.
Please Fox sports, piss him off from our games. He gives me the total shits.
He did not duck at all and I don,t think the bloke who got him did not do much wrong either just one of those things that happen.White was extremely lucky he never broke his neck but I don,t think there was any malice in it but Dunstall if he said that well all you can say is that the head knock he got when he was playing is starting to go to his head.

Did anyone listen to the triple M commentary? I tuned in for a little while, had to turn it off. Not even sure who the commentators were (it wasn't Gary Lyon etc), but they were terrible. Every 30 seconds they complained that "Gold Coast deserved a free kick there", and didn't give any information about the game at all. After one Collingwood goal they sounded so depressed and literally didn't even mention who kicked it.
Triple m - Barry Denner, Sam Hargreaves, Peter Everitt, Belinda Mellen

Started on tripe m, they were shocking, at times they didn't know player names and other times hardly called the play. When Witts took a mark they didn't mention who had it until after he kicked the goal and like you said on another occasion didn't know who had kicked it for the 'pies. Seemed like they didn't realise they were on radio not tv. I switched to abc radio in the 2nd quarter, it was refreshing and way better then the junk channel 7 dish up week after week. I struggle to put up with channel 7 even for neutral games.

Roast **** you Jason Dunstall