You should be Ashamed

I will be renewing my membership.

I understand that many supporters are upset. I was.

However the truth is, I suspect, that none of them have any first hand insight to the whole scenario that led the club to these decisions. I also suspect that few of them will have any experience in managing not only the financials of such a large and dynamic enterprise but also the personalities and egos. Some are running on emotion at the expense of rational thinking.

The media reports in these areas are rarely reliable.

I'm sad to see JS go. He can be exciting. I like AT's drive. But they're gone. I'll be cheering for the guys in Black and White rather than brooding over something that is entirely out of my control and capacity to know the details.

No ones jumping ship. People are voicing their frustration. If the club doesnt listen and see a drop off in membership , then maybe its a good move.

if you think the pies have handled it well , you need a reality check. These arent hard times because we are bad on the field , these are hard times because the admin dont have a clue what they are doing which will inevitably cause us to be a shit show on the field as well as off.

get a clue

I will be renewing my membership.

I understand that many supporters are upset. I was.

However the truth is, I suspect, that none of them have any first hand insight to the whole scenario that led the club to these decisions. I also suspect that few of them will have any experience in managing not only the financials of such a large and dynamic enterprise but also the personalities and egos. Some are running on emotion at the expense of rational thinking.

The media reports in these areas are rarely reliable.

I'm sad to see JS go. He can be exciting. I like AT's drive. But they're gone. I'll be cheering for the guys in Black and White rather than brooding over something that is entirely out of my control and capacity to know the details.

Valid. But we are grouped with the likes of Roos and GC and Dees as the worst poorly run clubs in the league. You dont have to have experience in a certain field to realise its being run badly in comparison to competitors.

The hysteria is warranted. First time I have ever felt like this and can agree with many disgruntled Pies fans. This week has been like "the muppets" displayed by our leaders. Even the bottom 8 clubs never show this type of unprofessional BS.

If we don't speak up, this will continue. How many more years for Ed? We can't even get 1 single trade right. Ed and Nathan lying to us to top things off just nicely.

Ned is useless and parrots whatever he is told.

Harvey Sanderson LMAO they can't even coach together, let alone coach at all..

Yeah, I will send the club even more money.. This is a business. In Business these types of results bring multiple sackings..

Shame on you for this thread.

Sorry mate but i don't think its right to try and throw shame at people for refusing to financially support an organisation they no longer believe in or trust.

If people want to remain financially loyal, thats their prerogative, you'll get no judgement from me, but don't go labelling genuine lifelong fans who feel let down by the club and clearly don't hold the same values you do "fair weather dogs".

This isn't just knee jerk reaction from the past few weeks, it's more the culmination of a long, long list of perceived transgressions, ineptitude, and lack of due diligence being exercised in both governance and performance on the part of the president, his mates on the board, head of football, list management team, and coaches that we've all been sucking up with the hope that things will improve.

They look like they've to a person lost control of the wheel and are fumbling around in the dark whilst maintaining the delusion that we're following some sort of plan for success, when the reality appears to be more that we're just stumbling from one mess into the next.

Hopefully there is a genuine reckoning coming at the AGM where members will stand up and not just nod their head when the bullshit starts being spun up on stage, or the empty excuses and apologies start flowing.

It is an absolute disgrace the way some of you are carrying on about cancelling memberships or not renewing them. You should be ashamed and to be honest we don’t want you as Collingwood supporters. You stick with your club through thick and thin.
Interestingly half of you spend your time in match day threads bagging Trealor’s disposal and defensive skills and now that he is gone you would reckon he was Bob Rose. Stephenson has been canned all year for lack of intensity, making ridiculous decisions and not being hard enough. Now suddenly he is John Greening. Tom Philips who has been mercilessly ridiculed during the year is suddenly the great Peter Daicos who can produce magic in the midfield and go forward and tear the heart out of the game. To be honest we just removed three bits of deadwood that is stopping us going the next step. Last night was the best thing to happen to the club. As for you hypocritical fair weather ‘dogs’. Go elsewhere. Not only will I renew my membership but I will up my sponsorship. Floreat Pica.

People are not angry at the fact Treloar, Stephenson and Phillips are leaving. It’s the way their contracts and their departures have been handled.

For me personally, what bugs me the most is the fact the JS was let go at his lowest trade value. Why not give him another year to work things out or increase his value?? (we’ve given other lesser players much more latitude). Even if JS does turn out to be a spud, what exactly would we lose out on by holding onto him for an extra year? Had the club came out honestly and said “we screwed up our cap”, I would’ve accepted it and move on, but this is not what has happened.

I understand that the club is running a “business” and doesn’t owe the fans any explanation. It is just very very disappointing

I’m not forfeiting my membership but I can fully understand why people would want to do so. How else can fans protest?

Haven't read through all the responses and rarely post here these days.
No problem with clubs making tough decisions and calculated calls on players (it also redresses the player / club power imbalance in movements).
There was clear salary cap mismanagement and if the call was to just rip the band-aid off to clean up the mess, OK.
The character insinuations / lack of club response on the rumours swirling in the media was poor.
Tipping our hand and selling off assets for cents on the dollar was setting money on fire and amateur hour.
The public representations about strengthening the draft hand are absurd on their face.
All they had to do was face the music, admit they'd made blues and needed to take drastic steps to rectify, particularly with a view to possible cap / list changes.
They decided to piss down people's legs and tell them it was raining.

On moto g(7) plus using BigFooty.com mobile app

Did your husband (or do you) realise we literally got nothing back in return for Treloar? Pick 14 was obtained in a pick swap that was heavily in the Bulldogs favour (to the tune of 562 DVI points) and the future 2nd is mostly cancelled out by the difference. You need to look beyond the bullshit that Guy and Walsh have spun in the past 24 hours re: "acquiring picks".

That's not even mentioning that we now have zero collateral to match a bid for Reef if it comes where we hope it might and thus we have to find some additional 2020 picks again by diluting one of our first round picks or bringing back that extra future second round pick.

I understand wanting to put a positive spin on things and all, but at least have some awareness of what actually happened. We screwed ourselves really, really hard on that trade and basically gave Treloar away for nothing, while potentially still paying a significant portion of his salary for the next 5 years.
And isn't it great we still get to pay part of Treloars salary, like someone giving me a brand new car and filling it up every week for the next few years, bonus

It is an absolute disgrace the way some of you are carrying on about cancelling memberships or not renewing them. You should be ashamed and to be honest we don’t want you as Collingwood supporters. You stick with your club through thick and thin.
Interestingly half of you spend your time in match day threads bagging Trealor’s disposal and defensive skills and now that he is gone you would reckon he was Bob Rose. Stephenson has been canned all year for lack of intensity, making ridiculous decisions and not being hard enough. Now suddenly he is John Greening. Tom Philips who has been mercilessly ridiculed during the year is suddenly the great Peter Daicos who can produce magic in the midfield and go forward and tear the heart out of the game. To be honest we just removed three bits of deadwood that is stopping us going the next step. Last night was the best thing to happen to the club. As for you hypocritical fair weather ‘dogs’. Go elsewhere. Not only will I renew my membership but I will up my sponsorship. Floreat Pica.

I think a lot of people see cancelling their membership as the only way they can protest what's happened. It says a lot that this is the only way most people think they can communicate with our club. To me it raises big questions regarding how the club communicates with and receives feedback from its supporters. The club seems to have a seige mentality when it comes to this and the media.

Cancelling memberships has become the "you're not invited to my bday party" of footy forums.

People can do what they like but guarantee that people rage quitting would be straight back on board the second we look like contending. Some people even call Richmond members bandwagoners when they do that.

Not us pies though. We're loyal and bleed black and white.... Right?

I’m thinking of buying additional memberships. To help make up the shortfall. :oops:

A lot of hysteria on here in the last few days. Yes, it feels like a poor return for the players out. But my Cats supporting husband thought we did well out of the Treloar trade. Lovely guy, loyal and true, but probably the most ineffective ‘elite’ midfielder going around.

I want a flag, and this may be the turn towards that.

How can anyone fail to understand it is the appalling lack of communication and arrogant. almost snide response from Guy who spoke as if he believed the whole supporter base is mentally challenged which has infuriated the supporters? Matt Rendell has been roundly abused on this forum yet he gave the most cogent explanation for our trading that I have heard and he no longer works for the club. He understood what caused the angst. It was the lack of communication followed by a disgracefully disastrous interview with Ned Guy on Fox which magnified the anger and disbelief.

Guy lied about the salary cap and spoke a load of tosh and expected us to swallow it. It appears Buckley lied to Treloar when he said the senior players didn't like him or want him. Geoff Walsh tried to infer that Stevo was lying yet when you read his words carefully, it is clear that Stevenson spoke the truth. Telling a player there are areas of his game which need attention and improvement is not the same as telling him he is no longer wanted and will be traded.

Ned Guy also made it sound as if Treloar and Stevo suddenly announced they wanted to be traded to the Dogs and North respectively. They had no choice!

As for the argument that fans on this forum bagged these players-so what? That doesn't mean they wanted to see them traded for almost nothing while we still paid one of those players hundreds of thousands of dollars a year to not play with us!

Let me guess, the second best thing to happen to the club, was the mismanagement of our salary cap?

Cancelling memberships has become the "you're not invited to my bday party" of footy forums.

People can do what they like but guarantee that people rage quitting would be straight back on board the second we look like contending. Some people even call Richmond members bandwagoners when they do that.

Not us pies though. We're loyal and bleed black and white.... Right?
Crap call saying these people are bandwagoners. Bandwagoners jump off when the team is performing poorly. People not renewing their memberships in response to shocking administration is a sign of loyalty and passion for the Football club rather than the individuals who happen to be running it at any given time. How else can people express the depth of their outrage other than to hit them in the only place it hurts-their wallet?

AHhhhh, SHUT UP ya Goose

It’ll renew. But those not renewing are probably doing to so to highlight that what has transpired over the past few years is the real disgrace.

Disgraceful things to have occurred under the current regime include:

The moronic treatment of Neil Balme to bring in Grubby Allen - who probably had a hand in white anting our club for some unknown reason. This, IMO, has cost us a better culture and probably a premiership

Ed's handy work. Lasted 6 months before the AFL suspended him for hiding Whitfield, signed Wells and Mayne for overs to make a splash and I gather left a sexual harassment case in his wake.

Bringing in guys like Beams, Wells, Mayne and even Trelaor.... Beams showed his true colours after leaving us the first time.
Wells was too old and as we saw his body was broken. Mayne has been serviceable but paid way too much.
Treloar wasn’t worth 2 forst rounders nor the figures the media scum are throwing around.

Ed was the major architect of Beams return i believe. Buckley required Sidebottom to bring him around. Guy simply had to land him after it was already in tow. His actually salary wasn't high for a player of his standing. Just hasn't worked.

Hine facilitated the Treloar trades. Wells and Mayne contracts caused Treloar to defer income, which he did.
Guy also had 29 contracts to negotiate in the year he arrived as well as Beams. He's had to spread out contracts to make them fit and not have everyone come due at the same time. It has not been an easy job.

We constantly have the most injuries or are amongst the most frequently injured team in the league.

Perhaps, but I take comfort from Elliott and Moore's recovery and Jordy's hamstrings also have been better this season. the Club actually invested in sending them to Germany and it has paid off.

This season Kelly broke his arm, Howe's leg was shattered by an opponent, DeGoey a finger and Sidebottom scored an own goal and got suspended. Not much we can do about that. Treloar missed with a hamstring after playing too many games and a week before he was scheduled for a rest.

We seem to have to pay a premium in dealing for trades withother clubs. Treloar, Phillips, Stevenson and witts are all good examples of this. Going out of coming in, or as we’ve seen even keeping our own. We pay our players like they’re A graders when they’re way off that mark. At least this week goes some way to rectifying that and hopefully setting a nee trend.
Players this year were bleating about their treatment courtesy of Bucks mismanagement of the situation. Clear we were desperate.

Witts was second in the queue and had been passed by Grundy and was not quite at the level and a young developing Ruck to command more. But I agree that I knew then that it was a steal.

But do you think Ed publicly making enemies of other clubs assists us? GWS Falafels, Sydney and Goodes/COLA, Cats and Jack Steven....and Ed has the temerity to accuse Colin Carter of conflicts of interest!!!!

By contrast Freo was reasonable with Aish last year because Longmuir was 'one of us'.
They also have a poor track record of trades - Clement, Tarrant, Medhurst with us and Jesse Hogan the latest fail.

We have well fallen behind the likes of hawthorn, Geelong and Richmond. I’m most aspects. And membership numbers aren’t growing and will take a hit.
It may be the only way Ed gets the message.
Brian Cook/Colin Carter/Frank Costa/Stephen Wells/Chris Scott are good experienced operators.
Similar Peggy O'Neal, Brendan Gale, Neil Balme, Hardwick

I'm less taken by the Hawks. They had a golden run and have mismanaged things now with their Moneyball strategy.
Patton, Scully, O'Meara, Wingard haven't really worked at all and cost them plenty.
They are paying for not having been to the draft and look shot for the next couple.
But their members should hold on given so much success in the past 20 years.
Even Jeff Kennett, ego and mouth that he is, instituted a policy to stand down after a set term and then he came back later.

To be honest I don’t really see what we stand for as a club any more.
Side by Side - Doesn't feel like it at present given the way Treloar and Stephenson were handled.
Club's response was a tweet from Bucks, Walsh being interviewed by Ed on radio and poor Ned Guy rolled out immediately after a harrowing day like a lamb to the slaughter last night. No thanks to Stephen O'Reilly for this set of outcomes.

I’m hoping this 2 week period is the genesis of a new age at collingwood. Because other than a few moments we can’t seem to build anything truly dominant. Apart from 10-11 we haven’t been a powerhouse for a long time.

This isn't just knee jerk reaction from the past few weeks, it's more the culmination of a long, long list of perceived transgressions, ineptitude, and lack of due diligence being exercises in both governance and performance on the part of the president, his mates on the board, head of football, list management team, and coaches that we've all been sucking up with the hope that things will improve.

They look like they've to a person lost control of the wheel and are fumbling around in the dark whilst maintaining the delusion that we're following some sort of plan for success, when the reality appears to be more that we're just stumbling from one mess into the next.

Hopefully there is a genuine reckoning coming at the AGM where members will stand up and not just nod their head when the bullshit starts being spun up on stage, or the empty excuses and apologies start flowing.
I'll tell you who should be ashamed - and it's not the frustrated, disappointed supporters. It's a long sequence of club administrators / board members who cannot set up the club for sustained success.
I've been following Cwood for approx 65 years. With my parents and siblings we went week in / week out - rain, hail, shine - paid our memberships, paid for finals tickets, slept outside Vic Park to buy finals tickets - went to sleazy hamburger place in Hoddle St for midnight greasy burger while someone minded spot in the queue - a real camaraderie amongst supporters.

I've seen 3 Cwood flags & 12 losing GFs

- 13 Hawks flags - (spot the diff)
- 8 Carlton :poo: flags - inc 3 vs us
- 8 Richmond flags - (1 vs us) ---- yes I know they've had their wilderness years
- 6 Ess flags
- 5 Melb flags - 4? vs us
- 4 Geel flags
- 3 Brisbane flags

each of the above include at least back to back flags. *Edit - no b2b Geel flags

The deluded spin / mantra that we are successful is vomit inducing. We last won back to back flags 84 years ago. What disappoints me is we are nowhere near fulfilling our potential as a powerhouse club. Some of the bullsh^t coming from the club about success etc etc is just embarrassing.

We waltz in win a flag then self-destruct. Where is the Board / admin team that can deliver sustained success? - not a sprinkling of fairy dust once in a century

EFA

The utter lack of consistency of many of these 'people' is mind numbing. I've been around this board since before our last flag and I've watched several members closely - first with amazement, then with annoyance before finally treating their posts with utter contempt.
But don't put it all on the posters mate, this site is a shadow of what it was before the last flag. Posters are now allowed insane latitude and they know it, this in turn has attracted the worst element and encouraged a toxic culture.
There are more than a few here that aren't supporters a-holes and would have been thrashed senseless at the old Vic Park outer.
But that is modern living for you with the self entitled deferred to by one and all.
If you are looking for arseh*le supporters, perhaps you should begin with yourself. Your aggressive, arrogant posts in the trade thread constantly ridiculed information supplied by a variety of journalists and big footy members throughout the trading period. In the end, your dogmatically expressed opinions were totally discredited by the reality of our trades.

If anyone deserves to be treated with contempt, it is you rather than the posters to whom you allude in your opening paragraph. If you are looking to find fault in people, which you leave us in no doubt is your intention, perhaps you should start with yourself. You dominated the trade thread with your cocksure beliefs that every piece of news regarding our potential trades was fake or click bait.

And you were totally wrong and obviously don't have the humility or decency to admit it.

I will not be renewing my 2 Legends memberships and its not solely based on yesterday, but a combination of factors over the years.

Anyone who blindly renews year in year out, regardless of members treatment, club actions and player actions is the real disgrace.

I will not be renewing my 2 Legends memberships and its not solely based on yesterday, but a combination of factors over the years.

Anyone who blindly renews year in year out, regardless of members treatment, club actions and player actions is the real disgrace.

Its like those people who mindlessly vote for the same political party their whole lives regardless of what the party actually does or how incompetent it is. Those people are part of the problem.

Bad governance should not be rewarded.

You should be Ashamed